Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Values of today that will be embarrassing/outmoded in 30 years time

• 03-06-2008 9:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭

Over the past say 30-40 years there have been many changes in (western) society's values/attitudes. Obvious ones would be fairer attitudes to race, women, sexuality. Less obvious ones might be the changes in how men and women act (male metrosexuality (bleurgh :) )/women being more self-sufficient/sexually aggressive ala SATC etc) or attitudes to things like suicide/drugs/religion/divorce/abortion/euthanasia/ celebrity-obsession etc etc. Looking back one could describe some values 30 years ago as quaint and embarrassing. Which of TODAY'S values will be looked back as quaint and embarrassing in 30 years time. If nothing else i'm hoping the celebrity-obsession /heat magazine thing will be a never-to-return anachronism anyway ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Washing yer lad :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭karen3212

we'll probably laugh at the thought that an alcoholic wine drinking culture is superior to an alcoholic beer drinking culture

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Hopefully "I'm not racist, but..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Status car ownership or indeed any car ownership

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Job status will mean nothing. When this recesion hits and we're all working in McDonalds, who'll be looking down on who? Xcept the bleedin managers..

Oh and a new found respect for authority will develop amongst the youth of 2050.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

hopefully religion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

RonMexico wrote: »
    Washing yer lad :pac:
    I knew i shoulda put this in humanities :) Nah.. keep it in AH- i'm genuinely interested in what ye think. So which of today's mores will be seen as ridiculous/nonsensical/unfashionable in 30 years time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

Given the coming economic collapse and food shortages, the cannibalism taboo is bound to fall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Democracy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

Yore Ma jokes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    Democracy?

What, pray tell, would it be succeeded by. :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

A council of wise elders.

tech77 wrote: »
    What, pray tell, would it be succeeded by. :)
    Why, the reptoids will rule us, of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

internet rage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

They already do, get with the programme!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

WAG Culture, perhaps?
    That's a horrible way to refer to the Chinese.

Parenting.
    Drop them off at the creche/school for most of the day, sit them on front of the tv/playstation or send them off to play spohrts (or schportz) on the weekend. Expensive toys, probiotic yoghurt drinks and forced music lessons do not a mentally healthly/happy child make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

Not really a value but.. Windows OS

There you go mixing up progress with values again :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Cannabis legalisation.

Cannabis, IMO, will be virtually unobtainable within 10 years. The Morrocans are determined to destroy it in their country and re having great success. People will simply not bother buying the rubbish weed being sold here, and the trade will simply die out. That is why the whole "drug prohbition doesnt work" mantra always makes me laugh. It didnt work for years, but the efforts of the Morrocans and increased security at the ports means it is working.

30 years from now there will be a generation who never smoked it more than a handful of rare times someone brought some from abroad (which, again, will go down- the Dutch will eventually ban it), and dont particularly care if its legal or not.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

/FACEPALM

Weed grows in any climate. If people cant reliably get it, they'll grow it themselves. Its already increased here more than its ever been, both in terms of availability and numbers of people growing it for themselves.

Hopefully this degenerate attitude towards drugs, be they legal or otherwise will be cured. Abuse of alcohol on our streets (and subway/public transport systems) alongside sentences handed out to harmless individuals carrying small quantities of hash/weed, turn my stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Ivan wrote: »
    /FACEPALM

Weed grows in any climate. If people cant reliably get it, they'll grow it themselves. Its already increased here more than its ever been, both in terms of availability and numbers of people growing it for themselves.

Hopefully this degenerate attitude towards drugs, be they legal or otherwise will be cured. Abuse of alcohol on our streets (and subway/public transport systems) alongside sentences handed out to harmless individuals carrying small quantities of hash/weed, turn my stomach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Daftendirekt

Hard to say really, but I'd imagine (hope) that race will stop being a meaningful term, and skin colour will have the same status as eye or hair colour.

Attitudes to abortion and euthanasia will probably become more liberal, and hopefully people's right to do what they want with their own bodies will become sacred (regarding homosexuality and drugs for example).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Cannabis legalisation.

Cannabis, IMO, will be virtually unobtainable within 10 years. The Morrocans are determined to destroy it in their country and re having great success. People will simply not bother buying the rubbish weed being sold here, and the trade will simply die out. That is why the whole "drug prohbition doesnt work" mantra always makes me laugh. It didnt work for years, but the efforts of the Morrocans and increased security at the ports means it is working.

30 years from now there will be a generation who never smoked it more than a handful of rare times someone brought some from abroad (which, again, will go down- the Dutch will eventually ban it), and dont particularly care if its legal or not.
    Lol.

Sherifu wrote: »
    Lol.

Any opinion on why this is incorrect? Any challenge?

No. Didnt think so. Ill bet your one of these cool guys who goes to legalisation marches and backs up their rubbish with half truths you stole off teh internetz.

Ivan wrote:

Most regular smokers are in their teens and 20s. Most people in their 20s are either living with their parents or are living in a house share, which may lead to alot of difficulty explaining why the electricity bill is so high, or why there is a funny smell coming from the attic.

Apart from that, what do you think the Garda helicopter is doing flying over your house at night? Half the reason they are up is to turn on the heat sensors to detect any unusual amount of heat coming from attics or garden sheds in the small hours. Cannabis availability has been on a perpetual decline since 2006 tbh. The government is winning the war on cannabis, and the legalisation crowd are just too proud to admit their whole "prohibition doesnt work" and "you cant win the drugs war" mantras were wrong. The government has managed to largely cut off the supply of cheap Morrocan soap. Leading to a situation where traffickers are importing grass, cutting it to shreds by mashing herbs and such into it, then selling a product about half as strong as the much maligned soap for twice the price that will last you about 1/4 of the time a lump of the oul diesel would have.

The Brits have reclassified cannabis. The Irish government has cut off supply leaving a gap that has only been filled by poor quality grass that people will eventually tire of wasting their money on, much like the way cocaine isnt half as popular in Dublin as it was 2 or 3 years ago, mainly because people realised it was overpriced and sh1t. It is highly likely the Dutch will ban cannabis except for medicinal use within the next decade.

So with all of the above, why the hell will it be legalised here?
    Hopefully this degenerate attitude towards drugs, be they legal or otherwise will be cured. Abuse of alcohol on our streets (and subway/public transport systems) alongside sentences handed out to harmless individuals carrying small quantities of hash/weed, turn my stomach

What in the **** does alcohol have to do with it?

Most smokers drink like fish anyway. What the hell is your point? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭gixerfixer

Hopefully greed will have grown out of the irish culture by then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Cannabis legalisation.

so people have been smoking it for thousands of years and they're going to stop in the next 30. right so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

The government is winning the war on cannabis, and the legalisation crowd are just too proud to admit their whole "prohibition doesnt work" and "you cant win the drugs war" mantras were wrong.

while of course smoking the joint that the gardai failed to keep from them

Any opinion on why this is incorrect? Any challenge?

No. Didnt think so. Ill bet your one of these cool guys who goes to legalisation marches and backs up their rubbish with half truths you stole off teh internetz.
    I gave it the response it deserved. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

the disposable culture

repairing **** ftw!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

A) I'd love to see where you get your stats on what age the average (hash) smoker is. From my circle of friends, this just isnt the case.

B) Weed growing doesnt use any sort of heat requirements that would allow Gardai in a helicopter to detect it with a heat sensor (lol)

C) Should this be even remotely true, they cant get a warrant to search the place on this basis. They can begin surveillance but if, as is the case in this hypothetical, it is being used for personal use then surveillance will give very little evidence to search the residence or press criminal charges.

D) Cheap poorly mixed weed is infinitely better than cheap poorly mixed soap and yes the prices are higher but most are willing to pay for the improved affects and vastly limited downsides.

E) Brits have reclassified cannabis and you are right, it does look likely that the Dutch will pass new legislation in the next few years limiting if not out-right prohibiting cannabis altogether but you are ignoring the fact that Cannabis is becoming a somewhat of a mainstream, staple drug in yonder Americas. Its being opened up to investigation for medicinal purposes and as a byproduct, its dangers will be researched thoroughly too. Eventually, I am fairly confident that America will legalise it and once that happens, I believe the floodgates will be largely opened elsewhere too. Afterall, it was good ol' Uncle sam that was responsible for its vast decline and ultimate legal state throughout most of the western world.

E) Alcohol has everything to do with this debate but for once, you are missing the point on a different line of thinking. The thread is about what values do you believe will be embarrassing or outmoded in 30 years time. My response was that I believe civilisation will become more balanced in their treatment of drugs. From alcohol abuse on the streets/public transport becoming less common to cannabis becoming more mainstream...

With all that in mind...
    Lol.

QFT.

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    so people have been smoking it for thousands of years and they're going to stop in the next 30. right so

Thousands of years?

In Ireland? :confused: Get a grip.

Firstly, my post related to Ireland only. In 30 years time people in countries where the climate allows for a plant or two out the back garden will be smoking as much as they are today. However, simple facts are

a- The Morrocans are determined to end the trade, IIRC they have a target date of 2012 for all but ending production. Jailing farmers, seizing crops, its big right now.

b- By supplying poor quality overpriced weed the dealers will kill off their own trade. Most current smokers started out in the bygone days of 10 spots of hash and quarters for 15 to 20 quid. How many 14 year olds can afford to buy a 50 bag of weed? Much like how, as stated, many former users cant be arsed wasting their money on the sugar they pass of as cocaine here. Or how the pub trade has shot itself in the foot with high prices and people not fancying being greeted at the door by some grunting mutant treating them like they caught them drink driving. The government is winning. The government will eventually all but win. Which is why there is absoloutely no reason that they would legalise the stuff.
    I gave it the response it deserved. :)

Do you have any counter arguement?

Or are you just jealous because you dont have a clue?

Do you have any counter arguement?

Or are you just jealous because you dont have a clue?
    I'm getting a raging clue right now.

Accept your fail.

Ivan wrote: »
    A) I'd love to see where you get your stats on what age the average (hash) smoker is. From my circle of friends, this just isnt the case.

B) Weed growing doesnt use any sort of heat requirements that would allow Gardai in a helicopter to detect it with a heat sensor (lol)

C) Should this be even remotely true, they cant get a warrant to search the place on this basis. They can put in surveillance but if, as is the case in this hypothetical, it is being used for personal use then surveillance will give very little evidence to search the residence or press criminal charges.

D) Cheap poorly mixed weed is infinitely better than cheap poorly mixed soap and yes the prices are higher but most are willing to pay for the improved affects and vastly limited downsides.

E) Brits have reclassified cannabis and you are right, it does look likely that the Dutch will pass new legislation in the next few years limiting if not out-right prohibiting cannabis altogether but you are ignoring the fact that Cannabis is becoming a somewhat of a mainstream, staple drug in yonder Americas. Its being opened up to investigation for medicinal purposes and as a byproduct, its dangers will be researched thoroughly too. Eventually, I am fairly confident that America will legalise it and once that happens, I believe the floodgates will be largely opened elsewhere too. Afterall, it was good ol' Uncle sam that was responsible for its vast decline and ultimate legal state throughout most of the western world.

E) Alcohol has everything to do with this debate but for once, you are missing the point on a different line of thinking. The thread is about what values do you believe will be embarrassing or outmoded in 30 years time. My response was that I believe civilisation will become more balanced in their treatment of drugs. From alcohol abuse on the streets/public transport becoming less common to cannabis becoming more mainstream...

With all that in mind...

QFT.

A- You arent one of these Sindo journalists are you? You know, the type who come up with stories about how "everyone is doing cocaine, from your boss, to the girls in the local private school, even your Grandad when he goes fishing". Certainly seems like it.

B- Bollocks. Absoloute utter bollocks. It may be possible to genetically engineer seeds to grow in unusual climates, I dunno, however Id imagine there would be some costs to it. Weed grows wild in parts of Eastern Europe, and in the likes of Germany growing in your garden off the weather isnt uncommon, but we just dont have a reliable enough climate for it.

C- If the amount of heat detected is strong enough to warrant a search, it is highly likely you are growing enough to be charged with supply.

D- Absoloute complete and utter sh1te. The oul soap isnt great, but I could count on one hand the amount of stronger weed Ive encountered here (and that was all stuff people brought back from the dam, not commercially available street weed). Much like cocaine people will eventually break their addiction and realise they cant afford to keep buying this muck. Tell me, are you one of these people who also thinks Spice Gold is worth the money?

E- Its been a long time since the world loved America. Several states may eventually allow medicinal marijuana, but recrational? Never.

We certainly will be entering a phase in the next 15 years where the balance will shift, and with the vast majority of politicians in the Dail by 2023 having been born after 1970, it is a fair bet the majority of them will have smoked a doob or two in their lives.

However, it is no guarantee that they will bother legalising. Why should they, if the stuff has been largely unavailable in the previous 9 years. A few years ago the Gardai stated that the drug trade in Dublin was controlled by about 30 main gangs. In the last few years alone the cops have managed to shut down or severely disrupt nearly half of them. They are winning, slowly but surely. Its just not cool to admit it. Newspaper stories about streets awash with drugs sell better than ones about how the gangs are on the run.

I'm getting a raging clue right now.

Accept your fail.

Im sure living in Bucharest you have a very good idea of the current availability of cannabis in Ireland :rolleyes:

Dammit, bring back the old rolleyes. Retarded posts ph33r it......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

facepalm.jpg

Apart from that, what do you think the Garda helicopter is doing flying over your house at night? Half the reason they are up is to turn on the heat sensors to detect any unusual amount of heat coming from attics or garden sheds in the small hours.
    I lol'd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I don't know about 30 years time but at some point in the future I think people will look back at cigarette smoking and say, "Really? People did that...voluntarily?". It will probably be outright illegal by then.

We'll probably be in a position where we re-evaluate dual income homes and its effect on family but ignore it (so no change or, rather, more of the same).

We'll also be pretty shocked by the effect the internet is having on people's behaviour but unwilling to do anything about it.

The gender wars will continue; the gaps will technically close between both genders but only by each agreeing to emulate the worst of the other's behaviour. People will be less happy and relations will be less healthy between the genders on the whole.

Actually, I'm beginning to predict societal trends rather than value trends here but I think one reflects the other.

Oh, also, guys, please don't drag this into another drugs debate? We've done it to death at this stage. He made a prediction, people gave their opinion on it. Let it go?

Dammit, bring back the old rolleyes. Retarded posts ph33r it......
    If only. I had to go with lol. It's just not enough.

I lol'd.

For someone who spends half their life posting rubbish about drugs on AH you dont know a great deal about it do you.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/newsnight/7220524.stm

"The farms are improvised hot-houses growing up to 20,000 plants at a time for profit. The police detect them from helicopters, using heat-seeking equipment to spot suspiciously sweltering premises. "

They have also been known to request electricity companies to report any suspicious surge in power usage, or illegal tapping into power lines and stealing electricity.

Still. Dont stop your drug posts.

It entertains me.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    I don't know about 30 years time but at some point in the future I think people will look back at cigarette smoking and say, "Really? People did that...voluntarily?". It will probably be outright illegal by then.

I cant imagine it will be banned until all current users are....well....dead.

However, I can see it maybe by 2020 that anyone wishing to buy cigarettes will have to show an ID confirming, lets say, that they were born before January 1st 2002. Maybe even some scannable card for getting it. It will take a few years but gradually there will be no link for younger people to begin smoking.

Like I say, the 30 year timeline is probably too short, I can just see it happening at some point in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

jesus, another drugs discussion thread.

Actually, that's another one...hopefully people will have stopped being fascinated by this boring and completely overdone subject.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Branners

However, it is no guarantee that they will bother legalising. Why should they, if the stuff has been largely unavailable in the previous 9 years. A few years ago the Gardai stated that the drug trade in Dublin was controlled by about 30 main gangs. In the last few years alone the cops have managed to shut down or severely disrupt nearly half of them. They are winning, slowly but surely. Its just not cool to admit it. Newspaper stories about streets awash with drugs sell better than ones about how the gangs are on the run.

I dont post that often but i had to laugh at this series of farcical post from you Gopher

so Eire is winning the war on drugs and its not cool to admit it?
    man i near spat my ham roll all over the table reading that
    thats without doubt the stupidist thing i've ever heard

and as for the newspapers they aren't reporting half of whats going on properly

In my town theres been a 15 yr old girl raped last month
    and a 16 yr old guy died from a cocaine overdose in the past year
    I HAVE NOT SEEN ANY OF THESE STORIES IN ANY PAPER

so i believe the papers aren't print this for some reason
    only murders & politics lately in the papers

Also there more weed readily available now
    than i have ever seen in all my time living here

i think your a bit blinkered
    are you in the Guards by any chance?

Cianos wrote: »

Actually, that's another one...hopefully people will have stopped being fascinated by this boring and completely overdone subject.

Im more fascinated by the comedians who contribute to them with made up facts and general bull.

Branners wrote:
    In my town theres been a 15 yr old girl raped last month
    and a 16 yr old guy died from a cocaine overdose in the past year
    I HAVE NOT SEEN ANY OF THESE STORIES IN ANY PAPER

so i believe the papers aren't print this for some reason
    only murders & politics lately in the papers

Also there more weed readily available now
    than i have ever seen in all my time living here

i think your a bit blinkered
    are you in the Guards by any chance?

I should have clarified tbh.

And yes, weed is everywhere.

Too bad its mostly sh1te. Which is why, within 30 years, it will probably be a non issue because, like cigarettes, the government will have managed to successfully all but phased out its usage among the younger generation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

Things that will be gone... hmm... perhaps people signing their names to the bottom of their posts will be seen as outdated and unnecessary. Good riddance too!

J1smithy

For someone who spends half their life posting rubbish about drugs on AH you dont know a great deal about it do you.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/newsnight/7220524.stm

"The farms are improvised hot-houses growing up to 20,000 plants at a time for profit. The police detect them from helicopters, using heat-seeking equipment to spot suspiciously sweltering premises. "

They have also been known to request electricity companies to report any suspicious surge in power usage, or illegal tapping into power lines and stealing electricity.

Still. Dont stop your drug posts.

It entertains me.
    Rubbish? I'm hurt.

And the image of Gardaí flying over YOUR house was just funny. Heat detection might be used to investigate suspicious premises, but routine surveilance on normal residential areas? Come on...

And I think I am going to stop with the drugs posts - the generic argumentative ones anyway. I'm all for drugs discussion and debate, but the AH threads are so predictible, and I think I'm getting known as "that pro-drugs guy", which I don't really want.

Anyway, back to reptoids ruling the earth :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

...what do you think the Garda helicopter is doing flying over your house at night? Half the reason they are up is to turn on the heat sensors to detect any unusual amount of heat coming from attics or garden sheds in the small hours
    That's a lie. A blatant lie. Before you go into your side of it, I should inform you that a friend of mine is the pilot (one of them anyway)
    ...Cannabis availability has been on a perpetual decline since 2006 tbh. The government is winning the war on cannabis...
    Thats also a lie. Where do you get your statistics from? I get mine from the Garda press office and they contradict your nonsense on nearly every level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

...routine surveillance on normal residential areas? Come on...

Your dead right. The cost of, pilot, maintenance, infra red/heat sensitive film, maintenance of the camera and specialist analysis of same makes random surveillance of this type prohibitively expensive. Anyone who says otherwise is lying to you for reasons unknown.