Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Josh Homme goes nuts on stage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Fair play to him (Homme, not the other guy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭boosh_fan

I'm a big Josh fan but that was a bit OTT. Poor Joey looked morto!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Excellent. I get to meet him {soon} :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Tommy the Cat

You gotta love Homme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭fourmations

i thought it was pretty weak

homme threatening a kid (with security on hand)

if i was in the band i'd be embarrased

rgds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Denalihighway

yeah its all a tad embarrassing really, a rush of blood I'm sure he'll regret afterwards

would have been grand to just f8ck the guy off but to continue for as long as he did was a bit rediculous...but sure that's rock stars for ya, we love to see them make a show of themselves (no pun intended)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Affable

i thought it was pretty weak

homme threatening a kid (with security on hand)

if i was in the band i'd be embarrased

rgds

What a vain twat. Exactly.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

In fairness, he does say he has a temperature of 102... I doubt he was fully aware of what he was at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

It's not pleased a lot of QOTSA fans, a survey done on a fan sight said that 40% of their fans are the mentioned ''fags''
    ...and it's not nearly as cool as that time he called that guy ''a total cocksmoker'' in the live DVD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭wandering_star

In fairness though, it must be pretty annoying people throwing **** up on stage, you're there to get people in a good mood in fairness, and it did teach the kid a lesson, at least he didn't actually beat him up.

Also any QOTSA gig I've ever been at they've been really conscious of the crowd telling them to look out for their fellow concert-goer.

As he is my future husband, I may be slightly biased. :D He's also one of the nicest rock-stars I've ever met.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

It was a bit of an over reaction, but how many people can say that Josh Homme wanted to kick their asses?

That kid probably thinks he's a fcuking superhero after nearly getting into a scrap with Homme.

Ahh the folly of youth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

Let that be a lesson for anyone who might be seeing Queens of the Stone Age....soon :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Diceicle

What a precious little princess homme is. :rolleyes: I wonder if he would have done that sh1t if the offender was a Hells Angel or some such, luckily enough it was only a skinny 14 year old. Phew!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Heres the deal with it...15 months touring, food poisoned a day or two beforehand, IV's hooked to him continuously, 102 degree temperature, puking 3 days, doctor tells him to cancel the tour, he says he's there for the fans, and so that'll never happen. If you see the verry start just before 3s & 7s starts, he's nearly crying and puking, while saying he's only out there for the fans, cos he knows without the fans, they wouldnt be where they are. Cue little moronic idiot throwing stuff on stage, and massive onslaught. Delighted he got thrown out, maybe he'll now know not to mess with sick people, and especially when its someone who will look after the crowd if things are getting dangerous. Josh respected the crowd by not pulling out of the show, and thats what he got in return...the young lad can go **** himself!

Diceicle wrote: »
    What a precious little princess homme is. :rolleyes: I wonder if he would have done that sh1t if the offender was a Hells Angel or some such, luckily enough it was only a skinny 14 year old. Phew!!

Anyone acting the dick in the crowd, Homme will say something. If things get dangerous, he will say something. He looks out for the crowd, to make it more enjoyable, so people can dance around and have fun without getting hurt. So he'd say something to anyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Fair enough he was pissed off, and fairly justified in being so, but man, I am not cool about the words he used. I like Josh Homme a lot, and I genuinely don't think he's a homophobe, but the words he used and his lousy justification afterwards were just... weak.

When he's mad, he rants, when he rants, he repeats. I think a lot of it is about the language he used alright, namely the homophobe way he came across. But he's always been like that, he has an awful temper, and he's one of the last people you'd wanna make angry. And no, he isnt actually an outright homophobe, just when he angry he'll say stuff like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

Didn't seem homophobic at all, more like just a general insult to the dicks character[ although I suppose Hommes could have used better phrasing] . Fair on Hommes though, not letting the chap get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭simonrooneyzaga

Josh homme was way out of line there - he was provoking people to throw stuff at him. what a tosser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Diceicle

Mushy wrote: »
    Anyone acting the dick in the crowd, Homme will say something. If things get dangerous, he will say something. He looks out for the crowd, to make it more enjoyable, so people can dance around and have fun without getting hurt. So he'd say something to anyone!

Bull he would. He picked on a kid, a kid probably not more than 14. Wow what a big man, he could have told the kid to stop instead he gave a child a tirade of abuse calling him d*ckless , fag etc. Yeah Josh Homme is awesome. The child wasnt throwing knives FFS. Homme is just a knob and to make the excuse that he was sick but still went out for the fans.......sure he did :rolleyes: Nothing to do not getting paid I'd say, nothing at all. If he was so sick he should have postponed and came back when he recovered.

Didn't seem homophobic at all, more like just a general insult to the dicks character

Like I say, I don't think Homme himself is a raging homophobe, but using that word the way he did is homophobic by implication, and there's no arguing about it. I don't care how angry he was, or how sick, and anybody who throws stuff (or pays to boo, or whatever) deserves everything they get, but Josh Homme used that word as an insult in itself - which is lousy - and then he tried to defend the way he used it, which was even lousier.

Honest to God, I thought Josh Homme was a sounder fella than that, but wheeling out the old "Political Correctness Gone Mad!" line after something like that just doesn't wash, and he acted like a knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Warranted or not, if you throw stuff up on the stage, you have to accept whatever consequences may arise. In saying that, that kid will probably kill himself. Talk about public humiliation during puberty!!!! Josh Homme was probably his idol

Dah, had a decently constructed post all for it to be gone cos of stoopid internet connection.

Anyways, the gist was: the lad just tipped the scales that one bit too far, the tour is just about over, kinda going through the motions after so long on the road, just want the whole thing to go off with no hassle, specially in the condition they in, but then one person had to go ruin it. Sure you do also see fans fists coming towards the young lads head when he's been dragged out.

Public humiliation...one of Josh Hommes fortés!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

pathetic tbh basically because the guy is 14 and josh homme is a multi millonaire rock star so he should have the confidence to just take it in his stride.

but if you're playing on stage and some heckler tries to fck things up on you, shouting abuse or throwing stuff up on stage, not only is it really stupid and childish, but it tends to bring out a swift negative response for those reasons.

The problem isn't that Homme lost the head, as far as I'm concerned. I don't give a sh*t about the heckler, hecklers suck.

It was that he used that word and wasn't man enough to apologise about it afterwards, that's what pi**ed me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Goosewad

That was appalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

know nothing about homme or how "nice" he is or sick he was but his reaction was idiotic.

Threatening the 14 year old kid ensuring every word he says is into the mic so he can get the crowd to support him then throwing whatever it was back at him while security held him.

wow, big man. idiot.

Aw, I don't blame him for actually freaking out, and hecklers are always a pain in the arse. And I think, at a QOTSA gig, you kind of know what you're in for on that score.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

met him in whelans the other night, my friends were sitting with them all night, got free tickets outta them too, which was nice, pity i hate qotsa and linkin park, went for 20 mins in the end.

i only knew him cos hes married to brody dalle

Josh Homme wrote:
    “Member of the Peanut Gallery:

Some journalists & citizens on the internet & are wondering: Q? Am I a homophobe because I included a slang for gay in with other "acceptable" curse words during a verbal lashing I gave a young concertgoer, after being hit by his shoe, during a show the other day? A= Nope. My gay family & friends, as well as myself, KNOW I am not a homophobe. For years now I've known gay is not a choice; one's skin color doesn't determine one's intelligence level; & red hair doesn't mean you're someone's stepchild. You see, it's not the words, it's their intent. I never said, nor suggested, that being gay is wrong, but apparently, based on your outrage to my flu-infused rant, you do! By that logic... I also told that young whipper snapper I'd have anal sex with him... how can I possibly reconcile these opposing viewpoints? I called him a pussy too. Does it mean I hate our one worlds' collective vagina? I never have been nor intend to be politically correct. That's your cross to bear. To me, that PC world would suck more **** than the porta-potty truck at Glastonbury."

He continues:

"Homophobic? I'm in Queens Of The Stone Age for crissake... You say, "So. Your band name doesn't prove anything." Maybe not. But it's a helluv a lot more definitive than the logic of some watchdog... (sorry canine-American, canine-European, canine-African, canine-Australian & canine-Asian) moralist, keeping score from pure perfectionville? If your glass house is squeegeed that clean & you need to do something, do what the great philosopher Bill Hick's once suggested: - forgive me-. Or don't. I'm not asking for either, OK? I think you should let both of your cheeks go loose so the stick will drop out. Either way I expect that you'll soon find another injustice from your chair, then roll to your bullhorn & point it out to the rest of us... Because you're so above it all. Or If you'll allow me to translate a wish of mine into your PC lingo:
    Will you please go have, consensual, sex with yourself.
    Pretty please with all natural, carbon offset sugar on top.

Sincerely,
    Mr. Missundastood
    A.K.A. Joshua, Baby Duck, Jho
    Head Choreographer & Do Stuff Corporation's pansexual spokes-thing”

Well, cant really go wrong with that! Quite true too, cos he sayd stuff to fans a lot, and only now has the media blown it so far out of proportion. And in a non-angry state, he only calls the lad a whipper-snapper!

Ah, PC gone mad, glad it ws addressed here in a non-violnt, humoured nature.

Yeah, saw that the other day, and I think a lot less of him for it. More often than not, "PC gone mad!" is the first refuge of the plainly wrong, and it is in this case. I still don't think he even barely understands what the problem is, because he's trying to defend himself from completely the wrong accusation. Nobody thinks he's homophobic.

Just man up and apologise, Homme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭oldscoil

...............met him in whelans the other night, my friends were sitting with them all night, got free tickets outta them too, which was nice, pity i hate qotsa and linkin park, went for 20 mins in the end.

Pity you didn't sell your free ticket to a genuine fan outside for face value.
    That would would have been......"nice"

Yeah, saw that the other day, and I think a lot less of him for it. More often than not, "PC gone mad!" is the first refuge of the plainly wrong, and it is in this case. I still don't think he even barely understands what the problem is, because he's trying to defend himself from completely the wrong accusation. Nobody thinks he's homophobic.

Just man up and apologise, Homme.

But then what is the accusation? He verbally abused a "fan", big whoopie. He just wants to move on, why cant everyone else?

I can't be any blunter - Josh Homme used the word "******" as an insult. If he had used any other demographic specific term, there would be far more hell than there is. Substitute the word "Jew" or whatever, it's a lot more apparent what the problem is. It was thoughtless and stupid, because it normalises the implied attitude, ie. being gay is just as bad as being a stupid reckless moron who pays in to a QOTSA show and then disrupts it.

Now, I don't think that Homme was thinking too deeply into it when he said it. I don't think he was thinking at all, and that was where the trouble started. I think he used the word 'cause it sounded nasty - it's supposed to sound nasty, because it's designed to be yelled. Whatever. That's not the same as being actively homophobic, it's just reinforcing existing homophobia. Which isn't great either, but all he had to do to move on afterwards was apologise for his stupid choice of words. That's literally all, because like I say, nobody thinks he's actually homophobic, they just thought he was out of line, was all.

He didn't apologise - and his crappy explanation just spells out the fact that he doesn't get what he did wrong, and isn't sorry.

Whatever about the kid, he certainly owes the gay community a big huge grovelling apology, because he insulted them really badly, and I honestly thought he was a way better dude than that. He can want to move on all he likes, but unless he figures out his error, he's left an awful lot of his fans badly burned and really disappointed by his attitude. QOTSA have a fairly large gay fanbase, and they're pissed off because to them, it looks like Josh considers it more important that he was in the right, rather than to give a **** about them. He's being a knob in the sense that he either doesn't get what's pissing them off or doesn't have the stones to apologise, rather than being a knob by actually hating gays.

Me, I'm pissed off because if you asked me about Josh Homme before this story broke, I would have said "No man, Josh Homme's cool, he wouldn't do that" but he went ahead and broke my hypothetical trust. ****ing... next I'll find out that actually, yes, Win Butler is a basketball kleptomaniac, and Dave Grohl is an asshole, and Billy Corgan's not, and then I just won't know what to believe in any more.

I can't be any blunter - Josh Homme used the word "******" as an insult. If he had used any other demographic specific term, there would be far more hell than there is. Substitute the word "Jew" or whatever, it's a lot more apparent what the problem is. It was thoughtless and stupid, because it normalises the implied attitude, ie. being gay is just as bad as being a stupid reckless moron who pays in to a QOTSA show and then disrupts it.

Now, I don't think that Homme was thinking too deeply into it when he said it. I don't think he was thinking at all, and that was where the trouble started. I think he used the word 'cause it sounded nasty - it's supposed to sound nasty, because it's designed to be yelled. Whatever. That's not the same as being actively homophobic, it's just reinforcing existing homophobia. Which isn't great either, but all he had to do to move on afterwards was apologise for his stupid choice of words. That's literally all, because like I say, nobody thinks he's actually homophobic, they just thought he was out of line, was all.

He didn't apologise - and his crappy explanation just spells out the fact that he doesn't get what he did wrong, and isn't sorry.

Whatever about the kid, he certainly owes the gay community a big huge grovelling apology, because he insulted them really badly, and I honestly thought he was a way better dude than that. He can want to move on all he likes, but unless he figures out his error, he's left an awful lot of his fans badly burned and really disappointed by his attitude. QOTSA have a fairly large gay fanbase, and they're pissed off because to them, it looks like Josh considers it more important that he was in the right, rather than to give a **** about them. He's being a knob in the sense that he either doesn't get what's pissing them off or doesn't have the stones to apologise, rather than being a knob by actually hating gays.

Me, I'm pissed off because if you asked me about Josh Homme before this story broke, I would have said "No man, Josh Homme's cool, he wouldn't do that" but he went ahead and broke my hypothetical trust. ****ing... next I'll find out that actually, yes, Win Butler is a basketball kleptomaniac, and Dave Grohl is an asshole, and Billy Corgan's not, and then I just won't know what to believe in any more.

Yes, ok, I fully understand that. Just that he did say in that response from him that he never said being gay was wrong. Plus he's said stuff like this through the years, this isnt the first time, which goes back to this whole episode been blown way out of proportion. I'm not totally disagreeing with ya here, but when someones annoyed, they say stuff like that, I've done it myself, I've heard other people do it day in day out, in front of people I know who are gay.

Fair enough, for some reason or other he always tends to use something against gay people, but hey, thats him. Nothing we can do, nothing nobody can do really, cos he aint gonna apologise for some small tle thing that some people cant get over.

I just wish somebody would grip him by the shoulders - which won't be easy, 'cause he's a big fella, Josh Homme - and spell it out for him, so he can slap his big ginger forehead and go "Aw, man! I hadn't thought about that! I've been a knob! Jesus, I'm sorry everyone! Sorry about that! Jesus, I'm really sorry!"

Then I can go back to liking him again. But... not before then. cause the problem's all his, here.

Haha, you know that'll never happen. Although I'm very sure anger management treatment should be applied to him.

He's said his bit, he has explained it, he isn't the first to do something like it, he most certainly wont be the last. He'll move on, if others dont, well, he did say exactly what he thinks of those who wont.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

The problem isn't that Homme lost the head, as far as I'm concerned. I don't give a sh*t about the heckler, hecklers suck.

It was that he used that word and wasn't man enough to apologise about it afterwards, that's what pi**ed me off.

This really pi**ed me off , don't get me wrong its not a word i would choose to use either and im not targeting you but the whole thing with being offended by the C word is annoying and here F*****,how is that even remotely as bad as being called a M'er F'er???? yet the later is seemingly PC and gets passed in music and films no problem yet is more litrally descriptive , i'm mean an with IQ of 0 you could 100% know what it implies ? and what it implies it truely disgusting. SO my point is you expact an apology for C and F words from the man but not for M'er F'er?

Nobody said anything about the C word, dude, and I don't object to it in the slightest. I don't have any problem with hearing it or using it.

M*****F***** is not the same kettle of fish at all. Or actually, it kind of proves the point - Both the guy doing the swearing, and the guy getting sworn at, understands that it's supposed to be a grotesque idea. He's being called a disgusting freaky deviant.

So if the F word falls under the same category, what does that say about the attitude of the people using it....?

Nobody said anything about the C word, dude, and I don't object to it in the slightest. I don't have any problem with hearing it or using it.

M*****F***** is not the same kettle of fish at all. Or actually, it kind of proves the point - Both the guy doing the swearing, and the guy getting sworn at, understands that it's supposed to be a grotesque idea. He's being called a disgusting freaky deviant.

So if the F word falls under the same category, what does that say about the attitude of the people using it....?

look like i said im not picking here, but "It was that he used that word" my point is a % of the poulation is offended by F***** same as C same as mf, my gay friends openly use F*****eveyday none would be offended by its use in this context, im simply saying MF is something that gets heard and heard all the time yet no one calls the PC police but use the F word when ranting at an idiot teenager you've got a life sentence with no judge or jury

Yes, truly the endless societal persecution of Josh Homme makes my heart bleed. I mean, I know he was born Josh Homme, and he can't help that, I just don't see why he needs to flaunt the fact that he is Josh Homme so much. I just don't like seeing that kind of thing in public. Everybody's all about tolerance these days, but that would all change if they found out their own child was Josh Homme, oh yes.
    calex71 wrote: »
    the F word when ranting at an idiot teenager you've got a life sentence with no judge or jury

Ah, here... That's a ridiculous thing to say. All he would have to do is apologise.

He is not being accused of being a homophobe, which would be an altogether different situation. All he'd have to do to fix this say "Man, I'm sorry I called you a ******.

I should have called you an a*shole."

It is not the same to use the F word as to use the other terms you mention because those terms are not specifically geared at a genuinely harshed-on community, or loaded with the same kind of historical baggage. Maybe some gay folk are cool about using it among themselves, but not all, and plenty are angry in this instance. If somebody gets offended by the general profanity, then whatever. Nobody gets hurt, so I don't care.

In this case, Homme might as well have waved a big flag saying "F*ck you, gay fans!" It's a specific affront to the group in question, and they're right to be cranky about it, because his reaction afterwards does absolutely nothing to suggest that he gives a sh*t about 'em.

Yes, truly the endless societal persecution of Josh Homme makes my heart bleed. I mean, I know he was born Josh Homme, and he can't help that, I just don't see why he needs to flaunt the fact that he is Josh Homme so much. I just don't like seeing that kind of thing in public. Everybody's all about tolerance these days, but that would all change if they found out their own child was Josh Homme, oh yes.

Ah, here... That's a ridiculous thing to say. All he would have to do is apologise.

He is not being accused of being a homophobe, which would be an altogether different situation. All he'd have to do to fix this say "Man, I'm sorry I called you a ******.

I should have called you an a*shole."

It is not the same to use the F word as to use the other terms you mention because those terms are not specifically geared at a genuinely harshed-on community, or loaded with the same kind of historical baggage. Maybe some gay folk are cool about using it among themselves, but not all, and plenty are angry in this instance. If somebody gets offended by the general profanity, then whatever. Nobody gets hurt, so I don't care.

In this case, Homme might as well have waved a big flag saying "F*ck you, gay fans!" It's a specific affront to the group in question, and they're right to be cranky about it, because his reaction afterwards does absolutely nothing to suggest that he gives a sh*t about 'em.

His reaction afterward is the same as 99.9% of people in the same possition i think , he did NOT use the word to infer hate to an (agreed here) "harshed-on" community, he used it to insult in all probability a 99.9% hetro male.
    I would have a problem if he knowingly used it to a gay man. I just dont see the need to apologise for using that word in this case, as regardless if you're gay or straight this is clearly a case of the PC bandwagon jumping on an issue that really should not be an issue at all .

calex71 wrote: »
    His reaction afterward is the same as 99.9% of people in the same possition i think , he did NOT use the word to infer hate to an (agreed here) "harshed-on" community, he used it to insult in all probability a 99.9% hetro male.
    I would have a problem if he knowingly used it to a gay man. I just dont see the need to apologise for using that word in this case, as regardless if you're gay or straight this is clearly a case of the PC bandwagon jumping on an issue that really should not be an issue at all .

Exactly, couldnt agree more. Plus I doubt very much so any fan of that band would throw something at them, as they would know long before what happens in this situation.

Jill_valentine, if he isnt being accused of being a homophobe, whats all the kerfuffle? This is a direct response from him about being accused of being a homophobe for using that word, and it shows that its PC gone way over the top in this situation, and he blames the media for it, nobody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Who really gives a crap (besides poor ole fragile jill_valentine) that josh homme called somebody a ****** when angry? Jill dont you have anything better to do than to be offended on behalf of the gays, who more than likely dont give a **** either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

The kid threw a shoe at him. I'd be pretty pissed off if some twat threw a shoe at me while I was trying to play, regardless of being sick or not. 'F@ggot' is a completely stereotypical American insult. As someone on the DiS forums pointed out, you can always tell an American because they tend to veer towards that word and other homophobic insults. But hey, like calex said, the only problem if he was insulting someone he knew was gay.

Now, watch Josh flip out at several other people...

Nice, Dave, real f**king nice. Keen mind at work there, clearly.

I've already spelled it out, any more I'd just be repeating myself. "F*****" only works as an insult if everybodys understand that being called gay is an insult. Being called gay only works as an insult if everybody understands that being gay is inherently defective. It's only marginally worse if you direct it at somebody who actually is gay, but the principle remains the same.

I've been to QOTSA quite a few times, so yeah, I feel pissed off the guy I've been paying to see play is a knob. Won't be all that enthusiastic to go see 'em again.

I don't think Homme's gonna be crying himself to sleep over it or whatever, but like I've already said, twice or three times I think, there's lots of gay QOTSA fans who are pissed off, but you weren't actually reading my posts, were you Dave? You just wanted to have a go at "PC-Correctness-Gone-Mad!" right? Maybe the reason so few people bother arguing this here any more is that it's just so relentlessly depressing to keep seeing this reaction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Nice, Dave, real f**king nice. Keen mind at work there, clearly.

Ouuuuch.
    I've already spelled it out, any more I'd just be repeating myself. "F*****" only works as an insult if everybodys understand that being called gay is an insult. Being called gay only works as an insult if everybody understands that being gay is inherently defective. It's only marginally worse if you direct it at somebody who actually is gay, but the principle remains the same.

Nobody really cares.

I've been to QOTSA quite a few times, so yeah, I feel pissed off the guy I've been paying to see play is a knob. Won't be all that enthusiastic to go see 'em again.

Im sure he will miss your attendance.
    I don't think Homme's gonna be crying himself to sleep over it or whatever, but like I've already said, twice or three times I think, there's lots of gay QOTSA fans who are pissed off, but you weren't actually reading my posts, were you Dave? You just wanted to have a go at "PC-Correctness-Gone-Mad!" right? Maybe the reason so few people bother arguing this here any more is that it's just so relentlessly depressing to keep seeing this reaction?

Who mentioned "PC-Correctness-Gone-Mad!"? I think your false outrage is pathetic, not happy unless moaning about something eh. Lots of gay QOSTA fans pissed off? where? And how many gay QOSTA fans do you actually know?

Davei141 wrote: »
    Who mentioned "PC-Correctness-Gone-Mad!"? I think your false outrage is pathetic, not happy unless moaning about something eh. Lots of gay QOSTA fans pissed off? where? And how many gay QOSTA fans do you actually know?

That was me saying that, but Josh does very much imply it in his response. Yeah, if ya look at perezhilton, theres a lot of support fr Josh on that:D So Perez's little outrage kinda backfired on him! And as for that last line, exactly! I applaud you Dave!

On a sidenote, that video above, some of them he isnt flipping out at fans, he just uses a curse word after a request. And also around 7.20, when hes saying "What ever brings you up, I'm gonna bring you down", he most certainly oesnt flip anyone off there...he actually offers them vodka! And a pint of it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

As Josh said at that very gig, "I came here to play for the rest of you, not for that asshole". He only has a problem with the people who throw **** at him/heckle him, which he clearly doesn't like. Have the gay community reacted to this? I haven't seen anyone saying "I'm gay and I have a problem with this". Where did you find this? I've been looking at the QOTSA forum, and all I've found there are people saying 'get over it, kid deserved it' etc. I've counted two people saying it's disgraceful.

Yeah, calling someone a fag implies that its a bad thing. I don't feel any need to take offense for other people, though. I'm not the morality police, if someone is offended because of an insult that they feel is personal, fair enough. I'll ask one of my gay friends and see if they're offended, out of interest.

yevveh wrote: »
    As Josh said at that very gig, "I came here to play for the rest of you, not for that asshole". He only has a problem with the people who throw **** at him/heckle him, which he clearly doesn't like. Have the gay community reacted to this? I haven't seen anyone saying "I'm gay and I have a problem with this". Where did you find this? I've been looking at the QOTSA forum, and all I've found there are people saying 'get over it, kid deserved it' etc. I've counted two people saying it's disgraceful.

Yeah, calling someone a fag implies that its a bad thing. I don't feel any need to take offense for other people, though. I'm not the morality police, if someone is offended because of an insult that they feel is personal, fair enough. I'll ask one of my gay friends and see if they're offended, out of interest.

Haha, us on the QOTSA forums will be biased towards Josh tho for obvious reasons!

As for the second paragrapgh...+1. This situation has gottten way out of hand so far!