Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

niteclubs 2 shut even earlier, register ur opinion

• 14-06-2008 6:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭

irish Niteclubs facing early closures .. were livin in a POLICE State ..

Irish Nightclubs are facing earlier closing. The Government are hoping to pass the Liquor Licensing Bill 2008 within the next 3 weeks. This means the latest a nightclub [ and late bar / theatre bar ] can open until is 2.30am 6 nites and 1am on Sundays. Local judges have of course imposed even earier closing in many towns / counties.

Raise your voice and have your opinion heard.

Log on to www.inia.ie and complete a short survey.

Pass on to your all of your friends.

Cheers
    Irish Nightclub Industry Association

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭disssco

This is a sick joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Phier

If this was reposted on a more popular boards.ie forum would it be removed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭DJ_Spider

:confused: ? am I being blonde here? What is sick and why would it be removed?

I'd like if it was posted in a general forum so more people would see it instead of just being in a clubbing forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

If this passes, it won't last long, too many places will complain.
    As observed in countless reports, the clubs on the continenent stay open way later and seem to have a better version of night life with less fights etc.

you'd be mad to try to get this law passed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

That survey is a bit of a joke alright.

I'd be all on for 24hr licences, I think the last report I read indicated that this would lower the alcohol related incidents.

Having worked in a bar, the busiest time of the nite was when the shutters were due to go down, yeah 2 double vodka's and red bulls in a pint glass please pal...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

**** this, I'm definitely moving to London now!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Just came back from London, Night club knocked off at 6AM. In Spain you would find similar, Ireland seems to have a bad reputation with hassle after closing time. In Ennis all "night clubs" finish at two, rightly so because they are cr*p anyway and you can guarantee to see trouble up town outside the fast food joints after they finish up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

24hr opening is the only way forward tbh. This 3am demonic witching hour we see every Friday and Saturday night would be a thing of the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

.. were livin in a POLICE State ..
    New laws proposed that all nightclubs must have full coverage of the premisis on CCTV and keep footage for a period of time. Those clubs that do not comply will be refused a licence to operate. This is what I call a police state. http://www.finegael.ie/news/index.cfm/type/details/nkey/20749

And which area is not affected. The Vintners. Whom our leader's family have vested interests in.

Have we even evolved as a nation.

And what they are trying to achieve as regards the alcohol abuse, this will have no impact whatsoever, I belive it will increase it.

Mr McDowell was going to change this and rightly so, in line with the rest off Europe, though the Vintners disliked the idea and fought to keep their over valued businesses.

In the mid 90's when people were having fun with E's, sales dropped and the Vintners and Government were not happy with this, then all these Alco Pops and fashionable drinks came out on the market to capture what was lost. Look at a bar here and see the range off drinks which are available towards a bar in Europe, there's a big difference.....

Sorry folks, This whole notion off enforcing that you cannot have a drink before 12 and after 12 on a Sunday p!sses me off.

Another year, get my degree and get a real life back in Spain...

It will be all closed doors here....

No Fun allowed..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

And people wonder why some of us go on about the good old days when clubs like Sides and The Asylum used to go on all nite!!!

Things seem to be getting gradually worse in Ireland as regards clubs and opening hours, where does it end?

Maybe in a way it's a good thing as it'll push club nites underground and there will be more illegal Raves happening like back in the day;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Oh jonny, you're speakin' my language. If anyone knows of any such parties, drop me a line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Seanie M

Savman wrote: »
    24hr opening is the only way forward tbh. This 3am demonic witching hour we see every Friday and Saturday night would be a thing of the past.

Try 2am across the Midlands (Offaly/Westmeath)... :rolleyes:

Further correspondence with govermental ministers, more contact details, and email templates can be found in my comments made here:

http://www.indymedia.ie/article/88038

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

This is total bullshít. Living in amsterdam makes you realise how stupid irish drinking laws are. There's no reason why we can't have underground parties outside if they're planned far enough in advance. There's plenty over here and the climate is similar. First thing i do when i get back to ireland is buy a generator, i suggest everyone else do the same if this nonsense comes into legislation and show 'em what a real party is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

this is a load of ****ing ****e as per usual by our dick head people in power.

we should all hold a rally or rave outside such utter **** houses who have a 24 hour bar anyway ffs!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 FIBUA

dont they realise people will only start drinkin earlier?twats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭thats_life

its official this country is ******..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

1pm outside the Dail on Wednsday if anybody's interested. Seems to be a good crowd of DJ's promoters turning up. Make your voice heard there.

Trouble with running warehouse parties these days is every muppet with a mobile phone turns up and seem to have no idea that it's actually illegal. It didn't take too long for seomra spree to be sussed.

Mind you Sides and the Asylum was full of headbangers so not harm there btw.
    Being old and grey now I remember before the bars opened late, you could still get a drink till 5 in the morning. You just needed to know where to go. Police state or no... In fact it was kinda cooler than most of the places around now.

Anyway there you are WED afternoon see ya there.

Actually now that I read the thread again it would seem people would rather whinge and say they are fwcking off to another country than do anything about it. Or simply ignore the law...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

jonny68 wrote: »
    And people wonder why some of us go on about the good old days when clubs like Sides and The Asylum used to go on all nite!!!

Things seem to be getting gradually worse in Ireland as regards clubs and opening hours, where does it end?

Maybe in a way it's a good thing as it'll push club nites underground and there will be more illegal Raves happening like back in the day;)

Yep ur dead right JONNY68. Push the people underground. Remember leaving the Asylum at 10 a.m. and walking down O'Connell Street trying to adjust to this scary place with daylight and people going about their daily business:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭eamonhonda

**** THAT they can deal with a lot more house parties/lockins/etc theres gonna be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

if the promoters had any initiative now they should have a big 'love parade' style rally in Dublin.
    Get big names to play, cram the streets and make so much feckin noise they'd gladly extend the opening hours in order to stop the barrage of phonecalls to Joe Duffy complaining about 'all this rave music out on the streets'.

Obviously it's an extremely grey area from a legal perspective, but you only have to cause this government more work to do and they'll lazily try to avoid it - in this case by liberalising the opening hours law.

if you think about it this is going to cause more fights on our streets and problems

if everybody has to leave by 2:30 am your going to have a huge burst of people out on the streets at this time while if you leave it later 4am... mabe you wont have such a big burst and you will get less noise and problems

thats my argument! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭holton

if you think about it this is going to cause more fights on our streets and problems

if everybody has to leave by 2:30 am your going to have a huge burst of people out on the streets at this time while if you leave it later 4am... mabe you wont have such a big burst and you will get less noise and problems

thats my argument! :p

I think that's pretty much everybody's argument. And how many more people are going to join the ever expanding dole queues? Because of late night bars, it won't be worth while going to nightclubs afterwards. Talk about a bunch of tossers we have in power. :( It makes my blood boil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

Fcuking Nanny state.

Warehouses FTW :pac::pac::pac::pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭MuPpItJoCkEy

Comletely agree and if you ask me, there was a lot less trouble back in the good aul days too.

I lived in London for a few years and if I didn't have certain ties to here, I'd be gone from here again. This country has really gone to the dogs over the a large amount of years.

As somebody mentioned, at the end of the night, big rush to ply as much drink in to themselves as possible in a short amount of time left. Then people all released into the streets in a complete mess.

Other countries have the 24hr thing going on and a lot less trouble. Why can't we follow good examples?

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Dublin these days at night is a scary place imo. The last time I was out late :eek: was about a year ago and I couldn't believe the state of the city centre at around 1am or so when heading for a taxi. People knockin the sh*te out of each other, puking, shouting, screaming, little scabby-assed skangers roaring abuse at a taxi rank as they skipped to the top and then proceeded to threaten some Spanish tourists with her high heals "I'll fkcin smack yiz one, d'ya hear me? Yiz bleedin foreigners" Or something to that effect (oh and a distinct lack of the garda around too). Pleasant all round experience I must say, dread to think what it would be like with a whole city-load unleashed at the same time.

I don't remember it being as bad as that years ago, but in saying that I don't remember really leaving clubs back then... and you did tend to feel kinda good about everything anyway :pac:

Good planning (as always) on the governments part. Wonder what other hair-brained schemes they are planning at the moment?

And yeah, warehouse raves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Warehouse? Far too old skool for me... :P

I'm seriously considering moving to NI the rate this is going. Working out from my fuelcard based on fuel bought in Ballymac I used about 1000 litres last year heading to trance events in NI, and if Ireland's sole advantage (opening hours) over there is gone, bye bye. £10 door fee and £2 drinks here I come....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Tom10

i swear if i hear one more person going on about the good old days in ireland i'll get a gun, a tower and just start popping off rounds. The past wasn't as great as you think, the future isn't as scary as you make out and if u really think about it the only time that matters a **** is the time u are in right now. So stop bitching about ministers, bloody do something about it. Run for election, support somebody you actually believe in. Talk to people in charge and quit bitching about how life has gone to ****, and its everybodies fault bar your own.

I'm mean **** its not like you've changed over the last X number of years.

Just cut the **** people.

MYOB wrote: »
    Warehouse? Far too old skool for me... :P

I'm seriously considering moving to NI the rate this is going. Working out from my fuelcard based on fuel bought in Ballymac I used about 1000 litres last year heading to trance events in NI, and if Ireland's sole advantage (opening hours) over there is gone, bye bye. £10 door fee and £2 drinks here I come....

I'd sooner a warehouse rave anyday over some club to be honest, less pretentious muppets and/or skangers, no bouncers staring at you,etc,etc,etc....that's the way things will go if these new laws are passed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

I'm all for it anyway.

Tom10 wrote: »
    i swear if i hear one more person going on about the good old days in ireland i'll get a gun, a tower and just start popping off rounds. The past wasn't as great as you think, the future isn't as scary as you make out and if u really think about it the only time that matters a **** is the time u are in right now. So stop bitching about ministers, bloody do something about it. Run for election, support somebody you actually believe in. Talk to people in charge and quit bitching about how life has gone to ****, and its everybodies fault bar your own.

I'm mean **** its not like you've changed over the last X number of years.

Just cut the **** people.

Well maybe the past wasn't that great for yourself or some others you may know but for the majority if people from my generation or a couple of years older than me, it was better than the way it is now and there were far more options than now. Costs weren't anywhere near what a night out costs now either. Clubs we're full of people all getting on and majority of people were there to listen to who and what wwas playing. Parties were a plenty whether it be warehouses, in some cafes that they managed to get to stay open until the sun came up and beyond. People for all walks of life getting on with eachother. Good vibes between everybody. Everybody seemed to be having a laugh and in a sense, felt part of something. Plenty of options on the radio.

I'm not having a go, just giving you my opinion. I got into dance music at a young age and I'm on the 30s mark now and I am not sure what age you are so I'm not sure what part of time you think that the past wasn't that great either.

If the past wasn't that great, why do so many people still go on about it? Post big treads about the old days and old clubs that have no gone? If it wasn't that good, people wouldn't still be going on about it, they would have rathered forget it and say nothing about it. You seem to have heard that much about it yourself because as you say, "i swear if i hear one more person going on about the good old days in ireland i'll get a gun, a tower and just start popping off rounds.".

Don't think people aren't trying to do anything about it, sure look at the tread heading you have just posted into. Check out http://www.giveusthenight.com That's just 2 straight away but there have been other people trying to do something about this as this is an issue that has been going around for years and no matter who says anything, this is one issue that seems to fall on deaf ears the majority of the time. And when it comes to telling people to stop bitching about it and do something about it, I have a family to look after and a lot of my time is spent there so going out trying to get later opening hours for pubs/clubs isn't high on the agenda for me. When I do go out though, I would like to be able to stay out in a pub/cub longer because it's not all the time I get to go out.

I'll say it again, look at how well things work in other countries. The amount of tourists and foreigners (who live here) that I have spoken to over the years are amazed at the opening times here. For a country doing so well touristically and also known for it's viding nightlife, can you blame them for wondering what's happening at 2 or so when things are starting to get lively and people are getting their jackets and the major rush to the bar? I just think this country needs to wise up in a lot of area's. We do things arse ways and we're known for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

I dunno if I'm missing something but I seem to remember Sides as a load of yahoos with their tops off all facing the same direction and gurning like some sort of bizzare cult. Maybe it was ok before the acid house thing kicked off.

The Asylum was full of gangsters as far as I could see.

Woooooohooooooooo

Live in an area where 2 am closing is the norm, no ifs or buts, that's for clubs, pubs with exemptions, functions, whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Tom10

Well maybe the past wasn't that great for yourself or some others you may know but for the majority if people from my generation or a couple of years older than me, it was better than the way it is now and there were far more options than now. Costs weren't anywhere near what a night out costs now either. Clubs we're full of people all getting on and majority of people were there to listen to who and what wwas playing. Parties were a plenty whether it be warehouses, in some cafes that they managed to get to stay open until the sun came up and beyond. People for all walks of life getting on with eachother. Good vibes between everybody. Everybody seemed to be having a laugh and in a sense, felt part of something. Plenty of options on the radio.

I'm not having a go, just giving you my opinion. I got into dance music at a young age and I'm on the 30s mark now and I am not sure what age you are so I'm not sure what part of time you think that the past wasn't that great either.

If the past wasn't that great, why do so many people still go on about it? Post big treads about the old days and old clubs that have no gone? If it wasn't that good, people wouldn't still be going on about it, they would have rathered forget it and say nothing about it. You seem to have heard that much about it yourself because as you say, "i swear if i hear one more person going on about the good old days in ireland i'll get a gun, a tower and just start popping off rounds.".

Don't think people aren't trying to do anything about it, sure look at the tread heading you have just posted into. Check out http://www.giveusthenight.com That's just 2 straight away but there have been other people trying to do something about this as this is an issue that has been going around for years and no matter who says anything, this is one issue that seems to fall on deaf ears the majority of the time. And when it comes to telling people to stop bitching about it and do something about it, I have a family to look after and a lot of my time is spent there so going out trying to get later opening hours for pubs/clubs isn't high on the agenda for me. When I do go out though, I would like to be able to stay out in a pub/cub longer because it's not all the time I get to go out.

I'll say it again, look at how well things work in other countries. The amount of tourists and foreigners (who live here) that I have spoken to over the years are amazed at the opening times here. For a country doing so well touristically and also known for it's viding nightlife, can you blame them for wondering what's happening at 2 or so when things are starting to get lively and people are getting their jackets and the major rush to the bar? I just think this country needs to wise up in a lot of area's. We do things arse ways and we're known for it.

Well let me get the age thing out of the way then, i'm 25 seen my fair of stuff and would consider myself a very liberal person. I also don't disagree with 24 hr licensing, no if anything i completely agree with it. It is proven to work when combating end of club/pub brawling but we as the people of Ireland have to say in one voice that this is what we want. We have to decide that when we vote for a politician he/she is going to do what we want and not vote on party lines and what not. But really thats not what my initial rant was about. I wasn't posting my colours to the mast on those issues. No what i was doing was saying that the past isn't as green as people remember.

Sure we all had great times in the past, many many things i know i'd love to do again. Responsibilities i have now would now weigh on me, it would be great, but this is my point, don't look back on things and say how great they were just because things in your life have changed for better or worse. The fact is that society doesn't change as much or as fast as an individual does. I hate a great life up to this point, i've had great friends and times. But would i really wanna go back to do it all, not really, i'd like to have more time to live them all again but thats where i'm coming from. A few extra hours in a pub isn't going to make your time better. A night in a nightclub that stays open all night will rarely be the thing you remember when you are old and gray (though we all have special nights out, these things don't make us the person we are).

So what i'm saying is, choose to do what you want, campaign for the things you believe in, if as you say things like opening hours aren't as high on your list of agendas anymore (and thats no bad thing) you can't bitch just because things change. I mean if anything its because people like yourself have more pressing concerns in your life now that these things do change.

Right so thats it, if you read all this rant fair f**ks to ya. Agree, disagree with me i'd like to hear what you think. Its still a democracy after all, no matter what people say about police state and all that, we vote for them, we pay their wages and we can have them kicked out of office whenever we choose.

studiorat wrote: »
    I dunno if I'm missing something but I seem to remember Sides as a load of yahoos with their tops off all facing the same direction and gurning like some sort of bizzare cult. Maybe it was ok before the acid house thing kicked off.

Sides was like that for a number of years yes (from about 93 onwards), and what is wrong with that may i ask?That is what raving is all about losing your inhabitions and having a great time,better than standing around some pretentious club trying to look cool or trying to mooch mots all nite, and the Asylum was not full of gangsters either, sure there was a lot of dodgy looking people there but so what, i never seen one fight there, all i seen in The Asylum or most clubs back in the day where people having a great time,amazingly enough the first ever fight i seen in a dance club here wasn't in The Asylum or Sides but in the POD of all places which was good but populated by mostly D4 heads, and i seen 2 of them go hammer and tongs with each other in the 90's over fcuk knows what, but was soon broken up!

studiorat wrote: »

Yahoo's with their tops off, gurning like some sort of bizare kult indeed but all getting along and partying together.

Now what do you have in a lot of places, pilled, coked (even crack popping up and what ever else people can get their hands on whether it's from this country or a little something they tried somewhere else and managed to get bring back here) people with bad attitudes, looking for fights, look at you strange if you make conversation. There's always been volience and gangs around (some places had more than others like the Asylum and a few other places) but was there gangland war like there is today. Was there the same amount of bodies being taking out of their homes or their cars or where every else after being shoot or stabs infront of their families or who ever was there at the time, no.

So is it any wonder that people liked the way things were when all this wasn't about?

Tom10 wrote: »
    Well let me get the age thing out of the way then, i'm 25 seen my fair of stuff and would consider myself a very liberal person. I also don't disagree with 24 hr licensing, no if anything i completely agree with it. It is proven to work when combating end of club/pub brawling but we as the people of Ireland have to say in one voice that this is what we want. We have to decide that when we vote for a politician he/she is going to do what we want and not vote on party lines and what not. But really thats not what my initial rant was about. I wasn't posting my colours to the mast on those issues. No what i was doing was saying that the past isn't as green as people remember.

Sure we all had great times in the past, many many things i know i'd love to do again. Responsibilities i have now would now weigh on me, it would be great, but this is my point, don't look back on things and say how great they were just because things in your life have changed for better or worse. The fact is that society doesn't change as much or as fast as an individual does. I hate a great life up to this point, i've had great friends and times. But would i really wanna go back to do it all, not really, i'd like to have more time to live them all again but thats where i'm coming from. A few extra hours in a pub isn't going to make your time better. A night in a nightclub that stays open all night will rarely be the thing you remember when you are old and gray (though we all have special nights out, these things don't make us the person we are).

So what i'm saying is, choose to do what you want, campaign for the things you believe in, if as you say things like opening hours aren't as high on your list of agendas anymore (and thats no bad thing) you can't bitch just because things change. I mean if anything its because people like yourself have more pressing concerns in your life now that these things do change.

Right so thats it, if you read all this rant fair f**ks to ya. Agree, disagree with me i'd like to hear what you think. Its still a democracy after all, no matter what people say about police state and all that, we vote for them, we pay their wages and we can have them kicked out of office whenever we choose.

Knowing your age does make a bit of a difference and enlightens me a little because lets say when you were 15 (which is probably when I started getting into over 18 clubs), it was around 98 when things started changing quiet a bit. Dance music started becoming more mainstream and more marketable. I think that most people who go on about the old days would be talking of prior to 98 as far back to around 88. To be honest, I did leave the country and moved to London in 2000 so what happened from 99 onwards to 2003 here, is a bit at times beyond me with regards to what went on then. What I do know is when I came back, it had changed so much. For a quiet a while there was a lot less going on around the counrty too.

I do agree with some of the points your making and I do wish we would pick better people to lead us sometimes but also sometimes we are limited with those to pick and what they will bring to us.

I'm not scared of the future as I do not know what it holds but all I can say is that I hope it does fall more into line with other countries who have already set the examples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Prefabsprouter

Sides was like that for a number of years yes (from about 93 onwards), and what is wrong with that may i ask?That is what raving is all about losing your inhabitions and having a great time,better than standing around some pretentious club trying to look cool or trying to mooch mots all nite, and the Asylum was not full of gangsters either, sure there was a lot of dodgy looking people there but so what, i never seen one fight there, all i seen in The Asylum or most clubs back in the day where people having a great time,amazingly enough the first ever fight i seen in a dance club here wasn't in The Asylum or Sides but in the POD of all places which was good but populated by mostly D4 heads, and i seen 2 of them go hammer and tongs with each other in the 90's over fcuk knows what, but was soon broken up!
    Used to frequent Sides from 88 to about 91 and it was a good club to go to. It was more about the music than anything else. Guys and gals going berserk as the DJ got into his stride. And yes there were dodgy people hanging out there but there have always been and always will be dodgy people in any pub/club you go to. Is it any wonder that people hark back to the older days of clubbing in Dublin. There's not a whole heap out there at the moment. It also explains why record companies shamelessly reissue "Oldskool" compilations ad nauseum in an attempt to make a quick buck out of the nostalgia buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Why the hell has this been turned into another Oldskool thread. Thats not what its about. Gardai wont let any of that stuff happen anymore so can we just forget about it. If you really think a 2 A.M closing time will lead to anything more than lame house parties your deluded.

There are some really great promoters in this country who have been working their arses off for the last few years to get Ireland up to scratch in terms of clubbing and all that is about to be turned to sh!t.

It could also lead to serious social problems with boozed up punters being dumped out onto the street at the same time fighting for the same taxis and the spot in q for Abrekebabra.

If you want to talk about that other stuff then use The Asylum thread.

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    Why the hell has this been turned into another Oldskool thread. Thats not what its about. Gardai wont let any of that stuff happen anymore so can we just forget about it. If you really think a 2 A.M closing time will lead to anything more than lame house parties your deluded.

There are some really great promoters in this country who have been working their arses off for the last few years to get Ireland up to scratch in terms of clubbing and all that is about to be turned to sh!t.

It could also lead to serious social problems with boozed up punters being dumped out onto the street at the same time fighting for the same taxis and the spot in q for Abrekebabra.

If you want to talk about that other stuff then use The Asylum thread.

If you read the posts above, they show the differences between now and years ago. Just because old school and clubs like the Asylum & Sides have been mentioned, it doesn't mean this is what this tread is turning into.

There are valid comparisions relating to opening times, how it will affect clubbing and as you said, "There are some really great promoters in this country who have been working their arses off for the last few years to get Ireland up to scratch in terms of clubbing and all that is about to be turned to sh!t" which is what is being said above.

And you said "It could also lead to serious social problems with boozed up punters being dumped out onto the street at the same time fighting for the same taxis and the spot in q for Abrekebabra" which has also been brought up and compared the violence of back then to now.

So lets say the points you have brought up are being covered.

The reasons the clubs have been mentioned are to re-enforce points people are making about the issues this tread about. It's not a tread specificly about the clubs that were mentioned, it's a tread highlighting the differences that imposed restrictions by our government have caused over time.

In case you want to mail politicians directly and not have to read all the debates, here's the relevent information from the 25th and 26th along with who said it, their party, and their email address:

http://www.redbrick.dcu.ie/~phier/talks.doc

(included a bit of their discussion on advertising, i.e. what they really should be controling, not opening hours - might help to use their words to encourage them towards your way of thinking)

If you want ideas for more detail in your email, this might help:

http://www.redbrick.dcu.ie/~phier/licensing.doc

Also, debates on the 1st and 2nd have been added to the timeline:

http://www.oireachtas.ie/viewdoc.asp?fn=/documents/bills28/bills/2008/3208/document1.htm

Similar summaries to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I'd sooner a warehouse rave anyday over some club to be honest, less pretentious muppets and/or skangers, no bouncers staring at you,etc,etc,etc....that's the way things will go if these new laws are passed.

Same reasons I go up north. Scene up there is less refined, less pretentious and a whole lot more fun. And the door staff are second to none for professionalism - if you're refused from Lush! you were refused for a good reason, and they will engage in a discussion with a sober party and possibly change their mind (had a 'disagreement' over whether my runners were too sportswear - they specially allow 'cool trainers' and these were white skate shoes - and got let in). Unlike the 'not tonight, you're not getting in' of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭francois

MYOB wrote: »
    Same reasons I go up north. Scene up there is less refined, less pretentious and a whole lot more fun. And the door staff are second to none for professionalism - if you're refused from Lush! you were refused for a good reason, and they will engage in a discussion with a sober party and possibly change their mind (had a 'disagreement' over whether my runners were too sportswear - they specially allow 'cool trainers' and these were white skate shoes - and got let in). Unlike the 'not tonight, you're not getting in' of Dublin.

You are totally right-sadly i suspect that no matter how much people protest or put forward coherent,intelligent arguments about late night drinking, bad behaviour etc etc blah ****ing blah-in the south the bouncers cannot give an excuse about clothes/dress/etc as they can be had under the equality act, at least the UK has adopted a more reasonable attitude to it
    here, there seems to be some idea that we are not allowed to enjoy ourselves, be resonsible or even worsse, actually enjoy ourselves late at night! I dunno if it is some pre-tiger edict about not enjoying yourself, maybe some Dev ole' ireland maidens dancing at the crossroads bollox, but the laws on late licensing require a serious overhaul.
    What seems to have been missed by band-wagon jumping politicians is that working patterns and patterns of leisure have changed-closing clubs on sunday at 1 am is alienating workers of the leisure industry.
    Ok I dont wanna harp on about "the old days" but you could at least dance till dawn as long as booze wasn't sold (you could drink till 6 am in leeson street FFS)
    The only thing that will change attitude is if everyone here writes/phones/emails their TD and complain, otherwise it wont-we'll end up in a feckin' nanny state.
    Personally I think our best bet would be to take a test case to europe regarding rights of workers to choose the time to work AND play.
    Outside of the major cities I dont see the 2.30 time being really enforced-I know this from personal experience-the cops would rather a load of people are in 1 place not causing hassle then all of them being on the streets at one time.
    So get emailing them-your TD's emails are easily found, and it really doesn't take more than a few seconds to register your complaint-don't just sit back and complain people, this is your life that is being repressed
    Just to get you sterted here are the addresses...GET WRITING!

02) Mr. Dermot Ahern dermot.ahern@oireachtas.ie
    03) Mr. Michael Ahern michael.ahern@oireachtas.ie
    04) Mr. Noel Ahern noel.ahern@oireachtas.ie
    05) Mr. Bernard Allen bernard.allen@oireachtas.ie
    06) Mr. Chris Andrews chris.andrews@oireachtas.ie
    07) Mr. Barry Andrews barry.andrews@oireachtas.ie
    08) Mr. Seán Ardagh sean@ardagh.org
    09) Mr. Bobby Aylward bobby.aylward@oireachtas.ie
    10) Mr. James Bannon james.bannon@oireachtas.ie

11) Mr. Sean Barrett sean.barrett@oireachtas.ie
    12) Mr. Joe Behan joe.behan@oireachtas.ie
    13) Mr. Niall Blaney niall.blaney@oireachtas.ie
    14) Ms. Aíne Brady aine.brady@oireachtas.ie
    15) Mr. Cyprian Brady cyprian.brady@oireachtas.ie
    16) Mr. Johnny Brady johnny.brady@oireachtas.ie
    17) Mr. Pat Breen pat.breen@oireachtas.ie
    18) Mr. Seamus Brennan seamusbrennan@dast.gov.ie
    19) Mr. Tommy Broughan thomas.p.broughan@oireachtas.ie
    20) Mr. John Browne john.browne@oireachtas.ie

21) Mr. Richard Bruton richard.bruton@oireachtas.ie
    22) Mr. Ulick Burke uburke@eircom.net
    23) Ms. Joan Burton joan.burton@oireachtas.ie
    24) Ms. Catherine Byrne catherine.byrne@oireachtas.ie
    25) Mr. Thomas Byrne thomas.byrne@oireachtas.ie
    26) Mr. Dara Calleary dara.calleary@oireachtas.ie
    27) Mr. Pat Carey pat.carey@oireachtas.ie
    28) Mr. Joe Carey joe.carey@oireachtas.ie
    29) Ms. Deirdre Clune deirdre.clune@oireachtas.ie
    30) Mr. Niall Collins niall.collins@oireachtas.ie

31) Ms. Margaret Conlon margaret.conlon@oireachtas.ie
    32) Mr. Paul Connaughton paul.connaughton@oireachtas.ie
    33) Mr. Sean Connick sean.connick@oireachtas.ie
    34) Mr. Noel J Coonan noel.coonan@oireachtas.ie
    35) Mr. Joe Costello joe.costello@oireachtas.ie
    36) Ms. Mary Coughlan mary.coughlan@oireachtas.ie
    37) Mr. Simon Coveney simon.coveney@oireachtas.ie
    38) Mr. Brian Cowen minister@finance.gov.ie
    39) Mr. Seymour Crawford seymour.crawford@oireachtas.ie
    40) Mr. Michael Creed michael.creed@oireachtas.ie

41) Mr. John Cregan john.cregan@oireachtas.ie
    42) Ms. Lucinda Creighton lucinda.creighton@oireachtas.ie
    43) Mr. Ciaran Cuffe ciaran.cuffe@oireachtas.ie
    44) Mr. Martin Cullen minister@welfare.ie
    45) Mr. John Curran john.curran@oireachtas.ie
    46) Mr. Michael W. D'Arcy michael.darcy@oireachtas.ie
    47) Mr. John Deasy john.deasy@oireachtas.ie
    48) Mr. Jimmy Deenihan jdeenihan@eircom.net
    49) Mr. Noel Dempsey minister@transport.ie
    50) Mr. Jimmy Devins jimmy.devins@oireachtas.ie

51) Mr. Timmy Dooley timmy.dooley@oireachtas.ie
    52) Mr. Andrew Doyle andrew.doyle@oireachtas.ie
    53) Mr. Bernard Durkan bernard.durkan@oireachtas.ie
    54) Mr. Damien English damien.english@oireachtas.ie
    55) Ms. Olwyn Enright olwyn.enright@oireachtas.ie
    56) Mr. Frank Fahey frank.fahey@oireachtas.ie
    57) Mr. Frank Feighan frank.feighan@oireachtas.ie
    58) Mr. Martin Ferris martin.ferris@oireachtas.ie
    59) Mr. Michael Finneran michael.finneran@oireachtas.ie
    60) Mr. Michael Fitzpatrick michael.fitzpatrick@oireachtas.ie

61) Mr. Charles Flanagan charles.flanagan@oireachtas.ie
    62) Mr. Terence Flanagan terence.flanagan@oireachtas.ie
    63) Mr. Sean Fleming sean.fleming@oireachtas.ie
    64) Ms. Beverley Flynn beverly.flynn@oireachtas.ie
    65) Mr. Pat (The Cope) Gallagher pat.gallagher@oireachtas.ie
    66) Mr. Eamon Gilmore eamon.gilmore@oireachtas.ie
    67) Mr. Paul Nicholas Gogarty paul.gogarty@oireachtas.ie
    68) Mr. John Gormley minister@environ.ie
    69) Mr. Noel Grealish noel.grealish@oireachtas.ie
    70) Mr. Tony Gregory tony.gregory@oireachtas.ie

71) Ms. Mary Hanafin minister_hanafin@education.gov.ie
    72) Ms. Mary Harney minister's_office@health.irlgov.ie
    73) Mr. Sean Haughey sean_haughey@education.gov.ie
    74) Mr. Brian Hayes brian.hayes@oireachtas.ie
    75) Mr. Tom Hayes tom.hayes@oireachtas.ie
    76) Mr. Jackie Healy-Rae Jackie.Healy.Rae@oireachtas.ie
    77) Mr. Michael D. Higgins michael.higgins@oireachtas.ie
    78) Ms. Máire Hoctor maire.hoctor@oireachtas.ie
    79) Mr. Phil Hogan philip.hogan@oireachtas.ie
    80) Mr. Brendan Howlin brendan.howlin@oireachtas.ie
    81) Mr. Paul Kehoe paul.kehoe@oireachtas.ie
    82) Mr. Billy Kelleher billy.kelleher@environ.ie
    83) Mr. Peter Kelly peter.kelly@oireachtas.ie
    84) Mr. Brendan Kenneally bwk@eircom.net
    85) Mr. Michael Kennedy michael.kennedy@oireachtas.ie
    86) Mr. Enda Kenny enda.kenny@oireachtas.ie
    87) Mr. Tony Killeen tony.killeen@environ.ie
    88) Mr. Séamus Kirk seamus.kirk@oireachtas.ie
    89) Mr. Michael P. Kitt michael.kitt@dfa.ie
    90) Mr. Tom Kitt minister.kitt@taoiseach.gov.ie

91) Mr. Brian Joseph Lenihan brian.lenihan@oireachtas.ie
    92) Mr. Conor Lenihan conor.lenihan@oireachtas.ie
    93) Mr. Michael Lowry michael.lowry@oireachtas.ie
    94) Ms. Kathleen Lynch kathleen.lynch@oireachtas.ie
    95) Mr. Ciarán Lynch ciaran.lynch@oireachtas.ie
    96) Dr. Martin Mansergh martin.mansergh@oireachtas.ie
    97) Mr. Micheál Martin minister_martin@entemp.ie
    98) Mr. Pádraic McCormack padraic.mccormack@oireachtas.ie
    99) Dr. James McDaid jim.mcdaid@oireachtas.ie
    100) Mr. Thomas McEllistrim tom.mcellistrim@oireachtas.ie

101) Mr. Shane McEntee shane.mcentee@oireachtas.ie
    102) Mr. Dinny McGinley dinny.mcginley@oireachtas.ie
    103) Mr. Mattie McGrath mattie.mcgrath@oireachtas.ie
    104) Mr. Michael McGrath michael.mcgrath@oireachtas.ie
    105) Mr. Finian McGrath finian.mcgrath@oireachtas.ie
    106) Mr. John McGuinness john.mcguinness@oireachtas.ie
    107) Mr. Joe McHugh joe.mchugh@oireachtas.ie
    108) Ms. Liz McManus liz.mcmanus@oireachtas.ie
    109) Ms. Olivia Mitchell olivia.mitchell@oireachtas.ie
    110) Mr. John Anthony Moloney john.moloney@oireachtas.ie

111) Mr. Arthur Morgan arthur.morgan@oireachtas.ie
    112) Mr. Michael Moynihan michael.moynihan.td@oireachtas.ie
    113) Mr. Michael Mulcahy michael.mulcahy@oireachtas.ie
    114) Mr. Denis Naughten denis.naughten@oireachtas.ie
    115) Mr. Dan Neville daniel.neville@oireachtas.ie
    116) Mr. M. J. Nolan mj.nolan@oireachtas.ie
    117) Mr. Michael Noonan michael.noonan@oireachtas.ie
    118) Mr. Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin ocaolain@oireachtas.ie
    119) Mr. Éamon Ó Cuív aire@pobail.ie
    120) Mr. Seán Ó Fearghaíl sean.ofearghail@oireachtas.ie

121) Mr. Aengus Ó Snodaigh aengus.osnodaigh@oireachtas.ie
    122) Mr. Darragh O'Brien darragh.obrien@oireachtas.ie
    123) Mr. Charlie O'Connor charlie.oconnor@oireachtas.ie
    124) Mr. Willie O'Dea webmaster@defence.irlgov.ie
    125) Mr. Kieran O'Donnell kieran.odonnell@oireachtas.ie
    126) Mr. John O'Donoghue john.odonoghue@oireachtas.ie
    127) Mr. Fergus O'Dowd fergus.odowd@oireachtas.ie
    128) Mr. Noel O'Flynn noel.oflynn@oireachtas.ie
    129) Dr. Rory O'Hanlon rory.ohanlon@oireachtas.ie
    130) Mr. Batt O'Keeffe Batt.okeefe@environ.ie

131) Mr. Jim O'Keeffe jim.okeefe@oireachtas.ie
    132) Mr. Edward O'Keeffe ned.okeefe@oireachtas.ie
    133) Mr. John O'Mahony john.omahony@oireachtas.ie
    134) Ms. Mary O'Rourke mary.orourke@Oireachtas.ie
    135) Mr. Brian O'Shea boshea@eircom.net
    136) Mr. Christy O'Sullivan christy.osullivan@oireachtas.ie
    137) Ms. Jan O'Sullivan jan.osullivan@oireachtas.ie
    138) Mr. Willie Penrose willie.penrose@oireachtas
    139) Mr. John Perry john.perry@oireachtas.ie
    130) Mr. Seán Power sean.power@oireachtas.ie

141) Mr. Peter Power peter.power@oireachtas.ie
    142) Mr. Ruairí Quinn ruairi.quinn@oireachtas.ie
    143) Mr. Pat Rabbitte pat.rabbitte@oireachtas.ie
    144) Dr. James Reilly james.reilly@oireachtas.ie
    145) Mr. Michael Ring michael.ring@oireachtas.ie
    146) Mr. Dick Roche dick.roche@oireachtas.ie
    147) Mr. Eamon Ryan minister.ryan@dcmnr.gov.ie
    148) Mr. Trevor Sargent trevor.sargent@oireachtas.ie
    149) Mr. Eamon Scanlon eamon.scanlon@oireachtas.ie
    150) Mr. Alan Shatter alan.shatter@oireachtas.ie

151) Mr. Tom Sheahan tom.sheahan@oireachtas.ie
    152) Mr. P. J. Sheehan pj.sheehan@oireachtas.ie
    153) Mr. Sean Sherlock sean.sherlock@oireachtas.ie
    154) Ms. Róisín Shortall roisin.shortall@oireachtas.ie
    155) Mr. Brendan Smith minister_smith@health.gov.ie
    156) Mr. Emmet Stagg emmet.stagg@oireachtas.ie
    157) Mr. David Stanton dstanton@eircom.net
    158) Mr. Billy Godfrey Timmins billy.timmins@oireachtas.ie
    159) Mr. Noel Treacy noel.treacy@oireachtas.ie
    160) Ms. Joanna Tuffy joanna.tuffy@oireachtas.ie

161) Dr. Mary Upton mary.upton@oireachtas.ie
    162) Mr. Leo Varadkar leo.varadkar@oireachtas.ie
    163) Mr. Jack Wall jack.wall@oireachtas.ie
    164) Ms. Mary Wallace mary.wallace@agriculture.gov.ie
    165) Ms. Mary Alexandra White mary.white@oireachtas.ie
    166) Dr. Michael J. Woods michael.woods@oireachtas.ie

List of Email addresses for TD’s of the 30th Dáil as a group:

taoiseach@taoiseach.ie, dermot.ahern@oireachtas.ie, michael.ahern@oireachtas.ie, noel.ahern@oireachtas.ie, bernard.allen@oireachtas.ie, chris.andrews@oireachtas.ie, barry.andrews@oireachtas.ie, sean@ardagh.org, bobby.aylward@oireachtas.ie, james.bannon@oireachtas.ie, sean.barrett@oireachtas.ie, joe.behan@oireachtas.ie, john.browne@oireachtas.ie, aine.brady@oireachtas.ie, cyprian.brady@oireachtas.ie, johnny.brady@oireachtas.ie, pat.breen@oireachtas.ie, seamusbrennan@dast.gov.ie, thomas.p.broughan@oireachtas.ie, niall.blaney@oireachtas.ie, richard.bruton@oireachtas.ie, uburke@eircom.net, joan.burton@oireachtas.ie, catherine.byrne@oireachtas.ie, thomas.byrne@oireachtas.ie, niall.collins@oireachtas.ie, pat.carey@oireachtas.ie, joe.carey@oireachtas.ie, deirdre.clune@oireachtas.ie, dara.calleary@oireachtas.ie, margaret.conlon@oireachtas.ie, paul.connaughton@oireachtas.ie, sean.connick@oireachtas.ie, michael.creed@oireachtas.ie, joe.costello@oireachtas.ie, mary.coughlan@oireachtas.ie, simon.coveney@oireachtas.ie, minister@finance.gov.ie, seymour.crawford@oireachtas.ie, noel.coonan@oireachtas.ie, john.cregan@oireachtas.ie, lucinda.creighton@oireachtas.ie,
    jimmy.devins@oireachtas.ie, minister@welfare.ie,
    john.curran@oireachtas.ie, michael.darcy@oireachtas.ie,
    john.deasy@oireachtas.ie, jdeenihan@eircom.net,
    minister@transport.ie, ciaran.cuffe@oireachtas.ie, timmy.dooley@oireachtas.ie, andrew.doyle@oireachtas.ie,
    bernard.durkan@oireachtas.ie, damien.english@oireachtas.ie,
    michael.fitzpatrick@oireachtas.ie, frank.fahey@oireachtas.ie,
    frank.feighan@oireachtas.ie, martin.ferris@oireachtas.ie,
    michael.finneran@oireachtas.ie, olwyn.enright@oireachtas.ie, charles.flanagan@oireachtas.ie, terence.flanagan@oireachtas.ie,
    sean.fleming@oireachtas.ie, beverly.flynn@oireachtas.ie,
    pat.gallagher@oireachtas.ie, tony.gregory@oireachtas.ie,
    paul.gogarty@oireachtas.ie, minister@environ.ie,
    noel.grealish@oireachtas.ie, eamon.gilmore@oireachtas.ie, minister_hanafin@education.gov.ie, ministers_office@health.irlgov.ie,
    brendan.howlin@oireachtas.ie, brian.hayes@oireachtas.ie,
    tom.hayes@oireachtas.ie, Jackie.Healy.Rae@oireachtas.ie,
    michael.higgins@oireachtas.ie, maire.hoctor@oireachtas.ie,
    philip.hogan@oireachtas.ie, sean_haughey@education.gov.ie, paul.kehoe@oireachtas.ie, billy.kelleher@environ.ie,
    peter.kelly@oireachtas.ie, bwk@eircom.net,
    michael.kennedy@oireachtas.ie, enda.kenny@oireachtas.ie,
    ministerofstate@dcmnr.gov.ie, minister.kitt@taoiseach.gov.ie,
    michael.kitt@dfa.ie, seamus.kirk@oireachtas.ie, brian.lenihan@oireachtas.ie, conor.lenihan@oireachtas.ie, michael.lowry@oireachtas.ie, [email]kathleen.lynch@oireachtas.ie,tom.mcellistrim@oireachtas.ie[/email],
    martin.mansergh@oireachtas.ie, minister_martin@entemp.ie, padraic.mccormack@oireachtas.ie, jim.mcdaid@oireachtas.ie, ciaran.lynch@oireachtas.ie, shane.mcentee@oireachtas.ie, dinny.mcginley@oireachtas.ie, mattie.mcgrath@oireachtas.ie, michael.mcgrath@oireachtas.ie, finian.mcgrath@oireachtas.ie, john.moloney@oireachtas.ie, joe.mchugh@oireachtas.ie, liz.mcmanus@oireachtas.ie, olivia.mitchell@oireachtas.ie, john.mcguinness@oireachtas.ie, arthur.morgan@oireachtas.ie, michael.moynihan.td@oireachtas.ie, michael.mulcahy@oireachtas.ie, denis.naughten@oireachtas.ie, sean.ofearghail@oireachtas.ie, mj.nolan@oireachtas.ie, michael.noonan@oireachtas.ie, ocaolain@oireachtas.ie, aire@pobail.ie, daniel.neville@oireachtas.ie, aengus.osnodaigh@oireachtas.ie, darragh.obrien@oireachtas.ie,
    charlie.oconnor@oireachtas.ie, Batt.okeefe@environ.ie,
    kieran.odonnell@oireachtas.ie, john.odonoghue@oireachtas.ie,
    fergus.odowd@oireachtas.ie, noel.oflynn@oireachtas.ie,
    rory.ohanlon@oireachtas.ie, webmaster@defence.irlgov.ie, jim.okeefe@oireachtas.ie, ned.okeefe@oireachtas.ie,
    john.omahony@oireachtas.ie, sean.power@oireachtas.ie,
    boshea@eircom.net, christy.osullivan@oireachtas.ie,
    jan.osullivan@oireachtas.ie, willie.penrose@oireachtas,
    john.perry@oireachtas.ie, mary.orourke@Oireachtas.ie, peter.power@oireachtas.ie, ruairi.quinn@oireachtas.ie,
    pat.rabbitte@oireachtas.ie, james.reilly@oireachtas.ie,
    alan.shatter@oireachtas.ie, dick.roche@oireachtas.ie,
    minister.ryan@dcmnr.gov.ie, trevor.sargent@oireachtas.ie,
    eamon.scanlon@oireachtas.ie, michael.ring@oireachtas.ie, pj.sheehan@oireachtas.ie, sean.sherlock@oireachtas.ie,
    tom.sheahan@oireachtas.ie, roisin.shortall@oireachtas.ie,
    joanna.tuffy@oireachtas.ie, emmet.stagg@oireachtas.ie, dstanton@eircom.net, billy.timmins@oireachtas.ie,
    noel.treacy@oireachtas.ie, minister_smith@health.gov.ie, mary.upton@oireachtas.ie, michael.woods@oireachtas.ie, jack.wall@oireachtas.ie, mary.wallace@agriculture.gov.ie, mary.white@oireachtas.ie, leo.varadkar@oireachtas.ie,

Cheers francois, ill certainly be sending a few emails to voice my concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭francois

Cheers francois, ill certainly be sending a few emails to voice my concern.
    nice one mate, it's as easy as posting a comment on this site...at the same time we should ask for a rise for us pensioners :D

ahhhhhhgif.gif

francois wrote: »
    nice one mate, it's as easy as posting a comment on this site...at the same time we should ask for a rise for us pensioners :D

a rise is right mate,. i cant even get a job as what i usually work at.. right now, doing some dingy job until i hopefully get back to normal:o;)

ahhhhhhgif.gif

PMSL:D:D:D