Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you vote today?

• 12-06-2008 8:53am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

How did you vote in todays referendum? The polling stations have been open since 7AM and I think if those who have actually voted through the day could say which way they voted (in a poll perhaps) it might give us a good idea of what way this might be going tomorrow. The polling stations are open till 10pm tonight.

Mods, any chance of attaching a poll to this?

How did you vote today? 162 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 162 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Pointless really... There's about 20 polls already on boards for 'how will you vote'...... we already know that boards isn't representative of the rest of society.... it's a waste of time.

Just wait for the exit polls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I voted for Jim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Im voting for dave!

No more polls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

I voted for YORE MA.....

Theres a million threads on this....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Dave! wrote: »
    Just wait for the exit polls

Why not have an official boards.ie exit poll:p

BTW will the exit polls be indicative of the result as early as tonight? Will we have any exit polls by then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Paddy Power is still taking bets on this, it'll be interesting to see how this vote goes.

http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_type&category=SPECIALS&ev_class_id=33&ev_type_id=9403&promo=nov_LisbonTreatyReferendum&crea=lnk

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i think i was the first person in the voting place this morning, they hadnt opened the box thing and just wanted to take my vote and put it in the box later!!!!!!!!!!!!

i said not a hope, just open the bloody box

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

irishbird wrote: »
    they hadnt opened the box thing and just wanted to take my vote and put it in the box later!!!!!!!!!!!!

Typical 'No' side. They'll do anything to try bend this country over and give it a good rogering before fecking off in the morning before the country wakes up and realises what's happened

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i thought they were the yes, side trying to void my vote tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 diamondgeezer

irishbird wrote: »
    i thought they were the yes, side trying to void my vote tbh

Do you not know that in "new" Ireland, one must obey and comply with every instruction. This is the new freedom.

Every single vote on Boards.ie seems to be putting the no side comfortably ahead. Im aware Boards is probrably not the best indication of public feeling but surely after so many polls in different fora showing a no vote generally in the 55 - 65% range (now whether the voters on boards have the bottle to carry that through to the polling is open to doubt of course) - is there not a danger that those on the Yes side may have seriously underestimated the no vote? If boards is anything to go by - allowing for even large margins of error - something does not seem right coming from the Yes side's confidence in recent days. Me thinks they may be being economical with what they have actually been hearing on the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 diamondgeezer

darkman2 wrote: »
    Every single vote on Boards.ie seems to be putting the no side comfortably ahead. Im aware Boards is probrably not the best indication of public feeling but surely after so many polls in different fora showing a no vote generally in the 55 - 65% range - is there not a danger that those on the Yes side may have seriously underestimated the no vote? If boards is anything to go by - allowing for even large margins of error - something does not seem right coming from the Yes side's confidence in recent days.

As Stalin said, it not who votes, its who counts the votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

I voted no to our new insect overlords

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

Forgot today was voting day til just now. ****, now i gotta decide what to do.
    Blissful ignorance ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭rollie

Sherifu wrote: »
    I voted for Jim.

but jim corr is a crazy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

How did you vote today?

Went into polling station. Ticked box. Put vote in box.

Is there another way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭johnnyq

well a big no from me anyway.

There really are so many improvements that can be made.

Turnout where I was looked like zero. I was at the polling station for over 20 minutes (I know the officer there) and not one other person came to vote while I was there.

Show your negative support guys!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

johnnyq wrote: »
    There really are so many improvements that can be made.

Good luck on getting those :rolleyes:

Also, seriously. Why another poll? There are *how* many of them around now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Went into polling stating. Ticked box. Put vote in box.

Is there another way?

Text Yes or No into the polling station?

This is the 'how did you vote poll?' - not one of the 'how will you vote?' polls. Assuming not too many boardsies lie about what way they actually voted on this poll it should be more representative then the others. Like an exit poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

also ironically theres no option in this poll to vote "didn't vote"
    Or spoiled vote. Those are two options for people who don't want to vote yes or no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭eoin2nc

Boards doesnt really represent the political structure in Ireland. If it did we would have a comfortable FG majority in government at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

I voted yes.
    I was going into my polling station and bumped into 2 girls i went to school with coming out. I just said "I hope you did the right thing and voted Yes" jokingly.The two of them were mortified, "did you not read what Libertas have been sending around!" I nearly pissed myself laughing, i just waved them off and went inside.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Jaysus do we need another thread on this? :(

Cant wait for it all to be over, regardless the outcome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Pixel8

I suppose the Yes voters are gonna say that Libertas are spreading conspiracy theories? Ignorance is NOT bliss.

If you vote YES to this treaty, then you definitely haven't read the small print. More control for Europe in the hands of fewer men, less control for Ireland and basically if you vote Yes, then you're giving the already rich International Bankers even more control over us, like the control they have already is not enough? You guys ALL need to research the International Bankers before voting, this is BAD!

Watch Esoteric Agenda and The Empire Of The City to see what this International Bankers stuff is all about. You will be scared...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Pixel8 wrote: »
    I suppose the Yes voters are gonna say that Libertas are spreading conspiracy theories? Ignorance is NOT bliss.

If you vote YES to this treaty, then you definitely haven't read the small print. More control for Europe in the hands of fewer men, less control for Ireland and basically if you vote Yes, then you're giving the already rich International Bankers even more control over us, like the control they have already is not enough? You guys ALL need to research the International Bankers before voting, this is BAD!

Watch Esoteric Agenda and The Empire Of The City to see what this International Bankers stuff is all about. You will be scared...

So voting no is going to prevent, er, bankers taking over the EU or something? It might be good if they get all the powerz, sorry control, maybe they can do something to control traffic in dublin???? Im voting yes for the bankers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭eoin2nc

Pixel8 wrote: »

I presume your talking about the fact that the EU Central Bank sets the interest rates in Ireland? The Treaty is not going to affect the EU monetarty union, ie the Euro-zone countries. This is not going to change

You should read the Treaty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

I voted NO

As Stalin said, it not who votes, its who counts the votes.

Sweet, my mates are part of the counters in my constituency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

A nice big NO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

A big YES from me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

People who think that after throwing the Treaty out nothing will change are very wrong. Many countries are aware of the dangers of tomorrow's world.

I think that the next proccess will be creating new smaller religonal Unions between the countries. For many countries the Lisbon Treaty is too important to give it up just like that.

I just hope that this referendum will not destroy the common Europe, I really hope for that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

I wonder could it be said that boards.ie is a fair enough cross section of the voting public.

Now that I've said it, I don't believe that to be true.

It will be interesting to see how this poll compares to the actual vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

I voted no, and I've 450 MILLION reasons for doing it.

One little nation can withhold this attack on public services (read IBECs submission to the NCOE- what does 'liberalisation' mean to you....), on democracy (don't expect further refernendums in a hurry...) and on workers rights.

Think of France and Holland when you vote, think of our future, think of our present standing in Europe, and think of what kind of European model you want. To say Yes to a democratic Europe, say No to an undemocratic Treaty. WHO WOULD SIGN A CONTRACT THEY DIDN'T UNDERSTAND

Party politics don't apply here, and every vote counts. Get out there, and show the democratically minded citizens of Europe Ireland still has some fight in her ;)

I wonder could it be said that boards.ie is a fair enough cross section of the voting public.

Now that I've said it, I don't believe that to be true.

It will be interesting to see how this poll compares to the actual vote.

All polls ive seen on Boards.ie come out between 55 and 65% against the treaty. - Not sure how much to read into it. On politics.ie the Yes side has 66% out of 150 votes atm. Unless people here are lying about how they voted or whether they voted or not I suspect boards might not be too far off the mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Haven't gotten down to the polling station yet, once I finish my lunch I'll head down.

Kicking myself for not getting "Vote NO - Europe Will take your pensions" for the craic and strolling around the polling station showing it off to the elderly.

I dunno though, wouldn't put it past our Government to make sure that the result is a yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

Totally forgot to vote on the way to work. Maybe later :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

PrivateEye wrote: »

One little nation can withhold this attack on public services (read IBECs submission to the NCOE- what does 'liberalisation' mean to you....), on democracy (don't expect further refernendums in a hurry...) and on workers rights.
    1. 450 million people are not against Treaty.

2. Workers?? At least I know Irish trades-unions and trade associations supported Treaty of Lisbon...

3. Liberalisation means freedom of trade and freedom of your choice in business without the fact that your choices might be limited by law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

I went to vote, but the ballot paper had no "Atari Jaguar" option, so instead I had to spoil the ballot. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

I voted Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

im off today so i went down around 11 o clock as it was a lovely morning as well.

voted no.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭ruskin

PrivateEye wrote: »

Think of France and Holland when you vote, think of our future, think of our present standing in Europe, and think of what kind of European model you want. To say Yes to a democratic Europe, say No to an undemocratic Treaty. WHO WOULD SIGN A CONTRACT THEY DIDN'T UNDERSTAND

Party politics don't apply here, and every vote counts. Get out there, and show the democratically minded citizens of Europe Ireland still has some fight in her ;)

+ 1

Get out and vote people, theres a long, long night there until 10 o'clock.

VOTE NO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Is there another way?

Well you could put an X in the box rather than a tick as it says on the ballot paper!

I voted no. My sister also voted no after asking me how I was going to vote. She knows nothing about the Treaty.

Asstonishing consistency between all the polls on boards that have been done. Some of it is obviously the same posters voting again but still - ive a feeling the no side is in the asscendancy. Again this poll going the same way and showing between 55% and 65% no vote. Which is not too far from the IT poll last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Rb wrote: »
    Haven't gotten down to the polling station yet, once I finish my lunch I'll head down.

Kicking myself for not getting "Vote NO - Europe Will take your pensions" for the craic and strolling around the polling station showing it off to the elderly.

I dunno though, wouldn't put it past our Government to make sure that the result is a yes.
    Well Libertas help out the Bush administration, so if you're lucky they may have learned a few things about sorting elections and put them into practice ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Voted Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

humanji wrote: »
    Well Libertas help out the Bush administration, so if you're lucky they may have learned a few things about sorting elections and put them into practice ;)
    Fianna Fail help out the Bush Administration too, they let them use Shannon Airport to refuel planes on their way to bomb innocent cities in the middle east so under that logic, and given the power difference in Fianna Fail and Libertas, I'd imagine it'd be a lot more likely that FF would undertake such actions :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Yes, but you seem to forget the little issue of FF incompetence, so I think you're safe :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

Is there another way?

You were supposed to put an "X" in the box not a tick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 PaintingMedium

I voted No!

Go on the NO vote!:p