Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heineken Cup Pool Draw 2008/2009

• 17-06-2008 10:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭

Pool 1 -
    Munster
    Sale Sharks
    ASM Clermont Auvergne
    Montauban

Pool 2 -
    London Wasps
    Leinster
    Castres Olympic
    Edinburgh

Pool 3 -
    Leicester Tigers
    Perpignan
    Ospreys
    Beneton Treviso

Pool 4 -
    Stade Francais Paris
    Llanelli Scarlets
    Ulster
    Harlequins

Pool 5 -
    Toulouse
    Bath
    Newport Gwent Dragons
    Glasgow Warriors

Pool 6 -
    Biarritz Olympic
    Gloucester
    Cardiff Blues
    Calvisano

Let me know what you think,
    Munster and Clermont again,could it be worse, I think Sale are not the same team they were two years ago and we should get 10 points against Montauban, I've seen them play and they're not that good.

Source: http://ercrugby.com/eng/12_10467.php
    Watch Draw: http://play.wm.sotic.servecast.net/ondemand1/sotic/erc/1896.wmv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭kev_s88

check out the other thread :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

Pool 1 -
    Munster
    Sale Sharks
    ASM Clermont Auvergne
    Montauban

Pool 2 -
    London Wasps
    Leinster Tigers
    Castres Olympic
    Edinburgh

Pool 3 -
    Leicester
    Perpignan
    Ospreys
    BenetonTreviso

Pool 4 -
    Stade Francais
    Llanelli
    Ulster
    Harlequins

Pool 5 -
    Toulouse
    Bath
    Newport Gwent Dragons
    Glasgow

Pool 6 -
    Biarritz
    Gloucester
    Cardiff Blues
    Calvisano

Let me know what you think,
    Munster and Clermont again,could it be worse, I think Sale are not the same team they were two years ago and we should get 10 points against Montauban, I've seen them play and they're not that good.

Leicester and Leinster tigers lol

Clermont are the best team in the comp and sale will be a very good team next year.Munster got a nasty draw considering they won it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Posted via Mobile Deviceleinsters draw is terrible as well! i think for both leinster and munster its close to worst case scnario...cant believe we got edinburgh again! haha complete bogie team! but what better time will there be to put that hex to bed? wasps was worst case scenario imo cause even if we got toulose we'd get a welsh third seed, only castres instead of claremont kept it from being the worst possible draw, still very tough. but bring it on, time to step up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

those 2 trips down to france are going to tough and I reckon our home match with clermont will be closer this time. don't think they'll make the same mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭RodVelvet

If Matt Williams can get Ulster into shape, they don't seem to have a bad draw on the face of it. Seems easier than Leinsters anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Pools 1 and 6 are the tough ones the rest are fine.(by fine I mean 2 strong teams only)
    Leinster should qualify. Munster will as usual earn it but should just make it. Ulster? who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Toulouse came out of that draw in the best position of any team, IMO. I'd be very surprised if they don't come out as the first qualifier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Pshan

buck65 wrote: »
    Pools 1 and 6 are the tough ones the rest are fine.(by fine I mean 2 strong teams only)
    Leinster should qualify. Munster will as usual earn it but should just make it. Ulster? who knows.

Do you not see two teams coming from Pool 6?

The teams I see advancing to the qualifiers are:

Pool 1 - either Munster, Clermont or Sale
    Pool 2 - Wasps or Leinster (cant see Castres coming through)
    Pool 3 - Leicester and Perpignan, Ospreys might give Leicest a run for the 2nd spot.
    Pool 4 - Stade Francais
    Pool 5 - Toulouse
    Pool 6 - Biarritz and Gloucester

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Ah! Pshan you beat me to it, a well here's mine.

I know its way to soon to be making a list like this, but I'm bored.
    The list corresponds to end of year form and is in no particular order.

Pool Winers -
    London Wasps / Leinster
    Munster
    Leicester Tigers
    Stade Francais Paris
    Toulouse
    Gloucester

Two best runner-ups -
    London Wasps / Leinster
    ASM Clermont Auvergne

Both London Wasps and Leinster should brush aside Castres and Edinburgh and it will come down to the 2 games between the two.
    Munster and Clermont will probably come down to bonus points, again!!
    If Ulster get there act together they might get a runner up spot.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

crash_000 wrote: »
    Toulouse came out of that draw in the best position of any team, IMO. I'd be very surprised if they don't come out as the first qualifier.

Bath will be Toulose's only real worry and I can't see them winning down in France so they are looking fairly handy to get out of their pool at least.

Leinster are clearly cursed. Bloody Edinburgh, aside from being Leinster's complete bogey team, they are by some way the strongest 4th tier team I would say. This just isn't funny.

Two best runner-ups -
    London Wasps / Leinster
    ASM Clermont Auvergne

Both London Wasps and Leinster should brush aside Castres and Edinburgh and it will come down to the 2 games between the two.
    Munster and Clermont will probably come down to bonus points, again!!
    If Ulster get there act together they might get a runner up spot.

If Leinster do anything more than struggle a home victory against Edinburgh I'll be shocked. They are a damn good team who are improving and I don't see Wasps necessarily getting anything out of them at Murrayfield either. No way two teams go through from that pool.

Did anyone else hear the thoughts of the Munster representative on his reaction to the draw,
    He was not happy at all with the outcome.

Confirmation of the 2008/2009 draw: http://ercrugby.com/eng/12_10467.php

Think I'll head over for the Wasps match definitely anyway, maybe the edinburgh match too if I can make it.

Wouldnt mind heading to castres though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

hey are by some way the strongest 4th tier team I would say. This just isn't funny.
    Glasgow finished two points behind them in the ML.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    If Leinster do anything more than struggle a home victory against Edinburgh I'll be shocked. They are a damn good team who are improving and I don't see Wasps necessarily getting anything out of them at Murrayfield either. No way two teams go through from that pool.

What do you mean no way 2 teams will come out of that group?

2 have to come out.

Glasgow finished two points behind them in the ML.

Indeed, but I still think Edinburgh are the much better team, especially at home. They've both improved immensely though. Also Edinburgh could send out 15 players from their minis team and probably still beat Leinster.

dc69 wrote: »

2 have to come out.

There are 8 teams in total that go into the quarter-finals.

The 6 pool winers and two runners-up with the highest amount of points after the 6 pool games.

2 have to come out.

Huh? Only the two best runner ups come out of the pools...

Double post, sorry :(

My bad,I forgot.about that.

Leinster wont go through:(.

stupid way of doing it,should be 2 go through and runner up plays a winner.

My bad,I forgot.about that.

Leinster wont go through:(.

It should, but that's not workable with the current number of pools. It would require a reduction to 4 pools of 6 or an increase to 8 pools of 3. Or a change in the number of teams.

eh...this post made more sense before the quoted one was edited mid-posting!

Podge_irl wrote: »
    It should, but that's not workable with the current number of pools. It would require a reduction to 4 pools of 6 or an increase to 8 pools of 3. Or a change in the number of teams.

eh...this post made more sense before the quoted one was edited mid-posting!

re edited it.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Edinburgh again, I can't believe it.

Think Leinster will be lucky to make it out of that pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Another seriously nasty group for Munster!

Just when it made sense to seed teams on their past euro performances, Munster get bitten on the ass drawing Clermont as third seeds! Sale are a very strong side. They missed out a premiership semi final spot on the last day and Luke McAllister and co will be well able to compete with Munster and Clermont, both home and away.

Only one team coming out of this group i'm afraid! :(

Never mind Edinburgh and Wasps, Castres are a decent team too and winning down there will be far from easy and not a hope in hell that second in this group will go through as bonus points will be scarce for winners, only losing ones will be handed out imo.

Typically, you can afford to lose one game and if you get a bp and pick up one or two with wins then winning the group or highest 2nd place is reasonable.

So I would say (obviously try and win every game!) the way through is:
    Wasps - Win by 8 or more at home, lose with bp away
    Edinburgh - Bp win at home, just feckin win away
    Castres - any sort of win home and away

That would do it.

Touogh, but not impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

Gah - another flipping scottish team ....... Edinburgh & Glasgow seem to have had our number on scottish soil the last while ......... the buggers may have us over there ....... it'd be nice to se Wasps .... didn't see any games outside the country last season, so might be time to do that again ......

Some interesting groups there ..... Munster getting two french sides .... ouch!!!!

Two best runner-ups -
    London Wasps / Leinster
    ASM Clermont Auvergne

I cant see two teams qualifying from either of those two groups - too tight altogether.
    Did anyone else hear the thoughts of the Munster representative on his reaction to the draw,
    He was not happy at all with the outcome.

It was the CEO (Garrett Fitzgerald), he was hardly going to be jumping up and down with excitement whatever teams we got. We got a stiff group and with the changes in personell (team & backroom staff) it makes Munster vunerable.
    crash_000 wrote: »
    Think I'll head over for the Wasps match definitely anyway, maybe the edinburgh match too if I can make it.

Wouldnt mind heading to castres though ;)

If Wasps take the game to Covnetry, stay at home it's a dive, no rugby atmosphere in the town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Bah humbug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Groups 4 and 6 are extremely open.

Leinster given another nightmare pool for doing well.

Munster get a okay pool Sale arent that great lads they were massively exposed by Sale in the challenge cup and have been inconsistent in the premiership that said they could do some upset. The question is whether Clermount will take next year seriously depends all on how they do in the TOP14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

leinster will win the three home games, get hammered by wasps away and lose more closely to castre and god knows what will happen to us in Edinburgh

And ****.... i've just realised i'm getting married on a H Cup weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Wasps will be missing Cipriani at the start of the season though, so Leinster might get lucky.

Still they'll have Flutey or Walder playing {if he recovers fast enough} then they have Betsen in the back row too make things worse =(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Stev_o wrote: »
    Still they'll have Flutey or Walder playing {if he recovers fast enough} then they have Betsen in the back row too make things worse =(

Jeez, just trying to make you feel better.

RuggieBear wrote: »
    leinster will win the three home games, get hammered by wasps away and lose more closely to castre and god knows what will happen to us in Edinburgh

And ****.... i've just realised i'm getting married on a H Cup weekend.

Congratulations...of course if you were a real fan, you'd postpone the wedding...:rolleyes: :D
    Jeez, just trying to make you feel better.

hehe, to be fair it's sinking in through the day how tough this group is going to be...I honestly couldn't hack another group exit! :(

No, if he was a real fan he'd have a tv beside the priest ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭Scootay

I don't get why everyone (well the Newstalk and RTÉ news anyway) is saying that Munster have a tough group. Last time I looked they were reigning champions and top seeds in Europe so shouldn't the other teams be the ones seeing it as a tough group? I'm not saying that Munster will breeze through it but the impression been given is that they are the underdogs which is obviously nonsense.

RuggieBear wrote: »
    god knows what will happen to us in Edinburgh

We'll lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

Leinster given another nightmare pool for doing well.

I'm not sure losing to Edinburgh and failing to qualify out of our group is 'doing well' :(

Unfortunatley Magners League dosen't affect the seedings..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Sparky14

At least Dallaghlio and Frazer Waters are gone tho, 2 stalwarts they'll hopefully miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

karmabass wrote: »
    I'm not sure losing to Edinburgh and failing to qualify out of our group is 'doing well' :(

Unfortunatley Magners League dosen't affect the seedings..

Last year Irish seedings were determined by ML Placings - Leinster, Ulster, Munster was the order - didn't do anyone any good.

Now we have this new system that only uses historic HC form.....so after this year when Toulon make their 1st HC they'll be 4th seeds, much like Clermont are 3rd seeds.......whatever way it's done you can still get screwed.

Inq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Scootay wrote: »
    I don't get why everyone (well the Newstalk and RTÉ news anyway) is saying that Munster have a tough group. Last time I looked they were reigning champions and top seeds in Europe so shouldn't the other teams be the ones seeing it as a tough group? I'm not saying that Munster will breeze through it but the impression been given is that they are the underdogs which is obviously nonsense.

I agree with you, munster have got a tough group for sure but they are champions and should easily win all their home games and at least 2 away games. Sale have some good players but are still an average team and very beatable. While Clermont are an excellent team they have very little HEC experience and munster should take advantage of that. Similarly with Montauban first time in the HEC, BP win at home and a great chance to get an away win in france.

As for leinsters group, id like to think we will win all or home games not sure if we will get many BP at home. I also think 2 wins on the road is possible, edinburgh are a very beatable team if Leinster get their heads around it and then hope we catch castres or wasps unaware on their own grounds

In case anyone wanted to watch the draw,

http://play.wm.sotic.servecast.net/ondemand1/sotic/erc/1896.wmv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Are Edinburgh going to be playing in Murrayfield again this year? I've a feeling that the giant empty stadium effect may be one of the reasons why Leinster can't seem to win there.

pithater1 wrote: »
    Are Edinburgh going to be playing in Murrayfield again this year? I've a feeling that the giant empty stadium effect may be one of the reasons why Leinster can't seem to win there.

Season tickets are sold out according to their site and in fairness the big reason it was so empty this year was because of the rumours of Edinburgh breaking away from the SRU.

I really hope Hadden gets sacked soon that means Robinson will get the job Edinburgh will be weakened and everyone will be happy bar when Ireland play Scotland :(

What's ye'r fear with Edinburgh? They should be easilly beatable by a squad as strong as Leinster. Professional teams shouldn't be into bogey teams or stadia, if Leinster get too taken up witht he whole Edinburgh thing then they may miss the elephant in the room that are two good teams - Wasps and Castres.

Pshan wrote: »
    What's ye'r fear with Edinburgh? They should be easilly beatable by a squad as strong as Leinster. Professional teams shouldn't be into bogey teams or stadia, if Leinster get too taken up witht he whole Edinburgh thing then they may miss the elephant in the room that are two good teams - Wasps and Castres.

I dunno something about them beating us each time we go to Murrayfield and ruining our plans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Season tickets are sold out according to their site and in fairness the big reason it was so empty this year was because of the rumours of Edinburgh breaking away from the SRU.

I really hope Hadden gets sacked soon that means Robinson will get the job Edinburgh will be weakened and everyone will be happy bar when Ireland play Scotland :(

Just went onto their site and according to it they've sold the grand total of 1035. Surely they have smaller stadia than Murrayfield in Edinburgh. I hate watching matches attended by 2-3000 people in a stadium designed for 70,000, almost a funeral like atmosphere at these games. Seeing as the Leinster team is used to playing in front of a roaring crowd I can't help but think that the soalless atmosphere of Murrayfield affects them.

Just a heads up to anyone heading to the Munster game against Montauban, you would want to be getting tickets as soon as they come out.
    According to worldstadiums.com, their home ground can only hold 6'500 unless they move to a bigger stadium for their three home games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

pithater1 wrote: »
    Just went onto their site and according to it they've sold the grand total of 1035. Surely they have smaller stadia than Murrayfield in Edinburgh. I hate watching matches attended by 2-3000 people in a stadium designed for 70,000, almost a funeral like atmosphere at these games. Seeing as the Leinster team is used to playing in front of a roaring crowd I can't help but think that the soalless atmosphere of Murrayfield affects them.

Unlikely they'll switch it from a ground they've had such success against Leinster on................

Just a heads up to anyone heading to the Munster game against Montauban, you would want to be getting tickets as soon as they come out.
    According to worldstadiums.com, their home ground can only hold 6'500 unless they move to a bigger stadium for their three home games.

If that's the case then those tickets wouldn't even go on public sale, I'd imagine all of Munsters allocation would be bought up by season ticket holders and is it's Montauban's first season in Europe and they're playing the European champions, I wouldn't say they'd have too much trouble selling out their share.

Although it's more likely they'll use Europe as a bit of a money spinner and move to a bigger ground imo.