Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stalker

• 18-06-2008 3:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Ok, so here's whats up. My girlfriend's family are being harassed by some Iranian a**hole. He calls to the house and makes threats about this and that. Her father is not a well man and he's the only male in the house. It upsets all of them and really gets to me. Today after i dropped her home from work he was at the top of their park in his car. When i came back out he followed me. It was like a movie or somethin. I got sick of it after a few minutes and pulled over. I walked up to his car and tapped on his window. He just sat there. Then i left and he followed me again. I just drove to the police station and he drove off.

Now i'm not having this c**t calling to my house and threatening my parents. I would do something before it ever gets to that stage. Her parents have some dispute with him and they've called the police many times and nothing has been done. What course of action can i take, i reallt dont want to have to physically confront some twat over something that has nothing to do with me.

If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

How do you know he's Iranian and where did he come from?

What is this some sort of dispute over?

And what sort of threats is he making?

I can't understand why the police wouldn't react, but perhaps if you had a name an address you could cross check it with Harcourt Street garda station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Davexirl

Next time do the same go the Garda station and when he drives off, start following him and see how he likes it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Davexirl wrote: »
    Next time do the same go the Garda station and when he drives off, start following him and see how he likes it.

Don't do this. It could turn nasty.

Just keep pressing the guards until something is done. And be very careful when going anywhere after visiting your girlfriends house.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Annoyed24 wrote: »
    Ok, so here's whats up. My girlfriend's family are being harassed by some Iranian a**hole. He calls to the house and makes threats about this and that. Her father is not a well man and he's the only male in the house. It upsets all of them and really gets to me. Today after i dropped her home from work he was at the top of their park in his car. When i came back out he followed me. It was like a movie or somethin. I got sick of it after a few minutes and pulled over. I walked up to his car and tapped on his window. He just sat there. Then i left and he followed me again. I just drove to the police station and he drove off.

Now i'm not having this c**t calling to my house and threatening my parents. I would do something before it ever gets to that stage. Her parents have some dispute with him and they've called the police many times and nothing has been done. What course of action can i take, i reallt dont want to have to physically confront some twat over something that has nothing to do with me.

If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know.

Stalkers are like trolls on tinterweb. They're looking for a reaction.

Giving him any reaction at all will be giving him what he wants.

Simply ignore him completely, and keep writing down everything he does. The ONLY thing you should do is keep pestering the Gardai for assistance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Camera. He starts at the house, take pictures with nice big flashes. He follows you in the car, record it. get a nice portfolio on him and give it to the guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Petrolium Hat

Go to the gards and talk to them, if he hasn't threatened anything then it will be more difficult to get a protection/barring order. You need to build a body of evidence, times/dates, photos if possible and go to the gards with it. You need to establish that the family feel threatened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

First off, he is Iranian, i'm not randomly picking a country. Secondly her parents have gone to the police numerous times without getting anywhere. The only thing that worries me is that he might start hanging outside my home. My parents should not have to look over their shoulder for something which isn't there problem. I'm not frightened of this guy, he's plainly a complete loser, but he is annoying.

I dont really think taking pictures of him is gonna do much, the police already know what he does, they just dont do anything about it, regardless of evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Davexirl wrote: »

Stalk the stalker
    Dare you to do covertly - then send him some pics in the post e.g. him going to shop for paper, having brekkie, walking dog etc making sure you leave out any1 else in the pic

See how he likes it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭gogglebok

I agree with SDooM and Petrolium Hat. Take clear contemporaneous notes of everything. Present them to the gardai calmly and insistently. They're only doing a job, and they must sometimes be at a loss for how to go about it. That's not much help to you, I know. But clear records will make it easy for them to get involved, and hard for them not to.

It must be very frustrating to have nothing done, but really try to keep your head clear and your tone friendly. You don't want them to write you off as a trouble-maker.

Keep clear records of your dealings with the gardai too.

Good luck with it.

Whatever you do, do not try and stalk the stalker. It could turn out horribly, best leave that to professionals. Hire a PI (ha ha) to gather information on him, follow him and the likes.

But seriously, I have to go with what everyone else is saying - record the details. Set up CCTV around the house so that you can have evidence and take photos of him watching ye. With enough information built up, then go to the gardai.