Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What height is everybody??

• 02-06-2008 8:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭

Just found out im 5ft 8. Just wondering how tall everybody is. BTW is 5ft 8 average or small for someone to be???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Well that would depend on your weight and sex!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

kmart6 wrote: »
    Well that would depend on your weight and sex!

Im male and about 9 stone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Just found out im 5ft 8. Just wondering how tall everybody is. BTW is 5ft 8 average or small for someone to be???

Yeah, 5ft 8 is really, really short

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Personally I'm 6 ft 2 (Male) and 15 stone but broad shouldered. In my own mind men average around 5 ft 9 to 6 ft. A tall fella would be over 6 ft 4. Women to my mind are average at around 5 ft 4, tall if 5 ft 9 or above I would think myself.

For shortness, I suppose 5 ft 5 for men and 5 ft for girls. But it differs from person to person. That's just my own idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭Raoul

Im the same as OP. Im about ten and a half stone and male!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Im male and about 9 stone
    About average so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Lil' Smiler

5ft 3.5"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

6ft 1"
    the extra inch is me spruce:p
    14.5 stone. Best atheletic man on boards.ie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

5ft 11"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

6ft 5" or 6", can't remember, my eyes are around the same height as peoples umbrellas on rainy days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

6ft 1inch...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

6' 2". Bout 13.5 stone. My body is a temple!

/Temple of doom after this weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

20 year old Male, 5'10, 10 stone 9lbs.

I would consider myself small..

Average for me is 5'11 - 6'1, anything above or below is tall or small..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

ahhh
    The height of ignorance.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Cool_CM wrote: »
    6ft 5" or 6", can't remember, my eyes are around the same height as peoples umbrellas on rainy days...

Ever since I first met you and Brian, I've considered anyone under 6ft to be really short, and 6'0" to 6'5" to be average.

I'm 5'5, so pretty short. Except my flatmate is about 5'1 and I feel like a giant next to her.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

5 11 and around the 11 stone mark

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

6' 0" 3/4
    13.4 Stone
    Shoe Size 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

5f 8 guy 12 stone! and hey its not that short :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Any men under 5 ft 10" are short imo, I'm 6ft 2, 14 stone.

say it aint so!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I'm 6 foot, would like to be any taller or shorter, but mostly not any shorter.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

5'11 but prob 6 foot its been a while since i measure myself, when i was younger I was 9 stone up til about 22, which was not a healthy weight for me as I looked like I walked straight of Auschwitz :eek:
    A healthy 12 stone now though i'll be hitting the gym with a vengeance shortly to get some definition back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

humbert wrote: »
    I'm 6 foot, would like to be any taller or shorter, but mostly not any shorter.
    It's not really all it's cracked up to be, low doorways, Ryanair flights, aforementioned people poking you in the eyes with umbrellas(...looks at Faith...)
    also you can't get away with much because people can see/remember you.
    But aside from all that I never had to use a fake ID when I was younger and spend less time fumbling in my wallet for one now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Faith wrote: »
    6'0" to 6'5" to be average.

You're fooking mad! I'd say 5'11" to 6'1" or 2" to be average. Anything over 6'4" is pretty tall.

I'm 6'1" and about 75kg.

It's not really all it's cracked up to be, low doorways, Ryanair flights, aforementioned people poking you in the eyes with umbrellas(...looks at Faith...)
    also you can't get away with much because people can see/remember you.
    But aside from all that I never had to use a fake ID when I was younger and spend less time fumbling in my wallet for one now.

Well as I say, I wouldn't like to be taller but I would hate to be short. 6 foot is just right for me, though I do suffer from potential umbrella blindness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

5ft 10" or 11" been about 4-5 years since i measured.

Think 5f 9 is average height for males in Ireland
    5f 5 for women....

this says different, but i heard on a tv show not too long ago the figures above. Can never be spot on obviously!

http://eirerules.blogspot.com/2007/11/facts-about-ireland.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭LovelyTom

I'm 5'8'' ( :( ) and I weigh 12 stone. I'm not fat though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

5' 8" and 9 1/2 schtone. In yer face, Cruise! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

LovelyTom wrote: »
    I'm 5'8'' ( :( ) and I weigh 12 stone. I'm not fat though!

http://www2.vhihealthe.com/Bmi.do

You get 24.9 on the BMI Scale, 25 is overweight. I got 25.2, BMI isn't a perfect system by any means though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

i'm around 5ft 10? i'd consider that about average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

ShaneU wrote: »

You get 24.9 on the BMI Scale, 25 is overweight. I got 24.7, BMI isn't a perfect system by any means though.

Its a load of crap, going by that the once fastest man on the planet Maurice Green is overweight @ 26.60

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Try an Aer Arann flight! I almost have problems.
    Parsley wrote: »
    You're fooking mad! I'd say 5'11" to 6'1" or 2" to be average. Anything over 6'4" is pretty tall.

I know it's not actually average, but a lot of my friends were unusually tall when I was 14/15 and I just came to see them as average after a while.
    Sqaull20 wrote: »
    Its a load of crap, going by that the once fastest man on the planet Maurice Green is overweight @ 26.60

It gets very inaccurate for very athletic people with a high muscle mass.

I got 25.6 on that thing and if I'm fat then I've bad news for most of the people I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Tell me about it.... :rolleyes: I hate umbrellas.

I'm 6' 4" btw. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

5'6 girl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Trilla wrote: »
    Think 5f 9 is average height for males in Ireland
    5f 5 for women....

this says different, but i heard on a tv show not too long ago the figures above. Can never be spot on obviously!

http://eirerules.blogspot.com/2007/11/facts-about-ireland.html

Oh my God, tell me this isn't so???
    I'm 5ft, 10 3/4in, 10 stone, female, so i'm above average height for a guy???
    OH is 6' 1" most of my family are around the 6ft mark surely 5'9" is small for a guy??? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

6'5 1/2

angelfire9 wrote: »
    Oh my God, tell me this isn't so???
    I'm 5ft, 10 3/4in, 10 stone, female, so i'm above average height for a guy???
    OH is 6' 1" most of my family are around the 6ft mark surely 5'9" is small for a guy??? :confused:

It's ok, 5'9" is midget country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

im a girl and about 5ft 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

6ft 5 average :eek:, not on this planet :D

i am just over 5'11 barefoot and what i find is that alot of people overestimate their own height, i have a friend that claims 5'9 but he is no more than 5'7, another friend claims 5'7 for herself but she is about 5'5 1/2

the average height of males in ireland is just over 5'9 (176cm or 5'9.3) and average for females is 5'5 http://www.muziqpakistan.com/board/index.php?showtopic=63115

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭LovelyTom

ShaneU wrote: »

You get 24.9 on the BMI Scale, 25 is overweight. I got 25.2, BMI isn't a perfect system by any means though.

I'm really skinny though :pac:
    People are so suprised when they hear how heavy I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

5'6", 9 stone, male. 16 so I could still grow 1-2 inches. Last of six kids and the 2nd tallest of an eight person household. So I feel tall when I'm inside. :pac:

Also I'd say average height is about 5'09" for a man with 95% certainty. Average American height is about 5'10" and we're definitely at least a tiny bit smaller than them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

5ft 8.. Lassie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

male 6' 1"

about 13 stone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Male, 18: I'm somewhere between 5'10" and 5'11". I don't how much I weigh (a bit too much probably :()

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

In and around the 5'8"/5'9" mark, female, nineteen, think I'm about nine stone (I don't have a scales/I don't care enough to find out). I wouldn't be the girl people would see coming and say "Jaysus look at the tall one", but I do look freakish in heels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

6'3 and 16 lovely stones which puts me in the overweight catergory on the vhi yoke, but I've just had my bmi calculated on an electronic calculator thingy today which put me at 24, which is good :confused:

I'll have it down to 20 by the end of the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Sure being tall must be an awful pain in the ass. I'm short and one of the most perfect people ever. The further you move from the height of perfection (my height) the more flawed you become.

I'm an accomplished astronaut, a master of infiltration and espionage, a crime fighter, scientist, engineer, mathematician and every other cool* thing you can think of.

*Based on my idea of cool of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

5'4'', 9stone-ish.. 23 on that bmi yoke-im normal!!!!