Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

most consecutive days on the beer?

• 08-07-2008 8:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭

well how many straight days of sessioning have you done in a row? ive been away outta ireland for 2 months now and d say bar 5 or 6days ive been on the rip everyday!id say i was on the beer about 2 weeks straight without a break!its a tough job but somebodies gotta do it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭DJ_Spider

I used to run a bar and nightclub, so I think I win! Quality control is so important!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

May this year in Denmark, did so for 6-7 days. Was great craic. Lovely country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Lent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

Rugby tour to Boston. We had raised our own funds, and then we got sponsored as well, so the drinking kitty received a massive boost.

Started drinking in the airport at 07:00 ish, and didn't really stop, bar sleeping and the three games, until arriving home, a drunken, stinking, dribbling mess, 10 days later. At any time of the day or night, a small hard-core group would be drinking ... 24x7, in the hotel, on the day trips, at the game, during the game, on the coach ... everywhere.

Great days. Great days indeed. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Daemonic

About 14 nights, the Christmas after I got my first decent job. Took my remaining holidays and went on the lash. By the end it was up at 4pm, dinner, drink until 4am, bed, repeat.
    Took about 4 or 5 days to recover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

3rd June 1986 to 12th December 1995 (3,480 days)
    1st March 1996 to 31st August 2001 (2,010 days)

I'm not joking either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭DenMan

Hill Billy wrote: »

I'm not joking either.

Fair play to ya Hill Billy, at least you got a 10 week break....:D

Me personally 14 days I believe is my record..........I know it pales in comparison.....:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

since the beers in d2 i have had about 3 or 4 days off it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭chris_oc

was on the lash for 6 weeks straight in greece, not the best idea to go beering through 40 degree+ heatwaves but we stuck through it:pac:
    if you were hungover all you had to do was jump of the nearest cliff you found(great craic while locked by the way) into cold salt-water... i tell ya, if that doesn't wake a lad up i dont know what does:p
    couldnt sleep without a few drinks goin down the hatch for a few weeks after....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 forza athletico

in the past at university i did regular two week benders 3 times a year for four years, this was down to student grants allocations. does this count in total to six weeks lol? no only messin.

No the best/worst one of all, was two years ago, i went on the drink for 16 days straight, now bearing in mind i worked in a bar, i did morning shifts 6 times in those 16 days, drank while i worked and sat at the other side when i wasnt! my fridge for a party one nite was this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 forza athletico

oh and just found another nite on that bender, this time the bath got it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

In terms of drinking each night, probably my sixth year holiday all those years ago, so 2 weeks.

In terms of staying drunk, probably a long weekend trip to Nottingham earlier this year, so 3 or 4 days of unsobriety

DenMan wrote: »
    Fair play to ya Hill Billy, at least you got a 10 week break....:D
    I just cut down to 2 or 3 pints a day during that period. Doesn't really count. Most days back then I'd have that with my cornflakes.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

out of 4.5 months in melbourne, i was sober for 2 days.

Once cos i was too sick to drink and once just cos i thought i would try it :o

1 sober day in 7 weeks summer 06, never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

7 and a half weeks with one night off. Can't remember where the night off was in that. Germany for the world cup, and decided to stay on for a bit. What a party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

14 days split between Amsterdam, Paris and Stockholm.

I could have sh1t through the eye of a needle when I got home.

Was in Paris for three weeks earlier in the year with work, but was home every weekend. Spent Sunday-Thursday on the lash each week, colleagues reckon I averaged 12 pints and 6/7 Jamesons a night...and a steak dinner...

Was rough as arses when we got back, managed one pint in the local then had to hop in a taxi home to curl up in a ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭o Diablo o

scruff321 wrote: »
    well how many straight days of sessioning have you done in a row? ive been away outta ireland for 2 months now and d say bar 5 or 6days ive been on the rip everyday!id say i was on the beer about 2 weeks straight without a break!its a tough job but somebodies gotta do it :)

Depends how heavily drinkin you mean. If were just talkin a few sociables then months and months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

The week I turned 18 I was like the poormans Brendan Behan wandering around the place :rolleyes: Think I went out 5 nights that week- and had a house party on the Saturday. Remember it being a beautiful school week too (you know the ones- 'table quiz' Monday, 'staff day' Tuesday, 'half day' Friday...)

I'm very rarely drunk. I love a drink or two/five but I know when to stop. The feeling on turning 18 is a strange one though, and there's a whole new world to be discovered with it. One of Abrakebabras, Nightlinks and crap music. My nights out now are much more dignified and relaxed affairs. Give us a pub/decent music night over that rubbbbbbish.

*This is one of the first times I've vanished outside the Leaving Cert forum. Thinking it's time I moved on :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

1996-2003.Every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Just wondering what everyones idea of 'on the beer' means? Personally, if I went out and had 5 pints say, thats hardly 'on the beer'.

Anyway my answer is about 8 days. 6 nights being in the Canaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Forky wrote: »
    Just wondering what everyones idea of 'on the beer' means? Personally, if I went out and had 5 pints say, thats hardly 'on the beer'.

yeah i was thinking the same thing id say 8pints+ is on the beer

Degsy wrote: »
    1996-2003.Every day.
    Glad to see that someone else is in the quadruple-digit league.

@ IB: 10/10 for getting into double-digits!

Hey Hill Billy

You having a drink tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 shules

stayed in a frat house with a few american boys last summer so drank lots of beer everyday for three months. id say most students who have done a J1 summer can say the same

DenMan wrote: »
    Hey Hill Billy

You having a drink tonight?

Every night. These days it is normally a glass or two of wine or a beer at home. My 8-plus-pints-a-night finished back in 2001 when I became a Dad & had to start behaving all growed-up. :o

Hill Billy wrote: »

The second session should have been 1st March 1996 to 31st August 2002 (2,375 days). I missed a whole year. :o

Nice to kick back with a nice cold beer Hill Billy. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

scruff321 wrote: »

4 Days and I was wrecked :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭trowelled

Went to San Francisco last August for a month. Don't think we had a sober day. I stayed drinking pretty much until I had to get on the plane home (well went to bed for 2 hours then drunkingly made it to the airport). Arrived back in Ireland round morning time and decided there was no piont going to bed (wanted to defy jet lag) and so went down to Tipp with my mam and continued the drinking session with relations then finally went to bed after being up for a more than 24 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu