Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do? Here's the dealio..

• 16-07-2008 4:29pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭

I'm away for the year, planning on coming home soon...

Working in a jewellery store, no interest in jewellery or anything. Until i worked here i never wore watches and owned only a couple in my life. However, being around them every day i've grown to really like watches and appreciate the mechanics behind them.

So, i want to have something to remind me of my time here, a momento, so to speak. I've been thinking of getting a watch, i have my eye on a couple, both of which retail at $3200:eek:

Now, working with the store i have the opportunity to buy directly from the vendor at less than cost price. My price is $1500.

I can't afford it, i'll just put it on my credit card and deal with it when home. Before i worked here i would have told someone in the same position that they're a ****ing fool for spending soo much on a watch. But, seeing as i really like em, i'd also think i'm a fool not to take advantange of getting a seriously nice watch at less than half price.

What would you do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

What would I do?

Yore ma.

Alternatively, pocket discount ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

Do it. That's what credit cards are for.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Nick the watch man.
    Do a pulp fiction on it.
    Then after you die of dissentary get your comrade in arms to give it to your son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I'd buy it seeing as you can get such a good discount on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Does the shop offer a five finger discount ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

What colour is the carpet in the store?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

buy 2, sell one on ebay to pay for them!
    and carpet colour is VITAL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

KTRIC wrote: »
    Does the shop offer a five finger discount ?
    Pocket discount...five-finger discount...this thread is going to degrade into fapping techniques more rapidly than expected. And I for one welcome our new fapping overlords.

Korvanica wrote: »
    and carpet colour is VITAL!
    The success of the mission depends on it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I'd love to! But you can only buy one watch per year directly from the vendor. I could buy from the store but the discount isn't as good.

Carpet is beigh with the stores logo all over it, custom made! La di da

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Nick the watch man.
    Do a pulp fiction on it.
    Then after you die of dissentary get your comrade in arms to give it to your son.
    To play out that storyline in its entirety you'll also need to invest in some good lube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

Yeah it's normal to take a memento;) when you leave an old job. You'll be out of the country in no time.. they probably won't even notice. Grab one for me as well.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

I think you should stick with your initial reaction: You're a fool for spending that much on a watch.

Think of all the hookers you could get for that.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Seriously, you would be willing that much for a watch?
    I have one for 5k that is already at 95% discount, I'll sell it to you.

It's funny that they make 1700 on every one sold...

Phlann wrote: »
    I think you should stick with your initial reaction: You're a fool for spending that much on a watch.

Think of all the hookers you could get for that.
    The man makes a valid point...

Although, so long as i take care of it, i could probably get some use out of it for a year and still sell it for more than i paid. So long as i takes care of it!:)

I don't know what the price of the watch is in Ireland, but i would imagine it would retail a little higher than here.

Seriously, you would be willing that much for a watch?
    I have one for 5k that is already at 95% discount, I'll sell it to you.

It's funny that they make 1700 on every one sold...
    You'd be amazed what some people spend on jewellery... Actually the watch i REALLY want is $5700, but even i'm not that stupid:) Or am i? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Don't do it. A friend of mine bought a Rolex for a good few grand and where is he now? His uncle fecked him back over to Hong Kong, that's where.

So do you want the watch or do you want to live in Ireland?

I realise that this makes no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Carpet is beigh with the stores logo all over it, custom made! La di da

:eek: Well that changes everything.

jimbo78 wrote: »
    :eek: Well that changes everything.
    We're gonna need Thunderbird 2 with pod #3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,396 ✭✭✭COH

Buy it and enjoy it, then wait for the moment of clarity when you realise it was a complete waste of money. Want a momento? Take a photo of the watch, then buy yourself a casio for about 12euro

Spending $3200 on a watch may be a waste of money, but is spending $1500 on a $3200 watch still a waste?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

right....amatures...

you can only order one a year...

order one in your name..one in your "new" store employees name then sell one on ebay and pay for them both...sorted..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

If you use your credit card, you don't pay actual money, so really it's like you're getting it for free! And no-one turns down a free watch! (This attitude is why my family have told me I should never be allowed have a credit card)

Look, you're never gonna get a discount like this again - ya might aswell use it while you can. And if the watch is really that nice, you'll regret not getting it afterwards. Get the watch, worry about the money afterwards.

There's always ways of getting extra money - drugs don't deal themselves y'know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

I say go for it. Don't mind the begrudgers above with their cereal box watches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭tobiesheba

Think of it like this - when ya come home will you think "I was an idiot I should have bought the watch" if you think you might get it. Also if you've had a good time there it might be nice to have a memento that should technically last forever. And finally I assume that you've little or no big financial responsibilities now so go for it. When ya have a mortgage and kids you won't even consider forking out for expensive watches... Unless you're mega wealthy of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

jimbo78 wrote: »
    I say go for it. Don't mind the begrudgers above with their cereal box watches.
    Don't be hatin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I guarantee you'll lose this watch or break the strap within three days. or some junkie will stab you in the face with a phillips screwdriver and rob it only to sell it for fifty euros on pearse street. No good can come of it I tells ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Is the watch a well known brand that would sell for a good price on ebay, like Breitling, Tag Heuer etc?

If you can get two, then do that and sell one to finance the transaction. Failing that, just buy the one and if the credit card repayments become to onerous, although you may not want to, you will always have the option of selling the watch on ebay and clearing most if not all the credit card debt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

don;t do it!

the misery of being home will be bad enough without the misery if a massive bill pops thru your box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭suspectdevice

.....and i said, thats not me ring, its me wristwatch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Forget buying two, you need to buy six, then sell four at the retail price (or even a little below it) in order to finance the two you actually want.

If you just want a momento I have it on DVD.
    janeybabe wrote: »
    Don't do it. A friend of mine bought a Rolex for a good few grand and where is he now? His uncle fecked him back over to Hong Kong, that's where.

So do you want the watch or do you want to live in Ireland?

I realise that this makes no sense.

No. It makes perfect sense. Go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

People will buy a slice of dog$hit pie if it's half price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Spending $3200 on a watch may be a waste of money, but is spending $1500 on a $3200 watch still a waste?

was that a rethorical question?i spent seventy quid on my watch and thought it was a major investment,you are talking bout throwing away crazy money that could be used much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭beautiation

Don't, seriously. Watches at that price are for people who have nothing to do with their cash but show off, and unless you can afford the Armani suits/villas/BMWs/Trophy Wives that go with the look you'll just look like a bit of a wannabe tosser with the watch on its own. Don't let half price fool you, snob value goods are not about being reasonable price, so comparisons to retail value are worthless and arbitrary.

Jigsaw wrote: »
    Is the watch a well known brand that would sell for a good price on ebay, like Breitling, Tag Heuer etc?

Yeah it's a Tag...

I think i'm coming to my senses a little and may opt for a Tissot, which at a discount will only cost me $300:o

As for looking like an eejit with a watch like that on without the armani suits, it's not made of feckin gold! It's stainless steel, and any joe bloggs on the street probably wouldn't have a clue of it's value unless they had a little knowledge about watches.

These particular watches sell for about 2000-2500 on eBay.

Plus i do have debts like most people, so this won't help me in that regard.

Yeah, i think i'll have to pass it up:( Oh well, although i may regret not getting it, i won't regret not getting into further debt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Dude ... GO FOR IT

How many times in your life have you meet scarlett johansson?
    None ... coincidence? I think not.

Now, if you had a Tag, you'd be banging her right now.

If you decide on a Tissot ... well it's the ginger from girls aloud for you my son

FACT

I like the ginger one:D

However, i do like Scarlet more...... *ponders*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,396 ✭✭✭COH

Just take few days and really think about if its really something you want. Years ago I worked in a sports shop abroad and had a great discount, decided on my last day to buy a rake of gear, a week later I was home looking at the stuff I bought thinkng 'oops... total impulse buying waste of money'.

I like the ginger one:D
    Jaysus, ya wouldn't ride her into battle……..*

*note, any excuse to use podge and rodge quotes

Yeah, i've wanted one for ages tbh, but it's only in the last few weeks that it's become a serious thought.

FYI, here are the candidates in question.

Carrera: http://ww2.tagheuer.com/_images2005/watches/zoom/131c23/CV2014.BA0786.jpg

Aquaracer: http://ww2.tagheuer.com/_images2005/watches/zoom/131c23/CAF2011.BA0815.jpg

Personally, i think the carrera is a much nicer watch, however the Aquaracer suits me better and it more casual.

Also, the possible Tissot...

http://www.timeway.eu/images/Tissot-Quadrato-chrono-5.jpg

Those tag's look fantastic, go for it!

Carrera my fav

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭TheTubes

"TACHYMETRE" sounds very, um, scientific like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Captain Ginger

Buy it then say someone stole your credit card and bitch and complain until they let you off the hook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Board-in-work

So, the watch retails at $3200 - and you can get it for $1500?

Buy it - the watch will last a lifetime (until you lose it down the pub) - you're actually saving $1700 on it.......and only spending $1500 - QED a profit of $200 ..... that you can spend on trophy wifes and yachts.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Personally, i think the carrera is a much nicer watch, however the Aquaracer suits me better and it more casual.
    The Carrera is a copy of the omega speedmaster(as used on the apollo moon landings). I'd go for the omega myself. It'll hold it's value longer and is a better movement.

http://www.runawaynow.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/12/OMEGA_MoonWatch.jpg

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

I love a nice watch myself - I'm a proud owner of a Glashutte replica, on which I spend a bit too much money, so i can understand you.

But the way I see it, you want to spend money you can't afford, on something you don't need only because you can get it cheap. Usually this is just asking for trouble. Especially now with the recession blah blah blah.

On the other hand, if you are really stuck for money, you can always sell it, watches do hold their value, especially if you buy it cheaper.

You never know if you'll ever be able to get your hands on a nice watch like that again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭tobiesheba

In my opinion the Tissot looks nothing compared to the other two! It's still 300 and probably not what you really want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Wait a minute, wait a minute. You mean these aren't digital watches?

Forget you pal.
    Buy it then say someone stole your credit card and bitch and complain until they let you off the hook.

That'll totally work even though he's buying the watches from the place he works. No one will suspect a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Those watches are pretty nice but you can get just as nice cheaper.

The Tissot one is awful though. Don't even think about buying it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Okayyy. Buy the watch, I don't care how, and come along to the next Beers. I won't rob you ;)