Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you ever just walk out of a job?

• 17-06-2008 11:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭

Anyone ever done this? I sometimes feel like just walking out without notice, because I know I can get another job somewhere else (I probably wouldn't though). I had one or two jobs where I should have walked out, for various reasons, but I was too chicken-sh*t because I feared I would need the references.

Even, have you left before your one month/week notice? Was there any ramifications? Why did you do it?

Would be interesting to hear some stories.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Was tempted to. Very tempted to. i was offered a Job with better salary and Better Job prospects (i'd love to get into classroom training) But they wanted me to start the next monday.
    They offered me the job on the tuesday, and i didnt feel right walking out (after some deliberation)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Jo King

I heard of it happening a lot in the Civil Service. New recruits on their first day going for coffee or lunch and not coming back at all.
    A lot depends on the industry. In some industries it is quite normal for people to storm off in a huff and be re-employed elsewhere without difficulty. In others it might be a death sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

I knew a guy a few years ago who started a job on a Monday, went out to lunch that day and never went back!

Manager greeted him when he arrived, told him things were very busy and there was no time to get him a desk, PC, anything but he'd chat to him in an hour. Found a chair somewhere and stuck him in the server room on his own. Nobody came near him for the 4/5 hours between then and lunch time. Nobody came to see if he'd like to go to lunch. When he looked out himself, the office was empty and everyone had already gone to lunch so he got up and went.

Rang the agency the next day and said seeing as thats the way he was treated on his first day, he wouldnt be coming back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

My previous job, i was so close to doing so... dublindude told me to stick with it...

Sucked at the end... Sometimes a gut feeling tells you what you already know..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Only once, and that was Dunnes Stores back in my college days (the horrors of working those kind of jobs just to survive :)). I'm sure its common knowledge that most Dunnes managers are just jumped up schoolboys in suits. Anyway this one manager was an absolute prick. He used to come around to check how the shelves had been stacked, and if they were wrong, he'd deliberately mess them up and make the staff do them again.

Unfortunately for him, he did it to me on a day I was extremely hungover. Deciding that I was sick of smelling like cat food every night, sick of this twat in a suit and the sh1tty pay, I knocked him out and walked. Its hard to describe the feeling really, just walking out the door knowing you couldn't give a fcuk if you're employed or not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭snellers

yep have done it once - in hindsight I might not have done it but things have worked out fine

when working in the UK I was travelling about 80 miles each way into central london from North Oxford. One morning I woke normal time (about 6am) to get ready and decided as I had worked until 9pm previous night I would get in a little later so slept an extra hour.

That particular day there was a 90 car pileup at 8am on the motorway pretty much exactly where I was likely to be at 8am on my journey in - took me 4 hours to get into work that day as the whole motorway was re-routed

I decided that the stress of travelling coupled with my unhappiness at work already wasn;t worth it anymore and I resigned on the spot (told them they could charge me the appropriate costs incurred with breaking my contract, handed the company car and laptop in then got the train home.)

In hindsight I was probably in shock at the potential accident I could have been involved in and should have just called in sick.....I found a job closer to home and was much much happier!

lesson learned was not to look for excuses as to why I should leave a position I am unhappy in - if unhappy do something about it or find somewhere else to work if unable to change things - money is not everything!

I now work to live, not live to work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭Rhonda9000

I did many moons ago :D

It was a subordinate part time retail worker drone position. One day, a much feared vindictive 'manager' selected me as the victim de jour. So, I collected my belongings and walked. Everybody enjoyed watching my dignified exit. Comically, I was informed some days later by telephone message that there would be a disciplinary hearing. I crafted lengthy, cutting letters pointing out the ludicrous proposition that I still worked there and highlighted a multitude of legitimate grievances. Signed, sealed and delivered on D-day (central HR CC'd).

I believe all hell broke loose and rightly so. I do not regret it and to this day I am plaesed that I had the strength of character at the time to not lie down and let her treat me like a dog. I feel that it was one of the most empowering and valuable learning experiences. F**k references - why reduce your self worth to that?

P.S. I have found out the beast in question has had one thing after another go wrong with her life since. Karma is a b1tch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭bills

yeah would never normally but under circumstances, i had no choice & felt better for it. During college, was away for a summer working in another country. Got a phonecall, that a parent was very sick at time & i had to go home. Went straight into my boss who said i couldnt leave straight away as he had let other workers go away for weekend. I probably would have worked a day or two for him while arranging flights but was so pissed of , i just walked out & never went back. They were a complete nightmare to work for anyway. Some people are just unreal, no sensitivity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Yes, but only because me and the ex had a big fight and I was too embaressed to return. It's was only a crappy telesales job anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Have I ever walked out of a job?
    I've had a hatrick in my time.
    The first was for an industrial security company in 2002, lovingly described as a 'static' security guard. It was after final exams in college, the site was the now completed Ballincollig bypass in Cork. Was supposed to work from 8pm to 8am in a cabin on my own. (shudder at the thought), rang my dad who drives a taxi and left the place at 2am. Never showed up there again.

2nd was with a 'technical' support company in cork which was pretty much a glorified receptionist job. you know the thing, taking technical details and ' ' to the 2nd level support. resetting passwords etc. the people working there were fine but the job was soul destroyingly repetitive. one day i was so pissed off, i deliberatley hung up on a number of calls. didn't really care for the job, with crap pay and crappier prospects. obviously this was noticed through micromanagement, a meeting was called and i remember saying ' i know what this is about and let me just say i'd like to leave.....now' i was escorted to my desk and packed my things away and let me tell you, the weight is was lifted off my shoulders. 2nd best thing i ever did.

the best thing i ever did (well worst if you consider accepting in the first place :-)), was leaving another tech support job (a pattern emerges!) in little island in cork. this job was purely taken on the basis of getting an income and the job was utter rubbish with a level of micro management i have never seen. "You were 30 seconds late coming back from lunch" kind of thing. I was a bit more diplomatic this time saying that i didn't want the job and i would work until a replacement was found but after a day i gave up and said i was leaving.

thankfully, i have now found the IT job i was looking for (from a recommendation from a fellow boardsie!), as a test consultant (work actually applicable to a degree education), the kind of job that rewards good work (spot bonuses), provides a clearly defined career path, and is a leading provider of training (course which cost in the thousands are free to employees) and has allowed me to travel to South Africa and around the UK on an expense account saving me a small fortune in the process. Karma at work for sure.

the point is if you hate a job, then you need to find something else. period. it will depress you in the long term if you stay, as i've learned from my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Solarball10

Yup - was working in Dunnes for 2 weeks during Christmas and I just walked out after that. Hated it, although I did get lotsa free cakes/muffins (worked in bakery dept hehe)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭valz_walsh

I tried to once, but the boss wouldnt let me leave. God she was a waggon.

Wouldnt mind walking out of my current position either. Under paid, and under appriciated!!!

Has anyone noticed that theres been a big drop in the amount of jobs out there since the start of the year. Was onto a recruitment friend of mine yesterday, and she said that there are jobs out there, but that companies have put filling them hold for the time being. As they dont know whats going to happen with the economy and stuff. So I wouldnt be walking out of my job just yet. Maybe thats just in the marketing area in Cork though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Interesting stories. Yes if you are unhappy - you are doing no favours to anyone by staying really.

But why not give notice? Get a ref a least.

I never walked out in this fashion but have quit twice without having a new one lined up. Don't regret a thing.

In the second instance, I packed it in after 7 months and my only regret is not walking after 2 weeks - cos I even knew then it wasn't going to work. There are some horrid individuals out there in workplaces.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I've been tempted to walk out of my job many a time,but as one poster said there are'nt a lot of jobs out there at the moment so your better of staying until the econemy improves anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

yes
    i seem to have had a temper in my younger days
    i have been fired twice an walked out twice

i told one manager that i would throw him out the window if he talked to me again and left

now i own my own business

the fear of working for another fool has driven me to it

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I remember a few years ago in my first full time job.

Was getting paid £8500 a year running one entire company on my own, the girl that was there before me was earning over 3 times that and i was suppose to go on level par pay to what she was getting.
    Didn't take anytime off in 6 months because my son was due to be born at the end of the year so was taking the leave together. 2 days before my son was born I got called into a meeting where my boss and her boss were giving out to me saying that I couldn't go on leave etc etc. When I got back to my desk after lunch there was a letter on my desk, I opened it and it was an official warning. I don't know why so I walked out the door and rang them the next morning and told them to stick the crummy job where the sun don't shine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

yes and I'd do it again.

few years ago i took a job as a field service engineer. it was advertised as Dublin only and at both interviews i stressed that if it was outside Dublin i didn't want it and the guy verified it was.

day 1 no van and no tools ready for me. so i drove about the city in my own car. i come back into the office and I'm handed a list of jobs over the next month. Tipp, Cork, Kerry , Galway, Waterford. All roll outs and all start on a Friday work the weekend and come back to Dublin Sunday night bright eyed for work Monday morning. walked into the boss told him to change it that we had agreed Dublin only. he told me to sleep on it. i laughed and said if i come in here at lunch tomorrow and it's not changed I'm walking out. came in the next day and he called me into the office, handed me a cell phone, car keys and fuel card and a list of jobs for the day. I asked about the schedule and he said it wasn't going to be changed. so i handed him his stuff back and said "bye now" and walked out the door, he came after me and said i couldn't walk out as I'd signed a contract so i told him to sue me. the agency that placed me called the next day screaming blue murder and i told them where to go too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Yep once while in Canada. Was doing a telemarketing job and lets just say telemarketers aren't the most liked people over there even though I was raising money for charity.

So anyway about 10 of us started together and slowly over the course of the first week everyone left until there was only me working full time and two girls part time. So I went in one morning/afternoon (cant remember) and my first call went something like this.

Me: "Hi I'm calling in connection with"
    Other: "Are you a telemarketer"
    Me: "Well I'm callin in relation with [Charity Name]"
    Other: "why dont you just f*ck off"

So I did, hung up the phone got up walked over to the manager said I aint doing this anymore I'll pick up my check on Friday and home I went.

Met the other two girls on there way into work who gave out to me for putting the thought of quitting in there head, they lasted about 20mins before they quit.

In fairness though they were used to it happening as it is really a hard job to put up with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

dade wrote: »
    yes and I'd do it again.

few years ago i took a job as a field service engineer. it was advertised as Dublin only and at both interviews i stressed that if it was outside Dublin i didn't want it and the guy verified it was.

day 1 no van and no tools ready for me. so i drove about the city in my own car. i come back into the office and I'm handed a list of jobs over the next month. Tipp, Cork, Kerry , Galway, Waterford. All roll outs and all start on a Friday work the weekend and come back to Dublin Sunday night bright eyed for work Monday morning. walked into the boss told him to change it that we had agreed Dublin only. he told me to sleep on it. i laughed and said if i come in here at lunch tomorrow and it's not changed I'm walking out. came in the next day and he called me into the office, handed me a cell phone, car keys and fuel card and a list of jobs for the day. I asked about the schedule and he said it wasn't going to be changed. so i handed him his stuff back and said "bye now" and walked out the door, he came after me and said i couldn't walk out as I'd signed a contract so i told him to sue me. the agency that placed me called the next day screaming blue murder and i told them where to go too.

Hehe I love this one. How dare an agency call you and give out to you?! Is this even allowed? Who did they think they were, your mother?

What did they say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭cork*girl

didnt walk out really.. working in a hotel. HATED the job! so i said i was quitting. i was told that i was only need for 1 more day. went in that dat to find i was on the roster for 2more days after that. I know. not to much of a big deal but this is the boss who you tell you cant work some day about 3weeks in advance and still puts ou down to work and then pretends he cant remember you telling him.. happened abou 5times to me alone. and i needed a few days off because of school..told him 2months before and he wrote it on the chart. what do you know? down to work those very days. so just walked out. told the other manager i was sick of him. they agreed with me and said no bother. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

Elessar wrote: »
    Hehe I love this one. How dare an agency call you and give out to you?! Is this even allowed? Who did they think they were, your mother?

What did they say?

he basically said yer man had called him saying I'd walked out and gave the agency some crap so he wanted the details. i told them and the agency started going on about how i should just stick it out. and i told them no that i was mislead from the very first interview. he went on about how unprofessional it would look and it would look bad on my CV. so i replied "Eh do you honestly think I'd put a sh1thole like that on my CV? not once did you ask what went wrong or why i felt the need to leave, you knew damn well that i wanted Dublin based only and chances are you knew that this role entailed more, and if not then your client mislead you so from a professional point of vie you should cut all ties with them, like i am going to do with you now pìss of and don't call me again".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Twice

Working as a kitchen porter and was talking abuse from a chef take would reduce Gordon Ramsey to tears. I don’t what it is about chefs, many are filled with rage.
    Got a pan thrown at me and walked out.

Worked in a callcentre trying to sell insurance.
    The majority of people roared abuse or hung up, I didn’t mind that.
    Once I ran a guy and he was sooooooo nice. He asked to call another time and he explained he was about to go to the funeral for his son who drowned a few days ago. I definitly believe he was genuine, it wasn't just a story

I’m no wimp but that was upsetting and I couldn’t do the job after that. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭bobbi

I walked out once. I was only young 14/15 working in a pub.
    Our manager was a complete D*ck. He couldn't ask you to do anything he just shouted at you in front of everyone.
    My friend worked there at the same time and wouldn't allow us go within 5 feet of each other which
    is fair enough but wouldn't allow us sit together on our lunch-breaks.
    The last straw was when he went on a shouting rampage about lettuce. I went into the staff-room took my belongings and
    just left. It was a great relief, best decision ever.

Also came close to walking out working the Ryder cup. Used to be getting up at 4:30am, not getting home till 8pm. We working 8am - 4:30pm
    and they barley gave us a half hour lunch. Our lunch would also be whatever left overs were there from breakfast and sandwichs that were going off.Nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

A guy I know left his job under brilliant circumstances.

This happened about 8 years ago. He was in a job he hated but had to do in order to pay the bills etc. Anyways it was a Sunday night around 11pm and he had his break and went over to the shop to get something to eat(he worked in Dublin City Centre). While he was there he decided to check his lotto numbers. He didnt always do the lotto as money was tight but he had done it this particular weekend.

Well guess what?? He had gotten 6 numbers. Only one winner and it was him and he won 1.1 million pounds. So off he trotted (in a daze) went back to work and announced over the intercom that he had just won the lotto and was leaving his job that minutes.

I SWEAR that this story is true. Im not making it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 oriain

Walked out twice and I'd do it again in a heartbeat if I had to.

First time, I was working through school in Supervalu for 3 years. I wanted to have the job through College (i truly don't know why, it was a crap job. We were treated by management as if we were a burden. It's just all the staff united in hatred lol) so I asked my manager about a leave of absence for study and the exams and I was told that it'd be no problem at all, I'd just have to put it in writing. I put it in writing and heard nothing for a month. There was only two weeks to go until I told them I wanted to leave and asked, I was told that they were still looking into it but there'd be no problem and don't worry. So I left it thinking it'd be fine. The day before I was due to leave I was told that they didn't want to give me the time off. I asked why and was told that she was the manager and she makes the decisions and I'm not allowed to leave. So, I finished my day, went home and didn't show up to work. it was funny when I did go in to get a carton of milk. she started screaming at me in the middle of the floor. I told her that it was no way to speak to a customer and made an official complaint. lol.

Second time was Carphone Warehouse. I was only there for two days before I got a better job offer from my hunting so I took that and pretended I've never worked for CPW ever since! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Yup, in a small shop on the beach. The woman that owned it actually came into my previous job to recruit me, said she was very impressed and she listed out all the benefits of the job and how much she'd love to have me working there. Also she was thinking of setting up an internet cafe and was looking for advice. Did everything in my power to help her, including organining meet up's with reps from Dell, babysitting her kids and completely rennovated the shop she was setting up on the beach. When she didn't make enough money to cover costs, she accused me of stealing, and then completely ignored everything i had set up for her for her internet cafe.

I walked that day and watched an laughed as she got a 2MB internet line split over 24 computers for her "internet cafe". Karma is a blessing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

foxyboxer wrote: »
    Have I ever walked out of a job?
    I've had a hatrick in my time.
    The first was for an industrial security company in 2002, lovingly described as a 'static' security guard. It was after final exams in college, the site was the now completed Ballincollig bypass in Cork. Was supposed to work from 8pm to 8am in a cabin on my own. (shudder at the thought), rang my dad who drives a taxi and left the place at 2am. Never showed up there again.

2nd was with a 'technical' support company in cork which was pretty much a glorified receptionist job. you know the thing, taking technical details and ' ' to the 2nd level support. resetting passwords etc. the people working there were fine but the job was soul destroyingly repetitive. one day i was so pissed off, i deliberatley hung up on a number of calls. didn't really care for the job, with crap pay and crappier prospects. obviously this was noticed through micromanagement, a meeting was called and i remember saying ' i know what this is about and let me just say i'd like to leave.....now' i was escorted to my desk and packed my things away and let me tell you, the weight is was lifted off my shoulders. 2nd best thing i ever did.

the best thing i ever did (well worst if you consider accepting in the first place :-)), was leaving another tech support job (a pattern emerges!) in little island in cork. this job was purely taken on the basis of getting an income and the job was utter rubbish with a level of micro management i have never seen. "You were 30 seconds late coming back from lunch" kind of thing. I was a bit more diplomatic this time saying that i didn't want the job and i would work until a replacement was found but after a day i gave up and said i was leaving.

thankfully, i have now found the IT job i was looking for (from a recommendation from a fellow boardsie!), as a test consultant (work actually applicable to a degree education), the kind of job that rewards good work (spot bonuses), provides a clearly defined career path, and is a leading provider of training (course which cost in the thousands are free to employees) and has allowed me to travel to South Africa and around the UK on an expense account saving me a small fortune in the process. Karma at work for sure.

the point is if you hate a job, then you need to find something else. period. it will depress you in the long term if you stay, as i've learned from my experience.

First job: You just left after a few hours because you didnt like the thought of working through the night on your own, despite (obviously) knowing the hours and work condition beforehand.

Second Job: You effectively were about to get fired but walked out of it before they could actually fire you. You were getting fired for hanging up on customers because you were pissed off. Your words.

Third Job: You decided that you didn't want it, and told them that you would work until they found a replacement, but after a day you changed your mind.

Sounds like you're a model employee!
    Also, you've included too much information about your current job.
    A company that does software testing, sends employees to South Africa for training, the expense account, etc...
    Its obvious enough to me who your company is, and I have almost no ties whatsoever with them. I'd imagine that if your boss was reading, he'd recognise the company.

If one were to have a look at your last five posts, one would see your date of birth (19/11/1980). I'd imagine that your boss would easily know who you are from those two posts alone.
    Point is, that if he/she were to see how badly you've acted in your last three jobs, they mightn't like it, and it would hamper future job prospects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

FuzzyLogic wrote: »
    First job: You just left after a few hours because you didnt like the thought of working through the night on your own, despite (obviously) knowing the hours and work condition beforehand.

Second Job: You effectively were about to get fired but walked out of it before they could actually fire you. You were getting fired for hanging up on customers because you were pissed off. Your words.

Third Job: You decided that you didn't want it, and told them that you would work until they found a replacement, but after a day you changed your mind.

A company that does software testing, sends employees to South Africa for training, the expense account, etc...
    Its obvious enough to me who your company is, and I have almost no ties whatsoever with them. I'd imagine that if your boss was reading, he'd recognise the company.

If one were to have a look at your last five posts, one would see your date of birth (19/11/1980). I'd imagine that your boss would easily know who you are from those two posts alone.
    Point is, that if he/she were to see how badly you've acted in your last three jobs, they mightn't like it, and it would hamper future job prospects.

well, well,
    ok, first job, worked this through college, 4 years (during time off)
    knew the job, and lost patience.

graudated with IT degree in 2002, perfect timing. no recruitment. ended up soul destroying, mind numbing work which i hated with a passion, so yeah, not exactly a model employee, jobs not related to what i studied for in any way. they are no longer on my CV.

but the thing is, i love what i'm doing now and was pointing out to the OP that yes, we've all had crappy jobs, but there is light at the ned of the long tunnel.

he's probably old enough to deal with the reprecussions of posting on the web:D

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Sorta. Was working in a printers. Job entailed cleaning the printing machines and generally helping out the other workers.

Over the course of the job my hours got back to 1 day a week.
    Had one week without work. Went and got another job which took me on 5 days a week.

The following week, previous employer contacts me on a Thursday to ask me to come in for half a day!!:eek:
    Basically told him that I'd got another job and it wasn't worth my time to stay with him.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

I used to work in a bar/cinema in temple bar (doesn't take a genius to work out where) and in my tenure there (7 months) i was practically a veteran. I easily saw 5 or six WALK out in my time there aswell as the ridiculous turnover rate. Reason being the bar/restauraunt manager, (who VERY rarely actually serves behind the bar - i saw him pull only a handful of pints when i was there) is an absolute pr*ck in every sense and treated staff (especially males) with complete and utter contempt.
    I remember him roaring at an employee for making a coffee for a member of the cinema staff and not charging staff prices. Needless to say that guy checked out and walked.
    Something i'll always regret is not telling that c**t where to stick his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Ohh, yes, could see that going down like sh*t rain at a garden party when introduced as evidence in the Labour Court.

"Yes, m'lud, I basically stalked our previous employee on boards.ie and found an unpleasant recidivistic employment pattern..."

Jebus, some people begrudge a happy ending. Go Fuzzylogic, I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Yeah working in Tesco. They put me on the till. I hated it.

One day some ignorant dickhead customer start roaring at me for some reason. Got up....went up to the till supervisor and said I quit...walked out with my head hight along with a two finger salute to the ****head who was annoying me.

Nope it was more advice, some peoples employers would get ratty with that and it could affect promotion, rather than anything official.

Lulz btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

1. Was working behind the bar in a pub/restraunt when the owner manager arrived in and gave me **** simply because he was in a bad mood so I walked out from behind the bar while riping the work shirt off, droped it to the floor and went home.

2. Started a direct contract job for a pharma (it) it wasn't what I was told It was going to be and was mind numbingly boring so by 11am I was walking home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

bobbi wrote: »
    Also came close to walking out working the Ryder cup. Used to be getting up at 4:30am, not getting home till 8pm. We working 8am - 4:30pm
    and they barley gave us a half hour lunch. Our lunch would also be whatever left overs were there from breakfast and sandwichs that were going off.Nightmare.

You weren't workin for dan, were ya? I nearly clocked that dick head myself. Jesus, he was a muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

DarkJager wrote: »
    Only once, and that was Dunnes Stores back in my college days (the horrors of working those kind of jobs just to survive :)). I'm sure its common knowledge that most Dunnes managers are just jumped up schoolboys in suits. Anyway this one manager was an absolute prick. He used to come around to check how the shelves had been stacked, and if they were wrong, he'd deliberately mess them up and make the staff do them again.

Unfortunately for him, he did it to me on a day I was extremely hungover. Deciding that I was sick of smelling like cat food every night, sick of this twat in a suit and the sh1tty pay, I knocked him out and walked. Its hard to describe the feeling really, just walking out the door knowing you couldn't give a fcuk if you're employed or not!

I know the feeling, used to work there too, what a nightmare. Many a time did i dream of punching them and walking out :D. Em i left a job after 9 hours recently because it was just crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Yeah, happened to me nearly 10 years ago. I got a job which involved training me from scratch. I was supposed to learn everything within 2 weeks, after which their system went live. My training was rubbish, I couldn't read the manuals because they were in German (I don't speak German) and the girl who was supposed to be training me was getting caught in the crossfire of some sort of office politics which was upsetting her. To add to the fun, the woman I was supposed to work closely with was a rotten beeatch who loved showing off that she spoke German and made me feel like a piece of dirt. I lasted til about 11am on day 3 when I blew the head and walked out.

I was extremely lucky in that an old boss had a temporary job going which I fell in for, though it took me a while to get a decent job. I've never regretted for one moment walking out of that job though. It led to my eventually getting another job that involved a career change and my current job that I love.

Walking out of that office was a euphoric feeling. I don't think I'd repeat it again just for that feeling though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Worked in a newsagents for 2 days. Hated it and didn't go back in on teh 3rd day. Very glad I did it, got a much nicer summer job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

I hated my last job and used to walk out of it every day. Always came back in the next morning though.

Started a job in a computer shop in February 2007. Walked out after 2½ weeks for several reasons. He had a CCTV system which recorded sound as well as video (we once got a call from his girlfriend telling us to get back to work because she heard us talking among ourselves). I also didn't like the way he was treating me. I had no regrets for walking out, got a much better job the next month.

Karsini wrote: »
    (we once got a call from his girlfriend telling us to get back to work because she heard us talking among ourselves).

:eek: what business was it of hers, i would have told her where to go and walked out then and there but then again im very hot headed :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

some very interesting stories here. Just out of curiosity, of all those who walked out of a job, how many had a mortgage and children at the time of doing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭srdb20

Walked out of a part time job when i was 16, was working in a freezer on my first day and when i asked for a jacket (everyone else seemed to have one) as it was bloody cold, i was told they dont have any at the moment:eek:.

So i said i was going to the jax and that was it never went back!!!

Grand total of 4 hours i lasted!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Firetrap wrote: »
    Yeah, happened to me nearly 10 years ago. I got a job which involved training me from scratch. I was supposed to learn everything within 2 weeks, after which their system went live. My training was rubbish, I couldn't read the manuals because they were in German (I don't speak German) and the girl who was supposed to be training me was getting caught in the crossfire of some sort of office politics which was upsetting her. To add to the fun, the woman I was supposed to work closely with was a rotten beeatch who loved showing off that she spoke German and made me feel like a piece of dirt. I lasted til about 11am on day 3 when I blew the head and walked out.

I was extremely lucky in that an old boss had a temporary job going which I fell in for, though it took me a while to get a decent job. I've never regretted for one moment walking out of that job though. It led to my eventually getting another job that involved a career change and my current job that I love.

Walking out of that office was a euphoric feeling. I don't think I'd repeat it again just for that feeling though :)

:eek: You were unlucky not to make senior management after that shrewd move Firetrap !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

DarkJager wrote: »

Is that something you are proud of?

eoin_s wrote: »
    Is that something you are proud of?

Doing something like that may not always make you feel proud after but it will make you feel good at the time and thats probably the feeling the poster was going for!! When you reach the end of your tether with a job you can be driven to do anything.

I know thinking back if i'd had the courage to do that in my previous job by god i would have, but i would have had good reason and would have never looked back or felt guilty. Workplace bullying was a huge problem in my previous job and there was no point in going to HR cuz they were 10 times worse. While the poster may have over-reacted maybe this was the only solution they saw at the time! Doesn't necessarily mean they are proud of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

The only circumstance I could see that being the only solution for would be self defence. Otherwise it's nothing but pure thuggery IMO.

I'm no fan of Dunnes managers, and yeah I do agree that they are mostly jumped up schoolboys in suits. But its better to be the jumped up schoolboy in a suit than an angry bottom feeder who can't even stack a shelf properly.

Somewhere theres a Junior manager in Dunnes who has another story of an ungrateful, hungover, degenerate college kid punching him and knocking him out at work.
    All because the hungover fella didn't face off the shelves properly and he tried to get him to do his job properly.

Sounds like you're a bit of a knacker really, lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭experiMental

It's so hard to find a job right now, that it would be a mortal sin to walk out of it.