Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neil Young at Malahide - Lord take me now

• 30-06-2008 7:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭

When he performed "Old Man", I asked myself can it get better than this?

...but then he played "Words"...

pure perfection

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭JLemmon

Hi
    Sounds great, I'm going to cork tonight
    Was he on stage on time?
    How long was the set?
    Lookin at set list on another site on 16 songs but I know he plays some
    long. Was it all electric i.e. with the band or did he do a little acoutic bit also.
    J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭blackbox

MALAHIDE SETLIST:

Love And Only Love
    I've Been Waiting For You
    Mr. Soul
    Spirit Road
    Powderfinger
    Out of the Blue
    Too Far Gone
    Oh, Lonesome Me
    Mother Earth
    The Needle And The Damage Done
    Unknown Legend
    Old Man
    Get Back To The Country
    Words
    No Hidden Path
    ---
    A Day In The Life (Beatles cover)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

You are in for a treat jlemmon. The first set of electric songs was amazing. there was acoustic set in the middle. He played for just over 2 hours and the beatles cover at the end was class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭JLemmon

Excellent lookin forward to it.
    Half electric half acoustic, can't go wrong
    it's like half rice half chips :D
    J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

really enjoyed last night. 1st time to see him and wasn't disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 rockandrolldamn

Id go as far as saying that he was a good as when he played in Slane in 93 with Pearl Jam, fantastic and in great form to boot and Ive seen him a couple of times since indoors, outdoors definitely suit him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭kelbal

hiya,
    Was my first time seeing him - enjoyed the show, but it got a bit spoiled towards the end I have to say. The song just before the encore break, "no hidden path" I think, went on far far too long. The song lasted just under half an hour, with the verses spread between really long guitar jamming. I'm fully aware this is what makes live shows worth going to, having a bit of variety from what you normally hear on CD - but he took it way beyond that, and in all honesty, we were bored while they were jamming away. Friends of mine who are huge Neil Young fans were dying for the song to end, and were a bit pi**ed off because he could have fit in a few more classics such as Rocking in the free world, or Heart of Gold. Good show, but pity it ended so frustratingly.

P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

THE BEATLES??? FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I had to leave early during "Words" and I thought Id miss a lot of songs though as it turned out I only missed 1 (and the encore).....though it seems that went on for ages! Yep I think "Old Man" was the highlight, it was on heavy rotation on the car stereo on the way home.....hes a big hero of mine and it was first time seeing him so I was in awe really, didnt care that the first song went on for an age....gave me loads of time to take pics! Hes a legend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭ec18

kelbal wrote: »
    hiya,
    Was my first time seeing him - enjoyed the show, but it got a bit spoiled towards the end I have to say. The song just before the encore break, "no hidden path" I think, went on far far too long. The song lasted just under half an hour, with the verses spread between really long guitar jamming. I'm fully aware this is what makes live shows worth going to, having a bit of variety from what you normally hear on CD - but he took it way beyond that, and in all honesty, we were bored while they were jamming away. Friends of mine who are huge Neil Young fans were dying for the song to end, and were a bit pi**ed off because he could have fit in a few more classics such as Rocking in the free world, or Heart of Gold. Good show, but pity it ended so frustratingly.

P

completely agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Predhead

Was really disppointed to be honest. It was a great performance from him but the set was let the show down. One song from 'After the Goldrush', nothing from 'Zuma', 'On the Beach', 'Everybody Knows This is Nowhere' to name a few of his best albums.

I know he might not want to just bang out the hits but how often does he play here? Give the fans what they want. I was expecting it to be better than the Bruce gig but I was very, very wrong.

The song just before the encore went on for 30 mins. It was a bit self-indulgent.
    The encore itself was pathetic.

Predhead wrote: »
    Was really disppointed to be honest. It was a great performance from him but the set was let the show down. One song from 'After the Goldrush', nothing from 'Zuma', 'On the Beach', 'Everybody Knows This is Nowhere' to name a few of his best albums.

I know he might not want to just bang out the hits but how often does he play here? Give the fans what they want. I was expecting it to be better than the Bruce gig but I very, very wrong.

The song just before the encore went on for 30 mins. It was a bit self-indulgent.

Horses for courses I guess:), I personally thought it was the best gig ive been at since I was at Planxty in Vicar St a few years ago. Yes the tune going on for 30 odd mins was a bit on the drawn-outside but when you go to a Neil young gig your not expecting 3 min pop songs are you? He gave it everything last night his voice is still in fine shape and he played the whole way through with great passion, I dont imagine that Neil would be bothered playing a greatest hits package at 62 years of age. He has nothing to prove and I doubt that if he were to do the whole greatest hits thing he would be able to keep the interest in it in order to play with such vigor or indeed at all

A Day in the Life worked terrificliy as an encore and really got the crowd envolved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 askmysack

First time seeing him last night. I thought the whole 30 minute song thing was a bit much but other than that I had a blast. Every second of the acoustic set was brilliant. Words, The Needle And The Damage Done and Old Man were the highlight for me. Beatles encore was great too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 bryston

I was taken along by my brother-in-law who is a fan. I agree that the extended song lost me but it was worth it to hear his acoustic stuff.

I really liked the venue. Easy to park within a 10min walk of the pubs, then into Gibneys for a few hours and a stroll to the venue. The view of the castle from the stage must give the performers lift as how many dreary "carpark" outdoor venues must they play at.

I wasn't impressed on the way out by the punters legging it across the "out-of-bounds" areas (and busting hedges in the process) just to save themselves 5-10mins waiting time. C'mon guys, it's the sort of thing that could mean it is lost as a future venue.

Predhead wrote: »

I know he might not want to just bang out the hits but how often does he play here? Give the fans what they want. I was expecting it to be better than the Bruce gig but I was very, very wrong.

I share your view that those are great albums, but if you expected to hear all of his great songs you were bound to be disappointed - he would have had to play for 14 hours or more! It couldn't happen.

I was at Springsteen in the RDS and he was excellent, but Neil Young was way better in terms of pure music and emotion. (OK BS is a much better showman).

As for "No Hidden Path", Neil told us he was taking us on a long journey, a very long journey. I thought it was fantastic.

I also thought the encore worked well, but like everyone else I would have liked a few more songs. Unfortunately it had to end - no matter how much he played I would have wanted more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Fourth time for me seeing Neil.

This was a very good gig. (better than Brixton 02 anyway - so in my top 3).

Few songs I hadn't heard before (live). Get Back to the Country - great to hear a song from Old Ways (a very under appreciated NY album). Powderfinger was awesome. Words, Mr Soul - just awesome. To hear Old Man performed by Neil with Ben Keith on peddle steel is an absolute privelige.

I thought the 30 minute Spirit Road was completely self-indulgent. Its a decent song, but its no Crime in the City.

Would have loved to hear some of the On the Beach stuff, but at this stage I've given up hoping for that really. Very rare that Neil plays any of that stuff. Ambulance Blues gets the odd airing but that's about it.

The encore with A Day in the Life was great. Cool how he produced those orchestral sound effects with his guitar. Nice way to leave the stage also ripping all the strings off of old black and just walking off.

Also a quick note about the Frames. Don't know how long they have the current drummer but he is very good. Also happy to see them belt out some of the crowd pleasers which would suit this kind of gig. Irglova on the backing vocals / keyboard was also nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Thought it was a great gig.

It should be no surprise that Neil gets a little self-indulgent on the guitar at times - he's legend for it, not in spite of it!

Like others have said, he seems to have little interest in playing a greatest hits gig & you just have to respect that the man will play the music he wants to. At least it was played with passion, not out of a sense of duty.
    Anyway, he played great, sang great & had a damn good backing band.

Thought The Frames sounded bloody awful, but I think that was more bad mixing than bad playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Squelchy

I'd mixed feelings about this gig; was my first time seeing him and it was great to hear some classics live - but the indulgent jamming bored me senseless, I'm afraid.

Off-topic though; did anyone else notice a chap in the crowd eerily similar to or *actually* the actor Mark Boone Junior?

He's not exactly a run-of-the-mill looking chap: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0095478/

blackbox wrote: »
    I share your view that those are great albums, but if you expected to hear all of his great songs you were bound to be disappointed - he would have had to play for 14 hours or more! It couldn't happen.

I was at Springsteen in the RDS and he was excellent, but Neil Young was way better in terms of pure music and emotion. (OK BS is a much better showman).

As for "No Hidden Path", Neil told us he was taking us on a long journey, a very long journey. I thought it was fantastic.

I also thought the encore worked well, but like everyone else I would have liked a few more songs. Unfortunately it had to end - no matter how much he played I would have wanted more.

True he did say that! I know he was never gonna play all the hits and I'd looked forward to hearing a few songs I wasn't all too familiar with but even one or two is what I'm saying. Not all, as you pointed out, it would be impossible.

big b wrote: »
    Thought it was a great gig.

It should be no surprise that Neil gets a little self-indulgent on the guitar at times - he's legend for it, not in spite of it!

Like others have said, he seems to have little interest in playing a greatest hits gig & you just have to respect that the man will play the music he wants to. At least it was played with passion, not out of a sense of duty.
    Anyway, he played great, sang great & had a damn good backing band.

Thought The Frames sounded bloody awful, but I think that was more bad mixing than bad playing.

Can't stand the Frames. Why, before a few of his songs did he feel the need to explain what they were about?! P1ss of Glen you gimp.

Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed the gig and as I said it was a great performance, I was just a little disappointed.

RE*AC*TOR wrote: »

Also a quick note about the Frames. Don't know how long they have the current drummer but he is very good. Also happy to see them belt out some of the crowd pleasers which would suit this kind of gig. Irglova on the backing vocals / keyboard was also nice.

The durmmer with the frames was Graham Hopkins originally , He used to Jam with a few friends of mine when they were growing up but ive never had the privilige myself. He played with Therapy and does some session work for Gema Haze, he also has another band on the go called Boss Velenti who have a good feelgood Rock Album out, can be picked up on itunes. Yea he's a very good drummer and a sound chap as well to boot havent seen him since Peter Green played in the Mean Fiddler years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭niallk

I consider myself a huge if fairly recent fan of Neil Young. Since becoming a fan about two years ago i have bought over 20 of his albums and several dvds. When I watch his live dvds what always strikes me is the connection he has with the crowd. I didn't really feel this connection last night though. Mind you, these dvds are usually to a smaller crowd.
    I am more of a fan of the acoustic and intimate Neil Young I suppose and was thus left a tad disappointed at the more indulgent songs in the set. I knew I would have to "put up with" the electric set but i wasn't expecting 30min+ songs. Having said this I was quite enjoying Neil's guitar playing up until the penultimate song. For me, his guitar playing has never sounded better.
    I was expecting a bit more banter with the crowd. He probably talked three times during the show and didn't even say goodbye :(. There was a point when he was having a good old laugh with his band and I expected him to let the crowd in on the joke. With my paranoid mind I was led to believe the joke was on us when he said nothing. Despite all of this i still of course love the man. I know that some of you don't understand...

One more thing: What was the deal with the Batman-esque red/pink glowing phone on stage?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

Going to see him in a few hours. Looking forward to it and wondering what he's likely to play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭ByrdsFan

Absolutely fantastic gig, Mr. Soul & Powderfinger for me were the highlights of a fantastic set. I can see why some people were put off by the overlong jamming, personally though, i thought it was great, id be a fan of jam bands so seeing him rock out for 30 mins was an absolute treat.
    It was great that the weather held out aswell, brilliant atmosphere in there too, I hope this is not the last time he plays here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fobster

First time seeing him, got into him about 3 years. Just plain deadly!!

I'm half and half on the whole wha wha wha he played one song for 25 minutes or whatever. Its Neil Young and having read his biography "Shakey", Neil Young will do what he wants to do, it might be not what some fans want but try telling him that! But then again 4 songs could have been played instead which I would have preferred sure, but to watch a legend at 62 go nuts with an all-out jam you can only watch in awe!!

And after playing favourites of mine like Mr. Soul, powderfinger, Hey Hey, I've been waiting for you, Words and Spirit Road he can bloody do what he wants! And I thought Oh Lonesome me was just feckin really beautiful.

And on the point of not playing songs off certain albums and whatever, I'd say you could go to 2 neil young concerts with nearly different set-lists!!

And wasn't Ben Keith just a legend with that jumper!
    ByrdsFan wrote:
    I hope this is not the last time he plays here.

Aye indeed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

I loved it but I really really wish he had played something from Tonights the Night. To go to my favourite artist and not hear anything from my favourite album...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Dearg Doom

This would be my forth time to see Neil and tbh was a little unsure of what to expect. His last show here afaik was with Crazy Horse in 2001 and it was a real stormer, but that was seven years ago now and a lot of water has been passed under the bridge since the.:)
    Last night was fantastic, brilliant sound, brilliant band and the man was in top form,jaysus he even cracked a few jokes.
    Sorry lads but it really dosn't get much better than this!

Dearg Doom wrote: »
    His last show here afaik was with Crazy Horse in 2001 and it was a real stormer

That was a real stormer alright - but of course you are forgetting Vicar Street in between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭niallk

And that vicar street gig in a bonus dvd on my favourite Neil Young album:
    Greendale. You must own this album.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭ByrdsFan

I loved it but I really really wish he had played something from Tonights the Night. To go to my favourite artist and not hear anything from my favourite album...
    Could not agree more

Yeah woulda been great to hear something from TtN, love that album! Alas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭BurnsCarpenter

Similar set list in Cork last night.
    A few different numbers - Heart of Gold, Hey Hey My My, a cover of All along the Watchtower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭shano

Similar set list in Cork last night.
    A few different numbers - Heart of Gold, Hey Hey My My, a cover of All along the Watchtower.

Hey Hey My My was played in Malahide too. Pity we didn't get Heart Of Gold but then you can't have everything.
    niallk wrote:
    And that vicar street gig in a bonus dvd on my favourite Neil Young album:
    Greendale. You must own this album.

excellent DVD alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Potcher

I thought this was pure ****e to be honest. 2 songs played in 45 mins is just self indulgent crap. He played guitar like he was jamming along to a cd in his bedroom (at 15). very little connection with the audience except to look at them like he wanted to kill them (I can understand!!) Hey hey my my was amazing as was some of the acoustic stuff but on the whole really self indulgent it was like watching someone masturbating on the stage for long periods. Bored senseless and most of the reason A day in the life went down well was because it was the 3rd song he played the crowd could sing along to. off the point but whats the story with people going to gigs and standing round talking muck ther was people round us IN THE FRONT PIT talking muck all the way through the gig. I thought the real Neil fans would be in there not people talking through every song. I've noticed it a lot at gigs lately lots of people there arent into music at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭viv.ie

Hi
    Great concert.Second time seeing Neil. Still buzzing,just a couple of observations about the gig.Sound on Neil was great,what was the story with the sound of The Frames?.I had to put tissue in my ears to cut the hi end out,it was like however mixed it thought I have a monster PA here and boy am I going to trash it!Bad EQ and much too loud .Another issue was leaving the venue after the gig everybody seemed to bottleneck very quickly trying to exit,got to the point where I thought it was dangerous.I hope this can be sorted out for future gigs here as I think its a fantastic venue much better than the RDS.It was great to see that the last Dart Southside waited until after midnight before leaving ,it was a bit like one of those trains you see in India crammed to the gills but glad to be on it all the same.Looking forward to going to more gigs at the castle in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭shano

viv.ie wrote: »
    Hi
    Another issue was leaving the venue after the gig everybody seemed to bottleneck very quickly trying to exit,got to the point where I thought it was dangerous.I hope this can be sorted out for future gigs here as I think its a fantastic venue much better than the RDS.

that was due to the fact that the idiots didn't open the barriers in time (these are the same exits which worked fine for the Radiohead gig so it must've been down to the security staff on Sunday night not doing their job correctly)- the screens on the stage directed people to these exits and then people started to panic a little when they saw the barriers weren't open - then a slight surge started before everyone made their way towards the DART exit. There was serious congestion at that exit but thankfully no one got injured that I am aware of.

shano wrote: »
    that was due to the fact that the idiots didn't open the barriers in time (these are the same exits which worked fine for the Radiohead gig so it must've been down to the security staff on Sunday night not doing their job correctly)- the screens on the stage directed people to these exits and then people started to panic a little when they saw the barriers weren't open - then a slight surge started before everyone made their way towards the DART exit. There was serious congestion at that exit but thankfully no one got injured that I am aware of.

That was ridiculous. We were all diverted away from the exits to the left of the stage (as you are facing the stage) back to the ones at the back left (where the surge / bottleneck issues were).
    By the time we got through that exit the other exits had been opened. Could've been nasty. Talked to one of the gardaí standing just outside the problem exit. He didn't give a shít.

The was exacerbated by ground staff stopping the flow at intervals - so the whole thing came to a complete stop.

I won't be returning to Malahide Castle for a gig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

was at neil last night in Cork. played pretty much the same set. it was heavy going in places, long songs, but I was kinda expecting that too. thought the 2nd last one, was a bit TOO long. he could have fitted in southern man, and rockin in the free world or something, plus he finished with a cover, after already playing all along the watchtower....

some racket made out of them though.im glad i went. one thing, what's with pricing tour tshirts at 30 and 35 € after the ticket prices, they should have been giving them away. After this year, ill not go to a gig in ireland again. too expensive....

BarryCreed wrote: »
    some racket made out of them though.im glad i went. one thing, what's with pricing tour tshirts at 30 and 35 € after the ticket prices, they should have been giving them away. After this year, ill not go to a gig in ireland again. too expensive....

Apparently they're organic cotton t-shirts...the black one with NY on the front anyway. Wanted to get the Indian one but didn't have any large...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 AlaskaFox

Cork had a few nice songs in it 'Everybody Knows' for one, but sadly I only went to see Neil once, on Sunday. I thought he was excellent, and like some of the others here I knew it wouldn't be a Greatest Hits show. You can check out my review of the show here: http://swearimnotpaul.blogspot.com/2008/07/live-review-neil-young-and-frames.html

Potcher wrote: »
    I thought this was pure ****e to be honest. 2 songs played in 45 mins is just self indulgent crap. He played guitar like he was jamming along to a cd in his bedroom (at 15). very little connection with the audience except to look at them like he wanted to kill them (I can understand!!) Hey hey my my was amazing as was some of the acoustic stuff but on the whole really self indulgent it was like watching someone masturbating on the stage for long periods. Bored senseless and most of the reason A day in the life went down well was because it was the 3rd song he played the crowd could sing along to.

Did you think it was going to be Neil DIAMOND?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

didnt go to see him this time as i dont like malahide castle and couldnt get the tickets for the marquee.

i did however go to see him in the apollo in london on paddys weekend. this was the best gig ive ever been to. he played for 1.30mins accoustic and then 1.45mins electric, they were recording it for release on DVD so thats why it went on so long.

played a hell of a lot of songs without much in the way of jamming in between, nothing like thirty minute songs. played a lot of tonights the night and heart of gold.

guess its the luck of the draw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

didnt go to see him this time as i dont like malahide castle and couldnt get the tickets for the marquee.

i did however go to see him in the apollo in london on paddys weekend. this was the best gig ive ever been to. he played for 1.30mins accoustic and then 1.45mins electric, they were recording it for release on DVD so thats why it went on so long.

played a hell of a lot of songs without much in the way of jamming in between, nothing like thirty minute songs. played a lot of tonights the night and heart of gold.

guess its the luck of the draw.

yeah, ive seen some of those set lists, and they look like way better shows. oh well...
    still glad i saw him though, even though he could have played less of the 20 min ones...

That would've been fantastic. I was thinking that show would've been the best one of my life if I had been in attendence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Potcher

blackbox wrote: »
    Did you think it was going to be Neil DIAMOND?

:D nope i did not. But i wasnt expecting a petulant child onstage indulging himself either.

Potcher wrote: »
    :D nope i did not. But i wasnt expecting a petulant child onstage indulging himself either.

Actually, the guys around me were singing Neil Diamond beforehand in response to someone who shouted "We love you Neily". It was quite funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭deko43

Yea, jam on the last song went on too long and we could have had time for cinnimon girl if he has cut it down a bit but what the hell. I nomally avoid outdoor gigs these day but this might bring me back. To my eyes he seemed to be enjoying what he was doing on stage. Fantastic to see the guy at last.. hope he comes back soon. Powderfinger was the highlight for me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

Good gig. A little less self indulgence would have been better but sure what can you do.

One thing about the Marquee: couldn't even hear half the instruments. The mixer was all wrong.

See the guy painting in the back of the stage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭nataliehun

Hey was Brillant! I loved him anyway! Old Man was the best... The instrumental was amazing...Fair play neil...you were brillant!
    xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭dedon

Well I think it is a disgrace that he charged €80 in Cork and only €60 in Dublin. It is way over priced. Neil Young considers himself a lefty and is very anti-corporate and he hates to see people getting ripped off. He sings about the poor man on the strret etc. He is a total hypocrite as he charges €80 for his gigs over here. Total disgrace and shame on him.

Freedom my hole!!