Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ipod rant

• 08-06-2008 8:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭

i hope this doesnt offend any of ye out there that have ipods and like them but after my second one died last night (out of warranty too :() i will not be buying another one.

the first one i got was in late 2004 which was just able to play music but no videos at that time. 20 GB of storage. after 2 years (during which time it wasnt used a lot really) it decided to not start up one night. it only worked if you plug it into the wall charger and even the USB connector for my PC hasnt enough juice to make it go. i can only assume the battery died.

the latest one was over a year old. 30 GB which can play videos etc also but it acted up last night. only half the screen works but it flickered in black lines only on that part and even if the screen was the only part that failed, i still cant hear the clicks when i use the touch sensitive scroller so it must be something else also.

i went out today to buy another one because i just couldnt be bothered with the hassle and cost of repairing it and i find that there are only 1, 2, 4, 8 and 160 GB ones available now :confused:. it used to be possible to get a 30 and 60 GB one but now if you cant fit all your music on an 8 GB one you must fork out a load extra cash to buy a ridiculously large capacity one that most people will never fill and the cost is also ridiculous.

why did they do this to their customers? its stupid IMO and i had to make up my mind to not buy one even though i have a few ipod accessories which will now be obsolete :(.

i got a new Creative Zen instead............

http://ie.europe.creative.com/products/product.asp?category=213&subcategory=214&product=16999

a lot smaller in size, less memory at 16GB but i can get a memory card to add up to 16GB more if i need to (which i doubt) and the battery life is much higher than any ipod out there. all flash memory too so its a lot safer from damage caused by dropping it etc as opposed to the hard drive in ipods. another good thing is that i dont have to convert AVI or WMV files to quicktime to play them on this either.

this is not an advertisement for Creative either and im not selling them or anything. however if Apple had been on the ball and kept a more reasonable capacity range of ipods out there :rolleyes: i would most likely have bought another but i found them unreliable now too after a second one died on me in 2 years.

8GB to 160GB is a stupid range of capacity difference IMO. why dont they keep making a few more sizes in between that?????:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

Cremo wrote: »

oops :o, didnt know that. thanks anyway :).

still i think the reliability of ipods is pretty bad from my experiences with them. 80GB would still be around 68 more than i need now and im not likely to add that much more to it either in the future.

that and the ease of transferring video files wins me over on the creative now anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

I've always been more of a creative man myself, had a iRiver for a while which I loved but spilled water all over it and it doesnt work properly now. Wasn't the players fault.

Been using a creative zen vision M for about a year now and love it. 60gb and got it for just €189 on ebay (brand new and all). Apple could never offer me anything that good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭art

D_murph wrote: »
    oops :o, didnt know that. thanks anyway :).

still i think the reliability of ipods is pretty bad from my experiences with them. 80GB would still be around 68 more than i need now and im not likely to add that much more to it either in the future.

that and the ease of transferring video files wins me over on the creative now anyway.

There's also 16GB options and 32GB options.

Without intending to sound insulting in any way, honest, but the time
    you spent writing the initial post may have been better spent checking the actual range available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mfield

I was just about to post about iPods myself. I have put a few new hard discs into them for friends but I have to say the way the hard discs start clicking and then just die is so crap.

My girlfriends one just went the other day and was wondering is it even worth contacting Apple as she has it more than a year or should I just get a replacement HD off eBay?

I have a 20gig one for the last 5 years and it's still working a treat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Passenger

Aye, well the iTouch is 30gb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Passenger wrote: »
    Aye, well the iTouch is 30gb.

It's an Ipod Touch, not a iTouch and it's 32gb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭jackdaw

I would advise anyone to stay away from ipods, zens, any mp3 portable player ...
    pure ****e of the highest order .. is there anyone here who can say their iPod has worked longer then 2 years ?

Apple (and others (creative,etc..)) know that people nowadays just say "**** it , I'll buy a new one" ...

I bought an Ipod Classic 80GB 3 weeks ago, now iTunes doesn't see it ..
    on any computer .. nor it be read by the system as a drive .. it appears but can't access it .. and yes i have the latest iTunes on all PC's i tried it on ..

anyway ill bring it back .. maybe ill get my money back ..

PS ... anyone know of any of these things that are made in Japan ?

that would be better quality then this chinese crap ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

i had a first gen ipod.

like this

382714156_5aeb0735a8.jpg

used it for about two years and got a present of a 3rd gen ipod. i gave the first gen one to my brother and it's still flying along, he gets about 5 hours from the battery which is a bit ****ty but it still works exactly like the day i got it.

with all thing electronic you'll get bad batches.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

jackdaw wrote: »
    I would advise anyone to stay away from ipods, zens, any mp3 portable player ...
    pure ****e of the highest order .. is there anyone here who can say their iPod has worked longer then 2 years ?

Apple (and others (creative,etc..)) know that people nowadays just say "**** it , I'll buy a new one" ...

on any computer .. nor it be read by the system as a drive .. it appears but can't access it .. and yes i have the latest iTunes on all PC's i tried it on ..

I have an Ipod video and I think it's just entering it's 3rd year of life now...

You get bad batches of everything electronic no matter how much quality control you have. When I worked for O2 I used to get people telling me how atrocious Nokia was, and buying a Motorola instead.

If eleventy bajillion items are sold that means it can still be a success if half a bajillion goes tits up. Thats just the nature of electronics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mfield

Once the year warranty is gone on your iPod, does anyone know how much you have to pay to get it repaired? A little over a year out of the HD really is a bad return!

Has anyone here sent their iPod for repair (replacement of HD) when it was out of warranty?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,423 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

I've a nearly 3yr old ipod video, works grand.
    I've a nearly 5yr old rio Karma, works grand.

That is all I have to say to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭art

3rd gen iPod here, used everyday, works grand. Have it since June 2004 so four years old now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

micmclo wrote: »
    It's an Ipod Touch, not a iTouch and it's 32gb

I don't get why everybody has to correct this.. Who cares??

We all know what they mean!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

is there anyone here who can say their iPod has worked longer then 2 years ?

{Puts hand up}
    At least a couple in my household.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭jackdaw

OK the nature of electronics will have a faulty batch .. but if it's made in China the rate goes way up ... for example i don't think much Canon L series lenses go
    faulty ...

(touches wood) ..

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

OK the nature of electronics will have a faulty batch .. but if it's made in China the rate goes way up ... for example i don't think much Canon L series lenses go
    faulty ...

(touches wood) ..

Actually it isn't the country of origin, its the amount the company is willing to spend on quality control. For alot of American companies, for example, it is simply cheaper to replace a faulty item than to spend money ensuring it doesn't fault in the first place.

Nokia spends loads on quality. Motorola doesn't. Who would you trust more?

I'm not sure what apple's policy is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

1huge1 wrote: »
    60gb and got it for just €189 on ebay (brand new and all). Apple could never offer me anything that good.

I got an 80GB iPod for free, thats alot better than €189 for 60GB ;), and its lasted about 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I've had my creative zen vision M for almost 2 years and i love it, but recently it's being a little gob****e of a yoke and freezing, but it's still going strong, might ppick up a Zune 80!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,423 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    I got an 80GB iPod for free, thats alot better than €189 for 60GB ;), and its lasted about 3 years.

Interesting.... since there hasn't been any 80gb model ipod available for three years... the first 80gb ipod was released a little over a year and a half ago ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭JohnnieM

Not true..My 80 gb Ipod was purchased 2 days befor halloween two years ago... that'll be three years this halloween..(dixons liffy valley)

Actually i also purchased insurance for three years for €105 lately I was buying another ipod as a present and saw how slim the current version is I had explaind to the assistant that I allready had one etc but i like the look of the new one .. She said if you had insurance and made a claim I would get the new one.. For the heck of iT I rang the Insurance company but I'm not coming up on their records under my name or address or any thin.. thats spellig my name under all sorts of possibilities and address look up etc etc.. So I paid Insurance money for nothin:mad: any body had problems with Insurance..

JohnnieM wrote: »
    Not true..My 80 gb Ipod was purchased 2 days befor halloween two years ago... that'll be three years this halloween..(dixons liffy valley)

Not true... the first 80gb Apple iPod was released in september 2006, so you cannot possibly have an 80gb model that's nearly 3 years old. This halloween you will have one that is 2 years old though. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭JohnnieM

Must be mixin up the years..:o Well the good news is that means I have another year of insurance left... 12 extra months to find the bloody receipt showing I purchased insurance...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 job3

Mactard wrote: »
    Interesting.... since there hasn't been any 80gb model ipod available for three years... the first 80gb ipod was released a little over a year and a half ago ;)

Ya just checked it up there. Hes right the 80GB wasnt released until 12 september 2006

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Well, I've had the iPod photo (gen 1) since it came out in the states, and I've had no problems. It's working fine.. and thats AAAAAAGES ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

My first iPod was a third gen model which soon started to suffer from battery problems, got it sorted out by Apple easily enough (they're up there with Seagate as my best RMA experiences) Managed to break the replacement soon after I got it though (they're not waterproof!!! apple = sux!:eek:)

My 5.5g was working fine, but I decided to get a replacement anyway before the warranty ran out.After having that for the best part of a year, the headphone jack is starting to act dodgy...

Rather than taking it apart and replacing it, I'm tempted to just get myself a new model or even a different brand...

bit of a pointless post, just wanted to share my iPood experiences... Even after the battery and headphone jack problems, I'm still 90% sure that my next player will be an Apple product...