Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good luck leaving certers!

• 04-06-2008 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭

Just a quick good luck to the veritable ocean of airsofters sitting their leaving over the next couple of weeks.

Hang in there, plenty of skirmishing to blow off steam afterwards :)

Edit: And junior certers too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

It's not as bad as you think it's going to be.
    And college is better than you think it's going to be!

Hooray
    Good luck everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Well I hope none of them are reading this. They should be sleeping or studying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

I was on MSN with Lep 45 minutes before the exam thismorning and am now :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

I would just like to say, on behalf of everyone here who has left school already...

Bwaaaaahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
    <breathes>
    ahahahahaahhaahaahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!

Sucks to be you! Guess what I'm doing for the next 6 straight days? NOTHING! I'm going to sleep late, watch tv, maybe even get a skirmish in. And then, in the evening time, I'm going to par-tay in Limerick, Dublin and probably somewhere in Meath too, until silly hours in the morning.
    Lads, this may seem like a cruel post, but damnit if it isn't satisfying to realise that I never have to sit an exam again. One day you'll understand...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Irish Trinity

haha not for another five years and im glad!:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

bwhahaha., nice one dex., :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

NakedDex wrote: »
    I would just like to say, on behalf of everyone here who has left school already...

Bwaaaaahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
    <breathes>
    ahahahahaahhaahaahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!

Sucks to be you! Guess what I'm doing for the next 6 straight days? NOTHING! I'm going to sleep late, watch tv, maybe even get a skirmish in. And then, in the evening time, I'm going to par-tay in Limerick, Dublin and probably somewhere in Meath too, until silly hours in the morning.
    Lads, this may seem like a cruel post, but damnit if it isn't satisfying to realise that I never have to sit an exam again. One day you'll understand...

Hey Dex guess what Im doing for the next THREE MONTHS, NOTHING! HA!

I have a bank account with a regular income and my work involves playing with 60 million dollar jet engines and a lot of sleeping...
    At the end of your 3 months off, you'll face more classrooms and, inevitably, more exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

I have a bank account with a regular income and my work involves playing with 60 million dollar jet engines and a lot of sleeping...
    At the end of your 3 months off, you'll face more classrooms and, inevitably, more exams.

I have a small metal box with a regular income and my work involves playing with paintball guns and a lot of sleeping...
    At the end of my 3 months off, I'll go back to shcool and have a good laugh and play "butane baloon" at lunch lol.:p:D;):p:D;)

I broke something worth 12 grand today. Nobody cared, there was already about 40 grands worth of stuff in the scrap bin. Then I slept for an hour on an engine cowling and went off to make an air-cannon using the oxygen bottle from an acetylene torch.

Oh, and I can legally drink. Even in America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,810 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

I broke something worth 12 grand today. Nobody cared, there was already about 40 grands worth of stuff in the scrap bin. Then I slept for an hour on an engine cowling and went off to make an air-cannon using the oxygen bottle from an acetylene torch.

that means nothing to a teenager dex :pac:

In a bar. Sociably. With people. And with a wide variety of drinks. As opposed to in a field with a naggin of something unpronouncable on wet grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,810 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

In a bar. Sociably. With people. And with a wide variety of drinks. As opposed to in a field with a naggin of something unpronouncable on wet grass.

lol im glad i dont drink :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭kevteljeur

Jaysus Dex, you're really reaching there - miss being young, huh? ;-) I can still remember my Leaving Cert... Man, that was a long, long, long time ago.

But back then things were different and there was no Airsoft. And money hadn't been invented yet. Not in Ireland, at any rate.

The only thing I miss about being young is going down to the girl school in the evening and at lunch, the shops were all beside it so we got our bit to eat and we got treated to a meat market while there.
    Good times...

I do, however, much prefer having money, free will to do what I please, the car outside my door and not having to do exams again. I am, what a person may call, content.

Besides, admit it, it feels good never to have to sit in an exam hall again doesn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

I do, however, much prefer having money, free will to do what I please, the car outside my door and not having to do exams again.

/me whistles innocently......

For a brief moment there I thought that link might finally be to my Magpul parts, once again, my hopes have been dashed...

Still want that Mk43 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I still have to do exams. :mad:

Associate Project Manager exam + Interview coming up in a while.

But at least I get more money after I pass. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

I so so so so so so hate exams, Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Gizmodeon

Good luck Cheeky, and I hope you were able to stay awake enough to study!
    Good luck to everyone else now.

and yes it feels good not to have to sit exams again
    but then again writing 3 page essays on the godfather never seemed like work to me in the first place :D
    I'm fully looking forward to doing evening classes in editing though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭c-90

ha im actually makin money out of students doin exams

1, being an exam aid
    2, selling them paint (dont ask)

just have to figure out wat im gonna buy of sheiva now:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Cheeky monkey

Gizmodeon wrote: »
    Good luck Cheeky, and I hope you were able to stay awake enough to study!
    Good luck to everyone else now.

and yes it feels good not to have to sit exams again
    but then again writing 3 page essays on the godfather never seemed like work to me in the first place :D
    I'm fully looking forward to doing evening classes in editing though :)

I'm not so much worried about the staying awake long enough to study but rather the getting up for the exam :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Main thing is to not worry about it whatever happens lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭deepimpact

zero19 wrote: »
    Main thing is to not worry about it whatever happens lads

Exactly, good luck to all airsofters doing the junior or leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Cheeky monkey

I'm actually more worried about getting a job over the summer then I am the leaving :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭nonex

The best of luck to all that have exams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭seamus-2k7

I just bought a sonic grenade so tempting to use in during the aurels:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

English is done finally thanks for all the best wishes and Good luck to all of the people doing the leaving I know the terror im doing it too but. Just 7 more exams and I can sit on my ass and drink for a month:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Evolute wrote: »
    English is done finally thanks for all the best wishes and Good luck to all of the people doing the leaving I know the terror im doing it too but. Just 7 more exams and I can sit on my ass and drink for a month:D:D:D:D

Wewt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Good luck lads, and don't be afraid to take a year out, coming straight out of school and being expected to pick a career is crazy.

Take a year to work in something that you are interested in, as a temp, part timer, intern whatever.

You'll then have a good idea what course to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭NMC

Jeez, i just finished college! For any of our leaving certers thinking about goin on to 3rd level, its 10 times easier thaN the leaving and 100 million times more fun. the leaving is most definately the headest set of exams you'll ever do, but that doesent mean you have to worry of course...

/goes back to playing GTA4...:D:D:D

NMC wrote: »
    Jeez, i just finished college! For any of our leaving certers thinking about goin on to 3rd level, its 10 times easier thaN the leaving and 100 million times more fun. the leaving is most definately the headest set of exams you'll ever do, but that doesent mean you have to worry of course...

/goes back to playing GTA4...:D:D:D

Congrats NMC, finished my finals yesterday myself. 4 years down and I still feel too young (I'm 21).

For those LC-ers. Keep the head, do your best, that's all that matters. Get a course you want and don't be concerned with how much points you will get. Just get enough to get into your desired course. That's the best advice I can give.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭NMC

scanlant wrote: »

Congrats NMC, finished my finals yesterday myself. 4 years down and I still feel too young (I'm 21).

For those LC-ers. Keep the head, do your best, that's all that matters. Get a course you want and don't be concerned with how much points you will get. Just get enough to get into your desired course. That's the best advice I can give.

Congrats to you too scan, and im only 20!

Good advice too!

NMC wrote: »
    Congrats to you too scan, and im only 20!

Good advice too!

Jaysus, there's a few in my year that are 20...I don't know how some years can have a low age when graduating and others can seem much older.

It's the best advice I can give, I really hate when people brag about getting a high amount of points when their course requires a good bit lower. Or the whole "I got 5 more points than you...I'm soooo much better" (you KNOW they're thinking it). Just get enough points make sure you do something you will enjoy.