Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai use new approach to cut speeding!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,969 ✭✭✭patrickc

Have a look! Wonder will they do an unmarked version...

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0630/roads.html

tis in the motors forum already

Haven't they been doing this in the States for years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Oh my God!! That is ridiculous!!!

That is just the typical lazy approach you would expect from An Garda Siochana, it actually doesnt surprise me at all

Does the speed camera actually work? Because if it did then I could somehow understand this, but I can only imagine that it doesnt.

Well, as a learner driver who should no longer be on the roads as and from now all I have to say is that Ive every faith that you will no doubt enforce the new laws on learner drivers tomorrow. Yeah Right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

I give it a week before it ends up in some students sitting room!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

:D and then about 24 hours before it hits e-bay ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Wasn't this in some backwater county of Ireland for April Fool's Day? Apparently it was pretty effective too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

first saw this in Belgium about 8 years ago... great idea, pity it took them so long to copy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

peanuthead wrote: »

That is just the typical lazy approach you would expect from An Garda Siochana, it actually doesnt surprise me at all

To be fair to the Gardai...
    Kildare County Council is putting a life size cut-out of a garda car on roadsides throughout the county to stop motorists speeding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Wonder how long before they're defaced and destroyed.

I'll give it a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

ClioV6 wrote: »
    Wonder how long before they're defaced

Well they wouldn't be very effective if they were unmarked, would they?

/gets coat yet again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

I couldn't see how all of them won't be stolen I would definitely like one for my house :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

This is just a trial run, if successful the government will be replacing the entire force with cut outs.

how long would it take us to notice????:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

kowloon wrote: »
    This is just a trial run, if successful the government will be replacing the entire force with cut outs.

No, the next step is to put actual guards with cameras behind the cut-outs as soon as people become complacent - are they that smart or should I patent that idea....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

stevec wrote: »
    No, the next step is to put actual guards with cameras behind the cut-outs as soon as people become complacent - are they that smart or should I patent that idea....

And giant cut outs of entire stations, on front of stations?
    I like the cut of your jibb :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

mannequins dressed as gardai standing on street corners for the win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

I want two and attach them to my bike* complete with a friend on the back as the siren. That'll give them something to think about.

*if i had a bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

kowloon wrote: »

LOL

Is it just me (and maybe it is) or does anyone else think that the whole idea is really stupid??

I dont know what they should do instead, but I just think this is all very police academy. Maybe Ive got the complete wrong end of the stick but the problem that I see with the speed guns, whether its a real garda or a cardboard cut-out in his likeness, is that when motorists see them, they slow down alright, only to regain speed once they are around the corner. So I dont see the sense in it.

Like I said, I have no suggestions on what would be better, but then again its not my job to come up with them. I would hope that if it was, I would come up with something better than "pretend gardai"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

They will have 100 of them in Shannon to keep the CIA from flying rendition flights in, more effective than having real gardai there.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Ooooooo a Gardai cutout? If I'm good, can I have one for X-mas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭johnnyboy4711

typical crap from the government,stinks of cheapness!!!
    Where is our tax euros going?

j

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭johnnyboy4711

rock ridge in blazing saddles

http://www.scvhistory.com/gif/lw2145i.jpg

could be the future
    j

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

actually quite clever method! The problem isn't the Gardai, it is Irish Drivers who feel the need to speed unless they see a Gardai on the road.

If it was me I would put a camera on the cutout and arrest anyone who tries to deface it. after a week or two throw an actual speed camera in the area as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Yep, just dissensitize drivers to speeding when theres a cop present why dont we: that why they'll just speed all the ****ing time.

Seriously though, I can think of much better methods to tackle speeding. US Intersections already have cameras that will tag your license plate if you run a red, surely it wouldnt be too hard to adapt this to tag people that are speeding too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Like this is gonna work...:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Typical of the Guards. Why should they have do the work when some dummy can do it for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

I bet the cardboard cop will get an award or maybe a promotion to sergeant for reducing speed related accidents along that stretch of road.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Ahh sure he deserves it. Working all hours in all weather & not even getting paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I hope they're going to put a cut out of a burger van beside it to make it believable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Onikage

Responding to queries as to why the garda car was facing inwards, rather than outwards, Mr Keogh says regardless of which way the vehicle is facing, or the direction the garda is pointing the speed detector in, its main objective to deter drivers from speeding is in fact working.

Maybe it'll deter low-flying helicopters too, once some drunken boyo knocks it over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

NiSmO wrote: »
    Those lads who rob roadsigns now have a new extreme target to nick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

Does the speed camera actually work?

Considering that it's made out of wood and facing the wrong direction, i'd have my doubts

Thats genious, even better than having your own set of temporary traffic lights
    stevec wrote: »

Some really are that sneaky, really wouldn't surprise me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

I bet the cardboard cop will get an award or maybe a promotion to sergeant for reducing speed related accidents along that stretch of road.
    koolkid wrote: »
    Ahh sure he deserves it. Working all hours in all weather & not even getting paid.
    Sherifu wrote: »
    I hope they're going to put a cut out of a burger van beside it to make it believable.

Believe me, I love slaggin the gards as much as the next guy, but give them a break here... they AREN'T responsible for this, Kildare County Council are...read the article!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

Steve_o wrote: »
    Believe me, I love slaggin the gards as much as the next guy, but give them a break here... they AREN'T responsible for this, Kildare County Council are...read the article!

Come on now, why would you let facts get in a way of the good garda bashing. You are being unreasonable. I bet you are a guard yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I was giving constructive advice. Reading things is for losers.
    ojewriej wrote: »
    Come on now, why would you let facts get in a way of the good garda bashing. You are being unreasonable. I bet you are a guard yourself.
    Facts can't stand in the way of a good joke.
    Rare picture of the French army. It's rare, because they are actually fighting on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭skinner2x

rock ridge in blazing saddles

http://www.scvhistory.com/gif/lw2145i.jpg

could be the future
    j

LOL.

Class movie BTW...

Inclidently, I believe the average speed cameras would solve the issue. Your speed is clocked at various stages of your journey, and average speed is calculated. They use them in the UK. Possible our roads are 2 fragmented for this. ...

Sherifu wrote: »
    I was giving constructive advice. Reading things is for losers.

Facts can't stand in the way of a good joke.

Touche.

But to be honest, I wasn't talking about your joke (although I admit it might have looked like this), but more about these gems:

Does the speed camera actually work? Because if it did then I could somehow understand this, but I can only imagine that it doesnt.

Well, as a learner driver who should no longer be on the roads as and from now all I have to say is that Ive every faith that you will no doubt enforce the new laws on learner drivers tomorrow. Yeah Right.

koolkid wrote: »
    Typical of the Guards. Why should they have do the work when some dummy can do it for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Point taken.... bash away lads!!!!

Touche.

But to be honest, I wasn't talking about your joke (although I admit it might have looked like this), but more about these gems:

Oh really?

And you think that Kildare County Council made that decision all on their own authority, and didnt consult the gardai????:eek:

Oh ok, that clears it up for me, sorry!!!:confused::confused:

Touche.

haha, this looks like a direct quote from their mission statement!!:pac:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Overheal wrote: »
    Seriously though, I can think of much better methods to tackle speeding. US Intersections already have cameras that will tag your license plate if you run a red, surely it wouldnt be too hard to adapt this to tag people that are speeding too.

They could call them speed cameras or something snappy like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

If it stops your loved ones from getting killed, you'll be thankful of it. If you knew..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

I thought that impersonating a police officer was an offence? If so, shouldn't the Guards be arresting the cut-out?:confused:

Oh really?

And you think that Kildare County Council made that decision all on their own authority, and didnt consult the gardai????:eek:

Oh ok, that clears it up for me, sorry!!!:confused::confused:

And do you know they did consult them?

Why do you think no one from GS is quoted saying anything about this initiative? If you can't say anything good about something, better don't speak at all? Ever heard of that saying?

And even if they were consulted - it's still a KTC initiative, so why do you give out only about Garda SIochana?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

I will give it a wek and then you will find all the cut outs on the estates.They wont last pissing time cause somebody who is drunk/stupid will bring them home with them

I'm presuming what will happen is that a few metres away from the cut-out is a real cop car who will catch anybody who decides to speed after they pass feel its safe to.

I think it's proved quite successful in the States.
    ART6 wrote: »
    I thought that impersonating a police officer was an offence? If so, shouldn't the Guards be arresting the cut-out?:confused:

Or a lot of them get clamped for parking too long