Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All nighter

• 24-06-2008 6:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭

Just did an all nighter last night for an exam this morning. Have to do it again tonight, for an exam at 9.30. How will I do it?!

I don't drink coffee, is tea any good?

And yes, I think it is more beneficial to study most of the night than go in rested tomorrow, at least if i study tonight, i'll know something, if i just sleep, i wont know much!

Thinking of going to bed for 2 hours this eve and getting up again but afraid i'll sleep through the alarm and sleep the whole night!

Any advice?!!!

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

You're completely mad. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Marz66 wrote: »
    Just did an all nighter last night for an exam this morning. Have to do it again tonight, for an exam at 9.30. How will I do it?!

And yes, I think it is more beneficial to study most of the night than go in rested tomorrow, at least if i study tonight, i'll know something, if i just sleep, i wont know much!

Thinking of going to bed for 2 hours this eve and getting up again but afraid i'll sleep through the alarm and sleep the whole night!

Any advice?!!!

Thanks!

Dude, i have done this before... I blanked out in my exam and it was my leaving cert! Me and you are not the same but i urge you to sleep for a minimum of 3hrs
    All the best in the exams!

Is this your junior cert? And you haven't done a tap?
    Sleep and give yourself 3 hours in the morning to study.
    You'll do just as much than if you stay up all night.

Then learn your lesson and don't put yourself in this situation again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Exercising every once in a while helps me stay awake. Simple things like 20 pushups or a walk around the block, just to get the blood flowing. But 2 hours sleep seems a bit mad to do going into an exam!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

thread title misleading.

Im disappointed.

*Leaves*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

is it the junior?if so then why the stress?its less than meaningless.if its anything else then you're already fecked tbh.hope that helps. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Joe Cool

Lots of pints of water and then a big mug of tea every hour helped me stay awake when needed in college.

Should definitely get some amount of sleep cos after staying up for two days once I misspelled my name on the essay cover sheet.

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Diet Kick, 89c for a litre in Tesco.

The same as Red Bull at a fraction of the price.
    Be warned, when the rush wears off tomorrow afternoon, it's worse than a hangover and you'll be wrecked tired

Used for emergencies only!

If your brain is tired, studying won't work. There's only so long that you can pack information into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Marz66

Its not the Junior Cert. I did it last night for thie morning's exam and it worked, I think I passed. I'm hoping to go to bed for 2 hours shortly, get up and do some more work and go to bed about 4/5, up at 7!

I know it sounds mad, but if i dont do it, i think il definitely fail:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Come by the nocturnal forum. We'll keep you awake, of course you won't get any study done.... :D

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1090

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 teaman35

snyper wrote: »
    thread title misleading.

Im disappointed.

*Leaves*

*shrugs shoulders in agreement

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

You should have slept after your exam today.

snyper wrote: »
    thread title misleading.

Im disappointed.

*Leaves*

You'd think that compress would be cooling your ardour.

What is the exam OP? Are you in an IT?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

Any advice?!!!

Thanks!
    A **** might do ye good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Alan Ford wrote: »
    A **** might do ye good?

Dooorty... but ye, keep the horn goin' and you'll be grand so ya will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

A **** might do ye good?

I'd suggest a long, baggy jumper though, coz if you're caught you will probably be thrown out of the exam hall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Not to mention getting **** cramp in the exam.

Duiske wrote: »
    I'd suggest a long, baggy jumper though, coz if you're caught you will probably be thrown out of the exam hall.
    na the female teachers would keep me there:D

Sherifu wrote: »
    Not to mention getting **** cramp in the exam.
    writers cramp!
    Naughty girl!

Haha, I'm a girl so there'll be none of that for me, tonight or in the exam;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

na the female teachers would keep me there:D
    Perv.
    writers cramp!
    Naughty girl!
    Wow, I can reply to 2 posts in one post. Cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭_JOE_

In college, during my degree i frequently slept little hours naturally, and about a month before my exams i flipped my sleeping patterns upside down, and slept around 3-4 hours during the day and after each exam (which is vital OP)...so i would say that you should get some solid hours sleep in before studying at night...and if you feel really tired, have a power nap, for about 30mins...otherwise, i was a frequent drinker of red bull, the sugar free can (as the normal one will spike your blood level and leave you on a low afterwards...) i also found doing sets of weights during the night kept my blood pumping, but that might not work for you...and the goldan rule (other than a few hours sleep) would be to eat small meals throughout the night...

This advice might not work perfectly for you, OP, but you might find some elements useful...

Either way, good luck with the exam...

Sherifu wrote: »
    Perv.
    thanks love
    Wow, I can reply to 2 posts in one post. Cool.
    did it work for me?

Thanks a million, that sounds like good advice:) Will definitely go for a nap after tomorrows exam!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

Thanks a million, that sounds like good advice:) Will definitely go for a nap after tomorrows exam!

This for Prof 3's by any chance? If so I think trying to do MABF without sleep is really crazy. A sharp brain is crucial. It might have worked for Audit though. Just my 2c.

Well spotted:) That's true about MABF, I'm off to get a little sleep now anyway before I do another bit later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭flyingoutside

Well spotted:) That's true about MABF, I'm off to get a little sleep now anyway before I do another bit later!

Go out get drunk and then repeat it another time always repeat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭scholes19

just do it now,dont nap,keep goin til you can! for my leavin i studied bio from about 7-4am. got done what i needed do! i d say get the finger out now!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Any advice?!!!

Thanks![/quote

Over nighters won't do anything for you, you need to rest your brain if you want to do well in the exam because you won't be focused, you'll be tired and if your tired your brain won't work to it's best and the stuff you spend the whole night studying for will mean s**t all in the exam.

Seriously don't strain yourself, study for a couple of hours and then get a early nights sleep, then maybe wake up early and do more studying, you'll be more rejuvinated after a good night rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

WHERE WAS THIS THREAD WHEN I NEEDED IT??? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭Thephantomsmask

My method is to sleep from 8pm to 3am, have a shower to wake me up and then study through to exam time with a nap for a few hours after the exam. Drinking fluids and snacking every so often helps with staying awake as does not having your room too warm, opening the window a little to ventilate the room gives extra oxygen.