Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The best fun thing you ever did?

• 20-06-2008 1:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭

For me it was Nemesis in Alton towers a few years ago. Next up, it was surfing (or at least when I could stand up on the board). Another high scorer is hoofing down the trails in Howth on the Mountain bike.

I would love to hear what other good stuff folks have done. I need ideas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Yore ma.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Andrewf20 wrote: »
    For me it was Nemesis in Alton towers a few years ago. Next up, it was surfing (or at least when I could stand up on the board). Another high scorer is hoofing down the trails in Howth on the Mountain bike.

Going to a site with listings for casual sex, arrange to meet someone, get free drink and **** off somewhere else. Always ask for bottles and open them yourself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

Skiing

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Andrewf20 wrote: »

Come on there are a few better rides in that park alone!
    Air, Rita Queen of Speed and Oblivion. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

if you liked nemesis you would love cedar point in ohio, islands of adventure in orlando and busch gardens in tampa, some worldclass rides in them, havent been to cedar but its has been voted best park in the world for the last few years. The rides on top of the stratosphere tower in las vegas (1000ft in the air) also kick ass, insanity and x-scream cannot be described in words.

hiking down the grand canyon is an out of this world experience, maid of the mist at niagara is pretty cool, i have done a version of white water rafting too and that was great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Coolest thing I done was when I won a competition to see a quarter final match(Germany V Argentina) in the World Cup back in 06

Twas deadly, I was right behind the goal for penalties and everything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

I was within 40 miles of Cedar Point last year. I reckon those big rides like Millenium Force would actually scare the crap out of me. Its the big steep drops that kill me. Although I reckon I could hack this at most: http://www.flickr.com/photos/uknemesis/194938381/

We did a bit of a hike on the Kaibab trail in the Grand Canyon. It sure was fab, but I wouldnt describe it as laugh out loud fun. Pretty breathtaking nonetheless.

Rita queen of speed wasnt built when I was in Alton Towers (2002). Oblivion looked waay too scary, so i gave that a miss. Air didnt deliver the same level of thrills as Nemesis imho.

I was in the tower in Vegas myself. I decided not to do the vertical blast off ride after nearly dying of fear on a similar ride in Southport, England.

I did skiing on Mt Hood a few year back. I had to learn quickly (no formal lessons). How I came off the mountain without broken limbs, ill never know. Very hard work, and I reckon I would have enjoyed it more if i got proper lessons.

Time to stock up on some brave pills. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

heroin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Having sex with my (unhappily married) landlady for rent :D

fancied her anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

marcsignal wrote: »

fancied her anyway

Damn you! Where might one acquire such a sweet deal? Also, Prostitute :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

fancied her anyway

How does a situation like that happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Ab-sailing down a gorge in Australia, scary but awesome experience.
    Also skiing :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

fancied her anyway
    Such a tough life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Camping on a beach in Donegal and surfing the next day, smoking a little , drinking, blazing heat was best weekend of my life..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭jcrowbar

Taking the Green Tortoise tour bus to Yosemite National Park in California about two years ago.

Either that or winning $100 in hooters casino in vegas. Free money, free booze and hot chicks FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭oranjeboom

Alton Towers also loved Oblivion thought it was better than Nemesis. Six Flags in Holland is also great brilliant rollers also. Getting married was a fun thing to do - watch all our family squabbles boil over ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Skydive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

The Batman and Robin rollercoaster in Six Flags is awesome...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Road trip with mates in an old bus.

As to amusements: Spiderman ride in Orlando.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Surfing my favorite left hander in sligo at twice overhead, getting consistently barreled, trying not to look at the boulder sitting in front of the wave and trying to stay out of its way!

http://images.magicseaweed.com/photoLab/32219.jpg
    Pic of the wave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I can't remember ever having any fun, although I probably had some as a child. I can't really remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

1. snowboarding
    2. jet-skiing
    3. riding the georgia scorcher in 6 flags atlanta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Jigsaw wrote: »
    I can't remember ever having any fun, although I probably had some as a child. I can't really remember.

Me either. Although I hear internet stalking is fun, must try that some time. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Dregon

Nitro in Six Flags New Jersey

Queued for Kingda Ka for hours, only for it to break down when I was really close to the top :(

Heading back here next year though:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Scuba diving in the west of ireland! Found a little crab stuck in a net and released him....made me feel good anyway...i bet his little crustacean family were glad he didnt die:o

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

not sure if it's the most fun i've ever had but me and a mate of mine dug a huge hole on Delray beach in Florida with our bare ands and a frisbie. People stood around in admiration, i got a high 5 off a kid followed by "AWwesome hole DUDE!". We where kings....

but then the lifeguard told us that it was too dangerous and he made us fill it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭PeadarofAodh

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    not sure if it's the most fun i've ever had but me and a mate of mine dug a huge hole on Delray beach in Florida with our bare ands and a frisbie. People stood around in admiration, i got a high 5 off a kid followed by "AWwesome hole DUDE!". We where kings....

but then the lifeguard told us that it was too dangerous and he made us fill it in.

Did something similar when I was younger - came from a family of 6 kids so we all hit it with a vengeance. There's something admirable about digging a huge fcuk-off hole - remember we had a small crowd of Frenchies observing when we were done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭TechieEddy

skydive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

fancied her anyway

how did that happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

My skydiving licence...

Roller coasters...
    Pffffttt... "Harden the fcuk up"

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Did something similar when I was younger - came from a family of 6 kids so we all hit it with a vengeance. There's something admirable about digging a huge fcuk-off hole - remember we had a small crowd of Frenchies observing when we were done!

Lets get as many people off boards as possible to meet a DollyMount on Sunday to dig a monster hole.

But bring your anti-used-heroin-needles suits to avoid contracting anything....and a digging implement of your choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Back in the 80ies myself and a mate used to go around south Dublin setting off a hand cranked Secomac WW2 air raid siren, It would draw crouds of old geezers on to the streets thinking the Germans were invading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭KBarry

Snorkelling in the Red Sea over a coral reef surrounded by hundreds of colourful fish was very cool. I'm not even a good or keen swimmer but I stayed out there all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Surfing in Hawaii (I will be returning some day).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭KBarry

I thought water-skiing would be fun but it's not. It hurts. Especially on your face. :(

Wazdakka wrote: »
    Roller coasters...
    Pffffttt... "Harden the fcuk up"
    Agree. Unless there is a considerable element of danger, its just not fun enough.
    No matter how scary a rollercoaster seems, going on one is safer than crossing the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Riding the world's biggest zip line in South Africa.

One narrow rope, stretched between two poles 2km apart, one on top of a mountain, the other on the ground. 300m between you and the ground at one point. Travelling at 80mph.
    Amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Swimming with alligators in Bolivia.

Not holding onto them (obviously!) but in the same water as them with their eyes looking at us on the water.

They were only about 5 mts away but we were surrounded by pink dolphins so the alligators wouldn't come any closer.

Did a skydive too but that was a different type of buzz.

The alligator thing really felt like living on the edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Weekend party in Wexford with 15 mates. Drunk for two days straight, smoked a little too, also invented ShovelBinBoogieBall (greatest sport ever) one of the days.

Busch Gardens in Florida was intense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

kraggy wrote: »

Not holding onto them (obviously!) but in the same water as them with their eyes looking at us on the water.

They were only about 5 mts away but we were surrounded by pink dolphins so the alligators wouldn't come any closer.

Pink Dolphins saved you from alligators ?! I don't get what you mean.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Dregon wrote: »
    Nitro in Six Flags New Jersey

That was brilliant. Queued up to go on this again the last time I was there, but it was out of action the whole time.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

FuzzyLogic wrote: »
    Agree. Unless there is a considerable element of danger, its just not fun enough.
    No matter how scary a rollercoaster seems, going on one is safer than crossing the street.

you obviously need the extra buzz but some people wouldn't agree, considerable danger doesn't always equal fun to most people, if i felt in considerable danger i don't think i would be feeling that good about things, certainly not at that moment

my mate has skydived and bungee jumped and he thought sheikra in busch gardens, duelling dragons in orlando and insanity in las vegas were amazing fun, in fact he rode insanity and the other rides in vegas a few times he loved them so much. hanging off a building with nothing below only 1000ft of air to the ground is still fun even with no element of danger, at the back of your mind when the arm first moves you 60ft from the tower a little something in the back of your mind says "what if that arm snaps, its then about 5 seconds to the ground and splat :eek:"

a theme park ride doesn't have to be a huge rollercoaster or similiar to be fun, some of the best rides i have ever ridden are non-coasters like Dudley Do -Right's Ripsaw Falls and Popeye and Bluto's Bilge-Rat Barges both in islands of adventure and the amazing Valhalla in blackpool pleasure beach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Best fun thing I've done so far in my life is a 3 days tour of outback Australia taking in Ayers Rock, the Olgas and King's Canyon. It was the cheapest tour around, the bus broke down the first day (but she got going again), there were millions of flies about and I MEAN millions, (Thank god for the snazzy fly nets!), slept outside in swags, where we got rained on the first night (who'd have thought at Ayers Rock, rain!?!) and the food was **** but the people I met were just fab and I never stopped laughing.

ah it was gas.

sex with the landlady
    Damn you! Where might one acquire such a sweet deal? Also, Prostitute :pac:
    Mossy Monk wrote: »
    How does a situation like that happen?
    Such a tough life.
    dodgyme wrote: »
    how did that happen.

I can't say too much about this, because she still lives in Dublin, and I'm assuming she's still married, so you understand for many reasons I'll have to be as discreet as I can telling you this. Anyway it was a good while back now, 1990. I was 23, but I always had a thing for older women back then. She was in her mid 40's, and she looked after herself, she was very pretty.

I worked in the service industry (don't laugh ye bastards :D, I can't even tell you doing what exactly, without giving too much away here), but in the course of my work, I did a lot of routine maintainance work for many Landlords. Other than the house I had my flat in, my landlady and her husband owned a few other properties.

I got on very well with her and I was single, and tbh I always got the feeling she was gamey, so I started testing the water by very subtly flirting with her. I never got a negative response, and the crunch finally came when I met her one night, completely by chance, in a Leeson Street nightclub. We were both pretty drunk, so after chatting and drinking with her for about an hour, I just took a chance, and went in for the kill.

In the heel of the hunt, she ended up coming back to my flat, and she absolutely rode the bejeasus bollox off me :D

It just progressed from there, and I know this is gonna sound really 'pervy' but there was honestly something kinda 'kinki' about it, in the sense that she used to come around every week for her 'rent' so to speak, and I could never get that idea out of my head :D

It was a nice feeling hearing her going in and out of other flats, collecting the cash from other tenants, and then knocking on my door for a bit of the auld 'how's yer father?' ;) It wasn't a continuous arrangement tbh, I missed a few weeks rent, and she never pressured me for it, that's all.
    It only lasted a little over 3 months, and finished amicabally, and sensibly.

god I miss my twenties :(

I did a few parachute jumps as well. I'd recommend giving that a try, it's fckn brilliant !!

, I missed a few weeks rent, and she never pressured me for it,

Haha double entendres all the way man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

I did a few parachute jumps as well. I'd recommend giving that a try, it's fckn brilliant !!

fec k the parachute jumps. Jumping the landlady for rent is the best. If you work in an office I'd say you'd do the cleaner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Pyr0 wrote: »
    Pink Dolphins saved you from alligators ?! I don't get what you mean.

The pink dolphins didn't save us. We jumped into the water knowing it was infested with alligators.

There's a part of this river in northern Bolivia where you get in the water and the pink dolphins circle you and keep alligators away. Just a few metres away but far away enough for safety. But it's still a rush cause there's no guarantees they'll stay away from you.

Petrifying but amazing.

dodgyme wrote: »
    If you work in an office I'd say you'd do the cleaner?

well now that you mention it......

only jokin :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

kraggy wrote: »

If they'd maimed you it would have felt like living with a disability. Why would anyone take such a risk?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

bungee jumps 3 times for charity raised about 850 euro's for the Ernville maternity hospital where my three kids were born.
    A 2 day quad trek in spain, Brilliant!
    Burrowed my friends crutches at spain and petending to have accidents with them in the supermarkets,pubs,etc.It was a howl of a time.