Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"No couples"

• 09-07-2008 11:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭

Nearly every room letting-houseshare ad I see on the board in work goes along the lines of

"Large room, 480 per month, ideal for a professional or two friends. No couples please"

Out of curiousity why are so many people adverse to a couple sharing the room? tbh there is a bigger chance of violence from a pair of friends sharing a room (myself and my best mate have knocked the sh1te out of each other god knows how many times, mainly when he drinks from morning onward). My housemate moved his girlfriend in about 6 weeks ago, a holiday kind of turned into living here without him asking us or the landlady (who lives elsewhere), and I couldnt care less tbh :confused: Hey, she keeps the house clean and she cant give out to me for leaving cans and pizza boxes around the place seeing as technically she is still just stayin over :p (not that she would, not one of these clean freaks thankfully)

Just wondering......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Nearly every room letting-houseshare ad I see on the board in work goes along the lines of

"Large room, 480 per month, ideal for a professional or two friends. No couples please"

Out of curiousity why are so many people adverse to a couple sharing the room? tbh there is a bigger chance of violence from a pair of friends sharing a room (myself and my best mate have knocked the sh1te out of each other god knows how many times, mainly when he drinks from morning onward). My housemate moved his girlfriend in about 6 weeks ago, a holiday kind of turned into living here without him asking us or the landlady (who lives elsewhere), and I couldnt care less tbh :confused: Hey, she keeps the house clean and she cant give out to me for leaving cans and pizza boxes around the place seeing as technically she is still just stayin over :p (not that she would, not one of these clean freaks thankfully)

Just wondering......

Maybe if the relationship turns sour and one party bails and the other can't pay both shares, the landlord wont get his cash and will have to look for someone else...just a guess!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Couples are a pain in the tits to live with. I also suspect that the person letting the place wants to perve on the singles :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

I'd say because couples can bring a bad vibe into the house (when fighting etc..) and you have to listen to them riding. Just a guess.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Steve_o wrote: »
    Maybe if the relationship turns sour and one party bails and the other can't pay both shares, the landlord wont get his cash and will have to look for someone else...just a guess!

I'd guess the same, if friends fall out they can politely ignore one another, couples so seldom seem to be able to remain friends after breaking up that I doubt they'd wish to remain living together, especially with how awkward it'd get should either wish to begin dating someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭tobiesheba

I also think that a lot of people myself included just don't like the dynamics of a shared living space when there's a couple in a house/apartment. Recently I lived with a couple and often they were trying to have romantic dinners and cosy nights on the sofa which is fine in their own place but just not when you're sharing with three other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Magpie!

I just think it throws the whole dynamic of the house out.

I recently moved into a house with a couple and 2 lads. It felt very much like it was 'their' house. You'd hate going into the sitting room when they were there on their own etc.

And you knew if there was ever any hassle they would always side with each other.

They've moved out now thank god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Magpie!

tobiesheba wrote: »
    I also think that a lot of people myself included just don't like the dynamics of a shared living space when there's a couple in a house/apartment. Recently I lived with a couple and often they were trying to have romantic dinners and cosy nights on the sofa which is fine in their own place but just not when you're sharing with three other people.

Are we living in the same house? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

Tha Gopher wrote: »

Do those ads specify the kind of bed(s) that are in the room? I wouldn't live in a house where I had to share a double bed with a friend... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭oranjeboom

All of the above really. Couple's can bring a shed load of problems. Like what has been said before. I shared with couples before and always felt like the 3rd wheel. It can put some people in an uncomfortable position

I lived in France for a while and it actually was quite common for friends to share a double bed. But I do think that in most parts of Europe they have different attitudes to renting than we do here so it probably doesn't apply to Irish people. But I know Spanish/Italian people who would be delighted to share a bed with a friend if they knew it would save on the rent.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Mostly because a couple will take up a lot more space and resources than a single person would.

I'm not sure about the two friends part though. Sharing a bed? Odd.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I lived in France for a while and it actually was quite common for friends to share a double bed. But I do think that in most parts of Europe they have different attitudes to renting than we do here so it probably doesn't apply to Irish people.

For one thing, apartments are almost always rented unfurnished. Your 'friends' who convinced you to share their beds weren't from St. Denis were they?

No from the south actually - at the time I was sharing with two others and we all had separate rooms and beds - think they thought this was an awful waste of bed space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Perhaps the landlord doesn't want the place stacked to the ceiling with screaming babies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭reregholdsworth

what's wrong with living with a couple? if they don't impede on your use of the shared communal space then what's your beef?

If you take issue with hearing a bit of riding while you count the sheep before sleep is that not your own issue? the worrying thing is that it seems to be the issue of a lot of people who advertise on daft.

do you prefer to hear the aul creak-creak of your mate who you know is in his room on his own.

onanistic flatmates for the win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I lived in France for a while and it actually was quite common for friends to share a double bed. But I do think that in most parts of Europe they have different attitudes to renting than we do here so it probably doesn't apply to Irish people. But I know Spanish/Italian people who would be delighted to share a bed with a friend if they knew it would save on the rent.
    I think this is more common with girls than guys. Don't think it is too common with guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

blorg wrote: »
    I think this is more common with girls than guys. Don't think it is too common with guys.

think you missed the part where he said in France...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I lived in France for a while and it actually was quite common for friends to share a double bed.

Pics or it didn't happen ;)

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Perhaps the landlord doesn't want the place stacked to the ceiling with screaming babies.

I genuinely laughed. Gold star for you.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i am trying to rent a room in my house at the moment and i have said "no couples".

if you are a single in a house and a couple move in they tend to take over the house because there is two of them and one of you.

they would be getting all smoochy on the sofa when you are trying to watch top gear and taking over the kitchen etc. they are also more likely to stay in every friday and saturday night.

Plus i only want to share with one person not two, bathroom, washing machine etc.

oh and the walls are very thin, i dont want to listen to them shagging all night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

I was thinking about that recently as well.

I can understand (though not necessary agree) why people wouldn't want a couple as flatmates, but why do landlords put this note when they are renting out the place for just 2 people - meaning that the couple will live there on their own.

Are kids the reason, as ejmaztec said? I find it a bit to overcautious to be true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

funk-you wrote: »
    and you have to listen to them riding. Just a guess.

-Funk

meh, you are going to get that with maybe half of people who are renting a room but not living with their bird. Jaysus the last fellas visiting girl was around twice or three a week, some screamer :D (Couple in mine seldom watch the downstairs tv, and the other woman in the house never minded when I had the ex around maybe twice a week to give up the tv, or when I have a few lads around for cans in the winter to Spring to watch the champs league/Irish internationals). Though I suppose if the couple I live with did watch the downstairs tv alot you would feel like the 3rd wheel sitting on the chair in the corner while they do teh cuddlage. Still, Id personally think demands like "no clean freaks" be more important then no couples.
    irishbird wrote: »
    they are also more likely to stay in every friday and saturday night.

My single housemate hasnt had a man around all the time Ive been here. God help me any Friday or Saturday I dont go out, Im stuck on the net until the Late Late Show is over. She never fookin goes out :(

And besides, two single friend roomates are more likely to come in at 3am on a Saturday and stay up until 7 drinking, smoking doobs, talking sh1te and playing tunes and PS2 next door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭what2do

Your average two bed doesn't really fit three peoples anymore - just the volume of stuff is a nightmare. And the third wheel issue is really felt if the living area is just one sitting room/kitchen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

what2do wrote: »
    Your average two bed doesn't really fit three peoples anymore - just the volume of stuff is a nightmare. And the third wheel issue is really felt if the living area is just one sitting room/kitchen.
    Sorry, with all the discussion of bed sharing I first parsed that as "your average double bed doesn't really fit three people anymore" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

blorg wrote: »
    Sorry, with all the discussion of bed sharing I first parsed that as "your average double bed doesn't really fit three people anymore" :D

lol so did i, took me a minute to figure that out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

It's a lot harder to bugger yer wan with her bf there, very challenging at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    It's a lot harder to bugger yer wan with her bf there, very challenging at times.

chase is half the fun tho...

rhypnol works on men too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gabgab

Yeh sounds fiar enough to me, I would'nt rent out my spare room to a couple. Soom goober and his missus getting all loved up on the couch and the like, would do my head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Yeah, seems like an exponential thing, two people together always seems like more than two

What really annoys me on these ads is when they look for a "professional female non-smoker" but that's because i'm a smokin' male student

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

its too rare you can find a couple to share with that everyone clicks with. that and the awkward bits. walking into the kitchen in the morning looking for your coffee while they eat the face off eachother - always fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

what's wrong with living with a couple? if they don't impede on your use of the shared communal space then what's your beef?
    That would be fine, but it doesn't always work out that way.
    If you take issue with hearing a bit of riding while you count the sheep before sleep is that not your own issue?
    Is it something you'd want to hear? It can keep people awake and make them feel uncomfortable. I don't like the idea of people hearing my sex noises. And I hate being kept awake.
    do you prefer to hear the aul creak-creak of your mate who you know is in his room on his own.
    No. Not wanting to hear couples at it does not mean one would want to hear the above.

If it's quite a big place where the wells are well sound-proofed, then fine. But in a small house or apartment, an absolute no-no. Couples need their own space. And if they're gonna be extra smoochy-woochy... well that's for in private, not in the communal living room.
    In the same way, if a couple advertised a room on Daft to share with just them and I was looking for a house share, I wouldn't have any interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

When our last fella last in the house we were renting we got a couple in to replace him , didn't put no couples on the add and got a lot of couples coming for a viewing, the couple we got have been fine, brazilian couple, very quite, always clean and on time with bills. In saying that we were a bit lucky, I just bought a house and won't be renting the spare room to a couple, it's differant when i own it and will be there to i wouldn't have a couple doing all of the above, singles are better...and nurses =)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Dudess wrote: »
    In the same way, if a couple advertised a room on social.ie to share with just them ... I wouldn't have any interest.

Prudess :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I'd say it's jealousy OP, that and not having to fight two people over the bills.
    ntlbell wrote: »
    rhypnol works on men too
    Is that new to the market? I thought I was up to date on the good **** :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 kasm

Sinfonia wrote: »
    Yeah, seems like an exponential thing, two people together always seems like more than two

What really annoys me on these ads is when they look for a "professional female non-smoker" but that's because i'm a smokin' male student

I'm sure this question get asked all the time but ;does that mean there's amateur females or that non-smoking is a profession and possibly based on gender?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I've heard no men, no wo men, no mixed sexes, no irish, no smokers and so on. All down to the landlord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭FlexiLexi

it all sounds a little bit unfair to me....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭reregholdsworth

Is it something you'd want to hear? It can keep people awake and make them feel uncomfortable. I don't like the idea of people hearing my sex noises. And I hate being kept awake.

If it's quite a big place where the wells are well sound-proofed, then fine. But in a small house or apartment, an absolute no-no. Couples need their own space. And if they're gonna be extra smoochy-woochy... well that's for in private, not in the communal living room.
    In the same way, if a couple advertised a room on Daft to share with just them and I was looking for a house share, I wouldn't have any interest.

I agree with you in that I think part of the problem is the quality of the housing on the market. Although, to present a different perspective I know a family who live in a house with only two walls and which must be entered through another house. the couple have kids. i wonder about their privacy and whether they even worry about furtive noises.

To be honest, I don't really care too much if I hear my flatmates going at it. It was probably worse to constantly walk in on my parents going at it in random rooms throughout the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

funk-you wrote: »
    I'd say because couples can bring a bad vibe into the house (when fighting etc..) and you have to listen to them riding.
    Recently I lived with a couple and often they were trying to have romantic dinners and cosy nights on the sofa
    gabgab wrote: »
    Yeh sounds fiar enough to me, I would'nt rent out my spare room to a couple. Soom goober and his missus getting all loved up on the couch and the like, would do my head in.
    All of these objections are things you would run into with single people as well, unless you stipulate as part of the lease that no sex is allowed in the house.
    Mostly because a couple will take up a lot more space and resources than a single person would.
    They normally pay more rent though, while using less electricity etc than two individual people.
    onanistic flatmates for the win?
    If thats a problem you could always get them to eat cornflakes, as I recently found out, it was invented to help stop masturbation. Seriously, look up yerman Kellogg, he should be in the top row of the "mad scientists" gallery. Yoghurt enemas and healthy intestinal flora for all!
    ojewriej wrote: »
    but why do landlords put this note when they are renting out the place for just 2 people - meaning that the couple will live there on their own.
    Aha, and here we have the actual reason. There is a general feeling that if a couple wants to live together they should buy a house, mainly due to general prudishness and the religious convictions of your average Irish landlord. Living in sin is a very real issue for many of these antediluvian rosary counters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

Think it’s usually from the tenants point of view and not so much the landlords. Ex BF of mine and I shared a two bedroom flat with one other girl for a year and it was difficult at times. BF and I hardly ever fought so it wasn’t that but it is awkward if 2/3 of the house are snuggled up on the couch watching TV.

Looking back on it now don’t know how she stuck it.

Don’t think I’d do it!!

Aha, and here we have the actual reason. There is a general feeling that if a couple wants to live together they should buy a house, mainly due to general prudishness and the religious convictions of your average Irish landlord. Living in sin is a very real issue for many of these antediluvian rosary counters.

I never thought of that.

I still find it quite unbelievable, but I suppose it makes sense, given that most of the landlords would belong to the older generation. Not-so-old B&B owner once refused my&gf's reservation when she realised we weren't married.

Myself and the girlfriend have been turned down for apartments here in Germany that we wanted to rent (on our own) because we weren't married. Its quite common unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I would prefer to rent with girls over lads, I know girls can be slobs too...I don't think i could live with a couple, i can just imagine them shouting at each other and then shouting at me to keep the music down. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

What? In Germany? Rural Ireland I'd expect that but "liberal" Germany?!

SimpleSam, it's unfair to imply that those who don't want to be hearing regular sex noises are prudes. It's an annoying sound - that's all. As for not wanting to see couples get really smoochie-woochie with each other - some things just aren't spectator sports.

Yes single people will have sex too, and those in relationships whose partners come over to stay, but they're not living with a partner so it's not gonna be as regular. The odd bout of sex noise is not a problem - most of us have been guilty of it - but on a constant basis it's tiresome. Again though, I'm only talking about in a small property with bad acoustics. I shared with a couple and one other in a big house at one stage and it was fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

SimpleSam, it's unfair to imply that those who don't want to be hearing regular sex noises are prudes. It's an annoying sound - that's all. As for not wanting to see couples get really smoochie-woochie with each other - some things just aren't spectator sports.

Yes single people will have sex too, and those in relationships whose partners come over to stay, but they're not living with a partner so it's not gonna be as regular. The odd bout of sex noise is not a problem - most of us have been guilty of it - but on a constant basis it's tiresome. Again though, I'm only talking about in a small property with bad acoustics. I shared with a couple and one other in a big house at one stage and it was fine.

Eventually you get used to the sound of sex noises and its like music to your ears, Not really though! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Don't forget this is the country where your church tithe is literally taken out of your taxes.
    I dunno, my pay per view hidden webcam would tend to disagree with you there. :p Honestly though, you could just as easily run into the same problems with singles in a steady relationship, where the SO visits regularly. Even if they aren't in a relationship when they move in, you can bet that most people will be actively seeking a steady relationship of some sort.

I'd have more of a problem with amorous singletons arriving in at 4am blasted out of their heads to batter a hole in the wall adjacent with some random stranger in my house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

KTRIC wrote: »
    Myself and the girlfriend have been turned down for apartments here in Germany that we wanted to rent (on our own) because we weren't married. Its quite common unfortunately.

Isn't "Deepest Darkest Bavaria" more Catholic than good old Catholic Ireland?

Honestly though, you could just as easily run into the same problems with singles in a steady relationship, where the SO visits regularly. Even if they aren't in a relationship when they move in, you can bet that most people will be actively seeking a steady relationship of some sort.

And very often the result is that the your flatmate's other half ends up semi-living in your house, which most of the time is not suitable for another person.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Isn't "Deepest Darkest Bavaria" more Catholic than good old Catholic Ireland?

Yes it is indeed. Think Ireland in the 60's and you're close ;)

Magpie! wrote: »
    I recently moved into a house with a couple and 2 lads. It felt very much like it was 'their' house. You'd hate going into the sitting room when they were there on their own etc.

And you knew if there was ever any hassle they would always side with each other.

Yeah this has bugged me in the past Its a real pain and you cannot do anything about it