Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which city do you think has the biggest scene?

• 14-07-2008 11:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭

Which city do you think has the biggest punk scene? With the most bands/gigs and maybe most importantly the most people attending gigs compared to the size of the city?

Which City? 23 votes

Belfast
    0% 0 votes
    Dublin
    34% 8 votes
    Galway
    43% 10 votes
    Cork
    21% 5 votes

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

For out and out punk, you can't beat Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Fly High

I haven't been to any gigs in Belfast yet, or well anywhere except Galway which has a triving hardcore scene, I was just wondering where the best other best independant stuff is...
    Belfast has a lot of street punks right? or well going from punx picnic they do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭xshayx

Only know of Only Fumes And Corpses from Galway. Link me up some bands!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP

For nothing but punk it's Belfast. As far as I can tell Galway's your place for hardcore. But Dublin has the best mix of a bit of everything. Cork shouldn't be in that poll. Never go to Cork, absolutely no Punks doing anything down there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭ANarcho-Munk

OLP wrote: »
    For nothing but punk it's Belfast. As far as I can tell Galway's your place for hardcore. But Dublin has the best mix of a bit of everything. Cork shouldn't be in that poll. Never go to Cork, absolutely no Punks doing anything down there.

There aren't exactly many punk bands down there but ya shouldn't dismiss the place altogether. There's some really good interesting bands down there. Rest, El Bastardo, Revolution Of A Sun, Jezery, Los Langeros, Hooray For Humans, Ten Past Seven and probably a few others i'm forgetting. The place is fairly quiet in regards to gigs or to the 'scene' or whatever but there's still a good few bands knockin' about....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Livy Star

So, what's the punk scene like in Ireland in general??

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

It's gone to ****e lately. There're too many bands whose music is quite good, but the vocals are just screamy crap. Who the **** write songs that dont have any ****in point because noone can understand the lyrics???? Irish punk bands apparently. Maybe it's some mad evil plan to make people buy their records so that they can read the lyrics in the liner notes...

There's a gig on in the lower deck next Friday night.... oh wait "Astoria, NY"......... lol.

Someone invited me to a birthday party there..... but apparently I have to go buy a ****in suit.... and if it's not a proper designer job I cant come................... WTF?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 eoghan_dubhdara

suits are bad. bad to the bone. i had to walk in a suit today. i felt like i was a funeral walking. least smokes and a lighter fits in the jacket snugly.my 2cents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Eoghanacht

suits are bad. bad to the bone. i had to walk in a suit today. i felt like i was a funeral walking. least smokes and a lighter fits in the jacket snugly.my 2cents

yeah they can be quite uncomfortable when your not used to wearing them. I had to try on my suit last night to see if it fits for an up coming wedding I have to go to. It looks like I'll have to go on a diet (who said vegetarians don't put up weight?) for the next four weeks.

Louise~ wrote: »
    Which city do you think has the biggest punk scene? With the most bands/gigs and maybe most importantly the most people attending gigs compared to the size of the city?

What ever about the punk scenes in the cities of Ireland, I've always thought it was way cooler where you got a punk or two from small towns, villages, hamlets and the general countryside itself. It's a lot harder to be a teenage punk in the sticks when all your mates that you grew up with don't like your taste in music or the way you dress and you've got no gigs to go to locally.

As for the original question. Belfast is definitly the place for the more hard core punk scene followed by Dublin which tends to have more cliques (?) in their scene some of which concentrates more on calling people Nazis than on the music. Cork does have a lot of people into hardcore punk but it's more of an ageing group now rather than a load of young lads with mohicans etc. Galway is Irelands savior. The nicest friendliest people in the country come from here and and have a tidy little scene Albeit more Hardcore, which I hope will grow in strenth I'd still like to see more Anarcho/Street/whatever it's called now type bands from here.

That's 2 cents worth.

(A)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭jimmy-jazz

i've newly migrated to dublin, so i haven't really explored punk here yet. i spent the best part of 6 months in belfast, i felt the scene there was really welcoming and was like a small community, same faces at the gigs, no bull****. for the size of the city there was a lot of punk happenin, even dj sets n all that. good times.

sorry i'm slightly off topic, but can anyone reccomend any pubs/clubs in dublin as a punk hangout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Zyox

There aren't exactly many punk bands down there but ya shouldn't dismiss the place altogether. There's some really good interesting bands down there. Rest, El Bastardo, Revolution Of A Sun, Jezery, Los Langeros, Hooray For Humans, Ten Past Seven and probably a few others i'm forgetting. The place is fairly quiet in regards to gigs or to the 'scene' or whatever but there's still a good few bands knockin' about....

I'm agreeing with Chris here. Never go to Cork for a gig. Ever.

For a night out on the town however... that's a different kettle of fish ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

Belfast for Punk Rock
    Galway for Hardcore
    Cork to be sectioned off and not mentioned anymore in public.

Jimmy Jazz while not exclusively Punk hangout the Foggy Dew in Dame street is not a bad venue and once a month you have the International bar downstairs which hosts Rock Jihad which is a variety of Punk?metal and absolutly no Cork links whatsoever.
    Highly recommended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭jimmy-jazz

Jimmy Jazz while not exclusively Punk hangout the Foggy Dew in Dame street is not a bad venue and once a month you have the International bar downstairs which hosts Rock Jihad which is a variety of Punk?metal and absolutly no Cork links whatsoever.
    Highly recommended.

thanks alot, i'll be sure to check them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭ANarcho-Munk

Cork to be sectioned off and not mentioned anymore in public.

Cork is admittedly the best for non-punk shennanigans though.

Some great hardcore type punk bands there, they just never gig though. Shame.

What's all this s hit about "never play Cork". You lot sound like poncey softie Walters who play in **** bands but DREAM of playing to thousands of adoring poncey fans. I though the original spirit of punk was to be in a band and play in places where they've never heard this type of music and try and win a few coverts.

All this talk goes to show that in Dublin, little poncey Cliques still remain in the scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP

You obviously weren't at the gig my band Septic Pussy played with Paranoid Visions in Cork earlier this year. You can't "win a few converts" if

1. The promoters a spa and doesn't actually promote the show

2. The local band are dicks who won't lend you a snare

3. The pub is strict ****heap

4. There's no one actually there to "convert"

Ya ****ing sap, cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Kenn sprinter

Cork is the business. Some of the best gigs I've ever played have been there in Freds and always a crackin session after. Saying that there has been a few disasters aswell. Just cause youse had a bad gig there doesn't mean you should write a place off. Go'on the rebels. Crap at hurling though

OLP wrote: »
    You obviously weren't at the gig my band Septic Pussy played with Paranoid Visions in Cork earlier this year. You can't "win a few converts" if

1. The promoters a spa and doesn't actually promote the show

2. The local band are dicks who won't lend you a snare

3. The pub is strict ****heap

4. There's no one actually there to "convert"

Ya ****ing sap, cop on.

In all fairness OLP, no one wants to see the Septic Pussies. Ye don't even make an effort to write songs worth listening to and the singer alone looks like a Chernoble baby and puts people off their pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 tebbles

cork is my favorite place in ireland to play. it has really good bands (that arent trying to sound like everything else) and the soundest people! galway is great tho too, always a crowd and great craic.