Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where to start looking for someone ?

• 11-07-2008 10:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭

Hopefully someone out there will be able to help me out...

I used to know these guys in a band who rented accomodation in Dublin.

The last time I saw any of them would have been probably 8 - 10 years ago & I'm trying to track them down for a project I'm working on.

I've tried googling them & phone book searches but they seem to have fallen off the radar.

The voting register is no good to me as you need to have an address to search by...

Where else could I look ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

You didn't have a one night stand in Coppers with them, did you?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

U tried bebo, facebook, blogs or livejournals, all that crap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

You didn't have a one night stand in Coppers with them, did you?

Funny !

They're not really they online types to be honest Dr Bollocko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

"Ya, hello. This is AH control room here, we have a thread for JigSaw" :pac:

You checked the phonebook for dubland, have you tried anywhere else? Any family names and knowledge of their hometowns maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

iMax wrote: »
    Funny !

They're not really they online types to be honest Dr Bollocko

How would you know if you last saw them 8 or 10 years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Try bigulo.com anyway, you'd be surprised how many non-computer & internet types I've known who have pages on Bebo and Myspace, etc...

And I'm sorry Roisin but you need the person's name to use it.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Tis stalker season alright

I love stalker season. Gives me something to do until the premiership is back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Put up flyers... "HAVE YOU SEEN THIS BAND?"... might get their attention!

yeah tried the phone book, unfortunately nothing there for any of them, they're all from Dublin, although I do know one of them was planning on moving down the country at some point, where to I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Post the band name and see if anyone on here knows them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

OK, here's the deal. This band were very popular in Dublin (actually in Ireland) in the early 1990s - around 1992 - 1994 was their peak. They called themselves "The Cage" A five piece outfit with a great sound & look.

Some time in early 1994 they moved to L.A. & were doing really well over there until something happened (I know but am not revealing it here) which caused them to split up. Four of them moved back to Dublin & hung around for a while before I eventually lost contact with them. Now I need to find them as I'm working on a documentary on their time together.

Ah I see!
    Man I would really try the social networking sites though. Internet types or not, one of them will be represented there.

EDIT: Its also fix it friday on the Ray D'arcy show man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

What were the guys in the band called?! They may be playing music with somebody else now

OK, here's the deal. This band were very popular in Dublin (actually in Ireland) in the early 1990s - around 1992 - 1994 was their peak. They called themselves "The Cage" A five piece outfit with a great sound & look.

Some time in early 1994 they moved to L.A. & were doing really well over there until something happened (I know but am not revealing it here) which caused them to split up. Four of them moved back to Dublin & hung around for a while before I eventually lost contact with them. Now I need to find them as I'm working on a documentary on their time together.

Ray D'Arcy show FTW!!!

OK, just emailed Today FM, although it's probably a bit late for this week

What were the guys in the band called?! They may be playing music with somebody else now

Little embarrassing, I can remember everyone's name except one guys surname :confused:

Let us know then! I'm sure somebody here can help you

Its been 10 years in fairness, i forget the names of the people i work with!

Keith - Bass (think he moved out of Dublin)
    Will - Keyboards
    Paul - Drums
    Brian - Guitar
    Mark - Guitar & vocals (he stayed in LA)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Keith - Bass (think he moved out of Dublin)
    Will - Keyboards
    Paul - Drums
    Brian - Guitar
    Mark - Guitar & vocals (he stayed in LA)

Found them ... Looks like they are still going... Keith is a fellow boardsie ! called colettenewport http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?u=154268

see his last post here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=56246455&postcount=9

EDIT: damn you Depeche_Mode

Thanks Guys

Whoah. Distributed stalk FTW.
    I knew they would have an online presence, but the boards presence is just hilarious.
    Well this thread has come to its logical conclusion so I would just like to say.
    STTTAAAAIIIIRRRWWWAAAYYYYYY!!!!

(see sig, click sig, say +1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Yeah good work on the distributed stalk DM and Elvis. It's just like watching the detectives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

That's some nice stalking, boys.

javaboy wrote: »
    Yeah good work on the distributed stalk DM and Elvis. It's just like watching the detectives.

I got it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

That's some nice stalking, boys.

+1 small fecking world! OP, hope ye get to have a lovely reunion with the lads!

/Goes off to check out The Cage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Aspiration wrote: »
    +/Goes off to check out The Cage...

His subtle shilling worked perfectly I see. :D

Publicity stunt ftw

FTW - what does that mean ???

Just got off the phone with Keith. Turns out the guys got back together recently & are rehearsing & were auditioning for a singer, after a lot auditions, they hadn't found anyone they liked so they were trying to track down me & their old singer (in case I had his details).

I got his details this morning from his brother and will be meeting with the guys during the week. Now... off to buy DV tape :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Captain Ginger

News just in, nutcase murders band members after being given their information on internet website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

^^^ Lollers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

News just in, nutcase murders band members after being given their information on internet website.

lol

javaboy, sure what harm - i'll report back if they're cr*p to warn everyone off :p

iMax, best of luck with the documentary. They mustn't be too bad if someone's willing to spend time and effort making a show about them... Hrmmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Guy wants to track down group of people he last saw 8-10 years ago, no idea how to find them.

Total time taken: 37 minutes.

Is anyone else a bit freaked by this?

If I could figure out how to post an mp3 I would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

Ahhh this thread is brilliant..but very very worrying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Happy endings all round so.
    More lolcats vicar?

MOH wrote: »
    Guy wants to track down group of people he last saw 8-10 years ago, no idea how to find them.

Me frankly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

MOH wrote: »

And yet Roisin claims she started looking as soon as she found out she was pregnant. Pft! :rolleyes:

OK, I'm working on the bebo & facebook equivalents, but I'm after upping some songs to myspace. please check them out & join as fans & tell people about them.

[url=]http://www.myspace.com/thecageonmyspace[/url]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Facebook site. Again, please join up, listen to the music (facebook will only let me put videos up for some reason). Tell others & spread the word.

It was said already but i'm gonna say it again... this smacks of PUBLICITY STUNT tbh. :rolleyes:

Honestly, nothing to do with publicity originally. I was genuinely trying to track them down. however I will admit to running with it now. Others had mentioned they want to check them out & I'd love to hear people's opinions on the music though.