Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BHAA race -The Dublin City Council 5km race at Ringsend Park

• 15-07-2008 12:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭

Hello all
    Our next BHAA race is the Dublin City Council 5km race at Ringsend Park on Wednesday evening 16 July 2008 at 7.30pm. This race starts in Irishtown Stadium, goes onto the paths within Ringsend Park and finishes on the track at the Stadium. If you have not been there before, this is an opportunity to see the magnificent public facility that is the stadium. It’s a very flat fast course a good place for a P.B . With changing rooms and showers’ available . Refreshments after. A large turnout is expected so get there early to register.

See you on Wednesday.
    further information available at http://www.bhaa.ie
    Mail info@bhaa.ie

Richard Dunne
    PRO BHAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Richard, I joined recently at the Intel 10k.
    Will I need any membership information with me at the registration tomorrow evening ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Richard, I joined recently at the Intel 10k.
    Will I need any membership information with me at the registration tomorrow evening ?

Hi

not to my knowledge, you should be recorded on their system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭rdunne

Hi

not to my knowledge, you should be recorded on their system.

Thanks RoadRunner.
    Your right just follow the signs for your surname. a-j. etc. Turn up early I hear there will be a big crowd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I prob shouldnt run tomororw as i'm still now 100% but will do this as a training run, sounds like too good a race to miss.

Is it a full lap to finish? Would be nice to see wha time i can manage for the last 400 m.

shels4ever wrote: »
    I prob shouldnt run tomororw as i'm still now 100% but will do this as a training run, sounds like too good a race to miss.

Is it a full lap to finish? Would be nice to see wha time i can manage for the last 400 m.

no about 350 on th track

Ah well pity, have a feeling the 400m sign was wrong on sat , seems a bit sorter then that,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I'm going to miss it, went out today thinking it was on, took me an hour to get there with traffic, Im a gob****e:mad:, and now the other half has booked cinema tickets for tomorrow, ah well

Just got back from this, Was a great event maybe a few too many people for 3 laps of the park.. I even lapped people today.

Legs were dead from the run on sat, and I prob shouldn't have ran , but got around it in jsut over 25 mins , which i was ahhp with, my last 5k htis year was 29:30 so i'm going in the right direction,

Only down side is someone beat me in a sprint finish, I had caught about 7 or 8 on the last lap of the track and manager to put 25 secs on one lad over the last 300 m. But that guy who just kicked as i was about to go by him... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭bo-sco

Great turnout but the course is far from ideal to be honest. Too many tight bends and too many laps for the number of people involved. I found it more like an obstacle course than a race.

Not to blame DCC who organised the event very well. I guess their hands are tied as I'm sure it's nigh on impossible to get cooperation from the guards to go out on the roads on a weekday evening. Well done to all concerned.

bo-sco wrote: »
    Great turnout but the course is far from ideal to be honest. Too many tight bends and too many laps for the number of people involved. I found it more like an obstacle course than a race.

Not to blame DCC who organised the event very well. I guess their hands are tied as I'm sure it's nigh on impossible to get cooperation from the guards to go out on the roads on a weekday evening. Well done to all concerned.

yeah totally agree. Organisation is great and thanks to the lads who give up their time to organise it.

The course is a bit tricky, there are 2 very tight gates that have to be negotiated at speed and the twist and turns don't help maintain momentum.

Don't start me on the local kids. I came very close to decking a couple of ten year olds :mad:

The finish on the track is nice.

Will probably not do this one again in a hurry. I much prefer the DCC race in Raheny, course is more runner friendly

Don't get me started on thoese pesky kids... on my 3rd lap they were walking 2 across on the path, no room for runners , they knew well what they wer doing one was pushed into my path as i passed and ended up taking a bit of a knock from me. Was so pissed off .. nearly stopped to have a go at them but wasnt worth it. Their football coach should have told them to keep of the path.

Also heard some comments from walkers in the park about it been a disgrace that first class citizens cant use their park because of runners...

thats class! , you have told them to join in. Great turn out. DCC know how to set up a race. I was high 5ing the kids.. Stoped them bugging me!!

Individual results and pics are uploading as i type.

Just got back from this, Was a great event maybe a few too many people for 3 laps of the park.. I even lapped people today.

Legs were dead from the run on sat, and I prob shouldn't have ran , but got around it in jsut over 25 mins , which i was ahhp with, my last 5k htis year was 29:30 so i'm going in the right direction,

Only down side is someone beat me in a sprint finish, I had caught about 7 or 8 on the last lap of the track and manager to put 25 secs on one lad over the last 300 m. But that guy who just kicked as i was about to go by him... :(
    thats a big cut form your time
    I ran home on tuesday . its about 6 miles, so I was a little tired, still did 21 mins and should have maybe pushed. But ill wait till i have a few good week of training in a row before that

Yep happy with the improvemnt, I havent pushed it too much but going in the right direction now, if i hadn't of raced on Sat i'd say there was 45 seconds to come off that, I didnt get going at all untill near the second lap or the park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭epo addict

Myself and a large group of athletes train in this park during the winter at lunchtime doing easy runs and sessions. We have had huge problems with dogs let loose as running at speed and trying to avoid a dog can lead to a serious accident or injury

Luckily enough there does be no kids in our way at lunchtime but these dogs really interfere with your session as many runners have had to stop while a roaming dog is chasing them while doing a 1k or a 400m loop..

I'd personally never race in this park as i dont think its suitable for a 5k race but thats just my opinion and im sure other athletes might disagree!!