Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Too old for college?

• 05-06-2008 3:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi everyone.

Basically I am 23 and (after getting a decent Leaving Cert) have been working in a deadend job for the last 4 years. My wages are currently 26k and after being there for so long that's crazy in my opinion. Also there seems to be no career prospects or opportunities for promotion in this line of work

I am considering going to college to study for an IT degree which is full-time and 4 years in duration and I have already been accepted as a mature student, but this would mean that I would be 27 when graduating if everything went to plan. Are 1st year of these courses generally full of 17 and 18 year olds, would many people my age (I would be 24 when starting actually) be starting these courses?

Another thing I am worried about is the life I have become used to. That is, having my own place and car, and indepedence. Would it be difficult to adjust to student life for the next 4 years?

Cheers

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I'm just finished the first year of a 4 year IT course, there are plenty of people your age, plenty a lot older too. With a part time job, many college students have their own place, car and independance.

College is good fun, if you can balance the money well enough then it can be fairly stress free too.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

go for it, i'm 23 in same boat

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I was expecting someone of about 40 years old to be posting this, and even then i'd tell them they're crazy for thinking they're too old.

I'm 24 and don't plan on going to college for a few years yet. I want to live life first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

John

I'm 25 now and like you got a good Leaving, went to UCD to do BBLS (Business & Legal Studies). For personal reasons i dropped out after 3 years of a 4 year course. I'm thinking of going back to college even later than you (2009). In my opinion, you'll be grand. It will be mostly 17/18 year olds but there's no reason you cant adapt to student life. I dont think there's a massive gulf in interests/maturity between the age groups anyway. I play football with 18/19 year olds and never notice the age gap! I think you'll have a normal student experience if you do it, i wouldnt worry about a thing.

Having your own place and car is a positive no matter what you're doing in life! Do you mean you wont be able to afford to keep them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

oldest lad in my 4 year course started at 26. but everyone is pretty much at the same maturity level anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Colonel_McCoy

My friend went back and did a degree at 25..........he thought nothing of it...............do it!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

You are never too old for college - or any level of education for that matter.
    Most courses have a large percentage of mature students. In many colleges it is a policy to seek out mature students.

The effect on your lifestyle will be harder to predict - a car is an expensive thing to run - that might have to go. It depends what part-time work you can do while you study. Don't look for reasons not to do it, go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 karry1412

Definitely do it! I did a four year IT course myself. I went to college straight after the Leaving & some of the mature students became my best friends in the course! There were people from every walk of life there. Granted it was mostly 20 year olds but there were also people in their 30s, 40s & 50s!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

i did the exact thing you are talking about, i did the leaving then worked for 4 years, filled in my cao on day in work and got accepted to do a full time course, its not a big jump from working 40 hours to 30... also you want to work, you are there because you want to be,
    just do it

Hopefully i will be getting my hons degree at the end of the summer after 4 years, best decision i ever made, i am 27 now

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Go for it. My better half is waiting to hear back whether she has got a place and she is is 23.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Hi John,

You are me 4 years ago!

I was working in retail and earning pretty much nothing for my position and time with the company. So I began a night course in DIT for IT.

I've got a Diploma from them now and I am waiting for news on my degree (which, frankly, I think I nailed.)

Being older in college actually makes it easier- you've more experience, you're more mature, you're not there to drink and be part of the gang (although it is fun) you're there to exceed yourself.

I left my dead end managers job and went to work for a phone network one year in. I had enough. Then 1 year later, I got my current job, an IT consultant for one of the biggest software companies in the world.

In my opinion, you are not too old for college, you are just right for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭petergfiffin

I know it might seem like 27 is old but believe me it's far from it!! I was in the same situation but did my degree in IT at night and it was easily the best thing I did. Taking the drop in money will definitely be tough but in the long term you'll be gaining as having a qualification does boost your earning potential plus future employers will look favourably on somebody who had the guts to go back like that!! Definitely go for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭BrendanD

I am 46 and have just finished a masters in IT , and i was not the oldest in my class, go for it you wont regret it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I went back to college at 23 and finished at 28. Had a fantastic time - one of the best things I ever did. You're only old if you think of yourself as such. I didn't think anything of my age and made loads of new friends - yes, some of them are five years younger than me, but we're all adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I remember when I started college at 18, there was a guy in our course who was 21. We all thought he was so old.....for about 10 minutes. Then he just became one of the lads and came drinking with us.

So go for it. You might find something of a "release" in college if you went straight into working after the LC and you'll have a ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Deadeyes

Eight years ago I was in a similar position to you. After the leaving I spent three years doing the wrong course and ended up in a dead end job for a couple or years. When I finally copped on I choose to do Computer Science, something I was actually interested in. On starting I was worried I'd be the gran dad, but that was not the case half the people were mature students most older than me. Mixing between the age groups was never a problem. There were some issues in first year with people straight from the leaving acting like they were in a school classroom, but that was it.
    It was a hard four years with exams and projects, but it was the best thing I ever did, in terms of personally,socially and careerwise. Going back to education to better yourself deserves much respect and I have no doubt you will be very proud of what you achieve.
    After all that I've loved the jobs I've had since graduating, and have seldom had to "work" a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

Hi OP,

In my job i work with adult learners returning to education. Last week i had a meeting with a woman of 58 who was accepted to Trinity for a four year undergrad degree starting this September. Shes not the oldest person I've worked with either. Professionally speaking I'd say go for it. As a mature student you will probably be in a position to get a bit more out of the course you do due to your maturity and greater life experience. Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I went back to college at 43, and I still wasn't nearly the oldest. I know 23 is the cut-off for mature student status, but really you're only a kid. No offence intended. The only things that matter are are you interested enough to pursue it through to the end and have you the aptitude for it. All else is detail.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭lpool2k05

You should defo do it!!I went back at 26 now 29 I have a degree an opportunities to succeed!I believe students are more prepared at a later age to deal with the pressures college presents!!You are more focused when your older and are more likely to prosper plus have a terrific time doing it!!

Take the challenge!!It will give you a new lease on life!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭romarr

I went back as a mature student, just finished a few weeks ago (happy happy)... Very glad I did it

I did find that some of the other students were a bit younger... some were mad into living the life, and getting all excited about doing things for the first time... you'll probably have already done them, so your student life will be a bit different.

There will be other mature students there, and maybe even H-dip students, who will be that bit older, and the young'uns will be grand...

re: keeping your creature comforts, with your described situation you'll get the grant (its not lots but it helps), there are other avenues for finance too (European Social Fund - need to keep and submit receipts, rent book etc).

as you're that bit older, and greater life experience you will be in a better position to get your self organised doing course work etc, so part time work is no problem (in my experience). Perhaps talk to your current job and tell them what your plans are a see if there might be flexible work available.

additionally Mature students on average tend to get better marks / degrees... yet another plus !

in my experience its vital to get your self motivated to do it, get organised and then actually do it...

You'll never look back !!!

Good Luck ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Two of my best mates in college are 27 and 28. I'm 21, no one has ever mentioned age as an issue. mainly because it's not one,

Have fun and see ya on Rag Week :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

You're defo not too old - my husband is currently doing a degree (started at age 28), and there are people in their 60s in his class, as well as 18 year olds. When I went to college (at 18) there were some mature students also - ranging from 25 - 32 years starting the course, and we all got on grand.

You may find that you are not as interested in the typical younger student life (going back to houses after college finishes for a drinking session, skiving off classes etc :)) or whatever, but you will probably find that you will get through the course easier as you are a little more motivated and mature, and won't view study as "homework assigned by a teacher" as some younger students do (having just come straight out of secondary school) but will be more willing to put the hours in and get a better result.

You'll get on grand with the other younger students too, and if for some reason you don't, what harm - you'll be there to learn and get your qualification, not to create a new social life, as you probably already have one you are happy with anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Peewee_lane

Hey OP, I'm exact same as you, 23, (24 in July) I went out to work as a legal sec after the leaving cert and I just finished my first year of my law degree (part time) with Griffith College. There is so much opportunity out there when your older and wiser, and alot of people my age in the class, pissed they missed the opportunity to do it with the CAO.

The very best of luck to you...

p.s, law is awesome, very rewarding - look into it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Ruby Soho

Just go for it! I'm 25 now and doing a three year diploma, I'd say that at least a third of people in my class are mature students with a lot of them in their late twenties, by best mate being 30. It really no big deal, after this course I may even go on to to do advanced modules etc, there's nothing strange about it! I enjoy learning and the social aspect of college, and if I was 40 I'd still do it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Slow coach wrote: »
    I know 23 is the cut-off for mature student status, but really you're only a kid. No offence intended.

I agree with this.

Go back to college and enjoy yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

I'm 34 doing a part time degree in IT, have one year left to do. When i was younger I went to college full time with a guy that was 35 in first year, he went on to do a degree. don't stress it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I'm going back to start a new course in Sept/Oct. I'm older than OP.
    Will be strange being a first year again. The only thing that concerns me is whether it is acceptable for me to love up all those lovely 18 yr old beauties.
    Possibly not. :mad:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

MHTRTC wrote: »
    Hi everyone.

Basically I am 23 and (after getting a decent Leaving Cert) have been working in a deadend job for the last 4 years. My wages are currently 26k and after being there for so long that's crazy in my opinion. Also there seems to be no career prospects or opportunities for promotion in this line of work

I am considering going to college to study for an IT degree which is full-time and 4 years in duration and I have already been accepted as a mature student, but this would mean that I would be 27 when graduating if everything went to plan. Are 1st year of these courses generally full of 17 and 18 year olds, would many people my age (I would be 24 when starting actually) be starting these courses?

Another thing I am worried about is the life I have become used to. That is, having my own place and car, and indepedence. Would it be difficult to adjust to student life for the next 4 years?

Cheers

John

Same position as you John, 22 and not too sure what to do. I say go for it. For myself I'm still in quagmire, I'll have to go back and get the LC first as I did not finish my exams due to undiagnosed bad depression (04 didn't do all the exams, 05 dropped out in Feb when diagnosed). I'm better now but still feel myself slipping a bit. Trying to get a job at the mo which is annoying.

Is it tricky being accepted as a mature student?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭oil painting

i went back at 23 as wel,graduated at 28,i thought the same about giving 4 years to something....but when your finished you dont feel it was a waist at all,the oppertunity available after college is well worth it and the connections you make while there give you great support.... getting educated is always a worthwhile investment for your future....both emotionally,and financially xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

My girlfriend's in first year of college, and has a woman in her class in her 60's.
    I kid you not.

So, no definately not old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi guys I am the person who originally posted this topic. Firstly I want to thank you all for your kind and helpful replies. It really opened my eyes because I wasn't aware there were so many in similar positions. I have decided to have a bash at the course and see how it goes, while working part-time also.

Just to the guy who asked about applying as a mature student, it was simple enough. Just contact the Admissions office of the college you are interested in and then email them your CV. Then they will arrange an interview with you to discuss your education/work experience background. And after if you are successful they will contact you offering you a place on the course. For the particular college I applied to the CAO wasn't involved at all but I think some colleges and courses do require application through the CAO for mature student applications so check with the college themselves first.

Thanks again everyone.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭MonsieurD

I started an IT degree when I was 26. That was 17 years ago. I now lecture in the same college from which I graduated.

Before I went back to college, I was in a deadend job. Going back to college totally changed my life.

Back then I was the oldest in my class. Now mature students are making up a significant part of most classes. Recently, I was reviewing the exam marks of a 73 yr old student!

As someone said earlier in the thread, your maturity will give you an advantage.

Go for it and enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭bennyblanco

I went back at 27,I'm now heading into third year,
    best thiNg I ever did,go for it man,you're defo not too old :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

23 is an ideal age for it really. 17/18 can be too young - it certainly was for me. I was disastrous at studying - ok I loved the social life but I knew I was gonna end up with a crappy degree so I decided to defer and come back when I was more interested in the academic side of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

im 25 went back last year, its grand no one cares what age you are, it was best decision i ever made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭fishdog

I am not that far off 40!! I am studying full time in DIT. I have one year left and I will have my degree. Best decision I ever made.
    Go for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Hi everyone.

Cheers

John

Not old at all. I have a 26 year old in my class. You'll settle in fine :)
    Go for it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

this thread has really cheered me up as Ive been thinking seriously about going to college as well, most likely DCU in 2009 and im 34, I was so put off it thinking im well past it but didnt realise till I read this thread that there are some people as old as me and older doing courses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

24? That's young.....there are people in their 60's in my course. You've never too old for college, though there is an age where yes, you would stand out - but thats not remotely applicable to you....there'd be zero difference between you and every other student in the place to look at. You'd fit in perfectly.

Not to mention you're looking at furthering your life - 26k with no prospect of increase or promotion is pretty poor...how can you even be considering yourself 'too old' to improve your prospects for your very quality of existence at such an incredibly young age!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Gonzo wrote: »
    this thread has really cheered me up as Ive been thinking seriously about going to college as well, most likely DCU in 2009 and im 34, I was so put off it thinking im well past it but didnt realise till I read this thread that there are some people as old as me and older doing courses!

It's gone up this year. There are over 80 year olds and everything. Just go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 kats19

I am totally for going to college that bit older & mature.
    I went back at 22 & have just finished 2nd year, next year will be my final degree year. When i first did my LC I got my CAO offers but instead I took a couple of years out. Im glad i did cos it gives you more focus & after working, particularly in a job u don't like it makes u really want to avail of all the oppurtunites college has to offer, both academic, social & personal.
    I haven't had any problems as regards been a couple of years older, as most students can't even tell anyways!! There is a lot of mature students in my year, & some of my friends have gone back in their 20s & it doesn't blight them the slightest.
    I'd say go for it if you are really enthusiathic about the course, & make the most of college, cos remember you have ur whole life for working!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Intothesea

Go for it if you possibly can, OP! A good
    education never went to waste, and college
    can afford you all sorts of advancement beyond
    education; concentrated personal development,
    and a nice cash upgrade at the end ;) 27 is the
    perfect age to set up your new life, for the rest
    of your life. Good luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Cateym

Nope not at all!!! I'm going back to uni for a year to do a postgrad (I will be 28) and at the interviews there were 2 other people who were def in their forties. The course is mostly full of 21 year olds so it might be a struggle to find common ground but sure what the f*ck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I am considering going to college to study for an IT degree which is full-time and 4 years in duration and I have already been accepted as a mature student, but this would mean that I would be 27 when graduating
    Have you considered doing the 4-year Evening part-time Information Systems BSc in TCD?

I went down that route when I was your age, and being a glutton for punishment, went back to do the MSc in IT Management a few years back.

I can recommend it, but it's tough going. For my part at the time, it enabled me to get the best of both worlds, I was earning great money working in the industry and had all the regular student benefits.

As for going full time at your age, I wouldn't recommend it. IT is a cruel business and ageism still abounds. I personally can understand your decision to go back into fulltime education for four years, but many prospective employers wouldn't when you're pitched against younger (and cheaper!) graduates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

I am going back to uni in Sept at 28. I don't think that's too old, quite young actually. Read earlier at guy in his forties went back and is loving it. Same here I am really looking forward to it. Good luck with your studies. Peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭allybabe84

I'm 24 and have applied for a degree course this year at DIT, my first time attending college. I work part-time at the moment anyway so work should be fine. I'm worried too about feeling too old in the class, hopefully if I get there I will settle in ok!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

allybabe84 wrote: »
    I'm 24 and have applied for a degree course this year at DIT, my first time attending college. I work part-time at the moment anyway so work should be fine. I'm worried too about feeling too old in the class, hopefully if I get there I will settle in ok!

I'm 48 and I'm returning to college (again) to study for a Masters'. Everyone else on the course will probably be mid 20s, but so what? I'm as good as anyone.

There are two things that are important:
    1. Your ability
    2. Your willingness to apply yourself and persist to the end

Nothing else matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

Slow coach wrote: »
    I'm 48 and I'm returning to college (again) to study for a Masters'. Everyone else on the course will probably be mid 20s, but so what? I'm as good as anyone.

There are two things that are important:
    1. Your ability
    2. Your willingness to apply yourself and persist to the end

Nothing else matters.

Thanks for that. Very encouraging words. Go smash that Masters!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

I went back to college at 24 and did a degree and masters.
    In my degree class there was a 65+ woman with dyslexia and for she she was an inspiration as she put no limitations (age, learning difficulties etc) on herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Hey there,

Of course you're not too old. I'm by far one of the youngest in my group in college. I'm 19 and most of my friends are 21 +

Age is really very irrelevant, in one of my lectures there are probably more mature students than CAO entries like myself. Loads of the ladies we talk to in this lecture are in their mid fifties.

Don't be at all worried. You're still very, very young. No need to be concerned about ages yet at all.

Well done for trying to get back into it, I think it's a very brave thing to pack up and start all over again. Best of Luck! :)