Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why didn't Anakin go see his brother??

• 27-06-2008 8:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭

Right.

So Luke is hidden with his half brother Owen on Tattooine after the fall of the Republic and the Jedi.

Thing is, why didn't Darth Vader (Anakin) ever go see his brother? In the some 18 years between Luke's birth and his reunion with Obi-Wan, he never once thought to go see his family??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭karlr42

He's Darth Vader, a Sith Lord. I doubt it would be fitting for him to be seen involved with his family. It's unlikely Palpatine would have approved of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭evil-monkey

karlr42 wrote: »
    He's Darth Vader, a Sith Lord. I doubt it would be fitting for him to be seen involved with his family. It's unlikely Palpatine would have approved of it

I don't think Vader really cared what was "fitting" and what wasn't. He seemed to be happy with the whole idea of family when Luke came along. And had he gone to see Owen, he'd have gotten his hands on Luke while he was still an infant!!

Surely he was curious...just a lil??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Maybe because he went bat shít insane after padme died, and simply didn't care that he had a family, he was dead inside.

robby^5 wrote: »
    Maybe because he went bat shít insane after padme died, and simply didn't care that he had a family, he was dead inside.

But that's what I'm saying, he must have cared somewhat cos when Luke showed up he was all up for family.

Plus, in A New Hope, the Imperial Forces tracked R2 D2 and C3PO to Tatooine, to the Skywalker homestead. When ransacking the house, surely they came across the name Skywalker somewhere and would have at least mentioned it to Vader.

Which raises the question, why exactly was Luke's surname Skywalker?? They were hiding him from the Emporer. So if they were doing this, should they have not changed the boys name to that of his adopted parents?? They changed Leia's surname to Organa...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Ger_Hankey

Hey there, I'm not usually a poster this end of the forums, but I thought I'd put my tuppence worth in.
    Wasn't Anakin under the impression he had killed Padme towards the end of episode 3? And my memory is a bit hazy on this one, but did he even know if she was pregnant (I know he didn't know she was expecting twins). So if he did know she was pregnant then I would assume he thought he killed the baby when he killed Padme. He then probably only realised Luke was his son when he actually met him and the ol' force DNA test kicked in.
    Of course, he had met Leia before that too, so that shoots that last bit of the theory to hell, doesn't it? Damn Lucas & his making up history as he goes along...

Ger_Hankey wrote: »
    Hey there, I'm not usually a poster this end of the forums, but I thought I'd put my tuppence worth in.
    Wasn't Anakin under the impression he had killed Padme towards the end of episode 3? And my memory is a bit hazy on this one, but did he even know if she was pregnant (I know he didn't know she was expecting twins). So if he did know she was pregnant then I would assume he thought he killed the baby when he killed Padme. He then probably only realised Luke was his son when he actually met him and the ol' force DNA test kicked in.
    Of course, he had met Leia before that too, so that shoots that last bit of the theory to hell, doesn't it? Damn Lucas & his making up history as he goes along...

lol. good post!! he knew she was pregnant, but ya, he did think he had killed the kids. nor did he know about the twins. he thought he killed her on the spot in Mustafar, when he she actually survived to give birth before then dying for a reason that is never explained. (Droid says she has given up her will to live and that's that). anyway, the point is that yes, he didn't know about Luke, but he did know he had a half brother. surely he would have gone to see him, the fact that they are of the same blood would be cause enough (ie, could this guy have a connection to the force?) I don't accept the "era he was a badass now" as a reason for him not doing it. Surely there was a reason.

That post does raise another very good question though, why didn't he make the connection when he met with Leia?? In the book, Dark Lord: The Rise of Darth Vader, Bail Organa is desperate to hide Leia from Vader because he will sense her. When Vader visits Organa, he goes to great pains to keep her away from him. Why when he meets her then in a New Hope does he get no connection at all??

So to sum up, here are the things, IMO, that don't quite add up quite yet;

1] Why didn't Vader go see his family?

2] Why didn't he make a connection with Leia when he abducted her in A New Hope? (courtesy of Ger-Hankey)

3] Why did Luke have the surname Skywalker?

4] When the Imperial Forces raided Luke's home on Tatooine, surely they came across the name Skywalker, and surely in there report to Vader he would have thought "hey, a Skywalker living where my family lived....hmmmm, coincidence??"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Ger_Hankey

So to sum up, here are the things, IMO, that don't quite add up quite yet;

1] Why didn't Vader go see his family?

2] Why didn't he make a connection with Leia when he abducted her in A New Hope? (courtesy of Ger-Hankey)

3] Why did Luke have the surname Skywalker?

4] When the Imperial Forces raided Luke's home on Tatooine, surely they came across the name Skywalker, and surely in there report to Vader he would have thought "hey, a Skywalker living where my family lived....hmmmm, coincidence??"

I have a few thoughts on these still;
    1) Owen Lars is basically just the son of the bloke his mother married. He hadn't seen his mother for years before she was kidnapped, and he only really met him once. That fact, aswell as Tatooine probably not being filled with happy memories and Vader not being the most sentimental chap after turning to the dark side, wouldn't really give him a compelling reason to go there would it? In fact, he might have made a point of avoiding the place.

2) The only reason I can possibly think of it that he only really felt anything around Luke and not Leia is Luke is Luke Skywalker, which made him think "hang on a tick! I wonder if...." and then used the force to see if they were father & son. Maybe something like that takes a bit of effort & he wouldn't bother trying to sense if every senate member he abducts is related to him. He had a reason to see if he was Luke's father, he didn't have a reason to see if he was Leias.

3) & 4) More or less the same answer for the two of these. How well known was it that Anakin Skywalker was Darth Vader? If Owen Lars didn't know & thought Anakin was dead, he wouldn't have any reason to change Luke's name. If the Imperial grunts didn't know who Vader was then the name Skywalker more than likely wouldn't have registered with them.

Of course you raise another very good plot hole there too. I can just imagine Luke or Leia one day finding the driod who hepled deliver them & being told Padme just gave up the will to live;
    "Gee, thanks Mom!! You know how to make a kid feel special!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

He was'nt exactly jumping all over the the place shaking and hugging lars when they were introduced.

1) Owen Lars is basically just the son of the bloke his mother married. He hadn't seen his mother for years before she was kidnapped, and he only really met him once. That fact, aswell as Tatooine probably not being filled with happy memories and Vader not being the most sentimental chap after turning to the dark side, wouldn't really give him a compelling reason to go there would it? In fact, he might have made a point of avoiding the place.

What's to say Anakin didn't get his connection to the force from his mother's genes?? In which case, Vader would have known that Owen Lars could well have had the same...

2) The only reason I can possibly think of it that he only really felt anything around Luke and not Leia is Luke is Luke Skywalker, which made him think "hang on a tick! I wonder if...." and then used the force to see if they were father & son. Maybe something like that takes a bit of effort & he wouldn't bother trying to sense if every senate member he abducts is related to him. He had a reason to see if he was Luke's father, he didn't have a reason to see if he was Leias.

He sensed Luke before he knew his name...from a bit of a distance too!!

3) & 4) More or less the same answer for the two of these. How well known was it that Anakin Skywalker was Darth Vader? If Owen Lars didn't know & thought Anakin was dead, he wouldn't have any reason to change Luke's name. If the Imperial grunts didn't know who Vader was then the name Skywalker more than likely wouldn't have registered with them.

Obi-Wan Kenobi knew!! Surely that was enough. He was on Tatooine to ensure the boy stayed hidden. Surely he would have had to sense to change his surname...

Ger_Hankey wrote: »
    Of course you raise another very good plot hole there too. I can just imagine Luke or Leia one day finding the driod who hepled deliver them & being told Padme just gave up the will to live;
    "Gee, thanks Mom!! You know how to make a kid feel special!!!"

:p:p i know ya. imagine telling your friends, hey. "hey, my mom died of old age." "my mom was in a shuttle crash." "my mom was physically in top notch but she still decided to call it a day, even though she had just given birth to me and my sister!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Jim_Are_Great

:p:p i know ya. imagine telling your friends, hey. "hey, my mom died of old age." "my mom was in a shuttle crash." "my mom was physically in top notch but she still decided to call it a day, even though she had just given birth to me and my sister!!"

You and your friends must have pretty strange conversations. Some people talk about football, or the weather but not you guys. Parental death all the way.

Can't see them talking about football or the weather on Tatooine..."hey, what ya make of the weather today?" "Bit sunny..."

Hah! Yeah. "Man, we're a desert planet AND we have two suns?! That's just not fair".

Handy place to be a weather man. Wouldn't have much trouble getting an accurate forecast...

then for the craic some day you could be like "there will strong sunshine tomorrow, following by some scatter showers and thundery downpours." everyone would be like "whaaa??"

Yeah. It'd also be a pretty easy to draw a map of. Just one big brown crayon would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭delta36

Time for my two credit's worth (heh, I love Star Wars lingo!). It's explained rather well in Dark Lord and in the Revenge of the Sith novel. When Anakin turned to the dark side and became Lord Vader, he ceased to think of himself as Anakin. Anytime in the books he thought about it, he felt it was a whole other person, a whole other life. The primary reason being, the memories were so painful. He wouldn't have wanted to be reminded of it. Incidentally, apparently, in the artwork for Episode V, in cloud city, there was some concept art of vader holding C3PO's head in his hand and looking at it wistfully. Well, as wistfully anyone wearing a mask made to resemble Sith War droids can.

delta36 wrote: »
    Time for my two credit's worth (heh, I love Star Wars lingo!). It's explained rather well in Dark Lord and in the Revenge of the Sith novel. When Anakin turned to the dark side and became Lord Vader, he ceased to think of himself as Anakin. Anytime in the books he thought about it, he felt it was a whole other person, a whole other life. The primary reason being, the memories were so painful. He wouldn't have wanted to be reminded of it. Incidentally, apparently, in the artwork for Episode V, in cloud city, there was some concept art of vader holding C3PO's head in his hand and looking at it wistfully. Well, as wistfully anyone wearing a mask made to resemble Sith War droids can.

hmmm...maybe. but it still doesn't answer the other questions...why didn't he feel a connection to Leia?? Why was her name changed and not Lukes?? It seems they took greater care to protect Leia...despite the fact Luke was the one in which they placed all their hope, as seen in a lot of the Karen Traviss books which look at Obi-Wans spell on Tatooine watching over the boy...surely if one of only a handful of surviving Jedi was worth placing on the planet to watch the boy, it was worth going to the trouble of changing the kids name...why not while you're at it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

I'd say Anakin didn't go to see his family because he probably blamed what-his-face (Owen's Father) for his mothers death, despite the fact he couldn't do anything after losing his legs. I got that impression from the look Anakin throws him when carrying the body of his mother back to the house. So basically sinse then decided they weren't his family, as the only link he had to them was his mother. and there's no way any of the Lars's had jedi blood as Shmee didn't, Anakin was made purely from medicloreans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Thing is, why didn't Darth Vader (Anakin) ever go see his brother? In the some 18 years between Luke's birth and his reunion with Obi-Wan, he never once thought to go see his family??

<sarcasm tipp-ex>Now now play nice<\sarcasm tipp-ex>

allybhoy wrote: »
    Because its a film

oh right, i hadn't realised that!! sure why didn't ye just tell me that at the start...

on a separate note, if you don't have summit constructive to say, i'd rather ya didn't say it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭delta36

Udesii, lads. Don't make me go Mando on yer shebse On a side note, I always find it funny how Luke and Leia were treated.

On board the med centre:
    Yoda: What shall we do with the children?
    Bail: I shall take the girl, she will be loved by us, have her every need catered for and grow up a princess on our beautiful planet.
    Yoda: What about the boy?
    Obi-Wan: Meh. Send him to his Aunt and Uncle to farm WATER on some dirt-hole for the next eighteen years.

Just seems a tad unfair.

delta36 wrote: »
    On board the med centre:
    Yoda: What shall we do with the children?
    Bail: I shall take the girl, she will be loved by us, have her every need catered for and grow up a princess on our beautiful planet.
    Yoda: What about the boy?
    Obi-Wan: Meh. Send him to his Aunt and Uncle to farm WATER on some dirt-hole for the next eighteen years.
    Just seems a tad unfair.

hahahaha...exactly!! wtf like?? now granted, luke did have obi-wan assigned to watching over him every day...actually, that's another funny one. i mean, did they just sit down and say "leia's a girl, we can't place the fate of the galaxy in her, let's concentrate 100% on the boy!!" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Anikan didnt have a brother, or a half-brother, he had a step-brother.

Owen Lars is the son of Cliegg Lars and his first wife Aika Lars.
    There is no biological link between Owen Lars and Luke or Anakin Skywalker.

Darth Vader probably blamed the Lars for his mother's death, didnt know them that well, wasnt related to them, and not the most sentimental/friendly of people. He had no reason to visit them.

As for Vader knowing Luke but not Leia was his child, Luke bore his name, was with Obi Wan and was strong with the force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I remember hearing an explanation for why Luke was hidden on Tatooine. Apparently yoda and obi wan figured that Tatooine held very painful memories for him, especially his mothers death which pretty much kicked off his fall to the dark side and that it would be the last place he would ever want to go to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

Darth Vader sensed Luke. Luke also sensed Vader. They both could sense each other through the force. Through their feelings.

Vader was orbiting the planet that Luke was on, and didn't sense him there (though he could sense him on the moon at endor). So at around the same distance for both, at one point he couldn't sense him, and at another he could.

Now this could be a larger plot hole, or it could just be that before Luke started getting trained by Obi-Wan to 'feel the force, let it flow through him' he essentially hadn't 'logged on' to it, and as such couldn't be seen using it.

Anikan didnt have a brother, or a half-brother, he had a step-brother.

Owen Lars is the son of Cliegg Lars and his first wife Aika Lars.
    There is no biological link between Owen Lars and Luke or Anakin Skywalker.

Darth Vader probably blamed the Lars for his mother's death, didnt know them that well, wasnt related to them, and not the most sentimental/friendly of people. He had no reason to visit them.

As for Vader knowing Luke but not Leia was his child, Luke bore his name, was with Obi Wan and was strong with the force.

He didn't know Luke's name the first time they encountered each other, he senses him as Luke is about to blow the Death Star in ep iv...sensed him while being a good distance behind him. So why couldn't he sense Leia while standing right in front of her?? Bail Organa was told by the Jedi that she would be sensed by Vader were he ever close to her, thus why great pains were taken to keep her hidden when Vader visited Alderaan during the rallies that followed on shortly after the rise of the Empire.

VinLieger wrote: »
    I remember hearing an explanation for why Luke was hidden on Tatooine. Apparently yoda and obi wan figured that Tatooine held very painful memories for him, especially his mothers death which pretty much kicked off his fall to the dark side and that it would be the last place he would ever want to go to.

hmmmm...ya i suppose when you put it that way it makes sense. he didn't really want to go back there even before he fell to the Dark Side...

well played sir :D

still though, the whole not sensing Leia thing is jiibing me sides now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

Why didn't Vader visit his family?

After his mother's death, Anakin never set foot on Tatooine again because of the horrible memories that the place brought back to him.

Why didn't R2 D2/C3PO say "hey Luke! That's your Daddy!"?

Because at the end of Episode III they have their memory erased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Rascal77

Maybe he sensed Luke because he had started using his force powers,Leia didn't even know she had them.Just a theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

Yeah I said that already. Think nobody noticed my post lol.

Rascal77 wrote: »
    Maybe he sensed Luke because he had started using his force powers,Leia didn't even know she had them.Just a theory.

could be the one alright...can't see any other explanation. but then why was Bail Organa so inclined to get her out of the palace in Dark Lord: The Rise of Darth Vader??

Why didn't R2 D2/C3PO say "hey Luke! That's your Daddy!"?

Because at the end of Episode III they have their memory erased.

well ya I think we all got that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭irishthump

hmmm...maybe. but it still doesn't answer the other questions...why didn't he feel a connection to Leia?? Why was her name changed and not Lukes??

A bit late, but I could'nt resist chiming in.....

1) Vader did'nt "feel a connection" to Luke, until AFTER he found out who he was. Think about it, at the end of ANH when he was chasing Luke down the trench of the Death Star, the only thing he noticed was that "the Force is strong with this one". After that he may have known what to look for.
    Also, Luke had started using his Force powers by then, Leia was unaware she even had them until the end of ROTJ.

2) Maybe because she had to be legally adopted by Bail Organa to hold the title of princess? Or maybe because she was always going to be a lot more "high profile" then Luke, coming from royalty.
    Anyway, Skywalker may be a common name on Tatooine. Maybe not common like "Smith" or "Jones" but Shmi could have had relatives.

irishthump wrote: »
    A bit late, but I could'nt resist chiming in.....

1) Vader did'nt "feel a connection" to Luke, until AFTER he found out who he was. Think about it, at the end of ANH when he was chasing Luke down the trench of the Death Star, the only thing he noticed was that "the Force is strong with this one". After that he may have known what to look for.
    Also, Luke had started using his Force powers by then, Leia was unaware she even had them until the end of ROTJ.

2) Maybe because she had to be legally adopted by Bail Organa to hold the title of princess? Or maybe because she was always going to be a lot more "high profile" then Luke, coming from royalty.
    Anyway, Skywalker may be a common name on Tatooine. Maybe not common like "Smith" or "Jones" but Shmi could have had relatives.

All true...but it still doesn't answer why Bail hid her from Vader in Dark Lord: The Rise of Darth Vader. He was instructed by the Jedi to keep her away from Vader should he come to Alderaan, as he would sense her, and at that stage she wasn't aware of her power let alone trained in it, it was like 20 years before ROTJ. I suppose they were just wrong to presume he'd get any connection if he came into contact with her...

All true...but it still doesn't answer why Bail hid her from Vader in Dark Lord: The Rise of Darth Vader. ...

2 words - Expanded Universe!

When will people get it into their heads that the EU material does'nt count for sh*t when talking about the movies.
    Lucas ignored tons of EU material when he made the prequels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

When will people get it into their heads that the EU material does'nt count for sh*t when talking about the movies.

Same as in Star Trek,

If it is not seen/mentioned on screen, it never happened

Same as in Star Trek,

Well said, that man!

Such as??

Such as??

The words Concorde Dawn ring a bell?:)

they don't actually. just Googled it there and saw the background to it. so what's the story behind Concorde Dawn?? is it officially licensed by LA?? cos when i talk about EU I mean stuff that's licensed by LucasArts...

Same as in Star Trek,

well let's just f**k the EU then and watch and talk about the same 6 films again and again...that'll be great...

they don't actually. just Googled it there and saw the background to it. so what's the story behind Concorde Dawn??

According to some EU novels, Boba Fett was originally named Jaster Mareel and was Journeyman Protector of a planet called Concorde Dawn.

well let's just f**k the EU then and watch and talk about the same 6 films again and again...that'll be great...

Fine with me....

According to some EU novels, Boba Fett was originally named Jaster Mareel and was Journeyman Protector of a planet called Concorde Dawn.

i'm intrigued. i have read about 70 of the books so far...which one is this in?? i was p****d with labyrinth of evil all right...and Lucas' explanation for that was lame...

Fine with me....

na, i need more than that. and i prefer books to film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Why don't we just go with the reason that Lucas is a crap writer/director?
    The theory behind Star Wars I like but Lucas did his utmost to butcher it.
    1,2&3 was definitely by far the worst of the star wars.
    Goddamn you George Lucas to hell..should have had Spielberg writing those or directing the movies..
    And again for the laugh..always cheers me up

http://www.chefelf.com/starwars/index.php

Why don't we just go with the reason that Lucas is a crap writer/director?
    The theory behind Star Wars I like but Lucas did his utmost to butcher it.
    1,2&3 was definitely by far the worst of the star wars.
    Goddamn you George Lucas to hell..should have had Spielberg writing those or directing the movies..
    And again for the laugh..always cheers me up

http://www.chefelf.com/starwars/index.php

lol. now we're really getting off point. i dunno. i'm one of the few people who though the prequels weren't bad. although you make a good point. ROTJ was imo by far the best and that was directed by Richard Marquand...

i'm intrigued. i have read about 70 of the books so far...which one is this in?? i was p****d with labyrinth of evil all right...and Lucas' explanation for that was lame...

It was a story in a book called Tales of the Bounty Hunters.

na, i need more than that. and i prefer books to film.

Well I happen to think that film is the medium in which Star Wars works best, it's very much a visual thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

never said that but only screen shown information can be taken as fact.
    Everything else is conjecture