Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guns

• 15-07-2008 8:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭

Alright so its z-day, the zombies have risen and 90% of the human race is either dead or, well, dead. Where would you get guns in Ireland to defend yourself? You can forget about Garda gun depots or military installations, chances are the Gardai or Army would be too busy using them to give them to you - in fact you'd stand a fighting chance of getting shot yourself trying to get to them.

So short of stumbling across an old IRA cache, where would you get guns in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Well there's two shotguns in my house and the girlfriend is into archery lol :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

I had two shotguns and was in the process of getting a rifle a few years ago. But gave them up as i didn't have the time to use them.... im fcuked if Z-day comes. I do however still have some of my shotgun shells so i can throw them at the zombies & hope for the best :pac:

You always could check in on the closest gun dealer in the area that you know of? (aka raid it and get as much as you can)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

I work near the phenoix park, so I'd make my way to the barricks and ask really nicely. Only option really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

I had two shotguns and was in the process of getting a rifle a few years ago. But gave them up as i didn't have the time to use them.... im fcuked if Z-day comes. I do however still have some of my shotgun shells so i can throw them at the zombies & hope for the best :pac:

You always could check in on the closest gun dealer in the area that you know of? (aka raid it and get as much as you can)

i heard once, that 6 inch of standard garden hose a 3 inch nail and some string and you can make yourself a throw away shotty, not sure of the layout of it but I can feel a trip to woodies coming on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Improvised weapons work just as well (if not better) then guns - sharpened shovel etc. I wouldn't be too bothered about not having a gun as it just adds weight to your pack. I would choose a bow over a gun but only if you knew how to make decent arrows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Have my bow and arrow ready to rock and roll. Couple of improv'd weapons from the garden shed. There's a chap I know, lives a 2 minute drive away that has 3 rifles, a shotty and a pistol... I'm sure he wouldn't need them all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭MarkHall

Guns are pretty much not gona help the average IRishman. Unless they are in a hunting club or something. OR have someone like that near your Gaff.

Gotta go with Hammers and Hurleys as first chioce of Weapons.
    Good smash and great reach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭Martron

i can make a golf ball canon using drain pipe and hairspray. pretty dangerous. takes a while to reload but if you had a couple preloaded...... easy to make , easy to fire. devastating close range damage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I'm in Dundalk, plenty or stashes of eh weaponary around..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

What sort of equipment would you need to make guns (other than the zip gun mentioned above)? I understand its all fairly simple stuff except the barrel, that needs something special... Is it even worth your while to bang together black powder weapons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭Martron

what about scaffold tubing!!! canon grade not rifle but its a start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 SpacePope

the Israelis used equipment from a bike shop to make sten guns in their war for independence. I've made smooth bore muskets from steel pipe for fun in the past, using fishing weights for shot, or melting them down and reforming them into proper projectiles. all i know is that living in the US gives me a nice advantage in case of a zombie uprising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭cherubaul

prepare now and don't regret it later getting a firearm is not a hard thing.

i recomend .22 magnum small calibre semi auto means you can carry many more rounds than a bigger calibre but still retain lethality at longer ranges than .22lr. hollowpoint ammunition ensures lethality and the ammunition can be bought for less than €20 per hundred. 5 spare magazines and a scope should see you through. and then you can pocket literally hundreds of spare magazines in a standard magazine pouch.
    and also one can get a moderator so that you can dispatch your prey from concealment and not give away your position

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Already have a bow and arrows, could do with more arrows though... last thing you want is to run out and have to try retrieve them while more zombies are still coming towards you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

What sort of equipment would you need to make guns (other than the zip gun mentioned above)? I understand its all fairly simple stuff except the barrel, that needs something special... Is it even worth your while to bang together black powder weapons?

If you forget about rifling, most trade suppliers have everything you need to produce simple guns. Including the barrels.
    If the Soviets in Leningrad could produce machineguns from scrap in starvation conditions you can be sure someone with access to modern kit could do the same.
    Ideally you need access to a machineshop with a lathe, bending press and welding kit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

My dad is in the army, And he works in the guns storage warehouse. So he has access to everything, even night vision goggles. :cool:

So i would go for the sniper rifle and G36C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    My dad is in the army, And he works in the guns storage warehouse. So he has access to everything, even night vision goggles. :cool:

So i would go for the sniper rifle and G36C.

And you would not be on the base when z day hit.

Aha I found a good location! Complete with map and inventory, awful kind of them. Bags I the Beretta DT10 EELL, twelve and a half grand of soon-to-be-sawn-off shottie.

The clubhouse has food and water, could be barricaded up nicely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Thelma E

too bad the only ammo your going to find there are target and bird loads, which are worthless on man-sized targets. you need buckshot for zombies, at least #4 Buck.

Thelma E wrote: »
    too bad the only ammo your going to find there are target and bird loads, which are worthless on man-sized targets. you need buckshot for zombies, at least #4 Buck.
    See now that would have been a horribly embarrassing way to go. Standing there with a big sneery looking head and two of the most expensive sawn off double barrel shotguns I could find, let rip in the most cocky way possible at the nearest room full of the carnivorous revenants, and get my brain eaten straight away thereafter.

Still, I guess now I actually have a viable use for all those two cent and one cent pieces in the jar on the kitchen table. :D

/I'm in Thelma's gang

Thelma E wrote: »

I've bought some heavier 50g mag. loads up there before, hurt the shoulder though. Zombies are soft, shot size won't matter much at zombie range. I'm sure even the lightest clay load is going to kill one when you shoot it in the face :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Palladin press.com or Desert publications.com have been supplying DIY books on improvised weaponary,explosives and many other fun things for years.:D YES,they WILL ship to places outside CONUS.So there is NO excuse to be unarmed when Z day arrives.
    The easiest guns to make ,belive it or not for improvised weaponary are.The 4 winds shotgun, The Liberator 45ACP SMG, P.A Luty 9mm SMG, STEN MK 2 SMG,The Metral SMG.All the plans are in the public domain and freely available.
    This stuff can be put together by the gunsmiths in Pakistan in the mountains between paki and afghanistan no bother,using nothing more than files,hand drills,vices and a small black smithy.As a matter of fact they can build you a copy of an AK,Lee Enfield HK,M16 or whastever you fancy using just that stuff.Even us Irish were no slouches in improvised weaponary..in the NI troubles both sides produced homemade SMGs called Ulster funnyguns,or Harland& Wolff specials.
    The RA,managed to produce some serious "heavy artillery" as well,in nothgng more than well equipped farm workshops. Ahh improvised weaponary....mankinds genius at it's best:)
    WARNING!!! DO NOT,consider building or aquiring bits of these guns or even have metal bits and the books together.Or get any smart ideas about making any stuff from the above book companies.!Seriously! You wont be much good on Z day if you are in a cell with an Xtra special friend called "Bubba":eek::eek:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭a5y

A properly made "Spud gun" can put a 4 inch dent into an armoured car, assuming the right amount of lighter fluid and sabots are used. Though why you'd aim at an armoured car over a zombie is beyond me.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    WARNING!!! DO NOT,consider building or aquiring bits of these guns or even have metal bits and the books together.Or get any smart ideas about making any stuff from the above book companies.!Seriously! You wont be much good on Z day if you are in a cell with an Xtra special friend called "Bubba":eek::eek:
    Heh, yeah I wondered how long it would be before someone mentioned that this thread might warrant some attention from the special branch...

Let them;
    It is long since public knowledge,not illegal information to posses,so long as you dont put it practical use.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

we've an old 303 lee enfield i nthe gaff that could be brought back into service!
    no ammo though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 al415

Having moved to the U.S. from Ireland, and subsequently become a cop; I have enough guns and ammo to re-create "Assault on precint 13". I've considered comandeering a sail-boat come Z-day and heading back to the old sod to rescue my Mum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Gun shop in Leixlip, gun shop in Lucan, pretty sure there's a gun shop in Celbridge...

Also, depends on how much notice I got. Totse.com, fertilizer, a trip to te local DIY, and petrol station could be in order, and then pop into the local secondary schools workshops. Plenty of machinery to make guns, and chemicals to blow sh|t up.

Have fun with the fertiliser.Unless you are in NI that is:D.You are talking about ANfO Ammonium Nitrate fertilizer explosive.The Ammonium Nitrate MUST be above 33%.It hasnt been made,sold, or imported into Ireland since 1972,for just that reason,and it is a heavvy bust to be caught with it.Ditto for the sodium chlorate weed killer.Not available here anymore either.
    Plus you need a charge of commerical high explosive to get it going at all.Ironically the stuff was[and proably still is] for sale in the UK and NI:rolleyes:
    however buying a few sacks and bringing it home MIGHT JUST get you some very unwelcome attention from the powers that be.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Chinese Mafia

I have weapons sitting on my shelf
    sade115843.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 al415

sade115843.jpg

Got "Second Coming"?

sade115843.jpg

You realise it is a criminal offence to have that on public display without a liscense,under Irish and international law?????:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Chinese Mafia

Sure what guard is going to look under my bed :)