Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The poker mods are idiots imo

• 17-06-2008 11:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭

So the poker forum is growing and growing, and we have decided to look into the idea of adding a new moderator or two to help keep track of Solkjaer's alternative accounts as well as keeping an eye on the forum in general.

We haven't decided if it is definitely necessary yet or what type of person we want but there may be someone interested that we haven't thought of.
    So feel free to nominate yourself, or someone you think would be good at the job, considering the following points.

1) If you are already a boards moderator that's a big plus.

2) You have to know and understand the atmosphere of the poker forum. It's a lot more lenient that any other part of boards by necessity, so keeping the peace and clamping down on shenanigans is accomplished more by feel than by strict rules.

3) Members with a longer history of participation and helpful contribution to the forum will obviously be preferred. I.e. regulars who post good strategy and advice or who have organised boards.ie tournaments and so on.

4) You should actually care about advancing the poker forum in terms of getting new members, and keeping the content to noise ratio high.

5) An interest in the live tournament scene around Ireland would be a big plus, since neither me or Ste05 play a lot of live donkaments or cash.

We've already got one or two names interested or put forward so we'd like to see who else would give it a go. That's really all I can think of at the moment, so feel free to shout some names on this thread or by pm to any of the mods. Also ask questions etc here.
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

Based on that criteria KevIRL fits perfectly. high post count, doesnt talk sh1te or tolerate it, loves his poker!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭yeah-buddy

Based on that criteria KevIRL fits perfectly. high post count, doesnt talk sh1te or tolerate it, loves his poker!!

maybe connie aswell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭DEEP THROAT

To keep the peoples republic of cork contingent happy I'd nominate corkie123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

dbc2007

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

OllyK a perfect choice, he actually mentioned to me one night in the SE that he would be willing to do a 12 month stretch as a thank you to the community that turned him from a huge loser into a recreational player/marginal loser.

Seriously El_S would be a good choice imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

dagunman would probably do it. he's busy at the moment but i'm sure once he's home from vegas he'd be delighted to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

I nominate Yuletired

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

i nominate nicnicnic

or KevIRL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

lafortezza wrote: »
    The poker mods are idiots imo
    IMO

Keep the suggestions coming....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

nicnicnic wrote: »
    I nominate Yuletired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

I nominate Solksjaer and he nominates me.......although he said Yuletied is a wuss and has not even be infrataulated by a mod in over 6 months.,,,

its happening agian mother................as I said to the ever seething Olliki . Id never join a club that would have someone like me as a member...(groucho)

Roundtower seem to have lots of time on his hands........roundy imo

and to incur a possible infraction see below for cardsharks dog
    whasha washa where the 10 gollar washa washa

http://youtube.com/watch?v=JVnlHof5-Qs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Cooker would be a good choice imo. Player/dealer/poster and isn't likely to mess around.

Or KevIRL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

ill take some mod powers plz

Rb wrote: »
    Cooker would be a good choice imo. Player/dealer/poster/CHIMP and isn't likely to mess around.

Or KevIRL.

Cooker for CHIMPMOD.....he also extremely nerdy and would never ever multi account on boards or LADBROKEs... he rather cut off his tail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭yeah-buddy

after hearing what yuletired had to say i now nominate him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭DBC2007

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    dbc2007

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

YULETIRED. redjoker, carfaxs father, El_stuntdude.
    Can I get an encore, do you want more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Wow, i'm surprised and flattered that people are suggesting me for the post. I'll leave it up to the mods to decide but if they want me to help out I'd be more than willing. I spend a lot of time on the poker forum anyway, and dont mind giving something back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,424 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I did not want to put anyone forward that was not interested, but now that Kev is, I vote for him too.
    In all fairness he has done a great job 'so far' on the heads up competition. He is a regular here and seems like an ok dude. And from chatting to him at a poker table today he seems to also fill that live donkament requirement, I think he said he was in Waterford.

Good luck with it Kev.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

Kev.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

All jokes aside,
    why would anyone want to do it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Kev for mod Yuletired for president and Holla for Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

A mod from the country??? I'm not sure I likes this alarming shift away from capitocentric anti-small town jingoism. Bertie giving way to that cow/man Cowen and now this, the country's in a state of chassis I tells ye.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I'm surprised that the omnipotent hotsur isn't up to date on the mods bio's and origins.

Also, my only criteria is that it isn't a cork person. It feels good to pretend that I will in any way decide though :)

There were a couple I had in mind that I haven't seen mentioned here, but apart from the obvious 'nominations' there are a few pretty constructive posts here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭davidgti

kevIRL for this oscar ;) & gl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

OllyK a perfect choice, he actually mentioned to me one night in the SE that he would be willing to do a 12 month stretch as a thank you to the community that turned him from a huge loser into a recreational player/marginal loser.

OllyK seconded. A level-headed fair poster, who's never shown any animosity to anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

When I first saw this thread I thought Laf had finally seen the error of his ways and laid the ubermod burden down :D.

Good luck trying to find some other lunatic to try and herd the cats around here!

I can think of plenty of good joke candidates but if pushed for a few names of people who I think would show a genuine commitment the list wouldn't be very long but some people I feel worthy of consideration are

Lazare (definitely a student of the game, very well known on the live scene and independently minded)
    Flushdraw (perhaps more of an honorable mention for all his hard slog around here as he's not as involved or having access to the interweb so much these days for some reason :p )
    Ozpoker (not everyone's cup of tea but he has a no nonsense attitude and is a man who strives to improve the games we play in everything he does)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

OllyK seconded. A level-headed fair poster, who's never shown any animosity to anyone.

I f**king hate you Lenny. :D

Not that I've ever been asked to perform this dubious honor but if I was I would decline due to the fact that its too much work with very little thanks and I'm not that committed to the forum (I hope :rolleyes:). Actually Lenny I'd have proposed you for the role only you've stopped playing it seems!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Im sick of olly always gettin a neddle in on my threads/posts :p

I do think he would make an excellent mod thou, best of luck with it olly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

ABO

Anyone But Olly.

Think about it guys, he'll use his mod powers to edit ours posts for extra needle power. Plus i heard he tried to kidnap el stuntman's mojo hobo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

ollyk1 wrote: »
    I f**king hate you Lenny. :D

Not that I've ever been asked to perform this dubious honor but if I was I would decline due to the fact that its too much work with very little thanks and I'm not that committed to the forum (I hope :rolleyes:). Actually Lenny I'd have proposed you for the role only you've stopped playing it seems!

Cheers for the (non-) recommendation, Olly :). It's not so much that I've given up, it's just I find it really hard to play in the summer months. I shall return...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

redjoker is a good one who only got mentioned in passing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

good luck with this olly

second ozpoker. RJ would be good too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Tony_Montana

KevIRL is the man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭ozpoker

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    second ozpoker. RJ would be good too

I appreciate the recognition, but I really have no interest/time. I'll continue in my role as eccentric curmudgeon. :)

Olly is the obvious choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭RedJoker

I'd be interested in helping out.

1) If you are already a boards moderator that's a big plus.

Nope

2) You have to know and understand the atmosphere of the poker forum. It's a lot more lenient that any other part of boards by necessity, so keeping the peace and clamping down on shenanigans is accomplished more by feel than by strict rules.

I'd take a very lazy lenient approach.

3) Members with a longer history of participation and helpful contribution to the forum will obviously be preferred. I.e. regulars who post good strategy and advice or who have organised boards.ie tournaments and so on.

I think I qualify here.

4) You should actually care about advancing the poker forum in terms of getting new members, and keeping the content to noise ratio high.

I'd like to see a sticky in the hand histories and theory section with some gentle encouragement for people to stop sucking and some links to good threads.

5) An interest in the live tournament scene around Ireland would be a big plus, since neither me or Ste05 play a lot of live donkaments or cash.

lol donkaments (nope)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Would be nice to have someone outide Dublin , How about

Mdwexford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Flushdraw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Laxie

KevIRL is the man

Gets my vote. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Kev and RJ seem the best choices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I'd like to do it...but I'm not sure of my abilities to deal with the occasional flying handbag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Gillybean72

I think Smurph, sometimes you guys need a woman arond to keep things calm ;)

speaking of around, has anyone seen Tony Flushdraw , he gone missing these last few months.....he would make a great Mod. and probably an excellent husband.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I think Olly would be a great choice.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Oscar would also be a good choice IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Gillybean72

YULETIRED wrote: »
    speaking of around, has anyone seen Tony Flushdraw , he gone missing these last few months.....he would make a great Mod. and probably an excellent husband.

If thats what floats your boat head on in there.. I wont stand in your way :D:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭mormank

you obviously havent read what the thread is about..we are lookin for a new mod!!!

I used to mod a college forum in UCC so I've some idea what ye guys actually do and I agree with the gist of the lads here, I think Olly or bohsman would be good choices.