Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sexist Comments

• 11-06-2008 4:47pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I was in a coffee shop today in the city (we only have one real city in this country so you know which one ;) ) I was at the counter waiting for my coffee and a young Italian bloke was standing beside me looking kind of agitated.Anyway the girl behind the counter asks can she help him,he says 'i am looking for a job' to which she replied 'we only hire girls'.She was an Asian girl so maybe not up to date on current discriminating laws.

The Italian bloke taught nothing of this and went on his merry way,I had to laugh and could not help thinking I should go witness for him and help change the world.But my coffee was ready and I had to look for the sugar.I am not sure why they have this policy of not hiring guys,its not as if all the chicks are hot (with one very notable exception).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

You have a very good point there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Perhaps she meant to say "we don't hire Italians" but didn't want to hurt his feelings? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭johnnyq

I've seen that happen on buses all the time when we have probably the only female bus driver.
    "I'd Hoot your horn"... and so on.

She's sound though and always has crisp comebacks. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

I misread the tag, thought it said sexIest comments.... damn!

OP, that is a bit mad alright, if it were a woman refused the job there'd be all out war!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

my ex works in a primary school that only hires women.

the department of ed apparently disapprove of this but dont do anything about it as its pretty obvious when youve 15+ teachers and a couple of other staff, caretakers ect. all women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Tits_McGee

after all, cooking and serving is a job specifically designated for women. who are we to deprive them of it??? it'd be like a 16yr old girl finishing her junior cert and then beginning her career as a labourer for masons on a 16 story skyscraper.

its simply not as god intended.

besides, tell the italian to open a pizza shop. i heard theyre good at that sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

A restaurant I go to regularly only hired women in the past. It was a bit of a shock to see a man working there one day! They only hire useless men now, probably gives them a good reason to fire them early on.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

judas101 wrote: »

I would say its fairly common in a secret underhand don't come out and say it kind of way,thats why its strange to hear such a honest rebuke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Steve_o wrote: »
    OP, that is a bit mad alright, if it were a woman refused the job there'd be all out war!

Indeed, they'd be chaining themselves to the front door, contacting the media etc.

I've never came across a company that only hires guys though. If I ever open one though, my staff will be confined to hot women and guys who have the appropriate skills/qualifications for the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

Its weird because i know before when i was working in a restaurant as a chef. The manageress refused to hire men as waiting staff unless they were so gay the could light the candles by touch alone. She also refused to hire female kitchen staff unless they were utter swamp donkeys. I think its this whole, keeping the work dynamic going with a minimum of flirting and **** like that. Especially in an environment where you'll be talking to each other a lot during the day. Could be the reason....

Which in my case was a nightmare cause i ended up working with 1 female chef we called nappy arse...well i think you can guess why!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭markos79

Sexist is the word you're looking for I think!

Hey, every1 knows Corcaigh is the REAL Capital....:cool:

ah another poor cork rebel that just wont let it go!!!

up the dubs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

Dub13 wrote: »
    I was in a coffee shop today in the city (we only have one real city in this country so you know which one ;) ) I was at the counter waiting for my coffee and a young Italian bloke was standing beside me looking kind of agitated.Anyway the girl behind the counter asks can she help him,he says 'i am looking for a job' to which she replied 'we only hire girls'.She was an Asian girl so maybe not up to date on current discriminating laws.

The Italian bloke taught nothing of this and went on his merry way,I had to laugh and could not help thinking I should go witness for him and help change the world.But my coffee was ready and I had to look for the sugar.I am not sure why they have this policy of not hiring guys,its not as if all the chicks are hot (with one very notable exception).

I think it's very sexest when people accuse men of being unable to spell or construct a sentence properly. Darned sexual discrimination...sorry discriminating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Its more common that you think. I read somewhere O' Briens Sambo places dont hire men (I dont think i've ever seen a guy there either), i've seen some bars that only hire hot women.

I suppose if it was turned around though and someone said "Sorry, we dont hire women" there would be uproar

Thats right I have never see a bloke working in a O' Briens.

I think it's very sexest when people accuse men of being unable to spell or construct a sentence properly. Darned sexual discrimination...sorry discriminating

Its after hours,I am not going to re read my post in here as 96.5% of after hours 'regulars' will not notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

johnnyq wrote: »
    I've seen that happen on buses all the time when we have probably the only female bus driver.

Yea but men can make coffee, yet women can't drive, so it's fair enough tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Hooters ftw.

Only one real city & AH regulars won't notice; not bad trolling but only mild.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭who's yer one?

not the point of the post but its sexIst.

i'll go away now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I was in a coffee shop today in the city (we only have one real city in this country so you know which one ;) ).

That's not true. Back to the Geography class with you.

Yeah, there are a lot more jobs for women than men in retail/service. It's pretty bad in my opinion, women's clothes shops only hire women, then in men's clothes shops they hire hot chicks. It's only ever women that ever make your sandwiches. I wouldn't give a sh*t but as a full time student, it's bloody hard to get a menial part time job in the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Eglinton

the department of ed apparently disapprove of this but dont do anything about it as its pretty obvious when youve 15+ teachers and a couple of other staff, caretakers ect. all women

Highly illegal. I'm sure it's not something they say explicitly? The Minister for Education would be hung, drawn and quartered if they purposely turned a blind eye and simply disapproved.

Will you tell us the name of the school?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

To be fair, waay more women than men train as primary school teachers. And many many national schools are the same as the one your ex works in. Its not necessarily a plan...

not the point of the post but its sexIst.

i'll go away now..

And the award for dumbest statement this year goes to...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Hey, every1 knows Corcaigh is the REAL Capital....:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭markos79

oh no not you aswell !!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

The Italian bloke taught nothing of this and went on his merry way

No wonder they lost the war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

In the case of the cafe it must be an unofficial policy obviously but isn't there a taxi company starting up (they might be already in business) that have been directly advertising themselves as only recruiting and employing women drivers, they gave an interview on the radio a few weeks ago, on today fm, I think, and the owner said they would only be hiring female drivers because most women in Ireland won't get taxis because they are all terrified of being raped by male taxi drivers. (well she didn't say it in so many words but that was the gist of it). I think they are called Angel Cabs or something along those lines. I was convinced that must be highly illegal but the owner said she had checked it with authorities and they gave her the green light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

There's a guy in O' Briens in Dun Laoghaire working there :D. Been there for years among all the Asian women. Lucky sod :P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Thats right I have never see a bloke working in a O' Briens.

I saw one a while back. Though he looked really feminine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I saw TWO guys working in O Brien's on Grafton St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

O' Briens.

Now there's a generic name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

To be fair, waay more women than men train as primary school teachers. And many many national schools are the same as the one your ex works in. Its not necessarily a plan...

That's undeniably true but when she got the job, she recomended a friend of hers who's a man and the principal told her that they dont have men in the school.

reckon it's pretty common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

I think in Ireland its definitely the case that generally only woman are hired for jobs like coffee shops and waiting tables, the only exception to that is if you're more flamboyant than the average. The reverse could definitely be said for the construction industry. I think its probably just not talked about openly and when its said its kinda shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Kazobel

I've been getting that a lot lately, I'm more experienced than most graduates but still in every interview I can answer every question, pass every test but every single interview I've done in the last 2 months (and there's been lots) all that's ever said is "She knew her stuff, the interview went great but we just don't think she'll fit in with our team" it's the usual "We don't want to hire a transsexual" crap, half the time it's a joke considering I generally know more than the person interviewing me, one guy asked me what Winrunner was because he'd never heard of it and this was for an automation job (I won't say where but needless to say I wouldn't apply again) :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Kazobel wrote: »
    I've been getting that a lot lately, I'm more experienced than most graduates but still in every interview I can answer every question, pass every test but every single interview I've done in the last 2 months (and there's been lots) all that's ever said is "She knew her stuff, the interview went great but we just don't think she'll fit in with our team" it's the usual "We don't want to hire a transsexual" crap, half the time it's a joke considering I generally know more than the person interviewing me, one guy asked me what Winrunner was because he'd never heard of it and this was for an automation job (I won't say where but needless to say I wouldn't apply again) :eek:

Ever think it could be because they didn't like your personality? Just throwing that out there.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Ever think it could be because they didn't like your personality? Just throwing that out there.

My personality is irrelevant, How I talk to all you asswipes isn't how I talk to people in real life, you're all nothing but online entertainment for me where I get a buzz out of the over reactive outrage, who needs television?...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Careful now...

My personality is irrelevant, How I talk to all you asswipes isn't how I talk to people in real life, you're all nothing but online entertainment for me where I get a buzz out of the over reactive outrage, who needs television?...

:( Ah now that's not very nice is it?

About as nice as your comment, at least mine was general, your's was personal...

About as nice as your comment...

Not at all. I merely threw out a possibility that you may not have considered in light of your 'better than everyone' attitude in your post. Just because you're qualified for a job doesn't necessarily entitle you to get it. You may have slipped up in other areas.

Yours was just outright abuse.

Not at all. I merely threw out a possibility that you may not have considered in light of your 'better than everyone' attitude in your post. Just because you're qualified for a job doesn't necessarily entitle you to get it. You may have slipped up in other areas.

Yours was just outright abuse.

and in the same vein I threw out the possibility that you're all asswipe's, I never said it was true, but it is a possibility, you are still online entertainment though...

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I wouldnt Hire you, Transexual or not, you just seem like a nasty person.who wants to hire one of thoese

"i cant get a job because everyones against me!"

Enjoy queueing up for the dole. You bring it all on yourself.

and in the same vein I threw out the possibility that you're all asswipe's, I never said it was true, but it is a possibility, you are still online entertainment though...

Nobody ever said we weren't. We all post here to be entertained, some just provide more of it than others.

I wouldnt Hire you, Transexual or not, you just seem like a nasty person.who wants to hire one of thoese

"i cant get a job because everyones against me!"

Nobody ever said we weren't. We all post here to be entertained, some just provide more of it than others.

Ahh fcukoff, next thing I know this'll turn into loads of "He"/"Him" crap, I react then 20 retards post lolcats/Picard pics, I get banned by Dudess (Just to prove she's one of the lads) and you all feel masculine for a while, can't be arsed really :rolleyes:

I

[/I]

Well actually I do enjoy it, it's your tax that pays for it, nice one Mr Anderson because it also pays my rent allowance and medical card...

Ahh fcukoff, next thing I know this'll turn into loads of "He"/"Him" crap, I react then 20 retards post lolcats/Picard pics, I get banned by Dudess (Just to prove she's one of the lads) and you all feel masculine for a while, can't be arsed really :rolleyes:

Ah get over yourself will you. No one gives a shite whether you're a he/she/it/dog/cat/fucking goldfish. If you've got a shitty attitude then people are going to point it out. Deal with it.

Blah blah blah...

Lol.

Show me the post where one of us brought your gender into it. Go on, just to prove how much better than us you are. I think you'll find that people only commented on your attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Ihalf the time it's a joke considering I generally know more than the person interviewing me,

what about the other half?

Lol.

Show me the post where one of us brought your gender into it. Go on, just to prove how much better than us you are. I think you'll find that people only commented on your attitude.

Yawn...zzzzzzzzzzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

You brought the gender thing into it, as you always do.

Woe is me, ffs.