Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snobby siblings

• 16-06-2008 12:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭

I have 6 sisters, one of them married into money and now thinks shes "someone" i mean the "I wouldnt be caught dead shopping in Aldi/Lidl type, or the "I only drink imported red wine from 1985"(cos apparantly white wine is for commoners)

She wreaks my head and i avoid her at all costs as shes ashamed that im just a humble cleaner (Omg im shaming the family according to her) PAH! She was raised the same as us, ya swear she was raised by a queen with the notions she has about herself.

ANYHOO after having a discussion with most of my mates it turns out almost everyone i know has a stuck up sibling, weather it be from marrying into money, their good lucks or just TOTAL false notions

So fess up , who here has a snobby sibling and what makes them the way they are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I've only 2 siblings, but neither of them are stuck up!

Oh and i'm not the stuck up sibling before anybody say's anything :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Not with my lot, that said i'm the eldest and the other two are too young to have had that happen them yet.

Theres an uncle on the mothers side who fits that stereotype though, he's got high notions for himself and is up to his neck in debt from trying to show how he's so loaded by building extensions that he can't afford trading in for the newest car every year and so on. Its all going to come back and bite him on the arse presently enough though, he cant really keep it up much longer.

To be honest i'd rather be broke and happy instead of up to my neck in debt trying to keep up appearances.

Theres another uncle on the fathers side who has a touch of that as well but he's generally fine, can actually afford what he does but doesn't push it in peoples faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Just keep calling her Hyacinth.

Also AFAIK would it not be more of a commoner type thing to make the mistake of drinking red wine when eating white meat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Nouveau riche drives me nuts. Too bad there are so many around these days thinking their farts smell like roses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭baby_blu

farohar wrote: »
    Just keep calling her Hyacinth.

its scary u just said that, its EXACTLY what we call her

Also AFAIK would it not be more of a commoner type thing to make the mistake of drinking red wine when eating white meat?

Is it, i never knew that? Guess i am common so :)

baby_blu wrote: »
    its scary u just said that, its EXACTLY what we call her

Please tell me you occasionally switch it to Mrs. Bucket too, leave her to correct you if she dare accept that she is the embodiement of the character.
    Is it, i never knew that? Guess i am common so :)
    Most people wouldn't, it's one of those daft archaic things no-one listens to anymore, just could be useful to poke fun at her. Damned if I know how they decided what to eat with a Rosé though.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭OrangeDaisy

My friend has a brother just like that.....at a recent family christening he was eating and drinking away until someone mentioned that the party food had come from tesco. Didn't touch anything after that and said to the person who was hosting the party that if they hadn't enough money to get food from M&S they should.ve asked him for help!!

Please tell me you occasionally switch it to Mrs. Bucket too, leave her to correct you if she dare accept that she is the embodiement of the character.

oh yea! dad is the only one who calls her mrs bucket, oh she corrects us and he laughs and says " Richards looking for you":D

Scary thing is her husband is the HEAD of emmet:)

said to the person who was hosting the party that if they hadn't enough money to get food from M&S they should.ve asked him for help!!
    I hope he got a punch in the face for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

Snobs make me SO ANGRY!

My friend has a brother just like that.....at a recent family christening he was eating and drinking away until someone mentioned that the party food had come from tesco. Didn't touch anything after that and said to the person who was hosting the party that if they hadn't enough money to get food from M&S they should.ve asked him for help!!

I hope he got told where to go after that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

what a twat.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

"(cos apparantly white wine is for commoners)

Well, in fairness, she's not wrong there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭OrangeDaisy

BrynW wrote: »
    I hope he got told where to go after that!!
    They just laughed into his face....funnily enough he wasn't invited to the next shindig

A specific corollary of the Rule is that white wines tend to go best with fish and white meats, like chicken and pork; red wines go best with red meat and red sauces.
    http://www.soyouwanna.com/site/syws/basicwine/basicwine2.html

Knew I wasn't imagining it.:)

They just laughed into his face....funnily enough he wasn't invited to the next shindig

I'm not suprised he wasn't invited! I just don't know how anybody has the nerve to say things like that?!

Bula Bos for the effort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Ebonyellie

My cousin goes to a different county when she wants to go to pennies, she would never be seen in her local one, and heres the mad thing, she buys pennies tops................and doesnt wear them until at least two years later, she says no one would remember that they were from pennies in the first place. Still on pennies, i woman i used to work for who has her head up her arse said to me one time " my friend down in corks' mother shops in pennies, i believe she bought a whole outfit for twenty euro"

she recoiled in horror once when i asked her did she shop in lidl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Beruthiel wrote: »

Or people who's tastes buds like white wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭VIS VIRES

Beruthiel wrote: »

Well Mrs Beruthiel, thanks for mixing it with us commoners for the last few minutes...

VIS VIRES wrote: »
    Well Mrs Beruthiel, thanks for mixing it with us commoners for the last few minutes...
    * sniggers *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Oh I have a snobby sister.... She thinks she is the bees knees...
    Her house is perfect, her husband is perfect, her kids are perfect, her car is perfect, her hair, make up and clothes are perfect.

She will actually tell me how perfect she is.

My brother is loaded but really down to earth, we do have a great time ripping the piss out of her!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Well what the big deal with Pennys,I shop where I want where ever it is, its no one business ,and isnt food just food does not matter where you get it,I would have decked the fella if he said that to me,seriously!

Check this out

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a9J1b3MqiX8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

1)Just keep calling her Hyacinth.
    You stole my line :p
    2) Also AFAIK would it not be more of a commoner type thing to make the mistake of drinking red wine when eating white meat?
    Indeed it is. Red for red, white for white and rosé mostly regarded as a desert wine.

OP, why haven't you brought this up with her? I'd actually laugh at her, tell her get over herself, and definitely use the Hyacinth line. And anytime I saw her "Rrrrrichard, ewpen thu dorr for me Rrrrrrichard"

She'd never hear the end of it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Penney's FTW... gotta love being able to get a complete outfit for €25... the amount of snobs around the place is crazy, stupid celtic tiger is breeding these a**holes as a by-product....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

5 siblings, all are snobby towards one particular thing and some of us exaggerate for a joke. I have been accused by my brother of thinking I'm better than him because I pretend to look down at things to wind people up/for the craic. :pac:

None of them are to do with how rich you are though. We buy plenty of Tesco Value stuff because it saves money for much more awesome things like computers. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I only shop in Fallon & Byrne. My god - why anyone would want to pay less than five euro for a tin of sardines is beyond me.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I only shop in Fallon & Byrne. My god - why anyone would want to pay less than five euro for a tin of sardines is beyond me.

O_o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    ROFL! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Claire121

Most people wouldn't, it's one of those daft archaic things no-one listens to anymore

Really? I always thought it was common knowledge (no, I'm not a snob lol)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 HitlersHorsebox

I had a snobby sister once but she died an ironic death. Her Merc that she gold-digged from her venture capitalist boyfriend ploughed into a hi-ace driven by an uninsured traveller. From the North none the less. RIP Trixie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Oh my God, how common is he? Obviously the host should have hired caterers.....:D:D Sum peoples has no class...

(like me)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Quality wrote: »
    Oh I have a snobby sister.... She thinks she is the bees knees...
    Her house is perfect, her husband is perfect, her kids are perfect, her car is perfect, her hair, make up and clothes are perfect.

She will actually tell me how perfect she is.

My brother is loaded but really down to earth, we do have a great time ripping the piss out of her!!

Where does he sell his "gear"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭twanda

I know a girl who thinks she is a snob - we grew up together in the same council housing estate, but if you listened to her, you wouldn't think it. I can think of countless things she has said that just make myself and my other friend roll our eyes, inlcuding the 'I would never shop in Penny's' statement.

But my, how the tide has turned lately.. since having two kids she has begun shopping in Lidl and when I remarked that I liked her jeans the other day, I was secretly delighted when she said ''yeah, got them in Pennys' - Pennys is great''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

money and now thinks shes "someone" ?

The problem really is that people mistake snobbiness for class. Class is something you can have and be as poor as jobe. People who have no class and get money become snobs.

I dont shop in aldi etc. These kinda shops remind me of working on building sites in germany years ago and I never liked them. I am partial to good wine and restaurants but get bored with people talking sh*te about wine after getting a wine book for a xmas present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

dodgyme wrote: »
    The problem really is that people mistake snobbiness for class. Class is something you can have and be as poor as jobe. People who have no class and get money become snobs.

I don't agree with that - You can be a snob whether or not you have money - if you look down on people who don't have as much as you do, look down on them for material reasons alone, or think you're better than someone else because of where you live/what you drive/where they go to school, then you're a snob!

You can be a classy snob too!!

Abigayle wrote: »
    "commoner type thing to make the mistake of drinking red wine when eating white meat?"

Indeed it is. Red for red, white for white and rosé mostly regarded as a desert wine.

? There are loadsa light red european wines which go perfectly with white meat. The commoners are the dopes that dont know this but come up with what they think is correct and are snobs about it. People with a bit of class look and laugh at snobs.

People really do talk alot of bullsh*t about wine. Apart from me, but then again I rarely talk about wine, instead I drink it.

Glowing wrote: »
    You can be a classy snob too!!

no you cant.

Glowing wrote: »
    You can be a snob whether or not you have money!!

Ya I know loadsa people with holes in their pockets that are snobs?

Different kinds of snobbery exist, monetary, class, taste and intellectual among others. I look down on them all....

Snobby toward snobs... i like it!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

What are you commeners twittering on about.

Back to work/ council housing homes or i will give you all a good whipping.

caoibhin wrote: »
    What are you commeners twittering on about.

Back to work/ council housing homes or i will give you all a good whipping.

That would be commoners. I may have no class but at least I can spell.....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Breadline......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

I used to know a couple that used to bring Brown Thomas shopping bags with them when they were shopping, even grocery shopping in Dunnes - sad or what? They would never leave the house without both having sunglasses on the top of there heads.

That would be commoners. I may have no class but at least I can spell.....:)

Us upper class elite are inbred so we cant sepll.

Generally speaking, they have no chins either:)

*see your profile regarding VERY powerful enemy thing*

Mummy come save me!!!:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: