Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Photo Thread.....

• 26-06-2008 9:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭

Just wondering, since things are so quiet on here, if a Photo thread would be a good idea??? A different one to the 'Hunting Photos', so if a guest was to come on they wouldnt have to see the results of outings but they could see some of the wildlife that is out there...Could be made a sticky by the powers that be and we could shoot things ( with a camera :D ) and add them in....It would give us all something to do until we get back to September!!! just a thought....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Migh not be a bad idea at all to have a photo of the month competition, I've seen it work well on other websites.

Anyone want to suggest a theme for the month or something and who ever wants cant post pictures on that theme

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Mac Tire

Winner recieves a group pat on the back......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Sounds fine to me too, but not as a sticky. We keep adding sticky threads, we end up with two pages of stickies before you get to the first real post...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭whitser

i've some great pics on the comp at home but they never upload for me unless i make them smaller. how do lads put up good size pics?

Generally whitser I host them on imageshack or photobucket.

http://imageshack.us/

In both websites you just upload the picture and they will give you various links to use.

I copy the direct link url given by the site

I then come back to boards and use the "Insert Image" option that appears when posting, its 2 mountains with a little sun on a yellow background.

insertimageyj5.gif

Paste in the direct link making sure there is only one http:// at the start of the link

That's it

i'll try that so. cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

whitser wrote: »
    i'll try that so. cheers.

mac tire,, we should start from sep first and run it till end of feb ,,in feb we all have to pic one of our own ,post up as many as you like but pic one in feb or march . that will go forward to a vote .can this be done , i will give a mornings stalking as one prize ,,any thing to do with hunting or game only pick ten lads from our members list to judge . might be interesting .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

jwshooter wrote: »
    mac tire,, we should start from sep first and run it till end of feb ,,in feb we all have to pic one of our own ,post up as many as you like but pic one in feb or march . that will go forward to a vote .can this be done , i will give a mornings stalking as one prize ,,any thing to do with hunting or game only pick ten lads from our members list to judge . might be interesting .

Sounds like a smashin' idea!

would be worth a lash alright JW, we'd have to take into account camera type and that sort of craic to though, some of them big fancy cameras give a good picture but arent to fond of water! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭John Griffin

I've been in volved in a few of these photography competitions on forums in the past. Firstly the owners of the pictures in the competition need to be annoyamous. The best way to do it is to email the photos to one person ( a mod?) who puts them all up on one locked thread and numbers them. One picture per entry.
    Then you create a Poll thread and people vote in the poll thread for which ever picture they like best in the picture thread. Everybody could then vote and once they vote they can see immediately which picture is winning. Allow a week of voting and then annouce who the winner is.

I will sponser a prize for this competition of any 8x12 mounted print from my website. It can be used as a runner up prize or as part of the winners prize along with JWshooters morning stalk. I won't be entering i have one of those big fancy cameras and enough deer shooting;):D.

i think emailing it to a mod is a good idea. i've a few books there i'd be happy to donate as a runner up prize.
    will there be catagories eg. hunting pics
    wildlife
    working beasts
    landscape
    or what?

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

The best way to do it is to email the photos to one person ( a mod?) who puts them all up on one locked thread and numbers them.

Unless one of the other mods is itching to do this, I'll do it.

Anyone with a photo that they want to submit, PM me and I'll give out an e-mail address that you can send it to.

Any idea when the closing date should be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

IRLConor wrote: »

Anyone with a photo that they want to submit, PM me and I'll give out an e-mail address that you can send it to.

First of all lads I would just like to say Mac Tire that this is great idea and fair play to you for putting it forward.
    Second i thing the idea that jwshooter had would be the best start in september and finish in feb. Would keep us all going over the winter months.
    Third; Fair play to the lads for offering prizes, i can add a few hundred empty 17 HMR shells to a good home if any one wants them :D:D

I've been in volved in a few of these photography competitions on forums in the past. Firstly the owners of the pictures in the competition need to be annoyamous. The best way to do it is to email the photos to one person ( a mod?) who puts them all up on one locked thread and numbers them. One picture per entry.
    Then you create a Poll thread and people vote in the poll thread for which ever picture they like best in the picture thread. Everybody could then vote and once they vote they can see immediately which picture is winning. Allow a week of voting and then annouce who the winner is.

I will sponser a prize for this competition of any 8x12 mounted print from my website. It can be used as a runner up prize or as part of the winners prize along with JWshooters morning stalk. I won't be entering i have one of those big fancy cameras and enough deer shooting;):D.
    why do ya think you might win it .:D:D

I think that Mr. Griffin may have a slight head start alright!!! ;)

before we jump the gun we may make a few rules maybe john griffen might have some rules from another competion ,and lads its only a bit of crack we dont want rows .. i think running it for the hole hunting season would be good .as it would give every one a look at our sporting season ,ps pic s of deer and other animals with there heads blown should not be entered

I think that it should be only 'living' pictures entered, we have the 'Hunting Photo' thread for the after shot pictures..Just my 2 cents...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

before we jump the gun we may make a few rules maybe john griffen might have some rules from another competion ,and lads its only a bit of crack we dont want rows .. i think running it for the hole hunting season would be good .as it would give every one a look at our sporting season ,ps pic s of deer and other animals with there heads blown should not be entered

Would have to agree with you totally on this one, doing it over the entire season makes perfect sense..

I was thinking more along the lines of a summer competition, basically a wildlife photo of a game species fur or feather. Give ye something to do on the long evenings. Then maybe the winner announced in september and JWshooter would be able to take the winner out for a rutting stalk.

Closing date for entries 31st of August 2008???
    Voting starts 1st september 2008 and finishes 7th september 2008. Winner announced 8th september 2008.
    How does that sound?

Rules

- Only members who have made at least 50contributions via posts to the site can enter a particular round. So if you're new to the site, try and get to the 50 before the submission date of the competition, then you'll be eligble.

- Entries must be the members own work.
    - One entry per member
    - Entries can only be submitted in one round.
    - No pictures of stuffed or dead animals.

- Entries must be no larger than 250kb, and no larger than 800px on its longest side.

- No borders, frames or other 'decorative enhancement' are allowed.

- Images can be made from combining multiple exposures but not by taking part of one photograph and adding it to the entry.

- To ensure fairness, no names or other identifiers are to be included within the image itself (including EXIF data). Images previously posted on boards cannot be entered.

- Titles can be submitted in your email, but not on the image itself.

- Entries must be sent BEFORE the end of the submission period (midnight of end of period date), all entries past the submission date will not be eligible for that round

- Entries must be emailed to
    If you do not receive a receipt email before the end of the submission date, PM mod in charge well in advance to check that it was recieved.

- If your entry has not been receipted it might not be entered!.

- Entries which are late or do not fulfill the size requirements will not be accepted. If you are wondering why your photograph does not appear
    for voting then check the rules first and PM mod second.

- By submitting an entry, you agree for the image to be displayed on PI for an unspecified length of time.

- Discussions regarding the photographs entered should be kept until after the results are formally announced.

- In the event of a draw where a prize is being provided the sponsors of the round will pick from the finalists. The sponsors will not know the photographers names until the winner is offically announced.

I was thinking more along the lines of a summer competition, basically a wildlife photo of a game species fur or feather. Give ye something to do on the long evenings. Then maybe the winner announced in september and JWshooter would be able to take the winner out for a rutting stalk.

Voting starts 1st september 2008 and finishes 7th september 2008. Winner announced 8th september 2008.
    How does that sound?

Rules

- Only members who have made at least 50contributions via posts to the site can enter a particular round. So if you're new to the site, try and get to the 50 before the submission date of the competition, then you'll be eligble.

- One entry per member

- Entries must be no larger than 250kb, and no larger than 800px on its longest side.

- Images can be made from combining multiple exposures but not by taking part of one photograph and adding it to the entry.

- To ensure fairness, no names or other identifiers are to be included within the image itself (including EXIF data). Images previously posted on boards cannot be entered.

- Entries must be sent BEFORE the end of the submission period (midnight of end of period date), all entries past the submission date will not be eligible for that round

If you do not receive a receipt email before the end of the submission date, PM mod in charge well in advance to check that it was recieved.

- Entries which are late or do not fulfill the size requirements will not be accepted. If you are wondering why your photograph does not appear

- By submitting an entry, you agree for the image to be displayed on PI for an unspecified length of time.

- Discussions regarding the photographs entered should be kept until after the results are formally announced.

- In the event of a draw where a prize is being provided the sponsors of the round will pick from the finalists. The sponsors will not know the photographers names until the winner is offically announced.

I was thinking along the same lines as you John, just to have something to do until the season starts again....And when it does start again we could have a monthly comp (without prises) of what we see when we are out and about....I know that i wouldnt mind seeing pictures of Fallow Bucks running around the southern parts of the country and i would try and stick up a few pictures of some Donegal Red Stags....

Those rules make sense to me, with one caveat:

Anyone acting the spanner to get their post count up to enter will get a ban. The 50 posts have to be genuine contributions to a discussion.

How does that sound?

Rules

- One entry per member

i think picture taken now are not hunting related as such , if we take pictures when were out hunting would be much better .anyway game in this **** weather should not be disturbed ,i have to work in the summer john to build up my hunting fund so i can take half the winter off to hunt . man the joys of having a state job.big pay ,39 hours jeep and diesel , bullets paid for, all the gear in the world . all i have is a brag rope ..:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

Just wondering what happened the photo competition idea - did it die a death before getting off the ground?

Was looking forward to some interesting photos of what everyone comes across while out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭tiny-nioclas

I was wondering the same,sounded like a brilliant idea.

J.R. wrote: »
    Just wondering what happened the photo competition idea - did it die a death before getting off the ground?

Was looking forward to some interesting photos of what everyone comes across while out!

Well no-one PMed me to submit a photo. The offer still stands.

I was wondering the same,sounded like a brilliant idea.
    me too tiny

I just got a PM, we have our first entry. :)

Any ideas on a closing date?

Does it still have to be wildlife? or just a picture taken out shooting?

If you were out shooting and you stumbled across two 20 year old girls frolicing naked in a stream and they allowed you to photograph them, then i'd say nobody would argue with you:D:D You might even win;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Sika_Stalker

If you were out shooting and you stumbled across two 20 year old girls frolicing naked in a stream and they allowed you to photograph them, then i'd say nobody would argue with you:D:D You might even win;)
    i forgot the camera that day:D

I just got a PM, we have our first entry. :)

Any ideas on a closing date?
    can we send in more then one picture throught out the course of the season. i suppose the comp ends in spring when the season's over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭alan123

Mac Tire wrote: »
    I think that it should be only 'living' pictures entered, we have the 'Hunting Photo' thread for the after shot pictures..Just my 2 cents...

No deal!!! What about the deer societys "Code of ethics"? i.e cover any wounds, dont stand lording over the animal etc.

How about landscape photos? which are just as impressive as wildlife!

How about any picture to do with hunting. Even if it was a truck stuck in mud, if taken right the picture could be cool

I am all for a "any photo while out hunting/working in the field"

What ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Sika_Stalker

I think vegeta in on a good track there if taken right it could look pretty good

im game for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

How does that sound?

Rules

- One entry per member

If the competition is to go ahead should this earlier posting be adopted as rules or should they be amended now that a photo for the competition has been received?

Should a few things be clarified?.....one entry only?......as many entries as one likes?.......closing date? etc.

can we send in more then one picture throught out the course of the season. i suppose the comp ends in spring when the season's over?

If we're running the competition for the whole season, I think it would be best to allow multiple entries.
    J.R. wrote: »
    If the competition is to go ahead should this earlier posting be adopted as rules or should they be amended now that a photo for the competition has been received?

Should a few things be clarified?.....one entry only?......as many entries as one likes?.......closing date? etc.

Once we decide on a closing date, I'll take John Griffin's rules, edit them to reflect a whole-season competition and re-post them here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭ianoo

Vegeta wrote: »
    How about any picture to do with hunting. Even if it was a truck stuck in mud, if taken right the picture could be cool

I am all for a "any photo while out hunting/working in the field"

What ye think?

i agree the pictures should be about the whole "hunting experience"
    now to sort out this 50 posts problem :rolleyes:

ian

ianoo wrote: »
    now to sort out this 50 posts problem :rolleyes:

If it's OK with the rest of ye, I'm willing to waive that on a case by case basis.

Is this the part where somebody offers a substantial prize?

OK, rules and the first entrant are up: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055394939

If anyone would like to propose a better closing date or would like to offer a prize, speak up.

i said i'd donate a couple of books i have there as prizes. does that mean i cant enter? also i think a poll would be the best way to decide or a panel of mods to judge.

I'd let ya enter as long as you stick to the rules.

I also think a poll is a good idea.

Mods can enter right Conor? cough******** can we rig polls ********cough :P I'll cut ya in I swear

last question...do the pics have to be from the start of this season?

Not specified in the rules lad so I'd say you're in, get em up. The more the merrier

I have one to submit too, might be too big though so I'll have to check when I get home

And what pray tell Conor do you shoot on Mars?!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

You've seen the truck-hunting in the states where they shoot up a remote-controlled car, right? Well...

nasa_mars_rover.jpg

Would you be able to get a Suzuki Jimney in Uranus Conor?

(insert multiple jokes here)

How about pheasants? Are there many big cocks around Uranus?

(I havent had so much fun since I was twelve!)