Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Was the lotto won?

• 25-06-2008 11:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭

i was in work and checked my numbers but no luck for me only had two on the lotto plus 2!! Imagine what you could do with all that money!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

no winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Blah. Maybe I'll have better luck next time. I could do with a few bob at the moment.

Anyone want to loan me €15 million until I win it on Saturday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Stephen90

I'll be definately doin it this weekend. Unbelievable amount of money. I think I'd have to keep about €10 million locked away until later in life. Otherwise seeing as I'm 18 now, it'd all be gone by the time I'm 21. But by jesus, twud be some 3 years!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Apparently gonna be bout 18 million on saturday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Stephen90

Stephen90 wrote: »
    I'll be definately doin it this weekend. Unbelievable amount of money. I think I'd have to keep about €10 million locked away until later in life. Otherwise seeing as I'm 18 now, it'd all be gone by the time I'm 21. But by jesus, twud be some 3 years!!

Jaysis, could be a good omen. Fingers crossed!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

One day I will get to post an AH thread saying how I just won the Lotto... i would even buy Boards.ie all shiney new servers. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

jonny24ie wrote: »
    One day I will get to post an AH thread saying how I just won the Lotto... i would even buy Boards.ie all shiney new servers. :p

I can think of only one negative thing about winning the lotto. Nobody on boards would believe you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭July

I won a scratch card with 3 numbers on the Lotto plus. It's a start.. maybe I'll win some money on the card.. then I can put that money on a horse or a dog and I'll be rich, rich, rich. RICH I tell ya!

Any tips anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Fizman wrote: »
    I can think of only one negative thing about winning the lotto. Nobody on boards would believe you!

Just have them killed. It's surpriseingly cheap nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

no winners.

Yer jokin!! Oh the excitement!!

I have a ticket. Toying with the idea of not checking my numbers and pretending i've won. Always so disappointing to check it and realise you've one number on 4 lines!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Tri wrote: »
    Yer jokin!! Oh the excitement!!

I have a ticket. Toying with the idea of not checking my numbers and pretending i've won. Always so disappointing to check it and realise you've one number on 4 lines!:mad:

Kind of like Schrodinger's cat yeah?

/reveals inner nerd

anyone listening to the last word this evening when they were talking bout the lotto and why people do it?odds of winning are one in eight million!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I knew it would be a rollover. /Nolan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

anyone listening to the last word this evening when they were talking bout the lotto and why people do it?odds of winning are one in eight million!

So... I'm still doing it on Saturday and I'm gonna win it and run the best Boards.ie beers ever... with free cocktail sausages for everyone :P.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

*awaits the Brian Nolan re-reg*

sigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭smaoifs

only got 2 numbers and the bonus. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Ditto on that AC,and if not today it'll be after Saturday with a conspirecy theory about how it should be more....blah blah bla....lotto dwindling away money...blah blah....etc!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Haven't checked my numbers yet....but I would be happy to win a tenner! :D

Will definately be doing it on saturday seeing as there was no winner tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭elmolesto

I haven't checked my numbers yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

didnt even have one fecking number... 18mil on saturday...i wouldnt know what to do with it..prob give 10 of it to charity...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Lotto site seems to be down at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

One winner in the SE

Some wánker farmer that'll buy himself a new pair of wellies and stuff the rest under the matress :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

didnt even have one fecking number... 18mil on saturday...i wouldnt know what to do with it..prob give 10 of it to charity...

Me too. I think ten euro is fair enough for the baxtards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Tago Mago wrote: »
    Me too. I think ten euro is fair enough for the baxtards

I only won €5. Can you lend me the other €5 so's I can be a baxtard?

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I only won €5. Can you lend me the other €5 so's I can be a baxtard?

I would but I'm skint after spending 320,000 Euro on lotto tickets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I would but I'm skint after spending 320,000 Euro on lotto tickets

At least you can be sure it went to a worthy cause:p

Imagine looking at your ticket and realising you are 18 million richer. I think I would just soil myself. No problem with that though, plenty more pairs of pants to come in the future. Pantseses for all the family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Imagine looking at your ticket and realising you are 18 million richer.

It would be nappies for a fortnight for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

I didn't win anything again.

Whoever won. If you want to give money to charity but can't decide which one. Just give it to me instead. I need a new car among other things. Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

I don't do the lotto regularly but over the past ten or so draws i must've spent about 100 euro and won absolutely nothing.

Keep on saying never again.
    But every time it hits the 10-15 million mark i'm back doing it like a fool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

tech77 wrote: »
    I don't do the lotto regularly but over the past ten or so draws i must've spent about 100 euro and won absolutely nothing.

Keep on saying never again.
    But every time it hits the 10-15 million mark i'm back doing it like a fool.

My ex-boyfriend won £1.5 million on a £2 quickpick years ago. Suddenly I regretted dumping him, I oversaw his 25-stone frame and the fact he was a total gobsh*te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Huzzah, I won €28. Goodbye suckers, I'm off to a new life in the Carribean!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Hi my name is slideways
    And I'm a drunk postwhore who just won the lotto.. i'll buy ye all i tells ya... buy ye all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Queue the inevitable who won it game where one lucky winner is hounded by the press.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I forgot to do it tonight :mad: Everytime I forget to do the Lotto, the numbers that come up would have been mine. Strange that...
    I did it Wednesday night and won a E3 scratchcard. Might win 100,000 on that. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Tony3004

rigged to the max . one of the posters earlier said "i only do it when it gets big 10 million" this is the idea. how come it never got big (10mill+)in previous years to 2006 and all of a sudden its reaching big money every 3 or 4 months now . i want anwsers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Tony3004 wrote: »
    how come it never got big (10mill+)in previous years to 2006 and all of a sudden its reaching big money every 3 or 4 months now . i want anwsers

Because they added three more numbers, making it harder to win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Abigayle wrote: »
    One winner in the SE

Some wánker farmer that'll buy himself a new pair of wellies and stuff the rest under the matress :mad:

Yeah Carlow apparently, he probably still has his communion money :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

odds of winning are one in eight million!

I think the odds of winning are quite lower than that. Based on playing one line, your odds of winning are 1 in 5,864,433,200.

There are that many different combinations of numbers that can be drawn with balls numbered 1 to 45.(45x44x43x42x41x40).

Even buying one hundred lines, your odds are still less than one in about 58 million.

I still don't understand why people play the lotto. It would be much better to bet on a horse. At least on a horse, you have much better odds and a horse race is a more interesting way to find out if your bet wins or looses than some balls coming out of a machine.

My €0.02

EDIT:Mis-calculation corrected

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

4Xcut wrote: »
    I think the odds of winning are quite lower than that. Based on playing one line, your odds of winning are 1 in 5,864,433,200.

There are that many different combinations of numbers that can be drawn with balls numbered 1 to 45.(45x44x43x42x41x40).

Even buying one hundred lines, your odds are still less than one in about 58 million.
    Wrong. Those sums assume you must get the order correct to win - you don't. So it's:

(45x44x43x42x41x40)
    = 1 in 8,145,060
    (6*5*4*3*2*1)

Do you really think it could stand up with odds of 1 in 5 billion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭ateam

ixoy wrote: »
    Wrong. Those sums assume you must get the order correct to win - you don't. So it's:

(45x44x43x42x41x40)
    = 1 in 8,145,060
    (6*5*4*3*2*1)

Do you really think it could stand up with odds of 1 in 5 billion?

Ah right, forgot about order.

Still not the best odds.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

4Xcut wrote: »
    Ah right, forgot about order.

Still not the best odds.
    Nope, still pretty rubbish to play and expect to win but people always think "But yeah someone has to win and it could just as easily be me!" Statistically that's going to be right for someone, but the probability is that it won't be you.

Having said that I played for about the 3rd time last night and won a little prize so I can see how people could get influenced!

Tony3004 wrote: »
    rigged to the max . one of the posters earlier said "i only do it when it gets big 10 million" this is the idea. how come it never got big (10mill+)in previous years to 2006 and all of a sudden its reaching big money every 3 or 4 months now . i want anwsers
    its the recession,people feel they can't afford to play unless its a big jackpot.

ixoy wrote: »
    Nope, still pretty rubbish to play and expect to win but people always think "But yeah someone has to win and it could just as easily be me!" Statistically that's going to be right for someone, but the probability is that it won't be you.

Having said that I played for about the 3rd time last night and won a little prize so I can see how people could get influenced!

I think the last few draws would poke a few holes in their little theory...