Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Birthday advice

• 11-06-2008 3:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭

Hi all!

Just looking for a wee bit of advice here. Would usually think of something myself but feeling lazy today.

Mate of mine has a b-day coming up next week and she's not pushed about doing anything for it. she's been a bit down for the last while, so here's the killer question, i'll def see her at the weekend, what do i get her that

1) will cheer her up
    2) remind her that life ain't so bad
    3) Won't cost me an arm and a leg?

Much obliged,

Red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

depends on the girl. what type of girl is she? girly girl? sporty? etc? eg. a cute little teddy holding up a happy birthday balloon would delight some girls while others would think you were insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

sar84 wrote: »
    depends on the girl. what type of girl is she? girly girl? sporty? etc? eg. a cute little teddy holding up a happy birthday balloon would delight some girls while others would think you were insane.

+1 depends on the girl

I'd cry if someone gave me a helium balloon, I love them :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

See now flowers would do that to me, I think I've recieved 4 or 5 bunches of flowers in 12 years (and 2 boyfriends), I usually end up buying flowers for myself!
    Get her something nice and simple, she will be touched more by the thought then the gift, well I would be:D

Oh me too :rolleyes: at least then you get nice flowers and not filler flowers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

girly girl is what i reckon would describe her better, she's gonna be 23 in case that puts any emphasis on different things.

Edit: difference between nice and filler flowers???

ha flowers are really a matter of taste, personally I love when it's just one type of flower, like tulips or lillys. I don't like the bunches of multiflowers that you can get in the supermarket.

But are you seeing her when you're in a pub on the weekend? Might be a bit awkward to mind flowers in a pub!

I think filler flowers are those generic run of the mill overpriced mixed bunches.
    If you are getting her flowers, make sure you find out what she likes and get them instead of getting what you think is nice (common mistake)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Flowers are nice indeed and what about some lotto tickets to go with it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭Clink

Was going to ask where it is you're going to see her too! I'd say a cake and if you can afford it a bottle of champagne/ cava. Wouldn't work in a pub enviroment either though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

How about bringing her to the comedy club in the international bar on Wicklow street, on Friday and Saturday nights. Should cheer her up a bit! Tenner in and I'm sure she'd laugh at some of the idiots they have on, also some good comedians sometimes. Its a bit random, I'm going saturday night so just thought of that as an idea. Something different anyway.

I wouldn't get flowers, waste of money imo. But then I'm not really a girly girl.

meeting her in town, but all that was mentioned that she'd meet me in town and i have to get to work that evening anyway so it won't be a pub i'm in :D

I'm kinda leaning more towards something that she can keep and look at that will remind her of a good time, that would be the few hours i'm treating her :D

Arrange for a photographer to show up unexpected with the flowers and lotto tickets .The photo she will have to remind her of the good time she had with you and if those numbers come up ......

latchyco wrote: »
    Arrange for a photographer to show up unexpected with the flowers and lotto tickets .The photo she will have to remind her of the good time she had with you and if those numbers come up ......

lol i quite like that! it may even happen!

latchyco wrote: »

That's a lovely idea :D

RedXIV wrote: »
    lol i quite like that! it may even happen![/QUOTE

why not ? :)
    Cathooo wrote: »
    That's a lovely idea :D

We have to try now help our brothers and sisters now dont we Cath Hun ? ;)

the only thing stopping me is i don't know where we're going. or any photgraphers :(

Hmmmmm oohhh check the photo forum here and see if any boardsies would be about in town etc. when you are:D

the only thing stopping me is i don't know where we're going. or any photgraphers :(

Bound to be sombody around you know with a digi camera, unless you want to hire a professional one ? after you have arranged were your going of course

Argh! she doesn't know where she wants to go!?!

hmmmmmmmmm ok, new plan, where is nice to go in town, just for a relaxation time and might look good for background of a photo?

Carlow town or Dublin town ? Sure the many residents of those wonderful citys eh, town (steady ) will more than be willing to help you with that one :D

.Let us know how you get on Red

Dublin town this time. (good thing ya asked)

If i come up with something completely different, i'll let ye know too. Need to go get brainstorming coffee in me ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Cazlou

there's a street performance carnival thingy on in Merrion Square this weekend, might be a bit of craic and I'm sure it'd provide a nice colourful background for pics!?! If I can find the link I'll post if for ya!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Cathooo wrote: »
    +1 depends on the girl

I'd cry if someone gave me a helium balloon, I love them :D

You on helium? I have to hear it. :p
    Cazlou wrote: »
    there's a street performance carnival thingy on in Merrion Square this weekend, might be a bit of craic and I'm sure it'd provide a nice colourful background for pics!?! If I can find the link I'll post if for ya!:cool:

http://www.spwc.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

Take her to a park and push her on a swing. Get her one flower, one you have picked yourself.

Make her laugh, take her to a comedy club. Bring her for a ride on one of those things pulled by the men, the chinesey things and give her a home made card with a made up poem by you of course!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

You could talk really nicely to the folk on the photography forum to see if anyone in Dublin could lend a fellow boardsie a hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

If they're not pushed about doing anything for their birthday why wouldn't you respect their wishes?

It pisses me off when people try and do stuff for my birthday... some people just don't like birthdays.

If they're not pushed about doing anything for their birthday why wouldn't you respect their wishes?

It pisses me off when people try and do stuff for my birthday... some people just don't like birthdays.

I never celebrate my birthday but i guess just once i wish someone would surprise me.

OT what kind of monkey is that in my avator? Took that pic in the zoo and cant remember.....

Trinity1 wrote: »
    OT what kind of monkey is that in my avator? Took that pic in the zoo and cant remember.....

I'm no expert or anything... but I'd say it's Saimiri sciureus or the Common Squirrel Monkey if you prefer...

Saimiri sciureus - nerd :D
    Thank you sir, cos i cant get the little barsteward off my avator :p

He is cute though and i always wanted a chimp. Gonna get banned for going OT but would you have one as a pet if you could?

Nah... monkeys are funny... but they're total jerks. I'm happy enough with my monkey puppet Darwin.

:D she's also been trying to get me out of her life coz she reckons she'll depress me, i don't take hints like that too well, i know she needs a mate so i'm sticking by the girl.

Like i said earlier, she's not been in the best of moods recently, last few months been tough on her, this is why the thoughts of planning something jolly for herself doesn't appeal.

But i want to help her change this and she
    A) might take me more seriously and
    B) might starting cheering up

if i do right.

Nah... monkeys are funny... but they're total jerks. I'm happy enough with my monkey puppet Darwin.

Thanks for reply and on behalf of the monkey population i say :mad:

Just kidding - back on topic - get her a minkey Red

:D she's also been trying to get me out of her life coz she reckons she'll depress me, i don't take hints like that too well, i know she needs a mate so i'm sticking by the girl.

Like i said earlier, she's not been in the best of moods recently, last few months been tough on her, this is why the thoughts of planning something jolly for herself doesn't appeal.

But i want to help her change this and she
    A) might take me more seriously and
    B) might starting cheering up

if i do right.

Do you loike her Red? :o

Oh wait i love my other ideas about the swings and stuff but start off with the zoo!

Best place anyone ever took me :o

Do you loike her Red? :o

lol, this is not they way i seduce girls, trust me.

*Bring me the zoo push me on a swing and make me laugh and i'm anyones :D

*add 2 bottles of heineken

i use ice skating myself if its the season

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

*Bring me the zoo push me on a swing and make me laugh and i'm anyones :D

*add 2 bottles of heineken

/makes note for possible future use ;)

The only place better than the zoo is the wax museum...

Can't wait until it reopens later this year...

(I also can't wait for my ban from the zoo to expire)

Can't wait until it reopens later this year...

(I also can't wait for my ban from the zoo to expire)

Why you banned?

I love the zoo, but sometimes it makes me cry, when i see the animals pacing and knowing this is not where they were meant to be :(

On a lighter note Zaph, ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Cazlou

I never celebrate my birthday but i guess just once i wish someone would surprise me.

I generally celebrate but they nearly always disappoint so I'm thinking of not this year:eek: but totally second the surprise part!:rolleyes:

Darwin's adorable!!:)

I was never at the wax museum!:eek::(

Cazlou wrote: »
    I was never at the wax museum!:eek::(

I don't imagine the new one will be as good.

I bet it won't have furry tunnels like the old one.