Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cold/Sales Calls...

• 30-06-2008 9:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭

Ok, why are people so resistant to sales calls??

Like seriously, I've just recently started working in a call centre *not my ideal career* but people are just so rude... Why is this?

I mean the stuff that I am selling will definitley reduce 85% of customers monthly bills, yet they automatically think I'm out to make thier bills more expensive..If they took the time to listen to me for more than 48 seconds they would realise this...

I myself always listen and take part in sales calls, because any improvement on my bills would be brilliant...

So whats the craic with it all????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Eglinton

Unsolicated calls are a massive invasion of privacy in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Stephen90

The Irish have a paranoia of people taking the p!ss out of them and or taking adavantage of them at any given oppertunity... IME.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

Usually I'm not rude. But I don't give them time to start. I always think that next time I'll give them a chance but then when I answer the phone I just resort to saying I'm busy at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

I personally do not like answering the phone about 3 times per week to usually quite pushy people trying to tell/sell me things that if I wanted, I would get.

If I'm at work I dont have time. If they call me late in the evening, they have lost me already.

I'm not rude though, no need for that. Very funny audio doing the rounds couple years ago of a guy losing the plot with a sales guy on the phone. Was English, think was BT or similar. Became quite famous for a while, anybody remember?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭flynnc8

Eglinton wrote: »
    Unsolicated calls are a massive invasion of privacy in my opinion.

But these people are given the option on whether or not they would like to be called when they sign up to the company.... Obviously if they dont care to recieve the calls they should opt out..

The option is also there for them to be took off the dialler if they request so... Rather than being extremely rude each time they are contacted...

My phone is for me to call/text friends and family. And for them to call/text me.

And sometimes stalking.:p

flynnc8 wrote: »
    But these people are given the option on whether or not they would like to be called when they sign up to the company.... Obviously if they dont care to recieve the calls they should opt out..

The option is also there for them to be took off the dialler if they request so... Rather than being extremely rude each time they are contacted...

Are they 'opted in' by default? If so, then it's not really fair. Most people don't read small print.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Same reason we don't like spam. We didn't ask you to pitch the sale. Otherwise, you're calling at a bad time. Otherwise, we've dealt with right dicks in your trade and have a bad aftertaste.

I mean the stuff that I am selling will definitley reduce 85% of customers monthly bills, yet they automatically think I'm out to make thier bills more expensive..If they took the time to listen to me for more than 48 seconds they would realise this...
    Every cold caller claims they'll save you money...definitely. Many are lying. Many are wrong.

As for the called being extremely aggressive and abusive - I don't get it. There's something wrong with them. Maybe they're too thick to get off the register or something.

Just so we're clear OP: you invite PMs or pitch anything close to a sale (even mentioning more details of where you work and how we can save on our bills) and I will ban you. </paranoia>

Are they 'opted in' by default? If so, then it's not really fair. Most people don't read small print.

Nope its the same as when ya sign up to something online there is a box for them to tick yes or no for information on company products..

The same if the join the company over the phone. they are asked if they would like to recieve information and by which means they would prefer this info ie. Phone, Text or Email...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

If peoples numbers are listed as being allowed to contact then its fair game

Likewise if peoples numbers are listed on the internet then they are also contactable.

Nope its the same as when ya sign up to something online there is a box for them to tick yes or no for information on company products..

The same if the join the company over the phone. they are asked if they would like to recieve information and by which means they would prefer this info ie. Phone, Text or Email...

You usually have to 'untick' the online options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

People get the phone for their own personal use, not so somebody selling something can take advantage of it by calling them.

Karoma wrote: »
    Every cold caller claims they'll save you money...definitely. Many are lying. Many are wrong.

Just so we're clear OP: you invite PMs or pitch anything close to a sale (even mentioning more details of where you work and how we can save on our bills) and I will ban you. </paranoia>

I totally agree that not all will save ya money, but surely people should realise that the callers are just earning a living the same as them and there is no need to be rude or abusive...

Just so we're clear Karoma; I have no intention of PM's nor advertising.. If that was the case i would leave hints ie. the products I sell, which I have not done...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

If I wanna buy something, I go looking for it. Simple as.

I didn't ask to receive the call and I dont like being pushed into things. A lot of these calls that I have received come to the same conclusion - they will not take no for an answer.

The likelihood of me becoming rude at that stage soars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

Like seriously, I've just recently started working in a call centre *not my ideal career* but people are just so rude... Why is this?

I myself always listen and take part in sales calls, because any improvement on my bills would be brilliant...

before you took this career choice did you like to recieve them ?

besides, for a job like that rudeness should be like water from a ducks back, if it gets to you its not the job for you.

You usually have to 'untick' the online options

Or vise versa.... :rolleyes: depends on where ya are...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

im a sales person and im not pushy.

the product I sell most people have never heard of.

I refuse to be a pushy sales person as i find it never works

oleras wrote: »
    before you took this career choice did you like to recieve them ?

second last line of the quoted paragraph...
    oleras wrote: »

besides, for a job like that rudeness should be like water from a ducks back, if it gets to you its not the job for you.

unfortunately it is becoming that way... i just dont understand why the minute you introduce yourself people start swearing and what not..

Then they hang up before you get the chance to tell them they dont have to continue recieving these calls if thats what they would prefer..

I refuse to be a pushy sales person as i find it never works

Its no water off my back if you dont buy the product I still get paid at the end of the day..

It would just be nice to get told

"no sorry love, I'm not really interested can you please stop calling me"

rather than

"Ah for f**k sake this f**king crowd again. Would ya ever bl**ding Piss Off"

pity thats not me in the pic... :rolleyes:

Well if you're selling her.....

"Ah for f**k sake this f**king crowd again. Would ya ever bl**ding Piss Off"

How do you know others in the company you work for haven't called this person more than once before?

If someone keeps calling you from the same company/business selling something, then your going to eventually get pissed off with them and give them grief when they call again.

Thrill wrote: »
    How do you know others in the company you work for haven't called this person more than once before?

If someone keeps calling you from the same company/business selling something, then your going to eventually get pissed off with them and give them grief when they call again.

Obviously there is a system which sorts the numbers. Which prevents them from being rang more then once in a certain lenght of time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

As echoed before, the major problem with sales calls is the assumption I may be interested in purchasing yet another unneeded item/service.
    I will invest some time to do my own research, not be hounded by some sales rep who cares more about sales pitching than actual customer satisfaction. I laugh, or simply waste time whenever I get these calls. Fecking sales campaigns tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

I can't contribute anything that hasn't been said without getting nasty so I'll post this video instead:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭dcukhunter

Obviously there is a system which sorts the numbers. Which prevents them from being rang more then once in a certain lenght of time...

Sometimes that does not work I was getting calls from a certain company before the most in one day was 39 calls offering the same thing. I was told everytime that that was the last call 5mins later another call. I was talking to supervisors mangers it was only when I got thick and [EMAIL="f@&ked"]f@&ked[/EMAIL] them out of it and told them a complaint about harresment was going in against them did it finally stop. The worst thing I never sign up for any calls so they had no right to call once nevermind 20+ calls a day for weeks.

But that's the thing, they'll phone you and when they get no for an answer they'll phone again after a certain length of time.And again and again etc etc.

How many times do you have to say no before they stop ringing?

I know your only doing your job but next time your told what to do with yourself after you phone someone, try to look at it from their side also. People get fed up of being hassled.

Thrill wrote: »
    But that's the thing, they'll phone you and when they get no for an answer they'll phone again after a certain length of time.And again and again etc etc.

How many times do you have to say no before they stop ringing?

I know your only doing your job but next time your told what to do with yourself after you phone someone, try to look at it from their side also. People get fed up of being hassled.

Valid Point...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

I despise sales calls.

When I get home from a long day at work, last thing I want to deal with is someone calling my house, and throwing a load of information at me down the phone. I would never ever ever buy or agree to something over the phone to someone or some company that I do not know. They have a better chance of catching my attention by sending me something in the post to be honest.

I'm not saying that I like getting spam in the post either, but its the lesser of the two evils, and I'm more likely to have a quick read of the literature in my own time without the pressure. If I'm interested, I will follow it up myself.

I'll normally let the person explain what it is they are calling for first, but will interrupt before they go any further and tell them I'm not interested. If they start to get pushy, that's when I start to get a bit rude back, which I think I'm perfectly entitled to do.

Some of the callers are nice, take the hint quickly and say "thanks for your time, sorry for bothering you etc..." but some are just downright ignorant! :mad: "But Madam we have this AMAZING deal to offer you, you don't want to miss it, you're making a mistake!"

P*SS. OFF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

it means youre crap at your job.
    being in sales, i can tell you if you want someone to buy from you in that situation, you need to have them within the first scentence, otherwise its a waste of your time.

oh, and sales calls are an invasion of privacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

The fake friendlyness and the sometimes pushy manner pisses me off big time. in the past when I have been in a decent enough mood to deal with them they seem to really push me signing up with them pretty much ramming it down my throat. Nowadays I just tell them to get ****ed as soon as they mention they are selling something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I used to do telesales but it was with businesses who we already had a relationship with, even some of them were bastids. We were trained to make sure to use rebuttals at least once after the person says no, otherwise we'd get pulled up on it. Threatened with lawyers, some people that were going to hunt me down and find me, fun times. Back into the queue you go and someone else will call you in 30 mins or so. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Well, I recieve dozens of these a week in work, and I hate them for the following reasons:

1. They tie up the phone line.
    2. They interrupt me from my work.
    3. I'm never going to buy anything from them on principle anyway.
    4. The majority of them are quite sneaky about it. ("I spoke to xxx and he told me to call back" which is bullsht.)
    5. I've almost hung up on genuine callers, who I thought were telemarketers, due to the aformentioned sneakiness.
    6. The complete pointlessness of the job. In most jobs, you help people in some way. Telemarketing is of absolutely no assistance to anyone, in any way.
    7. They're full of crap. Telling people they'll save you money when they actually won't/

The worst are companies you already use, calling you up. I used to get the stationary suppliers ringing up weekly, asking us to order stuff. I switched to another company wo don't do that.

I urge everyone to do the same. If everyone boycotted companies which used telemarketers and never bought anything from them, they'd stop existing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I'm gonna take a wild stab in the dark at bog roll? :D

You don't have to be when you're selling a necessity. :)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

But these people are given the option on whether or not they would like to be called when they sign up to the company...

So why do Eircom keep ringing me 3 years after I switched from them looking for me to go back? I haven't signed up to them in that time.

Every time they call me I ask to be taken off, and yet still they call. I only pick up a fraction of the calls because I'm at work during the day, but there are regularly missed calls on the house phone when I get home. Next time I'm around to answer them I'm going to demand to speak to a supervisor and be extremely rude to them, because increasing levels of rudeness to their underlings (I was very pleasant and polite in the beginning) has done fcuk all good.

Tri wrote: »
    If I wanna buy something, I go looking for it. Simple as.

qft

I'm quite capable of deciding when I wasnt a new telecom provider/Sky tv/etc. by myself without some guy trying to hit his quota pushing it on me. If i had my way I'd outlaw the practice entirely and impose massive fines on any companies that cold call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Caller: "We would like you to participate in our survey. Do you have a few moments to spare?"

Me: "No"

Caller: (sounding rather shocked and sad) "Ok, thanks anyway."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

it means youre crap at your job.
    being in sales, i can tell you if you want someone to buy from you in that situation, you need to have them within the first scentence, otherwise its a waste of your time.

oh, and sales calls are an invasion of privacy.

tad harsh there WWM

op;i'd say with cold calls you need to play the numbers call 100 talk to 10 sell 1

i wrote some other stuff but naw its a crappy job the best advice i could bive you is get a real job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

"Would you be interested in lowering your monthly phone bill?"

"Sorry, I don't have a phone."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I got this once from my bank, can't be arsed naming them as they are a shower of cnuts anyway. Not the fact they were trying, but trying for 2 DAYS!!! wanting to get hold of me on the phone for a convo about whether i want a credit card...

Needless to say i told them to f*ck off and don't bother calling again. I, like most other people hate this type of idiocy and it should never have to happen to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I usually don't bother answering private numbers. If it's the bank ringing me to check on a transaction I don't mind, shows they're on the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

OP I think you might need more training. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Just hang up on them.

There's no point in being rude because the companies that phone me anyway always ignore my requests to be taken off their lists.

At home we used to get at least three calls a day that were meant for a garage. After a while we used to answer them and promise all sorts of stuff like a courtesy car while their other's in the shop or a three hour turnaround or your money back or special offer this week only, all repairs are half price.

Fun times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

The people in my bank are idiots.

They phoned me last week for a check up call, no problem. I tell them I'm interested in a credit card. I'm in work so we arrange a time to call back, Friday at 19:00. They decided to call me on Tuesday at 14:30.

When they do call me back, they will be on the recieving end of a bollocking for wasting my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Dinter wrote: »
    Just hang up on them.

This can work but for extra satisfaction try this

Ring Ring
    Me : Hello
    Telesales Man : Hi Im from CrummyProducts do you have a minute to talk.
    Me : Yes hang on (Puts phone down and walks away)
    Telesales Man : Hello....Hello....Hello....Hello....Hello....etc

Eventually they hang up and dont tend to call again. If they do - do exactly the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Well The name is Charlene, I'm currently working my ass off at Eircom

Now I'm no expert but I don't know many women installing phone lines...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

I'm always polite, just ask how they got my mobile number or landline number, and ask them their full name, mutter "10.21 jimmy whatever" and then ask them to give me an undertaking that they will see to it that my name and number is removed from whatever list they got it from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

if it hasn't already been posted, put best prank call ever into youtube. That's how you deal with cold callers

Mirror wrote: »
    Now I'm no expert but I don't know many women installing phone lines...

I have avoided mentioning the said company, but if people wish to go to the trouble of looking me up else where fair enough... dont really see the point tho... btw, i dont install phone lines and it is quiet prejudice to think that woman would not do that job if they wished to...

ZAPH-- if your asking to be took off any particular companies dialler and it does not happen, you should contact a superviser as it is against compliance and taken very serious...

Anyways i didnt start this thread as a personal battle, i just wanted to get some views on why people find them so annoying as i have always been quiet receptive to them...

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=J5z4Vs26-TI
    hilarious...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Its because you have people like eircom ringing contineously to tell you why you should some back to them and why they are so cheaper then anyone - so not true.

so you write a letter of complaint to them to say stop stalking me, so they respond by sending some bloke to my door to explain to me the benefits of being with eircom

thats why people are rude.

Eircom - go to hell