Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Horizon/Lanta Muay Thai gym Thailand

• 11-07-2008 9:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭

As per my usual 6 week visit to S.E Asia at Christmas time I would like to do 3-4 weeks training. I have only began Muay Thai about 1 month ago so very much a beginner.

Can anyone recommend either of these places? Or possibly suggest somewhere else ? (down south preferably)

http://www.horizonmuaythai.com/

http://www.lantagym.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Can't offer any help unfortunately. I've heard of that lanta place alright, but I can't remember if it was good or bad. It does look fierce fancy. A bit too fancy tbh. Maybe have a search on the ax forums?

One thing to be slightly wary of: With rare exception, everyone seems to think the gym they trained at in Thailand is superb. I think a lot of this is down to only training in 1 or 2 places in Thailand (this includes myself of course). I've only heard bad things about a few gyms.

edit: Hoping to spend a few weeks in Thailand myself around crimbo. Let me know how your search goes if you wouldn't mind? I'm considering the WMC camp in Koh Samui at the moment (it'll be a family holiday). One of the lads from bridgestone is going there in a few weeks, so I'll get to hear from the horses mouth how that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

I'll keep you updated. I don't think I could train on Koh Samui due to the temptation to party, visit friends and just generally get lazy. Horizon sounds ideal because it's not too close to any temptation.
    Khannie wrote: »
    Can't offer any help unfortunately. I've heard of that lanta place alright, but I can't remember if it was good or bad. It does look fierce fancy. A bit too fancy tbh. Maybe have a search on the ax forums?

One thing to be slightly wary of: With rare exception, everyone seems to think the gym they trained at in Thailand is superb. I think a lot of this is down to only training in 1 or 2 places in Thailand (this includes myself of course). I've only heard bad things about a few gyms.

edit: Hoping to spend a few weeks in Thailand myself around crimbo. Let me know how your search goes if you wouldn't mind? I'm considering the WMC camp in Koh Samui at the moment (it'll be a family holiday). One of the lads from bridgestone is going there in a few weeks, so I'll get to hear from the horses mouth how that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Pretty sure that's the one I was at a few years back. Only got two days training there but it was good. They knew I wasn't there for long though (I made the mistake of telling the guy) so I didn't get all that much attention but still got two good sessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭mushykeogh

Went to this one just over two years ago now for 3 weeks. Suited me fine, only had been training thai for a year and a half. Two sessions a day, 7 am and 3 i think. The morning session was always very quiet and the evening one jammers! Got plenty of good advice and well looked after especially if you turned up regularly. There was plenty of experienced guys there as well so i did get a hiding during the sparring session quiet often!
    Not in a bad way mind, i was getting completly destroyed one morning and the trainer got me a different training partner and got someone better matched for the other guy. Nice enough island too, plenty of touristy things to do and some decent fights in the stadium in Chaweng.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭mugger

dont go to ko lanta gym if you want good hard training.you can fight afew times a week tho if you want thats the only good thing + that ko lanta is a nice little spot.me + 2 of the lads were there for 7 wks.if you want good training round the islands head to samui

Nice one. Samui it is then. Probably going to book the hols in the next few weeks. Can't wait to go back. Lovely country. Lovely people. Savage food.

I've decided on Samui myself although it may take that bit of extra discipline. I'll be there for the month of December pretty much..

Nice one. Let us know how you're getting on. I'd say I'll head over for the last two weeks in December and first two in January.

Also, go to a full moon party in Samui. And don't go to Chaweng stadium on a weeknight. And if you see the guy who sold me a pair of shorts, tell the prick that they ripped the next day. You'll know him, thai fella, about 5 foot 6, asian looking.

Roper wrote: »
    Also, go to a full moon party in Samui. And don't go to Chaweng stadium on a weeknight. And if you see the guy who sold me a pair of shorts, tell the prick that they ripped the next day. You'll know him, thai fella, about 5 foot 6, asian looking.

Full moon parties are overrated and most things in Chaweng definitely don't excite me! Chaweng stadium is good to visit for warm up drinks on any night out I found!

And don't go to Chaweng stadium on a weeknight.

Do tell more. In exchange, I will batter that lad who stiffed you in the shorts department. :D

Ah just lots of poor fights with fat farangs against Thais they outweigh by about 12 stone. Some great stuff at the weekends though. Just my experience!

Also it's worth your while renting a car and driving around the island. Chaweng beach is great but crowded and there are still some almost totally deserted beaches on Koh Samui. There's also a rock shaped like a dick. Seriously it's in all the guide books and everyone encourages you to go see it, quite strange. There's also a female equivalent but that's not as weird, there are crevices everywhere after all.

Ah just lots of poor fights with fat farangs against Thais they outweigh by about 12 stone. Some great stuff at the weekends though. Just my experience!

Cool. Family holiday and all....and let's just say that Thailand can offer some experiences that I don't want my youngfella "exposed" to. :D
    Also it's worth your while renting a car and driving around the island. Chaweng beach is great but crowded and there are still some almost totally deserted beaches on Koh Samui. There's also a rock shaped like a dick. Seriously it's in all the guide books and everyone encourages you to go see it, quite strange. There's also a female equivalent but that's not as weird, there are crevices everywhere after all.

Nice one. Cheers. Seen the dick rock already on the interweb actually. Could be on wikipedia. It's called the "grandfather" rock or something. Tell you what....if I can get that straight when I'm a grandfather I'll be well pleased with myself. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭mugger

ied be more in2 seen the fanny shaped rock meself:cool: but whatever ur in te.iam in the wmc lamai gym now for abit + the training is very good alot of tec training + they push ye hard.its also quiter than chewang if ur with the family.theres afew places to stay around the gym that would be better if you had the family with you

Nice one. Sounds like just the ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 bufferedreader

Hi!!
    What's your opinion on taking kids to Thailand? I cant get without them but wasn't sure about taking them there, any thoughts or experiences?
    Sean

No direct experience myself, but I'll be taking my daughter, my youngfella and his cousin the next time I go (the cousin's doing MT at the moment and he'd cut off is right leg to go to Thailand so I'd feel like a git going without him).

My thoughts on my Thai experience: Lovely country. Lovely people. Very friendly. They love family. Savage food. Bangkok's a hole (IMO). Chiang Mai's nice. Pai's nice. They're the only places I went.

I definitely have no qualms about taking the kids to Thailand. I'd say they'll have a great time. I'd be wary of taking them out at nighttime in certain areas though. You know yourself.

I'll only be training once a day the next time I go because I'll be with family. Twice a day and you're just that bit too tired for too much other stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

What's your opinion on taking kids to Thailand? I cant get without them but wasn't sure about taking them there, any thoughts or experiences?
    Sean

Haven't been out in a while now (2003) but when I took my two lads (10 and 7yrs at the time) they loved it and Thai people love kids so it only made the experience even better for them. Apart from the usual precautions in ANY country and avoiding the seedier nightlife aspects kids will love it, but one small thing to bear in mind is that its a third world country and some of the poverty that can be seen can be a little hard for kids to understand/comprehend.

Dave Joyce wrote: »
    one small thing to bear in mind is that its a third world country and some of the poverty that can be seen can be a little hard for kids to understand/comprehend.

Interesting. Hadn't really thought about that before tbh. It'll be interesting to see how the youngfella takes it.

mugger wrote: »
    ied be more in2 seen the fanny shaped rock meself:cool: but whatever ur in te.iam in the wmc lamai gym now for abit + the training is very good alot of tec training + they push ye hard.its also quiter than chewang if ur with the family.theres afew places to stay around the gym that would be better if you had the family with you

Is WMC the gym on the left handside as you're coming down the hill onto Lamai road? or is it up beyond Lamai in 99 bungalows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 bufferedreader

Sounds good lads thanks, I never thought of the poverty side of it with the kids. Whats the best time of the year to go? Especially with a wee red head fella with me lol

Whats the best time of the year to go? Especially with a wee red head fella with me lol

Very much depends where you go. Have a look at this site for annual temperatures / rainfall numbers for Samui. I'm sure other islands / cities / places have similar charts.

Sounds good lads thanks, I never thought of the poverty side of it with the kids. Whats the best time of the year to go? Especially with a wee red head fella with me lol

You're going to be exposed to pretty hot weather all year round so just cover up and go whenever suits you! Monsoon seasons just means a bit of a shower in the afternoon or so

I don't know if the poverty side of things has to be a really negative experience if you talk to them about it. It could be positive no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

I don't know if the poverty side of things has to be a really negative experience if you talk to them about it. It could be positive no?

There was no real need to as it wasn't really a negative, just a bit of a reminder of how tough life can be and just the initial shock of seeing that kind of poverty, in this case a reminder. Tbh, lucky little feckers were with us in the Philippines too in 2000 (for WEKAF worlds) and that was worse. Seen a whole family who lived full time on their stall just outside our hotel and one of that familly was an eldery lady who slept on the stall at night. However, either of the boys would love to go back to either Thailand or the Philippines in the morning.....just need to win the friggin lotto:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭mushykeogh

Ag marbh wrote: »
    Is WMC the gym on the left handside as you're coming down the hill onto Lamai road? or is it up beyond Lamai in 99 bungalows?

It is indeed, well i dont know where the 99 bungalows are so it must be. Its right near the very start of the road through the town. Has a little internet/travel place opposite and a little cafe type thing were you ll get lovely rice dishes cooked for you for feic all. The bars along lamai road is fairly tame if your wlking the kids down during the evening. Where you turn off to go to the local stadium is where you have all the hookers harassing you!

This is all golden lads. Thanks.