Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

USA 40D - Warranty question

• 12-06-2008 9:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭

I just bought a 40D off eBay.com from the USA

It comes with loads of extras, for €780 incl Shipping

The description said it includes a one year USA Warranty, so i assumed the drawback was that if I ever have to get it repaired under warranty, I'd have to send it back to the USA, but for this price, I wouldnt mind

so i got an email a few days later saying unless I purchase a 3 year or 5 year international warranty, I wont have any cover at all

Also, they said if I buy an international warranty, they'll include a stronger battery, and declare it at a lower value = lower import tax. first they said $299, now they said they'll give me one for $249

I just cant find any info on extended warranties online, and im wary of how much they're tryin to get me to buy the extended warranty

there was no mention of it in their descriptions, even though they clearly state they ship internationally

I read through their feedback and the only bad stuff I found was late dispatching, nothin else major

what should I do???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭qwertz

Looks very much like a scam. Can you back out of the deal or did you pay them already?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Yeah! Get out while you can. Seriously.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

This type of operation is called "bait and switch". Tell him to eff the eff off and stand your ground. You paid for the 40d so that's what you are entitled to get. Just say no to all the extras they try to sell. How about getting a Mack warranty yourself if that's possible...

I bet they are based in new york.... brooklyn perhaps?

Care to post a link to the item you got?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

http://www.calumetphoto.co.uk/item/321-035D/

Body only available after Canon cashback at €630.
    Peace of mind too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Who's the seller?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=110258833584&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=001

Already paid, through Paypal

I think ill jus pay the extra for the warranty

Its 3 years and includes one CCD clean a year

If they dont honour everything they said I can just file a Paypal claim

Im pretty safe as it is, and all I want is the bleedin camera, im lost without it!

Peace of mind too.

I nearly fell for that last week, but that price DOES NOT INCLUDE vat....

So what does it come to with the vat?

And whats the story with the Canon cashback offer, how long does it take to get your money back??

I got this link of another forum, actually it was Covey who brought it up there!!! He was haggling with somebody and quoted it!!
    Clever hideaway of Tax ok, still can't find it, thinking it was very cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭soccerc

unreggd wrote: »
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=110258833584&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=001

Already paid, through Paypal

I think ill jus pay the extra for the warranty

Its 3 years and includes one CCD clean a year

If they dont honour everything they said I can just file a Paypal claim

Im pretty safe as it is, and all I want is the bleedin camera, im lost without it!
    Don't be a mug.

Pay them nothing over and above the ebay agreed price.

Then forward all emails since purchase to ebay and paypal showing where they've tried to 'bait and switch'.

As already advised, withdraw from the purchase, it's not worth the hassle

I got this link of another forum, actually it was Covey who brought it up there!!! He was haggling with somebody and quoted it!!
    Clever hideaway of Tax ok, still can't find it, thinking it was very cheap.
    I reg'd and went through checkout and it does include Vat of about £80

yeah I jus emailed yer man sayin I want a refund, and if not ill get it through Paypal, its insured anyways

I think thats the best option too.

Clever hideaway of Tax ok, still can't find it

Just checked the site again. The subtotal for the camera is £598.99 and beside this subtotal it says Subtotal does not include shipping or taxes. £80 vat and say £15 postage is probably thrown on at the very last second.... Even after the cashback it will cost about €700.

yeah I jus emailed yer man sayin I want a refund, and if not ill get it through Paypal, its insured anyways

You're probably better off. If you decline that stupid 300dollar warranty they'll declare the full value on the package out of spite and WHACK taxes&duty up the bum for you, especially with the size of the package you'll be receiving (a massive hard case and all!). There's no way a package that size will zip past on the conveyor belt unnoticed.

Also, those trinkets that they throw in generally aren't worth a shite. They'd be pound shop stuff.

There are lots of american ebay companies just like that who are pure snakes, and they are always from new york. Some of them even charge extra for the charger and plugs etc.

Next 40d you see on ebay that you might get, bring it back to this thread and we'll give it a good scrutinization! Buying expensive stuff on ebay from overseas requires a bit of care and some risk-taking.

This guy on ebay has some pretty cheap 40d packages and his feedback is great. Never heard of him before though!

Fair play. You would have been rightly screwed this end for duty and tax too.

This guy on ebay has some pretty cheap 40d packages and his feedback is great. Never heard of him before though!

It might sound daft but 99.3% rating would not be good enough for me on just over 2000 sales. Hard to beat Kea in that regard.

It does sound daft but I too would use Kea 1st/

I'm not saying kea is bad, I have bought stuff from them before, but they have more negative feedback than the other guy I mentioned there.

Talking about that other guy, well I'm just after buying a 40d from him!:eek::eek::eek:

He seems very friendly, sent me lots of emails! We'll see what happens....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

They probably have more negative feedback but look at how many transactions they did compared to your guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭what to do?

very interesting.

am currently looking at getting the 40d.

have the 350 digital rebel.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-EOS-40D-Digital-SLR-Camera-10-1MP-Body-NEW-USA_W0QQitemZ350069506203QQihZ022QQcategoryZ43454QQtcZphotoQQcmdZViewItem

what about that????

have used that site before and delivery no problem etc. bought a lens. it arrived and was perfect. no bother. seemed to get away with the import duty.

what should i be expecting to be hit for on import duty for this camera?

any comments???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Carrigman

Don't import from the USA. You *WILL* be caught for tax+duty. Factor 21% extra on top of the purchase price plus postage if you still intend going ahead with the purchase.

Peace of mind too.
    what warranty would i have on this???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭maco

Just ordered my Canon 40d kit (17-85 ISUM) from www.pcwb.ie, cost me around €1,000. This is their Business site, where the don't charge VAT, you need to purchase it under a company. Just a peace of mind that its local whenever if problem occurs.

With the cash back and trainning included it's not a bad price anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

Interesting site,may use it to get my workplace to order a camcorder and stick in an order for the 1D MKIII for myself in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Darby OGill

This might be of interest to anyone thinking about a 40D.

I bought one in Dixons Tax Free store in Stansted Airport in May. It cost me £731.93, including the 17-85 IS lens. That works out at about €915 (haven't got my card bill yet). I've already got the cashback of €200, so net cost is €715.

That's a good deal, and there are no warranty issues with a European-sourced camera. Of course they tried to sell me extended cover stuff- I declined politely.

Check out the Dixonstaxfree website- it's all there.

DON"T purchase cards etc. in the store- it's extortion....

Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭soccerc

maco wrote: »
    Just ordered my Canon 40d kit (17-85 ISUM) from www.pcwb.ie, cost me around €1,000. This is their Business site, where the don't charge VAT, you need to purchase it under a company. Just a peace of mind that its local whenever if problem occurs.

With the cash back and trainning included it's not a bad price anymore.

Don't forget 21% VAT which they do charge regardless if you are a registered company or not.

Additionally you do not have the benefit of consumer rights should anything go wrong, it's a B2B etailer.

Whats the story with buyin from Calumet??

Will I get an Irish or UK warranty???