Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monday nights on Sky One

• 07-07-2008 9:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭

2100 Night Cops
    2200 Road Wars
    2300 Inside: Supercops
    0000 Road Wars
    0100 Road Wars

Does this hold any interest for actual members of the force? Or is it far from "real life" - yes, I know it's real life but are they leaving out the crap and not fairly representing the whole lot ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

I watch it when Im simple sitting around but it needs to be taken with a pinch of salt. I like the Spanish one personally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

costa del street crime, no nonsense police love it

Theres bugger all else to watch on a monday so might aswell, better then the soaps.

We all know its only the action packed and exciting clips, no paperwork, no queuing for custody etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

I enjoy road wars, at least its related to Traffic Corps, but nothing like our job in some ways. I really don't like Street wars, it annoys the bejeebus out of me, memories of public order duty.

I like Costa, it's a lot closer to us in terms of lousy equipment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Road Wars is good and I know some guys who work with the Proactive Unit from Thames Valley. Good kit, good cars, good thief-takers.

I've also seen my old skipper on 'The Force' which was amusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Id watch them but know its just not all as exciting as i tlooks!! Road wars have some nice equipment!

random wrote: »
    yes, I know it's real life but are they leaving out the crap and not fairly representing the whole lot ?

What you have to remember is that these shows are filmed over months and months. Yes the stuff you see is real, but the long hours spent in custody interviewing prisoners, dealing with solicitors, sorting out interpreters, appropriate adults, social services, time spent doing follow-up searches on the suspect's address and then writing everything up....none of this is even hinted at in most of these shows.

Similarly what is not shown is that as a uniform response officer the majority of the calls you attend, in my experience, will be rubbish that do not warrant police intervention. You will also attend domestic arguments where more often than not the call is not of an urgent nature and you've probably been round to the address half a dozen times this month already.

Another common call is to people with mental health issues, sometimes as a result of a 999 or sometimes to assist ambulance staff in dealing with one of their regulars. Again this can often take up an entire shift as you spend time in hospital with the 'patient', having either sectioned them or assisted the ambulance in bringing them in. Similarly constant watches (suicide watch) in custody can take up an entire shift, and wouldn't make for interesting viewing. These types of jobs are griefy, demoralising, a pain in the arse and all too common. These jobs are not highlighted in the recruitment brochures and come as a shock to many a new probie. Sitting at an open cell door with someone who is a raving nut and wants to strangle themself (using their own filthy underwear at one point until they were taken away) and continuously screams at the top of their lungs (for 12 hours) was one of my least favourite shifts as a probationer.

I think a lot of these shows are guilty in a way of giving people a misguided view of police work. Maybe thats why so many people get disillusioned so quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

You Paint a scary but true picture

Add to that The hundreds of False alarm calls and the hundreds of Material Accident Collisions that the ordinary Garda attends to.

But its a great job and what other job would have me.

I enjoyed the American SuperCops show. It was about Swat teams doing Search Warrants for Drug Teams, ya i know the Americans go on abit but that aside it gives an insight in to how our new RSU units will work i.e. correct ways to breach and enter houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Bring back Garda Patrol. Shtolen veh-hickles, warnings about counterfeet 10bob notes at the mart and the token "bean garda" for a bit of eye-candy....ah that was crime fighting at the coal face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Personally I love Road Wars. The kit they have is brilliant and the guys and girls are top notch coppers too.

A guy on youtube has recently being showing Road Wars and other uk cop shows at http://ie.youtube.com/subscription_center?s=MyGEUswJn6Q. Fairly good stuff and good for me too seeing I got rid of Sky a couple of years ago.

Pity no one has the done the same for battlestar gallactica:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

anyone watching street wars?? they had cameras in derry... scarry stuff.. shows you they dont take any **** ... and when the lads are hawled most of the time they are saying sorry... also they dident hand cuff people just feck them into the land rovers and off they went...

it also showed them come across a fight... the lad was in a bad way but still someone threw bricks at them... once the lad had got into the ambulance they had to leave the scene incase they were ambushed....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Inside: Supercops is by far the best.

Road wars gets boring imo, same routine stops, small drug seizures etc.

With supercops you see three story crack dens getting raided and more exciting cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

TheNog wrote: »
    Personally I love Road Wars. The kit they have is brilliant and the guys and girls are top notch coppers too.

A guy on youtube has recently being showing Road Wars and other uk cop shows at http://ie.youtube.com/subscription_center?s=MyGEUswJn6Q. Fairly good stuff and good for me too seeing I got rid of Sky a couple of years ago.

Pity no one has the done the same for battlestar gallactica:(:(

PM sent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I set my reminder for 'Inside: Supercops' cos it looked awesome.... never watched it though. I shall next week!

I watch Road Wars and Street Wars all the time. Pretty good shows.

ps. I am not a copper

Cars, Cops and Criminals

New three-part series examining the changing face of car theft. The programme talks to specialist police squads, a car-crime bounty hunter and victims of car theft.

For interested parties; BBC1 tonight at 2100hours.

Be interested to see if it features any of our Vehicle Crime Units.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

metman wrote: »
    Cars, Cops and Criminals

New three-part series examining the changing face of car theft. The programme talks to specialist police squads, a car-crime bounty hunter and victims of car theft.

For interested parties; BBC1 tonight at 2100hours.

Be interested to see if it features any of our Vehicle Crime Units.

Plenty of the vehicle crime unit and their multi story car park hq

even had chris ruff of road wars fame on it