Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how much do you spend on an average night?

• 18-06-2008 10:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭

Ladies and genetlemen need to pick your brain

personally speaking average night out with the boyz is the following:

1.8-12 pints, after drinks in someones house,club admission ,fastfood,taxi/nitelinek fair ,etc.

2.im spending about 80eur-120eur on a nite out can only afford to head out once a week max at this rate

1.is this a crazy amount or whats the common concensus what do you boyos and girlies spend on a night out?

2.how often yas go out per week and how much you guys drink?
    ta

ste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Minimum of 50, maximum...who knows. Maybe 100+ :(

Having fun is a pricey business!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I spend €100 + if I go out in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭gixerfixer

Not much.I gave in buying rounds few years back and i find that i spend a max of fifty on a night out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

1 bottle of coke from liddle = 1 yoyo, one pack of crisps from centra = 60 cent grand total of 1.60 does me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'd spend €80 on a night out and I live in a small town in the Galway. You suck at spending money dude.

On a bender I'll spend whatever's in my pocket, raid the ATM and borrow money. unless I get me some hard drugs then I don't spend **** all.

Don't drink, hate minerals.
    So maybe 20 quid....excluding preparation costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

€50 = cheapest night
    €200 = most expensive night; started boozing at 7pm and got home at 12 noon... Need i say more

It's quite expensive these days
    houseparties is the way forward:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭raemie21

Yeah tend don't drink when I'm out, maximum two glasses of wine at times. So it's mainly taxi fares and entrance to clubs for me - about 30-40euro would be it really. I HATE spending money on a general night out, think it's a waste & would rather put it towards travels/clothes/music.

Edit: Actually that's a lie - I was out in a bar/cafe in Florence about two years ago and lost this little ticket thing that I was given on entrance. Turns out it was the tracker for the number of drinks that you were buying so even though I realised I'd dropped it within ten minutes, had to pay 150euro to get out of the place. For shame!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

€30-€70

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

most I've spent on a night out was about €3000. Wasn't my money though (work thing).

Personally, If I go drinking with mates we do a kitty, usually starts at 50 a head and gets topped up as needs be. Can turn expensive at the end if rounds of slippery nipples start appearing.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭therewillbe

Leonard Cohen gig on sunday .All in train luas ticket drinks taxi drinks club food taxi = e297 .

WHAT A NIGHT !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Don't go out as much as I used to, much prefer nights in these days or going out for dinner.

Nights in - whatever, 6 pack so €10-€12, bombay pantry/dominos and Dvd - probably maximum spend of €50?
    Nights out - Depends on how much I want to drink, don't drink a lot anymore, very rarely get locked. Somewhere between €50-€100 anyway.

Used to spend €100+ going out a few nights a week when I was a bit younger, some nights I'd spend unbelievable amounts. These days though, with rent/food/bills all to worry about, doesn't happen very often at all:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭chalad07

Very seldom would i spend less than 100 on a night out. I've often tried to figure out where the money goes,

I'd drink maybe 10/12 max, so that's going to about 70, normally wouldnt head to a club so no admission, then maybe a tenner on a cab home. Where does the other 50 quid go? Obvious answer i drink more than i think i do, but really cant see myself being able for more than ten,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

getting old rb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

getting old rb
    I know :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Few tins or bottles before goin out cuts down the cost dramatically so I'd usually do that. Then drink whatever beer is on special. Towards the end of the night is when the hard cash is spend though on bourbons, jaegers and all that shizzle.

Average night out (excluding the tins at home) would be $80-100 (€50-70 roughly). Heaviest night out was in Surfer's Paradise over Christmas. Spent more than $500 between 3 of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

say 4 cans at home, another 3 in town, comes to maybe 30 smackers if i buy something greasy on the way home.

I'm not a heavy drinker really, i'd rather save money and spend it on stuff i really want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭stink_fist

I get baked when i go out soooooo between 10 and 20 quid :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I have no idea. Most of my nights are either below or above average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Depends.
    No club charges, so that helps. Will often drink in one of our own bars (staff prices) and usualy go to club on a wed night where everything(including top shelf) is $4.
    No taxi needed to get home.

So anything from $50-$150 a night depending on where we drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

if i spend more than €30 it's been a bad night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

hmmm about 15-20quid on drinks, free into places usually, if taxi is shared home about a fiver/taxi on my own 20 quid. so about €40 quid altogether? don't know how ye are spending over €100 quid! most expensive night would probably be like €60 including drinks for other people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Last night: 4 cans for a fiver to start off with
    €2 bus in
    €5 into club
    €2 a drink, 7 drinks
    €24 taxi between 4 people= €6 each.

Total: €32

Gotta love drinks promotions...

How much do hookers cost now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Anything from 150-600 depending on how long the 'night' lasts.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

When i originally gave up drink a few months back i was at the point where i was spending 200+ on a night out.

Better off without the drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

No more than €50 anyway.

I hate going out anyway, much rather few tins in a house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭RealEstateKing

Between 0 and 10 Euro for me. Nightclubs are crap so I dont go to them, when I can be bothered to go to the pub Ill have maybe 2 cokes and drink water for the rest just to have something in my hand.

Gigs its usually whatever the price of the ticket is plus drinks. But usually Im the one playing the gigs I go to , so that doesnt cost me anything.

House parties are where it's at for me these days: Better people, music you want to listen to, and far more likely to meet new people than in pubs and nightclubs. Bottle of coke from the Spar and Im good to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Mr.S wrote: »
    8euro vodka red bulls suck, and i was paying for a mate aswell (never payed me back)

Ill be killed for sayin this...but i usually bring a naggin of vodka in my bag and 2 red bulls, buy one or 2 drinks in the pub and then its handbag drinking all the way...tenner for a naggin beats forkin out 40 quid for 5 of them in a pub...they rip me off...ill do the same back ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

id easily drop €100 on a night out in dublin, on taxis, drinks, club. that's not counting drinks at home before i go out, plus all the money i spend on clothes lol :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Probably around €50 - €60... €80 if its an occasion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

At least €150 - 200.

That's like 30 - 40 pints and I know for a fact I couldn't drink half that.

Actually I reckon I most of it goes on forgetting to take my change back from the bar, losing money and having sneaky Jagerbombs between rounds.

Regret wasting so much money every morning after the night before!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

30-40 but then I can walk home after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

man, most of ye are wayyyy too good with your money, i blew 450 on a night out once, was amazing. shots everywhere and bottleshot competitions. Amazing night.

If i'm thinking about saving money, i can survive on about 40 a night, trick is going up to the bar for first round and order 3 pints of water. knock em back and the thoughts of drink doesn't appeal for ages.

Oh and i play bar bets to win drinks off people :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I'd always have a €100 in my wallet but on average I would spend €70 that includes taxi home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭boardinwork

steo123 wrote: »
    Ladies and genetlemen need to pick your brain

personally speaking average night out with the boyz is the following:

1.8-12 pints, after drinks in someones house,club admission ,fastfood,taxi/nitelinek fair ,etc.

2.im spending about 80eur-120eur on a nite out can only afford to head out once a week max at this rate

1.is this a crazy amount or whats the common concensus what do you boyos and girlies spend on a night out?

2.how often yas go out per week and how much you guys drink?
    ta

ste

Maybe this should have been a poll???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

anniehoo wrote: »
    Ill be killed for sayin this...but i usually bring a naggin of vodka in my bag and 2 red bulls, buy one or 2 drinks in the pub and then its handbag drinking all the way...tenner for a naggin beats forkin out 40 quid for 5 of them in a pub...they rip me off...ill do the same back ;)

Youre not on your own there. Two lady friends of mine do the very same thing. Damn you Ireland for non acceptance of man bags *shakes fist*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I'm with Rb...going out on the piss and spending 100 euro seems utterly retarded to me these days...lol drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭'Ol Jack Chance

zuutroy wrote: »
    I'm with Rb...going out on the piss and spending 100 euro seems utterly retarded to me these days...lol drinking.

+1 the best and the cheapest sessions are always in someones gaff. ya gotta love them mini kegs of heineken 20 quid and your sorted for the night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

'Ol wrote:
    +1 the best and the cheapest sessions are always in someones gaff. ya gotta love them mini kegs of heineken 20 quid and your sorted for the night!

Well I was kinda including the whole idea of getting leathered at all. I did it from age 17-24 but I mean where else is there to go with it? "Ahahaha I got pissed and talked such bollocks, I'm so mad" gets a bit old after 10 years imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭stevelknievel

For me it depends on the group I go out with. One set of lads I'm up on 150 quid(shots, cocktails and cocktail shots), another group it could be half that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

hmm, let me see :D

1. Transport free with my work ticket, trains and buses run regularly 24hr
    2. 10 beers - €20
    3. kebab - €2

So, I'd be doing well to spend €25!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

jester77 wrote: »
    hmm, let me see :D

1. Transport free with my work ticket, trains and buses run regularly 24hr
    2. 10 beers - €20
    3. kebab - €2

So, I'd be doing well to spend €25!

A kebab for €2!!!!!!

Where are you getting your kebabs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

A kebab for €2!!!!!!

Dodgy places on the Reeperbahn :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I'm in London, so it's probably quite different.

When I was in College:
    90p bus to the club
    free admission to student night in club
    £1 pints x 6
    90p bus home.
    total: £7.80, £6 when i went somewhere within walking distance of my house.

Now, that I have a job and can't go out on weekdays:
    6 x 75p cans of fosters in off licence:
    90p bus to club
    £10 admission to club
    2 x £5 on expensive drinks inside the club
    90p Bus home

Total: £26.30

I miss going out on student nights, not only was it much cheaper, but there's a much higher standard of girls, and a generally more fun atmospere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Ah, didn't notice the location!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

A kebab for €2!!!!!!

Get your priorities straight man, 10 beers for 20 quid! 2 quid beer!

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭irishcrazyhorse

On a quite night out id say anything from 50-90euros...
    On a big night out,id say from 130euros to 250ish,maddnes i know but Im a big drinker and smoker!
    I dont remember the last time i payed for a club either so I cant even add that cost into it:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Let's see on the average weekends:

Friday
    Drink about 6 pints: 6 x €3.50 = €21
    3 Jager-Bombs: €12.60
    20 Fags = €7.55
    4 Cans of Heinekin for after the pub: €10

Total: 51.15

Saturday
    6 pints: €21
    A lot more Jager-Bombs (Usually go on rounds with one of the guys): €30
    20 Fags = €7.55
    4 Cans of Heino: €10

Total: €68.55 (Excluding if I go to to the club, then you add €40)

Weekend Total: €119.70 (Add the nite-club and you get €159.70)

Obviously not exactly right but would be at least that, I think :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

A typical night ou in town costs EUR150 plus, easily. I spend around EUR250 last Friday night alone A trip down the pub is EUR50 (taxi included).

Going out is expensive