Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Colin Montgomerie

• 08-07-2008 8:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭

I think montgomerie's behaviour on a golf course is very lacking in manners. it seems to be getting worse by the year. its a pity cause he is undoubtedly one of the most talented golfers of his era. Here's a link to another on course incident at the european open. Look at the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

ant043 wrote: »
    I think montgomerie's behaviour on a golf course is very lacking in manners. it seems to be getting worse by the year. its a pity cause he is undoubtedly one of the most talented golfers of his era. Here's a link to another on course incident at the european open. Look at the video.

Didn't get the link there ant043.

I agree though, Monty lets himself down alot on the course. He's become a bit of joke. I also couldn't believe it after the French Open when he said he couldn't remember the name of the winner. Just shows that his head is up his own @rse IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭ant043

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

rigal wrote: »
    I also couldn't believe it after the French Open when he said he couldn't remember the name of the winner. Just shows that his head is up his own @rse IMO.

I lost all respect when he cheated back a few years ago when he marked his ball over night. he would have been standing in the bunker the previous day but not the next morning. he knew himself but unlike dazzler when the fairies came along he played it as it lay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Trampas wrote: »
    I lost all respect when he cheated back a few years ago when he marked his ball over night. he would have been standing in the bunker the previous day but not the next morning. he knew himself but unlike dazzler when the fairies came along he played it as it lay

Unlike a certain Darren Clarke in the Irish Open in Carton a couple of years back IIRC. He knew the ball had been moved overnight and gave him a better line to the pin, but he asked for the ball to be moved back to its original position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

He's always been a prick in my book.
    Leopards never change their spots.
    Pompus bitch - fcuk him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Mullinatrix

He's a disgrace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

As David Feherty calls him Mrs Doubtfire, he has a face like a bull licking p*ss off nettles.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

Hey, wouldn't it be great to get Chris Crocker to do a video for youtube entitled "Leave Monty Alone".

Although if you listen to the attached clip and replace the name Britney for Monty it's scary how close the description seems to fit!:D

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=LWSjUe0FyxQ

A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

He lets himself down at times, but he's still one of my favourite golfers.

I think it's been blown all out of proportion. I think what Monty was getting at is that without the golf there would be nothing to show on tv. Whch is quite correct. The way he said it was unfortunate though.

Still a legend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭Patrick_K

Ah Graham !
    No offense but you're wrong there and you must know it too :-)

What Monty meant was exactly what he said. "You're here because of me".
    He might as well have said "I'm a loaded professional golfer (although one who will never win a major) and you're nothing but a microphone holder"
    A very condescending thing to say to any man IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

i agree with graham sorry. he is a legend but just flys off the handle at times and it comes out all wrong and lets himself down. i do agree though that he is very knit picky at times with people moving etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 grainne_ed

At least Monty speaks his mind, one of the few in todays society.

Clarkes big time irishman 'stekch' is wearing a bit thin on me these days.

I am a big fan of Clarke also but the " IRISHMAN" gig makes me laugh.
    its only when it suits him

Patrick_K wrote: »
    Ah Graham !
    No offense but you're wrong there and you must know it too :-)

What Monty meant was exactly what he said. "You're here because of me".
    He might as well have said "I'm a loaded professional golfer (although one who will never win a major) and you're nothing but a microphone holder"
    A very condescending thing to say to any man IMO.

I don't believe that. I don't think Monty is like that at all. He might be outspoken and a bit of a grump, but he's not got an ego like that. I just think it came out wrong.

Monty gets it from all angles both on and off the course and at the end of the day he's just a human being. One who is probably sturggling to come to terms with the fact that he's not as good or as invincible as he used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

I don't think anyone could condone Monty's actions but I think Sky really decided to flex its media muscles and did him over big style this week. The results are right here in some of the posts above. I'm not saying Sky shouldn't have shown it. Monty didn't deserve to get away with what he did and the way he did it. But Golf Night had a whole section on it. They waited til after the highlights of the round and then showed the incident and had a great discussion about how nasty Monty was to have reacted the way he did. Then all week they have the video on there website and another crass telling-off by Ewen Murray in his blog. At the Wales Open Monty ripped into 2 Sky presenters coming off the 18th in full view off galleries. Sky could have shown that but didn't so I think they had his cards marked(not literally :D) since then. Monty has had this coming for a while but not the way Sky went about it imo.

Monty will be delighted that this week and next are on the BBC! I am too... by far the best golf coverage comes from the bbc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Adiaga 2 wrote: »
    I don't think anyone could condone Monty's actions but I think Sky really decided to flex its media muscles and did him over big style this week. The results are right here in some of the posts above. I'm not saying Sky shouldn't have shown it. Monty didn't deserve to get away with what he did and the way he did it. But Golf Night had a whole section on it. They waited til after the highlights of the round and then showed the incident and had a great discussion about how nasty Monty was to have reacted the way he did. Then all week they have the video on there website and another crass telling-off by Ewen Murray in his blog. At the Wales Open Monty ripped into 2 Sky presenters coming off the 18th in full view off galleries. Sky could have shown that but didn't so I think they had his cards marked(not literally :D) since then. Monty has had this coming for a while but not the way Sky went about it imo.

I agree. Sky have gleefully taken the opportunity to give Monty a big-time doing over here. You'd swear Ewen Murray's sh*t didn't stink. Don't forget, that Sky cannot attach any blame whatsoever to their sound man or it would mean trouble down the road so they take the highest of moral highground, much like Andy Gray and Jamie f*ckin Redknapp love to with soccer.

I'm not Monty's biggest fan and find that he uses crowd distractions etc as a bit of an easy excuse for playing poorly at times, but his words are taken out of context here imo.

Also, Darren Clarke strikes me as a stand-up guy, can't see why someone would say his Irishness is a "sketch".

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    I agree. Sky have gleefully taken the opportunity to give Monty a big-time doing over here. You'd swear Ewen Murray's sh*t didn't stink. Don't forget, that Sky cannot attach any blame whatsoever to their sound man or it would mean trouble down the road so they take the highest of moral highground, much like Andy Gray and Jamie f*ckin Redknapp love to with soccer.

I'm not Monty's biggest fan and find that he uses crowd distractions etc as a bit of an easy excuse for playing poorly at times, but his words are taken out of context here imo.

Also, Darren Clarke strikes me as a stand-up guy, can't see why someone would say his Irishness is a "sketch".

Isn't Clarke British?;)

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    Isn't Clarke British?;)

Can: Open.
    Worms: EVERYWHERE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Isn't Clarke British?;)
    Sorry if this is off topic but.......

As he is from Dungannon that's Irish enough for me. Where does all this stuff about Clarke not being Irish come from anyway? Not to be pedantic but NI is not in Great Britain anyway but in the "United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland.

"Wikipedia.
    The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, commonly known as the United Kingdom, the UK, or Britain,[3] is a sovereign island country[4][5] located off the northwestern coast of continental Europe. The UK includes the island of Great Britain, the northeast part of the island of Ireland and many small islands. Northern Ireland is the only part of the UK with a land border, sharing it with the Republic of Ireland.[6] Apart from this land border, the UK is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, the North Sea, the English Channel and the Irish Sea. The largest island, Great Britain, is linked to France by the Channel Tunnel."

Can: Open.
    Worms: EVERYWHERE!

thats all we meant
    he picks or is given his nationality when it suits him
    stand up guy he certainly is

denisoc16 wrote: »
    Not to be pedantic but NI is not in Great Britain anyway but in the "United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland.

I was only messing. I couldn't give two hoots where he's from. I agree that he does seem to pander to a different side depending on who is speaking to.

Getting back to Monty, i agree with WhipIt that there seems to be a bit of previous between Monty and Sky and Sky now seem to be making him pay for that.

Will be interesting to hear Monty's side of the story. I'd be surprisied if the microphone holder hadn't done something to distract or annoy him though.

Monty has been behaving like a spoilt child for years and I think the media have been easy on him in general up until now.

I think it's great what Sky have done, at last someone has stood up to the bully. It was a disgraceful thing to say and he has rightly lost the respect of a lot of the golfing public because of it and I wouldn't say his sponsors are too happy either. If he had any kind of cop on he would have issued a public apology and explained his actions.

It's very easy to say that he has a great record and is one of the best european players of our time, that's not being disputed here, but nobody should get away with his behaviour.

I can't wait to head to Birkdale and boo him on the 1st tee next week (Joke!:D)

Monty has been behaving like a spoilt child for years and I think the media have been easy on him in general up until now.

I think it's great what Sky have done, at last someone has stood up to the bully. It was a disgraceful thing to say and he has rightly lost the respect of a lot of the golfing public because of it and I wouldn't say his sponsors are too happy either. If he had any kind of cop on he would have issued a public apology and explained his actions.

It's very easy to say that he has a great record and is one of the best european players of our time, that's not being disputed here, but nobody should get away with his behaviour.

I can't wait to head to Birkdale and boo him on the 1st tee next week (Joke!:D)

you would think he murdered someone the way everyone is going on !! he had words with someone who was moving in his eye line while looking to take a shot. his words were heated and probably not accurate to what he meant although i do agree it came across with snobbery. he does have a tendancy to be easily put off his game but nothing malicous.

he needs to look at how Tiger deals with that situation, with a bit of manners...but thats all.

i am sure there are things we have all handled wrong in the past, get over it

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    you would think he murdered someone the way everyone is going on !! he had words with someone who was moving in his eye line while looking to take a shot. his words were heated and probably not accurate to what he meant although i do agree it came across with snobbery. he does have a tendancy to be easily put off his game but nothing malicous.

he needs to look at how Tiger deals with that situation, with a bit of manners...but thats all.

I'm not sure Tiger is all that mannerly. He's been finded a number of times for swearing and spitting and emptying his nose on camera. His caddie physically removed a camera from a trigger-happy photographer a couple of years back.

Granted, he'll likely never say anything as ill-advised as what Monty supposedly said last week, but he's no angel in this regard - thing is, the press love him... Public image is all media driven, no more, no less.

I'm not sure Tiger is all that mannerly. He's been finded a number of times for swearing and spitting and emptying his nose on camera. His caddie physically removed a camera from a trigger-happy photographer a couple of years back.

Granted, he'll likely never say anything as ill-advised as what Monty supposedly said last week, but he's no angel in this regard - thing is, the press love him... Public image is all media driven, no more, no less.

well I am talking with regard to asking people to move back or keep quiet etc, he always has a please and thank you. Tiger has cleaned up his act in my book but i do agree the media love him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

You wouldn't actually think he murdered anybody. The fact is that he attacked a guy doing his job because, once again, he was unable to control his frustration at putting a ball into the water.

He also compounded that by saying that the sound tech was "only there because of me" . What an outrageous and pompous idiot he is. This is not the first time that Monty has come foul of both the fans and the media, who he should remember, are the very people who have him where he is. Not the reverse. Where it not for the work of the tech's etc...on Sky and the ability to beam live pictures from anywhere around the world, then the prize money would not exist.

Monty is, sadly, typical of the type of person who cannot admit that his best years are behind him. Instead he insists on letting the world know that he's still a force to be reckoned with and when it clearly appears that he is not, he vents his frustration on the world.

As an aside the video on the Sky website does not show the incident in it's entirety. The sound technician was moving out of Monty's eye line (how he was actually in his eye line is beyond me) and when Monty perceived that the guy was not moving quickly enough, he had his outburst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Monty is sponsored by sky so makes it even more fun

I dont condone what he done dont get me wrong but attack is too strong a word in my opinion. He flew off the handle in frustration.I certainly agree that his best years have been and gone and as i have admitted it was quiet abrupt in how he handled it but i still feel people are making it a bigger deal than it was. Even at his best he always had this tendancy to let little things effect his game and was always known for that. Sure just look at the KitKad add he done taking the mick out of himself.

Your very correct in saying the fans,TV etc pays his wage and thats something he needs to change his attitude on. Funny thing is its the same people who slate him all the time in single events, cheer him on in Ryder cups etc

dont think he will have that to worry about this year though ha ha

Let me put this in perspective for you. We're not talking about some barney between two lads on your local golf course here.

Monty has a responsibility to the tour,his fellow players and his sponsors. He let them all down on this occasion (and on a few others) and should be man enough to come out and say so. Not that much to ask I don't think.

So much for it being a Gentlemans game :rolleyes:

I dont condone what he done dont get me wrong but attack is too strong a word in my opinion. He flew off the handle in frustration.I certainly agree that his best years have been and gone and as i have admitted it was quiet abrupt in how he handled it but i still feel people are making it a bigger deal than it was. Even at his best he always had this tendancy to let little things effect his game and was always known for that. Sure just look at the KitKad add he done taking the mick out of himself.

Your very correct in saying the fans,TV etc pays his wage and thats something he needs to change his attitude on. Funny thing is its the same people who slate him all the time in single events, cheer him on in Ryder cups etc

dont think he will have that to worry about this year though ha ha

Attacked/Bullied/Whatever, the phraseology is moot. He took out his frustration on a guy (big deal he has done it in the past) but he compounded this by his "me" remark.

If it was an isolated incident, one could possibly overlook it, but the thing is with Monty that it's not. He just seems to be digging and digging further. As has been pointed out earlier in this thread, he was clearly caught cheating in the past, blew up when it was put to him, and yet the masses overlooked this cheating because of the immense player he was/is.

I honestly hope that as many people as possible see this clip and decide, finally, to see Monty for what he is. A sad wannabe has-been, who's mannerisms, insults, tantrums and rudeness has no place in the game.

Let me put this in perspective for you. We're not talking about some barney between two lads on your local golf course here.

Monty has a responsibility to the tour,his fellow players and his sponsors. He let them all down on this occasion (and on a few others) and should be man enough to come out and say so. Not that much to ask I don't think.

So much for it being a Gentlemans game :rolleyes:

I will say it again I dont condone what he done

I just think it has been blown out of all proportions, I am fully aware of his responsibilites thanks. He handled it wrong and for that he should apologise and it should stop there. Talk of losing sponsors and huge fines etc are ridiculous

Monty had just hit a shot that ruled him out of contending for a title. Someone interfered with his pre-shot routine and he told them about it. He was in a bad frame of mind and his emotions got the better of him. Cut him a bit of slack.

As for what he said, in theory he was correct, the cameras are there to watch Monty and the rest of the players, the players aren't there to play for the cameras.

If this sound guy has been doing the job for as long as he has been he should've known better.

Hobart wrote: »
    Attacked/Bullied/Whatever, the phraseology is moot. He took out his frustration on a guy (big deal he has done it in the past) but he compounded this by his "me" remark.

If it was an isolated incident, one could possibly overlook it, but the thing is with Monty that it's not. He just seems to be digging and digging further. As has been pointed out earlier in this thread, he was clearly caught cheating in the past, blew up when it was put to him, and yet the masses overlooked this cheating because of the immense player he was/is.

I honestly hope that as many people as possible see this clip and decide, finally, to see Monty for what he is. A sad wannabe has-been, who's mannerisms, insults, tantrums and rudeness has no place in the game.

I am only speaking about this one incident also, it was you who brought up the past, I merely said that even when he was at his prime he was easlily distracted. People look at his incidents as him asking the crowd to stay still or not flash a camera while he takes a shot. bothers some and not others so he is entitled to do that. people find he does it with a wrong attitude and I agree.

Let me ask you if you were playing in his shoes and someone put you off your shot would you simply say nothing ?? i know i wouldnt but I also know I would handle it better than he does.

His cheating which I had no time for and it might surprise you to hear I lost all respect for him when it happened and still have no respect for him now, however I think he is a very valuable player in Ryder cup teams etc as he has the ability to lift players around him.

Just in this instance we are talking about I think he was wrong (AGAIN) but dont think its as big a deal as some are making it out to be.

Monty had just hit a shot that ruled him out of contending for a title. Someone interfered with his pre-shot routine and he told them about it. He was in a bad frame of mind and his emotions got the better of him. Cut him a bit of slack.
    Wrong Graeme. He was not in contention at all. It was Friday, not the weekend. As it turned out, he finished way back. The whole "contention" thing is a complete misnomer. It was a 1 shot penalty. Nothing more than that.

As for his pre-shot routine being interfered with, I again disagree. The guy was some 40 yards away from Monty and was clerly moving when Monty had his outburst.
    As for what he said, in theory he was correct, the cameras are there to watch Monty and the rest of the players, the players aren't there to play for the cameras.
    Again, wrong. You are trying to read something into what Monty said as opposed to listening to what he actually said. He did not mention Camera's or anything. He clearly claimed that "You're here because of me ok, remember that". Nothing more. What an absolutely pompous and idiotic thing to say.
    If this sound guy has been doing the job for as long as he has been he should've known better.
    So, your contention is that Monty was not frustrated by hitting the ball into the water, was not blowing up at a guy who was doing what he had been asked to do and it's all the sound guy's fault? Are you even close to being serious?
    I am only speaking about this one incident also, it was you who brought up the past, I merely said that even when he was at his prime he was easlily distracted. People look at his incidents as him asking the crowd to stay still or not flash a camera while he takes a shot. bothers some and not others so he is entitled to do that. people find he does it with a wrong attitude and I agree.
    I bring up his past as it's shows a pattern for intemperate and rude behaviour. All players ask the crowds not to move, be quiet and stay still. I have yet to see another player react to a person doing their job in the manner in which Monty did.
    Let me ask you if you were playing in his shoes and someone put you off your shot would you simply say nothing ?? i know i wouldnt but I also know I would handle it better than he does.
    Where does it say that he was put off anything? Where was he put off his shot? Are you claiming that his reaction was nothing to do with the fact that he had just put a ball in the water? Are the two incidents completely un-related?
    His cheating which I had no time for and it might surprise you to hear I lost all respect for him when it happened and still have no respect for him now, however I think he is a very valuable player in Ryder cup teams etc as he has the ability to lift players around him.
    I don't disagrre with you, for his Ryder cup exploits, it still does not excuse his behaviour though. It never will.
    Just in this instance we are talking about I think he was wrong (AGAIN) but dont think its as big a deal as some are making it out to be.
    I think it may the straw that breaks the Camels back in a lot of ways. Fan's have long long memories. I have seen this incident talked about and debated on a number of fora, and he does not come out of it covered in rose petals on any of the discussions I have seen.

Hobart wrote: »
    Wrong Graeme. He was not in contention at all. It was Friday, not the weekend. As it turned out, he finished way back. The whole "contention" thing is a complete misnomer. It was a 1 shot penalty. Nothing more than that.

As for his pre-shot routine being interfered with, I again disagree. The guy was some 40 yards away from Monty and was clerly moving when Monty had his outburst.

Again, wrong. You are trying to read something into what Monty said as opposed to listening to what he actually said. He did not mention Camera's or anything. He clearly claimed that "You're here because of me ok, remember that". Nothing more. What an absolutely pompous and idiotic thing to say.

So, your contention is that Monty was not frustrated by hitting the ball into the water, was not blowing up at a guy who was doing what he had been asked to do and it's all the sound guy's fault? Are you even close to being serious?

Deadly serious, i don't think Monty did anything wrong. In fact, if he comes out and apologises i'll lose all respect for him. The sound guy on the other hand should take himself away (quietly and without disturbing anyone) and have a good word with himself.

Sure...

How can you continue to defend him :confused: Don't let your Nationality cloud your judgement...:pac::pac::pac:
    I am only speaking about this one incident also, it was you who brought up the past, I merely said that even when he was at his prime he was easlily distracted......Just in this instance we are talking about I think he was wrong (AGAIN) but dont think its as big a deal as some are making it out to be.

I think I can hear your bike back pedalling :D

The title of the thread is "Colin Montgomery" so we are entitled to talk about his past and present are we not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

The title of the thread is "Colin Montgomery" so we are entitled to talk about his past and present are we not?

Don't think Monty would be impressed to see his name spelled like that rigal... He's probably instructing his butler to release the hounds at this very moment.. :D

i didn't expect this many replies. Any respect i did have for him was lost in the last two weeks. his comments about the french open winner and in this incident were just ignorant and rude. He really has no class as a golfer on course. At the french open aswell, he caused a young boy to break into tears for daring to cross him. its a previous murray column http://www.skysports.com/experts/expert_story/0,19793,12065_3758725,00.html

I was on the Monty website there and looked through his sponsors... listed among them is none other than Sky Sports!

There's a video on there showing him in the build up to the Scottish Open and teaching kids. Totally different character to the one being discussed here. I guess that's the infuriating thing about him though, if only his on course self was more like he is off course.

Sky was mentioned way back in this thread as one of his sponsers. Any video of him making those kids cry??

No such video could exist as he never made any kids cry. The quote from Ewan Murray was that a kid appeared 'close to tears'.

Then again, with Murrays love of hyperbole and sugar coating everything, who knows.

How can you continue to defend him :confused: Don't let your Nationality cloud your judgement...:pac::pac::pac:

I think I can hear your bike back pedalling :D

Rigal i like it but not back pedalling at all.

If i am gonna be picked on for my words I think I should just return the compliment. Hobart was saying that he has been known for it in the past or something to that effect and then said he only does it because he has lost his form and is not the player he once was!! so in the past when he done it he was in form, one of the best in Europe !! now tell me because i must be a little slow ( even on my bike) how that adds up !!

I then merely suggested that I was talking about this one instance and said it was blown out of proportion. So if i am attacked / bullied or whatever the phraseology is please forgive me for defending myself.

I must commend you for your huge knowledge in working out though that is a Colin Montgomery Thread...good man, talk away past , present and future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

ant043 wrote: »
    At the french open aswell, he caused a young boy to break into tears for daring to cross him. its a previous murray column http://www.skysports.com/experts/expert_story/0,19793,12065_3758725,00.html

After reading all of the comments posted below that article, both pro and anti-Monty, it's clear in my mind what CM is, and that's a bully.

As one of the comments said, if it were my son that CM humiliated for no reason at all, I would not stand idly by and let him away with it.

the funny thing is that off course he is supposed to be a great guy. i actually met him briefly at british open two years ago after the wednesday practice. He signed a couple of things for me and seemed really friendly.

Rigal i like it but not back pedalling at all.

If i am gonna be picked on for my words I think I should just return the compliment. Hobart was saying that he has been known for it in the past or something to that effect and then said he only does it because he has lost his form and is not the player he once was!! so in the past when he done it he was in form, one of the best in Europe !! now tell me because i must be a little slow ( even on my bike) how that adds up !!
    Did I? Did I actually say (or infer) that he is just like this because "only does it because he has lost his form"? If I did, I would like you to point it out BUACHAILL. Let me set the record straight on what you have (incorrectly) said above.

At no point to I attribute this guy's attitude to his lack of form of late. No point. I brought up his past, and I know I am repeating myself here, to demonstrate that he has a propensity of being an intemperate person. At no point, no point, do I suggest that his pompous idiocy is related to his lack of form.

If you insist on putting words into somebody's mouth, at least have the courtesy to read what that person has said.
    No such video could exist as he never made any kids cry. The quote from Ewan Murray was that a kid appeared 'close to tears'.
    Hmmmm....I guess I'll just let my comment fly over your head so.
    Then again, with Murrays love of hyperbole and sugar coating everything, who knows.
    It's true, Murray is well known for mis-reporting and his use of hyperbole. It must be his fault, the camera man's fault (what camera man), Sky's fault, the tilt of the earth (sure wasn't he in contention), but never Monty's fault....

Monty is, sadly, typical of the type of person who cannot admit that his best years are behind him. Instead he insists on letting the world know that he's still a force to be reckoned with and when it clearly appears that he is not, he vents his frustration on the world.

was this not you HOBART ??

It was. At what point did I say that his past outbursts have anything remotely got to do with his lack of form?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Monty has been and always will be his own worst enemy. This has cost him winning a major title. The difference between himself and Harrington is between the ears because I reckon Monty is the more talented of the two. But I could say the same about Harrington and a lot of the European players.

Monty has never won in the states. For me this is down to the crowds in the states winding him up on every tee box and elsewhere on the course. His playing partners have always commented on this but his reputation has brought this on himself. He was lucky in Europe that the fans were more respectful to him but occasionaly he blew up here also.

I recall an incident a couple of years ago he had with Thomas Bjorn (another hothead) when Bjorn was putting and Monty moved. At the time it looked like Bjorn was going to burst him but waited until they had walked out of sight. In the end Monty apologised. So he also doesn't practice what he preaches.

Having said that I think we will need our strongest side in the States and as Harrington and others have said he should be in the team. I just hope Harri gets in without the need for a captains pick.