Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst hangover

• 06-07-2008 12:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭

Mine was after drinking a bottle of Lidl brand Jagermeister and a bottle of red wine in one night. Christ I was in BITS the next day and I had to go to work that day as well:(. Very painful. A lot of nasty noises made on the toilet bowl in work as well.

What caused your worst hangover?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,513 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

UK brewed Stella (which is what we get here)

or more recently Paulaner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

at a work do where only bottles were being served.

heineken and miller ran out fast, only left with budweiser.

free is free but i paid for it the next morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭shanel23

Summer Orchard cider - years ago - still can't drink cider after all those years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Cremo wrote: »
    , only left with budweiser.

free is free but i paid for it the next morning.

Oh god i've been there! I knew i shouldn't be a was too drunk to care at the time, My God! i regretted it the next morning!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Moved from B/W/S to BGRH. Please read the B/W/S charter before posting there again.

BGRH Mods, please do what you feel appropriate with this thread :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Cans of bulmers and a full bottle of Jagermeister.....I was in work the next day, I will never forget how sick I was!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Hallowe'en last year with a naggin of vodka and two pints of Prazsky(sp?) in a very short space of time. Got sick a lot and the next day was awful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭kev_s88

last wednesday.

6 cans of carlsberg followed by 8 dbl vodka and blue WKD

not a nice mixture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Knee-Vee

A bottle of cheap red wine, chugged on an empty stomach, followed by vodka and other things which I cannot remember. Anyone who thinks that going out on a girly night out the day after being dumped is mad. I could hardly function the next day, which meant the 2 part train ride home was awful.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,359 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Pah, kids these days, don't know what a hangover is. When I were a lad we went out and drank 15 pints of battery acid, followed by 10 pints of whiskey and a pint a blood, usually our own. And there were none of your fancy kebabs in them days, a pound of gravel is what we had for soakage on way home. Then after 27 minutes sleep we'd be up for work next day with hangover so bad your head would fall off. And did we take Solpadeine for that? Did we 'eck as like, a bit of twine to hold the head back on 'til we got home and our mam could sew it on properly. Don't know you're born, you lot. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Knee-Vee

*pats Zaph on head*

There there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭rstans

Phil Flannerys Bar
    Denmark Street
    Limerick.
    Was closing for a year to be demolished and rebuilt so Phil had an "empty the barrels" night for the regulars. The list of what I got through is:-
    (various amounts of each drink)
    Bulmers pint bottles
    Bulmers longneck
    Bulmers draught
    Heineken
    Carling
    Guinness
    Smithwicks
    Gin and Tonic
    Vodka and Coke
    Black Rum and Coke
    Whiskey of some sort.

Was a bit seedy next morn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Guinness trots.

Say no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

a monday after four days of solid drinkin corona & vodka/redbull in madrid, mixed with some food poisoning!!

plane delayed for 3 hours and then i couldnt find my car in the carpark in dublin, in the snow!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

I was just thinking about this very topic today.

Back when I was not but 20, I had just returned from a few months living on the continent and had two of my friends around to my folk's house to play a bit of music. We had 2 cans a peice then went to the local. Well long story short: Had 3 pints then it was kicking out time - Was still a bit early so I said why don't I go back to the house, pick up some wine and we'll do a bit of nacker drinking - Went home - no wine - brought back a litre of whiskey :eek: - Polished that off - went home - eventually found some wine - started arguing over who could drink the most - I was me - Drank most of a bottle of wine and a can of stout - went to bed surprised that I hadn't puked (the others did after the drinking contest) - got into bed - got up 5 seconds later and got sick all over my friend who was lying on the floor. The funniest thing was the little whimpering noise he made as I was doing that.

Hangover lasted 2 solid days. Tried to eat a slice of pizza at one stage I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Nearly 2 years ago went out with the lads from the local gaa club that had just won the County championship started drinking at 3pm drank anything we could and staggard home at 12 that night could not funtion for 3 days after ! major session :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Christmas Ball when I was in first year in college.

It was the end of our term, so the college had wine for us - Now, I can't handle wine, ever. Ever ever ever. It makes me do silly things, and forget my limits drink-wise.

It was free, and I was a fresher, of course I helped myself to a bottle.

That evening, when I got home about 6, I had a quick bite to eat, and it was the official opening of our student accomodation in Broadstone. Free beer and wine, of course, I helped myself to a six pack. Had some chicken wings that I didn't trust either, but the wine I had earlier made sure I didn't care.

Now, on to the christmas ball, which started at 10. It was fancy dress too... but I'm not going into my disaster of a costume. I went in with another 6 pack, Guiness this time though, a bottle of Mickey Finns for some stupid reason, and a bottle of absinthe with only 1/4 of it left.

I painted the walls of my bathroom with vomit the next morning. Had to ring the calldoc when I had enough sense to do so, had alcohol poisoning, but had emptied my stomach for them. Injection in the arsecheek, and didn't move from bed for 3 days with a headache and stomach pains.

I've never drank wine, mickey finns or absinthe since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

shame about the wine, tis an awesome beverage ;_;
    poor fanjitas :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Worst ever was a night I ended up going to a house party in a flat occupied by a bunch of fcukin crazy mexicans. I estimate that I drank at least 15 cans of Heineken, 9 shots of black aftershock and of course, the obligatory tequila slammers (about 5 or 6). I had work the next day and my god was it hell on earth. I didn't get home until 7am at which stage I was awesomely hungover, managed to sleep for 5 hours then woke up and proceeded to puke at least 7 times throughout the day.

So there's a lesson for your brethren. If they are unstable enough to wear ponchos and sombreros, stay well clear :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 SexyColxx

7 cans of druids cider and 3 glasses of 3 euro wine 2 shots of blue absinthe and four or five jaeger bombs.. 36 hour hang over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

a college ball one time was on and for some reason i decided to go, it was on a thursday night, I was working in longford, got a lift home to dundalk, went out, drank double vodka and west coast cooler from the off, sounds like a girls drink but its feckin lovely and gets ya drunk real quick but my god it drills through your brain the next day!! to add to the pain in my head I was home at half 4 and had to get up at half 5 to get my lift back down to longford and then walk around on tied steel pouring concrete all day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

... the time I woke up in a treehouse in Mexico with sunstroke, no clothes except from a pair of jeans (chaffy bastards at that) and a bible from the Jehovahs Witnesses after going down there for a session the previous night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

Free Jack Danials from four in the afternoon until six the next morning.

The drinking finished on the friday morning. Still drunk that night. Saturday was hell but just normal hangover. On sunday night all through to tuesday morning I was getting sick.

Hasn't put me off jack danials though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

6 pints of Heineken in Fibbers, about 8 cans on Carlsberg (yuck) at random gaff party in Rathfarnarham and a half bottle of Bushmills. No lie, I'll never drink Bushmills again, or whiskey probably.
    Was found under a bush singing "Big Balls" by AC/DC. I paid for a great night with a hangover :'(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,212 ✭✭✭DenMan

6 pints of Heineken in Fibbers, about 8 cans on Carlsberg (yuck) at random gaff party in Rathfarnarham and a half bottle of Bushmills. No lie, I'll never drink Bushmills again, or whiskey probably.
    Was found under a bush singing "Big Balls" by AC/DC. I paid for a great night with a hangover :'(

You were probably doing ok man until you got introduced to the Bushmills. Bit of a blur after that I take it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 shules

A few summers ago I travelled around Europe and picked up cheap alcohol along the way to bring home. The first party back home I enjoyed

a few cans of Miller,
    a few cans of Bavaria,
    a shot of a Hungarian speciality called Unicum ( like jager but stronger, the tag line goes something like 'you wont need a halloween mask because your face will melt after unicum),
    a few shots a black absinthe,
    and a couple of glasses of coke and something with no name I picked up in Croatia. A liter for 2 Euro drew me in. It is by far the worst drink i've ever tasted in my life. Like a mixture of wine, caramel and rum. I've no idea! Just a bottle of brown goo!

the next day i was just shaking all day, it wasnt till the day after that the hangover kicked in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

The one that stands out for me at the moment is probably the one that happened within the last year. Although I could well have had worse hangovers before then, and they just don't seem as bad now.

I had a bit of a house warming party and invited a few friends over. Most of them brought a bottle of something with them and I of course had bought some booze also. I can't remember exactly but I think I had Carlsberg, homemade sangria, Jameson and lemonade, jack daniels and coke, gin and tonic and possibly something else and more than one of each of those.

Anyway shortly after they left I was as sick as a dog, twice. The next morning I got up and the hangover was one of the worst I'd ever experienced. Lying down made me feel ill, and if I sat up I couldnt really look up any further than eye level without feeling ill. It was the summer too so the apartment was roasting and opening the windows had little or no effect.

Eventually what cured me was going and getting a blanket type thing and lying down on the bathroom floor. The cold tiles worked wonders, I definitely recommend it for those apocalyptic hangovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Mine was after drinking a bottle of Lidl brand Jagermeister...
    Wind back a second there Brother....'Lidl Brand Jagermeister'? What's this concoction called and why wasn't I informed?

My worst ever hangover was the first time I drank Jagermeister back in Nineteen-ninety-splash. I spent the next day face down on a hard wood floor listening to ambient music on loop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

I'm not sure if this really qualifies as a hangover..but

My first time in Poland. We got there Monday for skiing. We woke up to Vodka, had vodka on the slopes, beer for the evenings, with more vodka. This, until Friday evening when we hit Warsaw, one night on the lash and I swear it took 5 days for me to be right again...

I have no idea how much vodka, beer and whiskey I consumed but damn, never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

DenMan wrote: »
    You were probably doing ok man until you got introduced to the Bushmills. Bit of a blur after that I take it. :)

Yes, you're correct. It just hit me like THAT! I wasn't expecting it, totally just fecked me up.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Few years back, August bank holiday weekend, out on the friday night for a mates birthday. The following alcoholic beverages were imbibed; pints of Bulmers, Red aftershock, vodka slammers (always thought it was tequila slammers but was assured there are vodka slammers too), bacardi breezers with double vodka. It was an insane mixing of alcohol. Staggered home about 4am only to be woke by my dad at 8am for the family road trip to Wexford.

Managed to get about 7 miles out the road before asking him to pull over so I could throw up in a ditch. Thought i'd be fine only to have to ask him to pull over again 5 miles later. And then another 5 miles later. He eventually got fed up of having to pull over so he handed me a plastic bag and told me to puke in that and so I did......all the way to Wexford. Only came right in Enniscorthy after we pulled into a filling station and my sister mixed some liver salts in a bottle of water and told me to either stop throwing up or they'd leave me there.

My siblings still haven't forgiven me for the horror. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Just yesterday actually :D Was drinking Hoegarrden all night, along with Spiced rum, Guiness and then Cider (like the genuis I am) Left to get the bus at 2am. Put in my ticket and sat/fell down skillfully in the seat. Read the poster in front of me, blinked and woke up in Jobstown, then blinked againa and was woken up by a charming Polish guy saying it was the last stop in Citywest. Got a taxi home (ironically), got sick, slept. Woke up and couldn't even hold down water until 2pm.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

drank a whole load of barcardi from the bottle one night and a pint of blackcurrant to cure me at the end of it...

ended up vomiting in the backgarden and the family's jack russel was purple...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

splinter wrote: »
    drank a whole load of barcardi from the bottle one night and a pint of blackcurrant to cure me at the end of it...

:D:D I just spat coffee all over my monitor laughing at that. Classic. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

splinter wrote: »

Class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Wind back a second there Brother....'Lidl Brand Jagermeister'? What's this concoction called and why wasn't I informed?

My worst ever hangover was the first time I drank Jagermeister back in Nineteen-ninety-splash. I spent the next day face down on a hard wood floor listening to ambient music on loop.

The bottle looks almost the exact same as the Jagermeister bottle and "Herbal Liqueur" is written on the label. Vile stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

while on the lash in england, ended up in a pub where diamond white was the only cider they had on tap (have since made the transition away from cider). its around 7.5% or 8%, and some forms of it are over 9% I think. its rocket fuel, was in total bits the following day after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

£4.95 pitchers of cocktail in London. When mixed with dodgy Magner's they result in bad things happening to my brain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭c4cat

Waking up in Hospital with a skull fracture which I got while I was puking down the toilet, I am sure that no one could have a worse hangover then that!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

after the 12 pubs of christmas '05, '06 and '07

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

There is one really bad hangover which springs to mind....It was back in college so about 2 years ago and we decided last minute to head to a college ball. I nipped into the local superquinn to pick up a few drinks and noticed that for some reason they had cans of Stella €6 for 12....excellent must be a pricing mistake I thought so I picked up 24- 12 for me and 12 for my buddy. 1st can was pretty awful but I though it was cos I wasn't used to it kept on drinking.....after 4 cans my Mate realised the reason they tasted so awful was because they were 6 months out of date....Did that stop me drinking them? NO! polished off all 12 followed by a god awful amount of fat frog (was all the rage back then) and cheap tequila.
    Next day I didn't get out of bed until 4.55pm cos I had to be in work for 5pm spend the first hour of work puking into a bin at the side of my desk before being told by the boss to "Go home your making a show of yourself"....Didn't get out of bed for another 2 days

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

went to a wedding of a family member, got so drunk that on the way home we pulled over for me to get pick a number times, last time i decided to take a pee against the bush, and fell in. A cop car pulled over thinking there was a crash. Next morigo i honestly couldn't see when i woke. Everything was a blur and i was sent home from college by a lecturer. Turns out sitting in sunglasses in a sign language lecture doesnt fly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

went to a wedding of a family member, got so drunk that on the way home we pulled over for me to get pick a number times, last time i decided to take a pee against the bush, and fell in. A cop car pulled over thinking there was a crash. Next morigo i honestly couldn't see when i woke. Everything was a blur and i was sent home from college by a lecturer. Turns out sitting in sunglasses in a sign language lecture doesnt fly.
    Amateur!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭kick-on

u havnt had a hangover til uve had a poteen hangover, night of my 18th bday had a bbq n quite a few drinks at hme, started out on cider, then vodka, then rum then whiskey then d poteen, went 2 bed at half 7 , got up at 7.30 stil scuterd!!! n went 2 work, in absolute bits all day like!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

good few years back went for a pint after work, met a mate who had just received his first pay packet - started doing pint tequela, pint tequela till I had to go to the GF's house.
    She proceeded to give me a Brandy and Baileys which I lapped up.

needless to say the next day I was not too good - but my sister and kids were round for lunch so I had to attend.

As the ma placed the diner on the table in front of me I exploded with barf all over the table and every one else - much to my nephews delight which was funny.

I went back to bed till pub time ( well it was Saturday after all )

Anyway - after 99 hail mary's and a trip to the bishop my ma finally forgave me - 15 years later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Peach Schnapps, Tesco brand vodka and bottles of Bulmers...

*vomage.