Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Live Daytime Poker in Tallaght.

• 06-06-2008 1:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭

We are running Poker tournaments in The Poker Room In Tallaght during the day on Mon / Wed / Fri at 2p.m

Here is the details

1. Its Run by The Poker Room, The Square, Atari Expo, Top Floor Tallaght.
    2. Its run for commercial purposes for the benefit of its members.
    3. Day time tournaments every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 2p.m
    4. Registration at 1.30p.m, early bird 1,000 unit chip until 1.55p.m
    5. Need to be club member, Free, quick membership.
    6. No Maximum players capacity 120.
    7. €65 Freezeout Holdem tournament.
    8. €65 no rebuys or top ups.
    9. €10 registration, $55 prize pool.
    10. 100% prize Pool.
    11. Prize Pool depends on numbers of players.
    12. No rebuys.
    13. 10,000 starting chips and 1,000 units early bird chip.
    14. No other chips.
    15. Blind Levels
    25-50 (30 minute rounds)
    50-100
    100-200
    200-400
    300-600
    400-800
    500-1000
    800-1600
    1000-2000
    2000-4000
    4000-8000
    8000-16000
    16000-32000
    32000-64000
    64000-128000
    and so on.

(the club reserves the right to change the blind structure in order to improve the game or to meet the demands of the players.)

16. Blind levels go up every 30 minutes.
    17. The prize pool will be paid to the final 10% of the field.
    18. Professional dealers on all tables.
    19. Internet posted WSOP Holdem tournament rules apply.
    20. Tournament Director will be announced on the day.
    21. Tournament Director will have the final say in all disputes.

The Poker room Tallaght, is a superb location for Poker, we have 12 championship tables, all sports events will be shown on Plasma TVs, we have a members lounge and we offer free food and drink every day.
    We have a relaxed atmosphere and a fun friendly environment.

We also offer live cash games during our opening times, 1-2 Live 5 straddle no-limit Holdem and 1-1-3 Pot Limit Omaha.

We have great action 7 nights a week.

The club is open Mon / Wed / Fri 1.30p.m - 6a.m
    Tue/ Thurs / Sat / Sun 8p.m -6a.m

If you have questions please get in touch

Thanks Ross 086-2301229

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Looks good value for 65 bucks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 482 ✭✭Mont

Well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭doke

Nice one. Daytime tournaments are a great idea for those of us with "flexible working hours" who don't like the idea of crawling into bed at 5 AM every time they play a live tournament.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 482 ✭✭Mont

handy for when you pull a sicky from work or just too scagged to make it in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭ElectraBlue

doke wrote: »
    Nice one. Daytime tournaments are a great idea for those of us with "flexible working hours" who don't like the idea of crawling into bed at 5 AM every time they play a live tournament.

I have a half day due to me soon... and my poker 'buddy' is off 'sick' with a broken ankle at the moment. Will def check it out! :cool:

Any idea of numbers yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

good luck with your venture Ross,

sounds like it could really take off for you

10k with 30 minute blinds is a very good structure for good players and for half decent players to lear how to play better

congrats, sounds like a nice place too, with plasmas etc, nice 1

Derek W & Steve Mc L
    Poker Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭AKDK

im there sounds really good hop it takes off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

Can OP post the numbers for todays tourney as i'd be interested in playing this if there were sufficient numbers. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Helper_Monkey

Awesome idea! How do we get to said den of iniquity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭swat1902

Hey, Are there many players at these?

Did this happen on Monday?

How many runners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

tm2204 wrote: »
    Did this happen on Monday?

How many runners?

I believe only 2 players turned up for this which is surprising seen as it looked like a good game.

JP Poker wrote: »
    I believe only 2 players turned up for this which is surprising seen as it looked like a good game.

:eek: FFS I thought this would be a runner!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭swat1902

Ah well, looked like a runner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Wait until those PPP fish start coming in on their lunch break. You could build two games around BCB and Ionapaul could fulfill a roll as a shill (in the poker sense of the word as well as the pimping sense of the word...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭The Poker Room

We had 10 runners today (Wednesday) for the tournament.

The prize pool was, €55 X10 plus €50 added so €600

1st €300
    2nd €200
    3rd €100

The last three players chopped it up and the structure worked well and encouraged a lot of play.

Expecting at least two full tables on friday as lots of players have already commtted to play on friday.

Hope to see you there !

Its easy to find, Its in The Square the big shopping center in tallaght, find the cinema enterance and then Atari Expo is two doors down next to KFC
    in Atari Expo go upstairs large room sign on left. Its also less than 2 minute walk from the luis.

Also there is some very good deep stacked cash games every night, and running in conjunction with the day time tournaments. On an average night there is €3-€5k on the table, sometimes alot more.
    There is usually a good table by 8.30-9.00p.m and it goes on all night usually until about 6a.m and obviously you can come and go as you please.

if you have questions or need directions please give me call.

Many thanks Ross 086-2301229

We actually had 6 runners on Monday but due to people showing up at different times it didn't happen. We had a full table on Wednesday, It was a good game and expect two or more tables on Friday based on verbal commitments.

J.P could you please refain from commenting on my thread unless you know the facts, many thanks Ross.

We actually had 6 runners on Monday but due to people showing up at different times it didn't happen. We had a full table on Wednesday, It was a good game and expect two or more tables on Friday based on verbal commitments.

J.P could you please refain from commenting on my thread unless you know the facts, many thanks Ross.

Ross i don't know how many turned up as i wasn't there myself. But i did come into your club for the 1st time last night and asked one of your dealers how many players turned up on Monday and i was told 2 players.

Maybe you need to inform your night time dealers of the daytime activity

J.P thanks for the advice. All feedback is greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I gots da shill skills for da poka thrills...we're the poker team that don't just write the headlines, we are the headlines :)

On a sad note, they (Atari Expo) removed their killer 4-man racing game that was always good for a friday afternoon visit to see which one of us would make the best rally driver. They still have the mini basketball rings game though, so all is not lost!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

yes because it is your thread isnt it??? thank god we're not on a public forum where different people can answer questions to the best of thier knowledge.........:rolleyes:

is this the same poker room that stood outside a different tournament organisers tournament, trying to poach their customers as they walked in, telling them "we have a much better game"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

5. Need to be club member, Free, quick membership.

Love it, very illegal tho.

bohsman wrote: »

Why is it illegal? Do you need to pay for membership for it to be legal? Are a lot of clubs not free membership?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭AKDK

ITT-Pat wrote: »
    yes because it is your thread isnt it??? thank god we're not on a public forum where different people can answer questions to the best of thier knowledge.........:rolleyes:

is this the same poker room that stood outside a different tournament organisers tournament, trying to poach their customers as they walked in, telling them "we have a much better game"?

:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 TigersBunker

I thought every casino/poker room in Ireland was technically illegal ??

Name and phone number is not enough to pass as a private members club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 flopmehappy

ITT-Pat wrote: »

A+:):):):):)

We had another good tournament last Friday.

We had ten players at €55 each for a prize pool of €550 + €50 added.

1st prize €300

2nd prize €200

3rd prize €100

Tournament finished at 5.30p.m

Next Tournament is Monday the 16th of June at 2p.m 10,000 starting stack and 30 minute blinds.

The Poker Room is fully compliant with all Private Members Club requirements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Get In There

Do me a favour Ross, I've texted you numerous times and have sent you a PM but they seem to be ignored as I have just recieved yet another text about 5 mins ago.

Can you please remove my number-as given in the PM- from the texting list as I do not want to recieve any texts in relation to your club for reasons given in the PM. To be frank, its getting annoying recieving unwanted texts nearly twice a week when I couldn't make it any more clearer that i do not want to get those texts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

I've texted you numerous times and have sent you a PM but they seem to be ignored as I have just recieved yet another text about 5 mins ago.
    Name and phone number is not enough to pass as a private members club.

Name and Spam channel by the sound of it :eek:

I just dont get how people can give their real phone numbers, makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

I just dont get how people can give their real phone numbers, makes no sense.

QFT

I do not send out the texts myself, we use a service, when you asked me to stop sending you texts I sent your message to the service, to delete you from teh texts but it sometimes takes a few days to come of. Sorry about that, I will follow up on it.

The Poker Room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭DBC2007

is this on tommorow and if so what time? or if not does anyone know where there is any daytime poker as i wudnt mind a game?

The Poker Room

Definite rather than indefinite? The big 4 in Dublin mean nothing out in Tallaght it seems.

Is this game still happening or has it fallen by the wayside?

Daytime Poker tournamemnts are still happening every mon-wed-fri at 2p.m in the Poker Room in tallaght.

The Starting stack is 10k with a 1k early bird chip if you register by 1.55p.m, with 30 minute blinds we are averaging 10-15 players each day and the game is lasting between 3-5 hours.

The Poker Room is located in Atari Expo (Top Floor) in The Square Shooping Center in Tallaght.

The Game On Wednesday is on and we are expecting a good turnout, hope to see you there.

Thanks, Ross 086-2301229

The usual tournament is taking place Today Friday the 20th at 2p.m

Its a €65 Freezeout, 10,000 starting chip and 30 minute blinds.

We have had alot of interest and expect a good turnout tomorrow.

Hope to see you there,

if you have questions, you can give me a call at 086-2301229

Many thanks. Ross. The Poker Room, Atari Expo, The Square, Tallaght

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭flushje

This sounds pretty cool,cant think of anywere that has Poker on during the day. I hope it lasts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

The usual tournament is taking place Today Friday the 20th at 2p.m

Its a €65 Freezeout, 10,000 starting chip and 30 minute blinds.

We have had alot of interest and expect a good turnout tomorrow.

Hope to see you there,

if you have questions, you can give me a call at 086-2301229

Many thanks. Ross. The Poker Room, Atari Expo, The Square, Tallaght

What happens if someone wins a pot off you...You just bar them, right ???

That would be a nice idea but I would have no members left in the club.

Running bad and still havn't banned anyone!

We had a very good two table tournament on friday afternoon.

Also had a lively cash game afterwards.

Next game, day time game Monday at 2p.m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 spem4392

The Atari Expo is also the safest place in Tallaght, guarded round the clock by a possie of knackers at the door(literally).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭ttilting

This guy seems to be getting too much of a hard time, He's just trying to promote his club like you often do on this site BohsMan & JP.

Actually Bohsman, the only time I was In your club I walked straight in and there was no one to register me. . . I was still able to sign up and play a tourney with no questions asked ! . . . .

Well done on creating a bit of healthy competition Mr 'Poker room'.

There is alot of back slapping and ' clickyness ' on dublins poker tournament scene, , most people who put you down are either connected to a club, or just trying to '' cuddle up '' to people connected to their club, so that they feel a little more part of the family.

Best of luck with your business.

It will be very tough to sustain numbers, but you have obviously rattled a few cages here !

Thanks for the post. Nice to know that some people have a positive attitude and are supportive.

With regard to the safety of Tallaght and the players at the club, members of the club are able to park in the barrier secured area of the roof and have direct access to the club and don't have to go through Atari Expo. Also the club and the square have 24hr round the clock security. Been opened for 5 months and had no issue what so ever with safety or security.

Thanks Ross.

We will be running are usual €65 freezeout tomorrow at 2p.m at the Poker Room.

Hope to see you there,

ttilting wrote: »
    This guy seems to be getting too much of a hard time, He's just trying to promote his club like you often do on this site BohsMan & JP.

Actually Bohsman, the only time I was In your club I walked straight in and there was no one to register me. . . I was still able to sign up and play a tourney with no questions asked ! . . . .

Well done on creating a bit of healthy competition Mr 'Poker room'.

There is alot of back slapping and ' clickyness ' on dublins poker tournament scene, , most people who put you down are either connected to a club, or just trying to '' cuddle up '' to people connected to their club, so that they feel a little more part of the family.

Best of luck with your business.

It will be very tough to sustain numbers, but you have obviously rattled a few cages here !

Just for the record, i wasn't giving the poker room a hard time in this thread.

I only answered a question regarding numbers on a certain day, the information that i gave regarding numbers was told to me by a member of staff from the poker room when i was playing one night there, the owner was at the table and didn't correct the dealer, so i naturally thought the information was correct. I also said i was surprised that they didn't get more players as i thought it was a good game.

I have in fact told the lads who play in tournaments in Molloys (also in Tallaght) about his game, in fact i brought 6 players from my game last Friday night up to the poker room.

My only grip with the Poker Room was on their opening night when they had one of their employees stand outside one of my games handing out fliers telling players not to play my game as it was crap and that their game was much better. The same person then threatened me when i asked him to leave.

I spoke to one of the owners at the time, Dom and told him that i wasn't impressed with the way they conducted business, and that i would have allowed them to put their fliers out on my tables if they had of asked as i'm sure they would have returned the favour to me in promoting one of my games.

The poker community in Ireland is very small and everyone helps each other, i have very close working relations with just about every casino, card room and mobile poker operator.

All that said Dom did apologise about what happened on their opening and i have accepted it.

Time to move on.....

J.P, thanks for the clarification.

For the record I accept your explanation as you have accepted our apology.

We are all good. Moving...on Happy days.

Your welcolme back to The Poker Room any time and nice call in the big pot on your last hand on Friday.

Ross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭flushje

JP's games have always been great,but its nice to see some competition.

How many showed up for the game yesturday?
    I have a day off monday and might pop up for a game with my mate.

Just to let you know we are having our regular Wednesday tourney tomorrow at 2p.m.

We have had good interest and enquires about it so I am expecting good numbers tomorrow.

$65 freeze out, 10,000 starting stack, 1k eary bird chip (strictly observed) and 30 minute blinds.

Dealer dealt, 100% prize pool.

Hope to see you at the Poker Room, The Square, Tallaght.

Info 086-2301229 Ross.

Usual afternoon game this Friday at 2p.m

Read the above posts for details.

Expecting good numbers based on last week.

Info 086-2301229