Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Growing a beard

• 04-07-2008 11:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭

Well men whats ur opinion...sorry ladies but if youve got first hand experience on this then u really should be in the circus.....
    ive never done this before, and ive decided to go for the scruffy look and not bother with the razors for the past week, and i must admit i kinda like the look so far......but why is it that all Irish guys with brown hair have RED beards? WHY OH WHY? Is it the little leprechaun in all of us? Does it work the opposite, and all red haired guys have brown beards? And when does it get annoyingly itchy, if at all? And to what extreme would you go? Designer stubble or ZZ Top? And what type...goatee? handlebars? Bulldog? Hitler tache?! maybe Im rambling now but an important topic i feel :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Shave words onto your face like Prince did. Think about how cool you'd look with boards.ie chaved into the side of your face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Yep, mine goes reddish after going beyond stubble. Upper lip is blondish/brown and the bit under the lip goes brownish/blond as well.

You need this forum, sir.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1103

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

I had one for a while, t'was short though not bushy or in any way adventurous. Every man has to grow a beard once in his life. Even if it's a catastrophic failure, it just has to be done.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Can't grow a beard... for obvious reasons. Hmmmmmmm, I wonder what I would look like with a mustashe in a lads suit with coat and tie? Never tried cross-dressing, might be fun sometime!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

No way on earth I'd grow one, can't imagine them feeling anything other than scruffy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Theres a forum for this sort of thing now!(well not the cross dressing part,the beard part)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Indeed there is, soon boards will cover all major topics. :)

Had a bit of a beard this evening but it was getting itchy...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,234 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

...except microwaves & time machines!
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭DenMan

Keep it up OP. It takes time and patience. See it through. You won't be disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Sherifu wrote: »
    Indeed there is, soon boards will cover all major topics. :)

Had a bit of a beard this evening but it was getting itchy...

...so you Brazilian waxed it off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

humanji wrote: »
    Shave words onto your face like Prince did. Think about how cool you'd look with boards.ie chaved into the side of your face!
    Yes now that would be a bit flamboyant....what was it on his face again, SLAVE i think? not so sure about dressin in purple all the time tho :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Well men whats ur opinion...sorry ladies but if youve got first hand experience on this then u really should be in the circus.....
    ive never done this before, and ive decided to go for the scruffy look and not bother with the razors for the past week, and i must admit i kinda like the look so far......but why is it that all Irish guys with brown hair have RED beards? WHY OH WHY? Is it the little leprechaun in all of us? Does it work the opposite, and all red haired guys have brown beards? And when does it get annoyingly itchy, if at all? And to what extreme would you go? Designer stubble or ZZ Top? And what type...goatee? handlebars? Bulldog? Hitler tache?! maybe Im rambling now but an important topic i feel :D

I've brown hair and grow brown beards.

Red haired guys grow red beards, and strangely enough almost all of them seem to want to have at least a goatee...something I've never understood.

I often leave myself grow a beard but will generally keep it neat, trim the lines around my neck etc. to avoid it looking scruffy. The girlfriend hates them though, but it really does beat shaving every day.

Will sometimes just leave stubble as I quite like the look/think it suits me.

It usually gets a bit itchy for about a day following a weeks growth, it's not too bad though and goes quick enough.

DenMan wrote: »
    Keep it up OP. It takes time and patience. See it through. You won't be disappointed.
    Even with the bare patchy bits on the cheeks??!!! Its like a babys arse in places.....thats the bare bits i mean, in no way am i suggestin babys bums are hairy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

ive grown goatees,thin beards,side burns etc and got so fed up with them as it makes me itch.
    fed up being called fanny face!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭lithiumoxide

Had a beard now for probably about 5 years, maybe more (I'm the grand old age of 23 now). I tend to keep it short and neat, although sometimes I get lazy and don't bother trimming it, and after a while it becomes itchy, maybe around 11-13 days since previous cut. It's a beard/mustache combo, with thin trails joining both at the side of my mouth. I used to keep my cheeks cleanshaven, but recently I've tried just dry-shaving to leave a slight stubble and I'm liking it. Personally, I've never had complaints from girls, but I think my facial hair might be a bit softer than normal so probably doesn't cause a problem (I also make sure that it doesn't encroach on the lip boundary lol). In those 5 or so years I shaved it off once to see what it was like (I didn't like it) and it grew back to a decent stubble in about a week.

Kinda looks like this, except without all the hair on the neck and way up to the ears: http://www.hji.co.uk/hjimages/images/qhs1743/hji/medium/1987-men-beard.jpg

It also depends on your head hair, I think. They should suit each other, both in style and colour. I have long, dirty blonde hair and this one happens to suit me. Also take into consideration the shape of your face.

Hope this helps

I know a lot of people cant stand him, but i think im goin for the Glen Hansard look :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I have a **** theory that in gloomy times war, economic uncertainty etc... people grow more beards and tash's.
    Its a theory based on all those crappy films I saw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Beards, horrible. They suit the Dubliners and that's about it.

Funny story - we were told in work that we either have to be clean-shaven for work or have an already-established beard. We'd literally have to take annual leave to GROW one. And it states that clearly in our contract "must grow a beard on their time off".

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

can somebody dig up a link to wimmins and "ronnies"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

flanum wrote: »
    can somebody dig up a link to wimmins and "ronnies"?

Only ever heard that term in Intermission.

If it's a common term (And I doubt it is) I don't care. It's stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Rb wrote: »
    I've brown hair and grow brown beards.

Red haired guys grow red beards, and strangely enough almost all of them seem to want to have at least a goatee...something I've never understood.

I often leave myself grow a beard but will generally keep it neat, trim the lines around my neck etc. to avoid it looking scruffy. The girlfriend hates them though, but it really does beat shaving every day.

Will sometimes just leave stubble as I quite like the look/think it suits me.

It usually gets a bit itchy for about a day following a weeks growth, it's not too bad though and goes quick enough.
    Hmm.
    Move to fashion and appearance of the beards (closet) and hats forum...

Terry wrote: »
    Hmm.
    and hats forum...
    A Tinfoil hat forum;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

The Artist wrote: »
    A Tinfoil hat forum;)

The tinfoil hat forum is here.

Another day of growth...and its still bearable i must say...hehe this is like a personal online beard-growing diary....."Dear Diary, today i let my beard grow. The End."
    But its the patchy areas on the cheeks that have me stumped....on close inspectinon it looks like no hair will grow there, ever. I dont wanna go with just the goatee cos i think they are so gay (no offence, goatee-wearers) and sooooo 1990's (again no offence!).... so ive considered never ever going near my cheeks with a razor to see what kinda growth pattern i can get and hopefully i might get this result :)

How long have you been growing it for now?

Dord wrote: »
    [URL=""]long[/URL] enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

I've always had some variety of beard since I could grow one. Used to have it fairly scruffy and long but keep it close and neat these days.

Apperently I look like a sexual deviant clean shaven. Don't know if thats a good or bad thing.

The Artist wrote: »
    [URL=""]long[/URL] enough!

Infracted for this post, please keep it on topic and no trolling!

Dord wrote: »

About 2 weeks but i couldnt stand it today so i shaved.....i know i know, i hang my head in shame, i have failed this thread :(

Might give it another go though...

About 2 weeks but i couldnt stand it today so i shaved.....i know i know, i hang my head in shame, i have failed this thread :(

Might give it another go though...

Oh well then! Jaysus, you need to give it a chance. Once you get past the first month it stops getting as itchy and looks more like a proper beard. :)

Try again when you're ready and don't be afraid to post your progress/questions up here. :)

Yea ill give it another go (sure its growing back already :D)
    Its just the itchiness under the chin that drove me gaga...maybe goin for the designer stubble next time rather than get rid of it altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭DenMan

On your bike again man. No more shaving for a while and see how it develops. Eat loads of protein (burgers, fish etc) and good luck.