Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are we all fooked?

• 07-07-2008 11:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭

Was at a funeral the other day of a 90 year old lady, at the graveyard I got talking to one of her friends who is around the 85 mark. Gave me condolences etc and the 85 year old woman said:

"I just hope that she is in a happy place, its very hard to believe that all the people in the world that ever died are in some magical place called heaven".

Was absolutely gobsmacked to be honest. Aren't old ladies in their 80's supposed to have a direct line to the big fella?. Aren't they the ones that are at mass at 10 bells every morning with the rosary beads?.

Anyway, whats your thoughts on kicking the bucket?. You worried, you scared?. Do you think everything you have been brought upto believe for the last X amount of years is a load of bollox?. Are we all fooked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

You didn't exist for billions of years before birth. I don't think it'll bother you too much when it happens again.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Atheism ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

I wouldn't worry about it man.Theres **** all we can do about it.I'm a born again atheist and can't help but feel sorry for all those uber religous people who do nothing but pray.Its a sad world we live in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

We all have to die sometime,Thats life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

funk-you wrote: »
    You didn't exist for billions of years before birth. I don't think it'll bother you too much when it happens again.

QFT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Dord wrote: »
    Atheism ftw!

What Like these guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Nick_oliveri

Lol, saved. Funk has it right. I am of the opinion that when you die it will be like going to sleep and not dreaming. Most of us have experienced this many times. Except you wont wake up.

If we're all fooked then we're all grand. I think.

Wait. I should re-examine this topic when I'm sober. Chun Li's thighs has my attention in Feedback at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Magpie!

If the lights go out and you never know anything again - what's to worry about?

It's the whole afterlife concept that I find much harder to wrap my head around. You see your loved ones again. But what if they didn't like each other. Do they have to see each other? And what if your loved ones were all a shower of pricks and don't get to where you're going? What if you were a prick and don't get to where they all went?

There's far to much to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

More concerned about how I go as opposed to what happens after..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

"God" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

We all die and either get buried in the ground or burned into ashes....that's all it is!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

Feelgood wrote: »
    What Like these guys?

Lollers , thats classic :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

It'll be a long, dreamless sleep....

Make the most of your life folks! I'll try to do likewise!

Good time, long time, etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Ageist! Old people are more complicated than you presume.:cool:

And life is your chance to get to grips with death. It's the antechamber to eternity and so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Being honest, I'm terrified of death and hate how fast life is going. I don't know what to believe and will worry about it if/when the time comes.

However, I fully intend on being cryogenically frozen so who knows, may well end up being 22 again wayyy down the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Shur all the ould folk have the direct line to God. There's my granny, 92 years young and she worrying about paying an ESB bill having not paid one for 20 odd years. I advised her to ignore it. What did she do? Went in and paid the whole lot...... Direct line to God I'll tell ya, direct line......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I heard something before, describing inevitable death that went along the lines of this:
    You were already dead, you just didn't know it yet

Pretty much sums up my feelings on the subject, its gonna happen like it or not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

If fooked means that your heart will stop working, stopping a supply of oxygen to your organs and the rest of your body, causing you will decay in the ground (where they put you). Then yes...we are all fooked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

All atheist lies! We are Adam and Eve's incredibly incestuous, inbred children, until someone hit the reset button and we all drowned, and then became the incredibly incestuous, inbred children of Noah's family. Oh, and we live for almost a millenium, on average.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Dord wrote: »
    Atheism ftw!

if god doesnt exist, neither would atheists.

you cant prove me wrong :D

0ubliette wrote: »
    if god doesnt exist, neither would atheists.

you cant prove me wrong :D
    And is meat didn't exist, neither would the word vegitarian...dumbest point EVAR. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Mirror wrote: »
    And is meat didn't exist, neither would the word vegitarian...dumbest point EVAR. :rolleyes:

Sense of humour transplant, STAT!! QUICK, WERE LOSING THE PATIENT!!!

hope that wasnt too subtle.

0ubliette wrote: »
    Sense of humour transplant, STAT!! QUICK, WERE LOSING THE PATIENT!!!

hope that wasnt too subtle.
    Oh, sorry, I must have missed the part where you were being funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Maybe we all die and our minds just disappear into oblivion, or there really is an after life, don't much care either way tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

help smokey prevent wildfires.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

funk-you wrote: »

-Funk

Couldnt have put it better myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

You got to live each day as if it's your last, no point dying with a fiver in your pocket!

jester77 wrote: »
    You got to live each day as if it's your last, no point dying with a fiver in your pocket!
    But what about our lizard overlords in the after(hours)life?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

We're all goin' to heaven lads waaahaaay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭JJ6000

IT is an innate feature of the human conciousness to seek to undestand our purpose, creation and destination.

TBH, I think the people who say "it'll all be just a big dreamless sleep" are guilty of the same thing that committed catholics are. They presume to know what will happen after death.

Fact is....nobody knows. Maybe it'll be a dreamless sleep, maybe we'll all go up to heaven, maybe we'll all wander the earth as spirits....whatever. Point is....nobody knows and there is absolutley no possible way of knowing what happens post-death.

Personally, I do believe that there is "something" after death. What that "something" is....I have no idea. I dont believe we simply sink into the ground and decay. Science itself fully admits that we are surrounded by energies and forces that we can not see and are not aware of. Many prominent scientists reason that alternate dimensions are likely. So, there's plenty more to the world than the "physical" things you see with your eyes, can touch and smell. I suppose it's entirely conceivable that the people we thought "died" are actually still walking among us...or transcended into some other form of energy and into another dimension or some sh*t like that. Whatever.....but we just dont know. Like I said though....I personally believe that there IS something post-death. I find it very difficult to believe that something as great as human conciousness simply stops abruptly and forever. Again, this is just a personal belief though.....billions of people before me have struggled with this question also. Can I prove it? No.

That is the problem I have with organised religion. Their ideas are so specific and exact. Many would believe that God is some big guy dressed in white sitting on a throne with a long flowing beard. I find such specific ideas and theories pretty ridiculous becuase there is simply no way of knowing this. Perhaps God represents a sort of energy rather than an identifiable being. IT is impossible to have such specific and exact ideas about what happens post-death. How could you possibly know??

I can see Ahteists point....but they are doing the exact same thing as organised religion. They are purporting to "know" that nothing exists after death. They can not know this. No-one can.

Until I die, I'll just enjoy the ride and see what happens afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

More concerned about how I go as opposed to what happens after..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I am God.........well, I'm suspended at the moment. I was sort of responsible for not replacing the fan belt on the planet-producing machine, thus the cogs snapped the poles holding it together and we lost about a week and a half's worth of income (230,000 Zollygogs to you mere mortals)

Hence why your planet is the only habital place in the ENTIRE universe and that you are the center of the universe.................despite not knowing where the universe begins or ends.

That and heaven has been closed for health & safety reasons until further notice. Something to do with the instability of the cloud-buildings. So, until then, yer all been shipped to Hell until they sort this mess out..............it would be advisable to bring some form of identification with you if you don't want to be left over there. (I don't know why people think it's "down there", it's not Austrailia!)

JJ6000 wrote: »
    IT is an innate feature of the human conciousness to seek to undestand our purpose, creation and destination.

TBH, I think the people who say "it'll all be just a big dreamless sleep" are guilty of the same thing that committed catholics are. They presume to know what will happen after death.

Fact is....nobody knows. Maybe it'll be a dreamless sleep, maybe we'll all go up to heaven, maybe we'll all wander the earth as spirits....whatever. Point is....nobody knows and there is absolutley no possible way of knowing what happens post-death.

Personally, I do believe that there is "something" after death. What that "something" is....I have no idea. I dont believe we simply sink into the ground and decay. Science itself fully admits that we are surrounded by energies and forces that we can not see and are not aware of. Many prominent scientists reason that alternate dimensions are likely. So, there's plenty more to the world than the "physical" things you see with your eyes, can touch and smell. I suppose it's entirely conceivable that the people we thought "died" are actually still walking among us...or transcended into some other form of energy and into another dimension or some sh*t like that. Whatever.....but we just dont know. Like I said though....I personally believe that there IS something post-death. I find it very difficult to believe that something as great as human conciousness simply stops abruptly and forever. Again, this is just a personal belief though.....billions of people before me have struggled with this question also. Can I prove it? No.

That is the problem I have with organised religion. Their ideas are so specific and exact. Many would believe that God is some big guy dressed in white sitting on a throne with a long flowing beard. I find such specific ideas and theories pretty ridiculous becuase there is simply no way of knowing this. Perhaps God represents a sort of energy rather than an identifiable being. IT is impossible to have such specific and exact ideas about what happens post-death. How could you possibly know??

I can see Ahteists point....but they are doing the exact same thing as organised religion. They are purporting to "know" that nothing exists after death. They can not know this. No-one can.

Until I die, I'll just enjoy the ride and see what happens afterwards.

What??

We, as intelligent beings, know exactly what happens after death. Some of us simply don't like to accept it.

What happens when a dog dies? It dies. End of story. Why are we any different?

I don't purport to "know" anything, as an atheist. I purport to know that nothing happens after anything dies, as a person with a fair understanding of biological functions of organic beings and their life cycles.

So to summarise, if there's anything that really annoys me about any beliefs, it's to be bold enough to presume that we humans are great or significant in any way. We are simply a species, the human race. And one day, not long from now in the grand scale of things, we will be long gone. The sun will expand and consume the earth, or a large meteor will wipe out the planet, or we'll destroy each other in nuclear war. But none of it will matter, because we are so insignificant that our existance is but a blip on the radar of time and space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

Feelgood wrote: »
    Was at a funeral the other day of a 90 year old lady, at the graveyard I got talking to one of her friends who is around the 85 mark. Gave me condolences etc and the 85 year old woman said:

"I just hope that she is in a happy place, its very hard to believe that all the people in the world that ever died are in some magical place called heaven".

Was absolutely gobsmacked to be honest. Aren't old ladies in their 80's supposed to have a direct line to the big fella?. Aren't they the ones that are at mass at 10 bells every morning with the rosary beads?.

Anyway, whats your thoughts on kicking the bucket?. You worried, you scared?. Do you think everything you have been brought upto believe for the last X amount of years is a load of bollox?. Are we all fooked?

Just because she's an old lady doesn't mean she is a devout catholic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Rb wrote: »
    Being honest, I'm terrified of death and hate how fast life is going.
    Yeah that really sucks. I cannot get my head around the fact that, say, 1999 is nine years ago - wtf?!

Dudess wrote: »
    Yeah that really sucks. I cannot get my head around the fact that, say, 1999 is nine years ago - wtf?!
    And even worse, how much of those 9 years were you doing something you enjoyed doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

To be fair, 1999 was the year I turned 21. Best years of my life since! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

+1 Mirror

I know that when I die, I die! I finish, expire, past my sell-by-date, extinguish........erm, stop..................Unless I come back to life again which will probably mean I was bitten by a zombie.

I'm an Atheist myself but I generally keep out of religious conversations, each to their own. As long as people don't ram their beliefs into my face I won't bother talking about the subject (I expect Atheists not to go around pointing their fingers "correcting" people either, can't stand them cùnts!) I put my time and energy into this short life I have rather than even waste even a minute of thinking about my "next life"

Duggy747 wrote: »
    +1 Mirror

I know that when I die, I die! I finish, expire, past my sell-by-date, extinguish........erm, stop..................Unless I come back to life again which will probably mean I was bitten by a zombie.

I'm an Atheist myself but I generally keep out of religious conversations, each to their own. As long as people don't ram their beliefs into my face I won't bother talking about the subject (I expect Atheists not to go around pointing their fingers "correcting" people either, can't stand them cùnts!) I put my time and energy into this short life I have rather than even waste even a minute of thinking about my "next life"
    Agreed, I never shove my beliefs on anyone, and expect the same treatment from others. But when it comes up in open debate, you'll often find me there, mostly because I enjoy the debate :)

What??

We, as intelligent beings, know exactly what happens after death. Some of us simply don't like to accept it.

What happens when a dog dies? It dies. End of story. Why are we any different?

I don't purport to "know" anything, as an atheist. I purport to know that nothing happens after anything dies, as a person with a fair understanding of biological functions of organic beings and their life cycles.

So to summarise, if there's anything that really annoys me about any beliefs, it's to be bold enough to presume that we humans are great or significant in any way. We are simply a species, the human race. And one day, not long from now in the grand scale of things, we will be long gone. The sun will expand and consume the earth, or a large meteor will wipe out the planet, or we'll destroy each other in nuclear war. But none of it will matter, because we are so insignificant that our existance is but a blip on the radar of time and space.

I would disagree with you there though.

We absolutely do not know what happens after death. You are talking about the physical...what we can see and touch. So i suppose in that sense, yes, we "know" that our body expires and we decay. We "know" the physical aftermath of death. But how does that rebut anything I said? I never said we dont decay and rot. Yes, I know this happens. The entire debate was about what happens after death and outside of the physical. Saying that we know we rot away and get eaten by worms has nothing to do with a debate about whether we have a soul.

The debate has nothing to do with the physical. It concerns the metaphysical (ie. some other form of life after death, spirituality etc). So, in that sense, no, you certainly don't know what happens (nor do I, or anyone else). There's no point bringing human biology into an argument concerning the metaphysical because they are two entirely separate realms. Using facts from the former do not rebut the latter. I think you would agree with this?

I see your point though. In such a massive universe our existence can certainly seem completely insignificant.
    However, I do believe humans are different to other animals for many many reasons but to be honest, discussing that would be WAY outta the scope of this thread and would go on for a loonnnnng time and I dont think either of us would have convinced the other at the end of it.

Either way, what we are concerned with here is our personal beliefs. You have yours...I have mine. We could debate between ourselves but I think you will agree that it would actually lead nowhere (debates involving beliefs never do really) Neither of us can "prove" what we believe so I guess it's best to just agree to disagree?

To each their own.

I would disagree with you there though.

We absolutely do not know what happens after death. You are talking about the physical...what we can see and touch. So i suppose in that sense, yes, we "know" that our body expires and we decay. We "know" the physical aftermath of death. But how does that rebut anything I said? I never said we dont decay and rot. Yes, I know this happens. We are fully aware of the. The entire debate was about what happens after death and outside of the physical. Saying that we know we rot away and get eaten by worms has nothing to do with a debate about whether we have a soul.

The debate has nothing to do with the physical. It concerns the metaphysical (ie. some other form of life after death, spirituality etc). So, in that sense, no, you don't know (nor do I) what happens. There's no point bringing human biology into an argument concerning the metaphysical because they are two entirely separate realms. Using facts from the former do not rebut the latter.

I see your point though. In such a massive universe our existence can certainly seem completely insignificant.
    However, I do believe humans are different to other animals for many many reasons but to be honest, discussing that would be WAY outta the scope of this thread and would go on for a loonnnnng time and I dont think either of us would have convinced the other at the end of it.

Either way, what we are concerned with here is our personal beliefs. You have yours...I have mine. We could debate between ourselves but I think you will agree that it would actually lead nowhere (debates involving beliefs never do really) Neither of us can "prove" what we believe so I guess it's best to just agree to disagree?
    While I take your point, the metaphysical is something a lot less substantial than what I'm talking about, and proving that metaphysics even come into play post-mortem would be the first challenge.

But I would ask what your feelings are regarding metaphysical occurrences after death?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Krsnik87

The way I see it, evolution itself is evolving. When it comes, the apocalypse itself will a part of the process of that leap of evolution. By the very definition of apocalypse, mankind must cease to exist, at least in a material form. We'll have evolved into something that transcends matter, into a species of pure thought.

Needless to say I don't fear death, no need to fear it!

While I take your point, the metaphysical is something a lot less substantial than what I'm talking about, and proving that metaphysics even come into play post-mortem would be the first challenge.

But I would ask what your feelings are regarding metaphysical occurrences after death?

I agree...proving the metaphysical would be a huge challenge. Actually, I do not believe it is possible to prove it at all. The metaphysical is not substantive....it is not identifiable and therefore, proof can not be presented for it (or against it really). By it's very nature, the metaphysical is not provable.

As for my views on metaphysical occurences after death? To be honest mate, I really don't know. I could not possibly begin to theorize on the specifics of what happens metaphysically post-death.

It's like I said earlier....that is exactly the problem I have with much of organised religion. Their ideas about the metaphysical world are simply too specific...very exact. To me this seems a little ridiculous because you can not possibly form these exact ideas when there clearly is no possible way of knowing what metaphysically happens post-death.

If you were to ask me to define my beliefs I would simply have to say, I believe there is something.
    What this 'something' is? I dont know. Maybe it is an energy that surrounds us all. Maybe our bodies transcend into another dimension. I dont know.
    My belief is not grounded in any written word or any sort of claimed "proof" because such "proof" does not, and can not, exist.
    My belief arises solely out of a strong feeling that there is some sort of existence after death.

That's pretty much why I believe neither one of us could try to "disprove" the other. It's just a matter of beliefs really.

Krsnik87 wrote: »
    The way I see it, evolution itself is evolving. When it comes, the apocalypse itself will a part of the process of that leap of evolution. By the very definition of apocalypse, mankind must cease to exist, at least in a material form. We'll have evolved into something that transcends matter, into a species of pure thought.

Needless to say I don't fear death, no need to fear it!

very true...

Whether you are catholic, buddhist, atheist, agnostic......fearing death is a pointless endeavour.

There is only one guarantee in life and that is that death will happen to every single one of us.

Wasting your life by fearing it is pointless. It will happen...no matter how much you worry about it. Whatever will be will be.

It's best to just live your life to the full. Perhaps realising the inevitability of death will help people do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I agree...proving the metaphysical would be a huge challenge. Actually, I do not believe it is possible to prove it at all. The metaphysical is not substantive....it is not identifiable and therefore, proof can not be presented for it (or against it really). By it's very nature, the metaphysical is not provable.

Out of interest, if scientists were to prove that a 'soul' is not necessary to account for the complexity of human thought, self-awareness, etc., and it was simply a product (albeit a more complex one) of the same biological processes that produce the rest of the gamut of species on the planet -- would you then take a less philosophical perspective on what occurs post-mortem?

Because ultimately if it's demonstrated (which is the perspective that cognitive scientists are coming from) that what we perceive as self-awareness, thought, and the likes, is simply a result of having large brains and complicated nervous systems, and that thought is resident in the brain (rather than the soul), then there's no reason to postulate any kind of consciousness once the brain dies and rots.

Bacteria are capable of primitive locomotion without the presence of a nervous system; hydra are capable of a wider range of movements because they have a basic nervous system connecting photoreceptors; if you keep moving along to vaster and more complex nervous systems, and introduce brains into the equation, then you get things like vision, audition, olfaction (which all sorts of animals are capable of), so if you keep moving up to humans, with our impressive nervous system and brains, why should we not be capable of more impressive feats -- such as thought, speech, awareness, etc.?

Please note, I am not a biologist, and so you should disregard everything I have said!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Thats why I'm not religious

I think religion has too many rules, and it makes you treat life as preperation for the afterlife, so you end up taking your whole life for granted

I think ill get cremated and have my ashes made into a diamond ring, which will be placed in a cave with hidden traps, Tomb Raider style :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 victor_mountst

Yep, we're screwed