Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cups and Shields

• 08-07-2008 4:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭

Just out of interest, is there anyone on here who are still involved in any of the Cups and Shields. they all seem to be reaching the quarters/semi's at this stage, so are any of you involved?

The only thing i'm still part of is the Barton Cup, with a quarter final this weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Unfortunately not OP, beaten by Roganstown in 1/4 final stage of Metropolitan Cup last Sat week.

Who are you playing for and who are the opposition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Paulusmaximus

madds wrote: »
    Unfortunately not OP, beaten by Roganstown in 1/4 final stage of Metropolitan Cup last Sat week.

Who are you playing for and who are the opposition?

playing for Malahide against Sutton. A local derby.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Played in the Barton Shield, but we were knocked out in the 2nd round by the Island.

Good luck in your 1/4 final and let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Sutton won the Barton Cup about 4 years ago didn't they? I was in Milltown at the time and I THINK it was against them that one of our 5 handicappers missed a putt from 1 foot in the Semi Final.

Best of luck Paul!

i think they did. apparantly they have a few young juveniles on their team, but we do too, so i really hope the advantage of three matches at home might sway it our way...

Yeah the right kind of kids can be a huge asset to interclub teams. So many teams that do well these days seem to have at least one token nipper who's been cut from 15 to 4 in the last 6 weeks ;)

Seriously though, it's hard to put your finger on why it seems to work (though not all the time) but I think it might have something to do with older guys being a bit phased or even embarassed to be pitted against a school kid with a fearless fluid swing.

Obviously theres an on-paper advantage as kids often have come down in h'cap alot since the previous year, yet it's last year's h'cap that counts for interclub purposes.

We have one or two good 'uns in South County but I think it takes a good manager to know who's ready and who could potentially be a bit too over-awed by the whole thing.

As a matter of interest, what kind of preparation to people do for Interclubs? Friendlies in the early season? Social get-togethers or matches between yourselves? Any group sessions with the club pro or anything like that?
    Or does anyone find that a team is just picked on recent comp performances has just the same chance to do well...

Good post re: the young lads Shriek. We had a young lad off 9 playing on our Metro team 3 years ago. He was 14 yo. In each round, his opponents used to think he was the caddy until they were introduced. I don't think any of his matches went beyond the 14th. We won the Metro that year, the young lad is now off ~2 and is an Irish Youth international. Just good timing.

Our selection policy for the Metro was based on a mixture of recent competition results, trial/practice matches home and away at next opponent's club, and previous experience as there are some guys who are just fantastic match players and always seem to be able to grind out the right result, no matter how bad the golf might be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Niall09

Yea, we're still in the Fred Daly and the Irish Junior foursomes, in the Munster Semis in both of them. Got knocked outta the bruen by nenagh on the 20th, Junior Cup is startin for us next weekend.

I'm currently playin in the Munster Boys, finished round one with a 87 (+16) off 7, got my work cut out tomorrow if I am to make the cut... :/

Niall09 wrote: »
    Yea, we're still in the Fred Daly and the Irish Junior foursomes, in the Munster Semis in both of them. Got knocked outta the bruen by nenagh on the 20th, Junior Cup is startin for us next weekend.

I'm currently playin in the Munster Boys, finished round one with a 87 (+16) off 7, got my work cut out tomorrow if I am to make the cut... :/

Your doing well then Niall. I see my Barton Shield Partner for the last two years shot 68 and is in the lead. Best of luck tomorrow, anything can happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

madds wrote: »
    Good post re: the young lads Shriek. We had a young lad off 9 playing on our Metro team 3 years ago. He was 14 yo. In each round, his opponents used to think he was the caddy until they were introduced. I don't think any of his matches went beyond the 14th. We won the Metro that year, the young lad is now off ~2 and is an Irish Youth international. Just good timing.

What's his name?

Richard O'Donovan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Woodgate

Playing Junior Cup this weekend in Tramore. Last thing I'm involved in so hopefully we'll get a run in it. Playing for Waterford Castle against Youghal Saturday am.

Your doing well then Niall. I see my Barton Shield Partner for the last two years shot 68 and is in the lead. Best of luck tomorrow, anything can happen

81 for my second round.. missed the cut by 13 shots :pac:

Junior Cup was on this weekend. I wasn't playing the first 2 rounds of the area, and we won them. We got to the area final and i got called up to the squad. I was called in on the 20th, after a cracking match, only winning holes with birdies - great fun. It was a shame we lost though, probably the best junior cup team in years.

Well we managed to scrape past Sutton yesterday. We lost the two matches away, but got the three at home. Golf was good too, we rattled off 11 pars in a row to win 3 and 2. roll on the semi final.....

Just won the Fred Daly munster final yesterday at Lee Valley. Some serious golf. It came down to the last match and my teammate found a fairway bunker 170yds out on the 17th. He took out a 5 iron and stuck it to a few inches. What a great moment, the very first time Charleville have ever won a munster final in Fred Daly

Im so delighted! All Irelands now at the end of the month up in Masereene in Antrim :pac:

Brilliant! Well done. Fair play to your mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

Just won the Fred Daly munster final yesterday at Lee Valley. Some serious golf. It came down to the last match and my teammate found a fairway bunker 170yds out on the 17th. He took out a 5 iron and stuck it to a few inches. What a great moment, the very first time Charleville have ever won a munster final in Fred Daly

Im so delighted! All Irelands now at the end of the month up in Masereene in Antrim :pac:

Who did ye beat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭WaldenByThoreua

Great! I just hope ye can go one better than us last year and win the All Ireland!

slingerz wrote: »
    Who did ye beat?

East Cork in the semi's, and West Waterford in the final.

Got back from the Fred Daly finals last night. We lost in the final to Rosslare 4 games to 3.

In the semis's in the morning, we were playing last years winners Co.Sligo with 2 of their player on the Ireland team. We won 4 - 3. We were extatic, and being the underdogs made it even better... roll on the final :D

Unfortunately, we came up against a better team, Rosslare. The deciding match again was the second one which came down to the 21st hole. Our man had a 10 footer for par but lipped out, he was full sure it was dropping :( So then your man sank his 4 footer for the match and the trophy. We were gutted.

What a great experience, at the start of the year we were just hoping to get past the first round, and then beat our nemesis (Limerick Golf club :p ). But we got as far as the All Ireland final and we are all so proud. We are only losing one fella next year as he is too old, so bring on next year!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭WaldenByThoreua

and then beat our nemesis (Limerick Golf club :p ).

Oh if only I was a year younger! Fair play anyway, with us losing in the final last year and ye this year,maybe some Munster team will go one better next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Sligored

am a member of strandhill- won connacht final of bruen last week to qualify for monkstown on the 19th september . guess who we get in the all ireland semi final.....monkstown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 fred09

i no its 1 year late but our team,malahide qualified easily for semis leinster this year and if we win our semi we prob have rosslare....i herd theres a lot of players on the team that won it last year on it this year......wat were there h/cs do u know??

Got back from the Fred Daly finals last night. We lost in the final to Rosslare 4 games to 3.

In the semis's in the morning, we were playing last years winners Co.Sligo with 2 of their player on the Ireland team. We won 4 - 3. We were extatic, and being the underdogs made it even better... roll on the final :D

Unfortunately, we came up against a better team, Rosslare. The deciding match again was the second one which came down to the 21st hole. Our man had a 10 footer for par but lipped out, he was full sure it was dropping :( So then your man sank his 4 footer for the match and the trophy. We were gutted.

What a great experience, at the start of the year we were just hoping to get past the first round, and then beat our nemesis (Limerick Golf club :p ). But we got as far as the All Ireland final and we are all so proud. We are only losing one fella next year as he is too old, so bring on next year!!

Well done Niall. A great experience I'm sure. You will be talking/reminiscing about that journey to the final for years with your mates.