Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who would you rather boot up the arse, Dave Fanning or Niall Stokes.

• 08-07-2008 12:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭

Comments? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Niall Stokes without a shadow of a doubt. I think Dave's great, and can't understand the backlash he's been experiencing of late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭pinksoir

+1. Dave is a great interviewer (though obviously scatty as hell, but that's endearing) and really knows his stuff. perhaps a little less than back in the day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Another vote for Dave. I mean Niall. I mean I would kick Niall and not Dave. What was the question again?

They both have lovely bottoms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

Definitley Dave Fanning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Ekels

I'd seriously love to give Niall a boot with my size 9s.

Those of you who have given Fanning backing are spot on. Yes, he tends to speak too fast but is very knowledgable and a seemingly nice guy.

Stokes is just painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Which one is Niall Stokes again? I like Dave Fanning even if he can;t ask a question in under 5 minutes and then answer it himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

Something to do with Hot Press, editor I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭ZakAttak

Hot press annoys me because they seem intent on recreating a British indie scene over here- which is sad, it seems that these days we have to mimic everyone elses culture; even though we have our own unique and interesting culture right here.

So I guess I'd have to go for Stokes.

Although nobody has mentioned that t0sser league o'toole (whats his proper name?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Ekels

Which one is Niall Stokes again? I like Dave Fanning even if he can;t ask a question in under 5 minutes and then answer it himself

And you always see the interviewees face with a somewhat blank yet concentrated expression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Stokes is the biggest prick in this country. GOB****E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭el_tiddlero

ZakAttak wrote: »
    Although nobody has mentioned that t0sser league o'toole (whats his proper name?).

a decent point about HotPress ruined by this dig at Leagues, who, if you haven't noticed, has been getting lots of small Irish bands supports with most of the big acts that come to play in Whelans.. which can only be good as most people will pay to go see some foreign band they've heard all about but won't go to see a local act unless they're mates with them..

Oh, and can I kick Stokes up Fanning's hole??
    Watching DF interview AC/DC (can we get a lightning bolt character??) from a few years back on the Last Broadcast last week was just painful.....

if you haven't noticed, has been getting lots of small Irish bands supports with most of the big acts that come to play in Whelans.. which can only be good as most people will pay to go see some foreign band they've heard all about but won't go to see a local act unless they're mates with them..

==>I have noticed- I've noticed that all of them are soft rock indie bands that sound just like all the sh1t coming out of England.

well look a bit harder.. last two i've been to were Sebadoh, supported by the wonderful, definitely-not-soft-rock BATS, and Holly Golightly, supported by the bluesy-pop stylings of Murder Plan.... no soft-rock in sight..

i'll accept that there's a plethora of awful soft-rock bands out there, all scrambling for gigs which makes the chances of a band like that getting on the bill higher, i do think that if Mr O'Toole was offered more variety then he would snap it up.. this obviously could make a thread on its own...

how about kicking Fanning up the hole so that he goes high enough to come down on Stokes' head...??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I DID give Niall Stokes a boot up the arse. His Hot Press team were in my football league a few years back and he played in midfield. Made sure to chop the fecker down midway through the game. True story :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭oldscoil

Excellent Xavi!
    Well done.

Just out of curiousity, was the Hotpress team full of pricks, bar one or sound folk.....

....COS THE ****1NG OFFICES OF HOT PRESS ARE!!!!

I worked there before, and never have I worked with such ignorant kunts.
    Limp fringe, skinny jean wearing, strippy top wearing kunts (this is not an attack on that fashion sense, its a description.......so don't start)

Throughout the day I'd be filling my empty bottle from the water dispenser, one of these many kunts would come up behind, i'd turn around and say "Hi", they'd blatently ignore me.
    I was only working there a while so they didn't know me (ie they didn't know me enough to find out I actually am a wanker)

A few of the more long term staff are cool, maybe cos they're in the industry years, and don't have to act so pretentious.......

well look a bit harder.. last two i've been to were Sebadoh, supported by the wonderful, definitely-not-soft-rock BATS, and Holly Golightly, supported by the bluesy-pop stylings of Murder Plan.... no soft-rock in sight..

i'll accept that there's a plethora of awful soft-rock bands out there, all scrambling for gigs which makes the chances of a band like that getting on the bill higher, i do think that if Mr O'Toole was offered more variety then he would snap it up.. this obviously could make a thread on its own...

how about kicking Fanning up the hole so that he goes high enough to come down on Stokes' head...??

==>If he's making a geniune effort to bring variety into the events he organises then fair enough, and I could see how he could end up in the situation where all he can find are sh1t indie bands- but one of the gigs he organised, and I went to, featured a band called 'The Editors' - now theres no excuse for that, they were awful. The bass player would just play the same line through all of their songs. Even in the bridge it didn't change. utter sh1te.

==>I like football, but why the fvck do HP have a football column? Nobody is going to buy HP so they can read a Tony Cascarino article.

oldscoil wrote: »
    Excellent Xavi!
    Well done.

Just out of curiousity, was the Hotpress team full of pricks, bar one or sound folk.....

....COS THE ****1NG OFFICES OF HOT PRESS ARE!!!!

I worked there before, and never have I worked with such ignorant kunts.
    Limp fringe, skinny jean wearing, strippy top wearing kunts (this is not an attack on that fashion sense, its a description.......so don't start)

Throughout the day I'd be filling my empty bottle from the water dispenser, one of these many kunts would come up behind, i'd turn around and say "Hi", they'd blatently ignore me.
    I was only working there a while so they didn't know me (ie they didn't know me enough to find out I actually am a wanker)

A few of the more long term staff are cool, maybe cos they're in the industry years, and don't have to act so pretentious.......
    I was exposed to that kind of world for a few years (radio stations with indie presenters, arts desks of newspapers etc) and found the very same. And these are the people you'd expect to be so open-minded and nice. And yep, it's moreso the younger folks. The deputy editor of Hot Press (he was around for punk) is lovely. Even though I had far more in common with the arts/cultural/features type people in newspapers, I always found myself gravitating towards the sports desk and advertising department to meet nice people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

are jobs in publications such as hotpress a closed shop? are they jobs for the boys like....

Very difficult. Getting the odd freelance article published would be about the size of it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Would you really want to work for them though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

but one of the gigs he organised, and I went to, featured a band called 'The Editors' - now theres no excuse for that, they were awful.

Aren't they eh.... pretty big over in Engerland??

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Aren't they eh.... pretty big over in Engerland??

==>Thats possible, because quite frankly, they have no fvcking taste in that country. Its a cultureless hole. I don't hate them (the mots from plymouth) but in terms of art and culture there is nothing going on in that country. I know its a bit off the point, but I guess it might go some way to explaining my frustration with HP- anyone can tell that the U.K., artistically speaking, has gone to sh1t, but HP seem oblivious to this.

We should be alot better, but we're only a little bit better.

->on a different note completely, oldschool that was brilliant- I knew a few music critics at college and they were just like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I DID give Niall Stokes a boot up the arse. His Hot Press team were in my football league a few years back and he played in midfield. Made sure to chop the fecker down midway through the game. True story :cool:

I extend to you my thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Niall Stokes every time.

Dave's grand so he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Ekels wrote: »
    Yes, he tends to speak too fast but is very knowledgable and a seemingly nice guy.

Yeah he's a really nice fella.. I met him in phoenix park at a gig a couple of years ago (think it was the pixies) had a general chat with him for a few minutes.. really sound fella.

Don't listen to him since he was 'booted' (excuse the pun) to Radio 1.. but always liked Dave Fanning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

==>Thats possible, because quite frankly, they have no fvcking taste in that country. Its a cultureless hole. I don't hate them (the mots from plymouth) but in terms of art and culture there is nothing going on in that country. I know its a bit off the point, but I guess it might go some way to explaining my frustration with HP- anyone can tell that the U.K., artistically speaking, has gone to sh1t, but HP seem oblivious to this.

We should be alot better, but we're only a little bit better.

->on a different note completely, oldschool that was brilliant- I knew a few music critics at college and they were just like that.

yeah I agree, its just like an indie empire in the UK, this skinny jeans sh1tty guitars crapology with sh1tty lyrics about council estates and mundane things in life like going to the chipper sung in a naff faux cockney accent; fck it. And the hacks who sing praises about it and go on endlessly about 1977-1984 like yet again in Fridays issue of The Ticket (yeah for its time I think the music was good and innovative) but seriously, talk about something else, maybe the black sheep of metal where there is, shock/horror musical virtuosity and self p1ss taking ie fun as well as the more serious stuff like depression, satanism etc. Or music that is normally ignored anyway. But its always about the next "great white hope"...oh gawd... and the usual a music scene so cool ones head is up ones arse nonsense.

==>Thats possible, because quite frankly, they have no fvcking taste in that country. Its a cultureless hole. I don't hate them (the mots from plymouth) but in terms of art and culture there is nothing going on in that country.
    Matter of opinion I suppose. For me, England is where it's at when it comes to music, film, literature and decent television.

Although I can't stand the current generic crop either.

yeah I agree, its just like an indie empire in the UK, this skinny jeans sh1tty guitars crapology with sh1tty lyrics about council estates and mundane things in life like going to the chipper sung in a naff faux cockney accent; fck it.

==>Exactly- this is very accurate.

Dudess wrote: »
    Matter of opinion I suppose. For me, England is where it's at when it comes to music, film, literature and decent television.

==>It certainly used to be, not any more though.

but one of the gigs he organised, and I went to, featured a band called 'The Editors' - now theres no excuse for that.

Did Foggy Notions have Editors on at one of their gigs? That's kind of an odd choice.

They are pretty boring though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭adm

There are some excellent british bands (british sea power , elbow etc..) but , yes , mostly its crap.
    However 6 music is the best radio station around imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

adm wrote: »

Agreed it's my favourite radio station and has been for a while now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭Chong

Niall Stokes as I like Dave.

Where's the poll? I want to see how badly Niall Stokes is losing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭oldscoil

Yeah, a poll would be sweet,

This pc I'm working off is sh1t, so I'm kinda limited to what i can do on this forum. :(

plus i'm not too savvy on these types of things

adm wrote: »
    There are some excellent british bands (british sea power , elbow etc..) but , yes , mostly its crap.

==>Problem is bands over here are mimicking it. How do you mimic sh1t?

again you're not looking hard enough . . there's loads of Irish bands that are nothing like any of that kind of stuff that's coming out of the UK...
    to be fair, there's also loads of bands in the UK that are nothing like the stuff you're talking about..
    If you rely on Hotpress or NME or whatever to find out about bands then of course you're just going to get saturated with bland "office rock"..
    Take your 2 favourite records, go to Road Records on Fade Street and ask them to reccomend you something new that's like what you like.. I bet you won't be disappointed..

even list 4 acts here that you like and i'll recommend you something new that you might like - and it won't be rubbish soft rock..

If you rely on Hotpress or NME or whatever to find out about bands then of course you're just going to get saturated with bland "office rock"..
    even list 4 acts here that you like and i'll recommend you something new that you might like - and it won't be rubbish soft rock..[/quote]

==>I appreciate the offer, but, don't get me wrong- I know what I like, I just find that its rare that I find something I like (or even something I may not be mad about but see why people would like it). But that office-rock (I like that term) stuff is horrendous, and yet recieves an enormous amount of attention and support from all over- as though it was original and good, which it isn't.