Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best & worst drunken moments?

• 28-05-2008 6:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭

So what has been your best/worst drunken moment?

My worst was last Thursday with some work mates. Drank a small brewery's worth, didn't make it to the club. Walking for a taxi I wanted the beer out of me so I got one of my mates to do the heimlich maneuver on me... up came the beer :o:(:o

Seemingly I came home, chatted with my sister, hugged the toilet some more and well Friday was a write off. I'm leaving out some other horrifying details.

Best drunken moment, there's been so many. Last year in Lyon walking into the local night club, ordered a few drinks, a few more, a few more, danced, partied, went to pay the tab. Manager said not to worry, it was on the house :D Then went onto a later club with the party goers and the guys from the club and got home at 3pm the next day. No hangover either. Win!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Best: all
    Worst: ??????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Best: Plenty of great nights but fully wrapping the uncles aul banger of a car on xmas eve after the boozers closed was good one the following morning. Turned plenty of heads

Worst: Getting my head lodges between the window and the roof of the door in a taxi one night. The electronics wouldnt work for about 5 mins. Great fun for the lads though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

singing Ruud Van Nistelrooy na na na na na (to the air of brown girl in the ring)

outside smyths in dublin after an Ireland vrs holland game I think we drew
    A fantastically funny night.
    it made the Irish Times don't you know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

Best: Got so drunk that I thought that Guiness came out of my ears.It actually just came out of my nose.(Safe to say I didn't live that down for a while).The same night I was looking for the number of a well known pizzaria and remembered you have to luck in a phone book not a french dictionary.

Worst:There's no such thing as a worst drunken moment.There all equally brilliant.

Best would be everything bar waking up in the bathtub covered in puke after a night on the vodka.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭LovelyTom

Best would be everything bar waking up in the bathtub covered in puke after a night on the vodka.

Vodka's for wimmins!

Best drunken moment was preobably when my current girlfriend but back then just my close friend let it slip that she liked me and ye know how it goes...

Worst was when I drank a shoulder of JD and fell on the bottle which smashed and send a big chunk of glass into my wrist, resulting in many a stitch and getting sick in the ambulance... Least I got a funky scar :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Best: Falling out of a pub in the south of France early on a Monday morning, realising I should be going into work about then back in Ireland, phoning up and leaving a message on the secretary's answering machine to say I was sick to only find out a few days later that I was actually talking to her and not the machine!

Worse: Out drinking with a guy that had broken up with his burd, drank many quadruple vodkas with red bulls, woke up the next morning with a massive "pizza" on the pillow, thank **** I didn't sleep on my back that night :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

LovelyTom wrote: »
    Least I got a funky scar

....but everybody will think you're emo......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭LovelyTom

....but everybody will think you're emo......

They'd think that if I looked like one but I don't so it's ok.
    Some people kinda have a worried look when they see it, obviously thinking I tried to off myself... :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Dun laoire wrote: »
    Worst: Getting my head lodges between the window and the roof of the door in a taxi one night. The electronics wouldnt work for about 5 mins. Great fun for the lads though

I lol'd :D:D

KamiKazi wrote: »
    I lol'd :D:D

Yeah it's funny alright. I was in the front and stuck my head out to ask some fella for directions but as i was asking i wanted to bring the window down a bit to allow more room but instead i sent the feckin thing up. How stupid can ya get haha.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

ROFL. :D

Wasn't there another one tho were you sat on a garden wall, fell backwards and slept there?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Best: saying "I do"
    Worst: saying "I do"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Worst or Best...? The last time my flatmate and I were out binge drinking (last year). I was the designated driver (Whoa, big mistake!), and somehow drove back to the flat without any memory of doing so.

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    Best: saying "I do"
    Worst: saying "I do"

Thomas Dunne! :eek: You pig! I'm telling your missus!

maple wrote: »
    ROFL. :D

Wasn't there another one tho were you sat on a garden wall, fell backwards and slept there?? :D

Haha yeah, but to be fair it was the middle of summer so it was kinda nice.

Still a classic tho. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭goodburger

worst: while pissed telling someone they looked pregnant, they had been on a diet and was really slim at the time

best: after a night in gibneys, we had the great idea of going to tomango's. taxi arrived and myself and my friend got in, I told her its ok i'll sort this one out. arrived to portmarnock and proceeded to show the taximan my bus eireann bus pass and then continued getting out of the taxi and staggered up to the door of the night club, I still laugh at that one today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

Best: theres been so many but probably would say going to a strip club on holiday, totally wasted, paying for a dance and not remebering a thing!

Worst: gotta be puching into my hands on the way to the toilet in a club one night, wasn't a huge amount but all in all very embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Worst: Doing a sling shot (a bungy jump backwards) whilst out of my mallet and barfing everywhere.. Think it landed on people half a mile away.

Best: Ringing in sick to work and going to an early house and spending the whole day there talking total shit to a load of pissed aul fellas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Worst: Doing a sling shot (a bungy jump backwards) whilst out of my mallet and barfing everywhere.. Think it landed on people half a mile away.

bwahaha laughed so heartily there

maple wrote: »
    Still a classic tho. :D

So c'mon Mrs Maple tell us your stories :pac:

Haha. That reminds me of a fella from work done a bunjee jump for charity. He jumped off the platform feet first haha. His eye were bloodshot for a month. I still laugh when i think about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Haha. That reminds me of a fella from work done a bunjee jump for charity. He jumped off the platform feet first haha. His eye were bloodshot for a month. I still laugh when i think about it

Oh god the poor fella, I did a bungy too but was sober for that so it worked out a lot better for me and the general public:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Worst: Getting locked in student union office with unattractive, strange man, emerging when the manager and staff were closing up the bar, they were not impressed.

Best: Oh so many, I loved getting drunk and havin' a go on the merry-go-round near the Point. Or getting stuck in a trolley in a bathroom, befriending random strangers I still talk to etc etc.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Worst: Nothing too bad... confessed my undying love for an ex by txt and sent it to my then girlfriend... very bold :D

Best: Quite a few probably getting stripped naked by a band in front of a packed pub!

Best:.......too many to remember.

Worst: walking up the "stairs" part of the old Anna Livia fountain in town....the bit beside her head, here:

10livia.jpg

and when i got to the top i just jumped off onto the path at the side, instead of walking back down. Then hobbled home with a broken ankle.

Either that or waking up in Beaumont with a drip hanging off my arm and a monitor clipped to one of my fingers. Un-hooked everything, went into the bathroom and planned on legging it until i saw i'd a plastic bracelet on my wrist with my name and address on it (which they got from my wallet).

I drank a hape of gargle and just switched off and fell backwards, busting my head open in the process. The lads panicked, threw me in an ambulance and then legged it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Was in a bar in Nantes that had a bit of a band playing.I'd been heckling them all night to play guns n roses,they evenntually agreed on condition that i sing.I staggered up,murdered two verses of knocking on heavn's door and stepped off the satge.The stage was four feet from the floor and i landed on my face,bounced back up into a standing position and bowed to a bemused audience.It wasnt even dark outside!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Best: Been drunk so many times that I can't remember most of them. One of the best moments was easter last year when I ended up in Copperface Jacks with the lads. By the end of the night they played the Riverdance theme and we were all dancing like demons as fast as we could to try and keep up with the music. We were all shouting at each other to keep going and to keep dancing faster. Was great craic.

Worst: Probably just after I started to drink and was back in my apartment after a night out. Was sitting on the couch and felt that unpleasant I'm about to puke feeling. Started to leg it for the bathroom but had to put my hand over my mouth. Of course that never helps.

As I got into the bathroom it started to come out out of my mouth and I slipped in it and landed on my ass. So there I was sitting in my own puke on the bathroom floor, continuing to be sick into the toilet.

Sorry if that has caused the same reaction in some of you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Worst: There's been a few but the lowest is heading to my mates gaff, drinking nearly a full bottle of whiskey, going to rathmines to Tram Co (:o) Was refused entry because I couldn't string my date of birth togenther and they don't accept old crumply bus tickets as ID. so got some Mcdonalds, had some water, got myself sorted a bit, headed back and they said fiar enough and I went in. More whiskey, left at 2am, got a curry and lost everyone else at this stage. Went to hail a taxi and woke up on the side of the main road at around half 2. Got a taxi, wen't home.

Got out of the taxi, decided to sit down and close my eyes, woke up at 3.15 or so. Went into my house. Fell asleep. Woke up and vomited everywhere including on my sterio causing the sub woofer to stop working :( and then all over the toilet. Sy sister cleaned it up (like an absolute legend :D) and i bought a nice box of chocolates as a token of my appreciation.

Best: Can't remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Best: Just getting wasted in Denmark in an Irish bar. Had a crap load to drink, mixed everything and must have tried every shot there... some weird names they had for them. Got some free pints too.
    Was soooo drunk that they let me stay upstairs in the guest room. Went to bed at 5 a.m. btw. Woke up at 7 a.m. with some head on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭COH

Went to bed at 5 a.m. btw. Woke up at 7 a.m. with some head on me.

I believe they call that 'rape'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

COH wrote: »
    I believe they call that 'rape'

*snigger*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

BEST: Too many to mention.

WORST: going out drinking in my early days and was supposed to be staying in a mates house on his couch(he still lived with parents). Got home about 4 and didn't feel too bad so all was fine till i was woken the following morning by my mate telling me his ma was going mad and I should go. Turns out I got up in the middle of the night, puked all over the bathroom, then decided it was time to go to bed, the only problem with that was I decided to go get in bed beside his mother (his dad was workign nights luckily). Needless to say I never stood foot in that house again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Best: Unmentionable.

Worst: Don't want to mention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Worst: 6th year night out. Last day of school. Started on the beer at about 1pm with a load of friends. They all cleverly went home at some stage during the day to get something to eat. I stupidly didn't.

Ended up being put into a taxi at 2.30am (13.5hours later) by one of my teachers. Got out of the taxi (don't remember paying) walked through the garden gates and fell in a heap on the grass. And thats where i stayed until 8o'clock the following morning when my father found me and woke me up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 DrunkenBum

Worst: When I was at a small get together in my cousins girlfriends house I got a tad to drunk,they wouldn't give me any more alcohol so I decided a bit of fairy liquid would be nice...It wasnt

Best: How could you choose

Figured this was the perfect place for my 1st post :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭trowelled

Best: There's been so many good nights out. One of the most recent was on holiday couple weeks back. I engaged one of the guys in a dance off. I wiped the floor with him!! His mistake was turning his back and I saw my moment. His legs were somewhat spread, I dived to the floor and shimmied/crawled under his legs, he coldn't top that, in fact he didn't even try!!

Worst: Was about 3/4 years ago while on a night out with college people. Didn't even drink that much but what I can only refer to as the purple stuff now (and it was a lot stronger back then than it is now) did not have a good effect on me. Might have had something to do with knocking back a full pint of the stuff in one!! We went to a kebab place afterwards and apparently i stood up to make a speach and then fell over at the end. Someone walked me to the nightlink and I did manage to get on the right one. Unfortunately I passed out on the thing and only woke up because (well I'm not gonna say why but I'm sure you can figure it out). So ended up getting off the nightlink way passed my stop and had to walk to the village to get a taxi the rest of the way home (defeated purpose of getting nightlink in the first place)

Best: Recieting Bill Pullman's inspiring speech from Independece Day word for word to an enraptured audience of about 50 people.

Here's the original video for those not familiar with it.

Another great drunk moment was meeting the singer Feist and telling her that her music was emdiocre at best before supposedly spending the next twenty minutes hitting on her before deciding against it when I was informed that the free bar was closing. Had to get my priorities in order and free beer won.

Also the night I recreated David Lynch's Dune in my front garden, which is a story for another time. Lets just say that telly Gardai how the spice can be used to fold space while running around your garden in a 6 foot cardboard tube is not the best idea in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Degsy wrote: »
    Was in a bar in Nantes that had a bit of a band playing.I'd been heckling them all night to play guns n roses,they evenntually agreed on condition that i sing.I staggered up,murdered two verses of knocking on heavn's door and stepped off the satge.The stage was four feet from the floor and i landed on my face,bounced back up into a standing position and bowed to a bemused audience.It wasnt even dark outside!

Bob Dylan did a nice cover of that song circa 1973, slowed it right down, worked quite well. :p

LovelyTom wrote: »
    Vodka's for wimmins!

Best drunken moment was preobably when my current girlfriend but back then just my close friend let it slip that she liked me and ye know how it goes...

Worst was when I drank a shoulder of JD and fell on the bottle which smashed and send a big chunk of glass into my wrist, resulting in many a stitch and getting sick in the ambulance... Least I got a funky scar

Shoulders of alcohol are for wimmins. Buy a bottle, preferably a large one, you big girl's blouse.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

best and worst would be the night i climbed into bed next to a friend of an ex and told her if i took off my shoes, i didn't mean it in a sexual manner...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭dee8839

Best: Hmm...the one that comes to mind is when I got drunk in my college pub after a presentation and went for a big roll in the shop on my way home (it was 3pm) and asked for "A bi-ha le-huss" (A bit of lettuce). I didn't even request bread. Just lettuce...

Worst: Drank a litre of vodka except for a small amount which I put in a nagon to bring with me, as if I needed it. Dropped the nagon on the ground on the way to the taxi when leaving my house, and for some reason decided to pick up the glass as I'd need it later. Still have the scars. Covered in blood, I still somehow got into a club where I proceeded to spill an entire drink into my handbag without noticing until I woke up next day to a very wet and broken mobile phone. Classy bird.

Also, honourable worst mention: Any drunken night when I managed to text anyone. It never ends well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Ruby-J

Best: Way too many to mention...all of them involve seductive dancing on the dancefloor or cheesy dancing with my girlfriends!!! ;)

Worst: Vilnius, Lithuania 2004 long story short...i was so drunk i fell into a bin in a pub!!! The paramedics were called to pull me out and detoxify me...needless to say...spent the night in hospital :( not a moment i care to remember or happen ever AGAIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Best? Standing in the smoking area in The George during a drag queen show singing Blind Guardian songs at the top of my voice with a friend.

Worst? Discovering the hard way that I cannot drink rum at all at my friend's 21st. 2 hours on the great white telephone, and I have no idea how the hell I made it home that night - woke up the next morning on my bedroom floor still wearing my coat and shoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Bijoux

Worst: Drinking 23 shots of vodka in the space of half an hour. I'm told I passed out right after i downed the 23rd....woke up on the floor 2 hours later, went into the bathroom and spent 4 hours hugging the toilet puking my ring. Proceeded to fall asleep beside the toilet (always classy) and woke up some time later with random neon coloured beads around my neck. I then went to sleep on my friends bedroom floor at 6am, at 8 i got up and I had the shakes....started puking blood (which is always lovely on a Friday morning)...managed to get my bags and get the bus to college...I couldnt go in to my lecture cos i was shaking so badly, and as I was still somewhere between drunken oblivion and being hungover, I rang my MOTHER. Fun fun. I then went back to my place, took a few Nurofen, and got a bus back to Sligo for work, and sat in the recovery position for the 2 hour trip.
    Worst day EVER!

Best: there have been so many....the most recent happened at a houseparty, where a friend jumped out a window (obviously thinking he was Rambo) to rescue my bottle of vodka. Ah, memories :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Best: My friend's family own this pub/guest house in Wales. We wet over for the weekend and drank in her pub on the Sat night. Her brother was the barman and was pouring us doubles and charging us 20p. There was a wedding on there and we went in to the ballroom part and made friends with them all and became best mates with the bride.

Then, at what I thought was 10am but actually turned out to be 5am this hot bloke carried me home. Everyone went to bed and we were left in my friends kitchen. He went out for a smoke and in my drunken state I thought he'd walked off on me so I went to bed. He followed me up (wahey!) but apparently I was passed out on top of my friend maire.

Worst: My mate was going away to Germany for a while. He had drink in his house before heading to D2. The last thing I remember properly is my hand going out to open the taxi door outside his house. Then I remember puking outside D2...everywhere. I remember briefly lying full lenght on the back seat of a taxi. Then I woke up the next morning. I gave up drink for about 4 months after that one. Scared the crap out of me, I could have had a dodgy taxi driver and anything could have happened.

Both times I puked the whole of the next day but only the first story was worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

watna wrote:
    Her brother was the barman and was pouring us doubles and charging us 20p.
    watna wrote:
    Then.................. this hot bloke carried me home.

sorry watna I don't want to rain on your parade, but I call beer goggles (especially if it was in wales):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

jsb wrote: »
    sorry watna I don't want to rain on your parade, but I call beer goggles (especially if it was in wales):D

Well he was the village stud but you're right, it was in Wales so he might have been awful. I certainly don't remember!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

Best: Downing a litre of vodka, after drinking the night away already

Worst: reference 5min after the above, or so I am told