Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new club in deise

• 28-05-2008 11:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

.newbrilliant news for all players in waterford and south east..new club opening shortly. for to long blazin aces,have had a monoply on the game in waterford,great news that this new club will b guaranteeing there tournaments and providing a better service and more comfort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

.newbrilliant news for all players in waterford and south east..new club opening shortly. for to long blazin aces,have had a monoply on the game in waterford,great news that this new club will b guaranteeing there tournaments and providing a better service and more comfort.

And your affiliation is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 RushDalglish

And your affiliation is?
    no affilliation just happy to know tourneys will b guaranteed in new club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭gigetheman

This rumour has been around for the last few weeks,it will offer players a great choice of tournaments and give blazing aces a bit of competition which is good for poker players in waterford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

gigetheman wrote: »
    This rumour has been around for the last few weeks,it will offer players a great choice of tournaments and give blazing aces a bit of competition which is good for poker players in waterford

Will the town (or is it a city?) be able to support two clubs though?

last year the shamrock opened up in waterford and for the first few weeks it went ok but then died out but they only had 2 tournaments a week,and its location was very poor so if this new club is central to the town and opens seven days a week with guaranteed prizes it might take off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

Waterford will not be able to support 2 card clubs. When the Shamrock was running their two tournaments per week numbers were down in Aces.

Competition from a customer point of view is always good until competition is so strong that none of the businesses are making a go of it & they all close.

IMO we have one of the best clubs in Ireland (and I don't say that lightly) and all we're lacking is a bit of comfort & a few minor changes. It will be very difficult to improve on the (a) atmosphere (b) location (c) Tournament schedule (possibly some tweaking required) & (d) friendliness found in Aces.

My affiliation is a loyal member of Aces & a member of the players committee.

RUSHDALGLISH has 2 posts to his / her name & has the audacity to say they have no affiliation to the new club yet knows all about the tournament structure.

ARE YOU WATCHING MODS

David McCarthy

Yes it is a city & for informational purposes was the first city in Ireland to receive a charter ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

;5

IF you have no affilliation to this new club, maybe you could tell us what compelled you to join boards poker forum and tell us about how much better this new club is gonna be compared to blazing aces.

This kind of poster galls me when it appears here. i dont mind anybody coming on whos upfront in what their doing, but if they're stupid enough to think that we cant see through a 1st ever post like this, it doesnt say a lot about their mental abilities, and let me give you 1 piece of advice, if your lacking in mental abilities, organising a card club is a definate no-no.

Connie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

connie147 wrote: »
    ;5

IF you have no affilliation to this new club, maybe you could tell us what compelled you to join boards poker forum and tell us about how much better this new club is gonna be compared to blazing aces.

This kind of poster galls me when it appears here. i dont mind anybody coming on whos upfront in what their doing, but if they're stupid enough to think that we cant see through a 1st ever post like this, it doesnt say a lot about their mental abilities, and let me give you 1 piece of advice, if your lacking in mental abilities, organising a card club is a definate no-no.

Connie.

From what I read in other threads, caesars_pal announced that he was relocating (or expanding?) his business into Waterford so I don't think the OP has an official affiliation with the new club and could have simply read those posts or simply heard it from a friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

This is nearly as bad as the time the guy from Dundalk Poker Club or whatever its called opened an account and came on complimenting the staff and management for providing such a good service to the poker community. At least he could get his grammer correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭mormank

this is gas. on another thread ppl are saying that dublin can only sustain two clubs and yet waterford are about to get a second club...there will always be saturation with poker imo as long as anybody hwo wants to open a club is allowed to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

no way the town can sustain 2 clubs so should be interesting from a players perspective

just an observation, the OPs account is six months old so if he is shilling a new club its been in the planning a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

nicnicnic wrote: »
    no way the town can sustain 2 clubs so should be interesting from a players perspective

just an observation, the OPs account is six months old so if he is shilling a new club its been in the planning a while

good work, i agree with nicky. (dont make that your sig)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Butternutz

This is just a little strange to me, from what i know about blazin aces they have good tourneys with good decent numbers pretty much every night. and they dont guaruntee prizefunds, why all of a sudden will a guaruntee entice people to the new club?
    Also Blazin Aces pay out the full prizefund besides the % held for the league which is what i am lookin for as a punter.

For me its better the devil you know than the devil you dont.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭krux

kakak1 wrote: »

IMO we have one of the best clubs in Ireland (and I don't say that lightly) and all we're lacking is a bit of comfort & a few minor changes.

David McCarthy

Ahh now come on.....
    Have you ever been to the Eglington,Galway
    Macau,Cork
    Fitzpatricks,Limerick
    Sporting Emporium,Dublin

I could go on but I think you get my point....
    I agree Waterford is too small to sustain 2 clubs which is why I welcome a second option,as I feel if a nice,well run card room was to open then this could become THE cardroom in Waterford.This town is crying out for a good club and as you said yourself numbers were down in BA the few nights the shamrock ran tournaments.
    Lets call a spade a spade here,Blazing aces is little more than a box with one filthy toilet,a kitchen that doubles as a smoking room?!?(disgraceful imo),6 crappy tables and i'm guessing hasn't seen a duster in 6 months...and you call this one of the best clubs in the country????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

wow lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭taliban

krux wrote: »
    Ahh now come on.....
    Macau,Cork
    Fitzpatricks,Limerick
    Sporting Emporium,Dublin

I agree Waterford is too small to sustain 2 clubs which is why I welcome a second option,as I feel if a nice,well run card room was to open then this could become THE cardroom in Waterford.This town is crying out for a good club and as you said yourself numbers were down in BA the few nights the shamrock ran tournaments.
    Lets call a spade a spade here,Blazing aces is little more than a box with one filthy toilet,a kitchen that doubles as a smoking room?!?(disgraceful imo),6 crappy tables and i'm guessing hasn't seen a duster in 6 months...and you call this one of the best clubs in the country????
    i think krux your out of order.aces gets at least 30 runners each nite theres not many clubs can say that.anyway when the shamrock opened first not many waterford players had much time for the owners and duncan looked after his players so well they stayed with aces. then both clubs changed hands and the shamrock started gaurenteen tournments so players went there,then aces started to garentee so some players went back eventully leadind to all players returning to aces because as kakak1 said the atmosphere was always brillent between the players and still is even when we travel to tournments its like one big happy family so now the question is why are mensers of aces putting down the club now ,this is something the management of the club should ask themselfs and try to retify and soon also to the op and krux i think if you have something to say dont hide behind a false name

u mentioned a number of clubs that are better than blazin aces, u cant talk in the SE u get barred if u fart in the mancu,and by way the there is only 5 crapy tables in BA. And all this coming from a member of blazin aces (KRUX) if u had any balls u would put your name to your posts

sy mensers should be spelt members

taliban wrote: »
    i think if you have something to say dont hide behind a false name

Lol i'll try to remember that Th..... sorry I mean Taliban

come on now everyone knows who the taliban is ........why its me;);)

gigetheman wrote: »
    (KRUX) if u had any balls u would put your name to your posts
    have you the kahoonas krux

also to the op and krux i think if you have something to say dont hide behind a false name

I hope you can see the irony in this statement

have you the kahoonas krux

Funny but in the couple of discussions about waterford poker i have entered into on this forum there has been numerous mentions of 'kahoonas' and 'balls'
    quite comical if you give it some thought.....

taliban.your misspelling is very consistent with another poster here,thus deeming any accusations about 'hiding' pretty weak

Ah feck it your right lads....
    Regards,

Krux

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

lol @ all the deise tards with the handbags :pac::pac::pac:

I hope you can see the irony in this statement
    you would know:D:D:D

Funny but in the couple of discussions about waterford poker i have entered into on this forum there has been numerous mentions of 'kahoonas' and 'balls'
    quite comical if you give it some thought.....

taliban.your misspelling is very consistent with another poster here,thus deeming any accusations about 'hiding' pretty weak

Ah feck it your right lads....
    Regards,

Krux
    no your on about thund thats my bad side the doctor told me hes on holidays ..funny how he spells the same i thought he was the clever one

no your on about thund .... i thought he was the clever one

I suppose it's all relative

you would know:D:D:D

krux does not = nicnicnic as has been suggested to me by a couple of people

I do think the guy has made some insightful additions/observations re a number of topics/debates on the forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

bops wrote: »
    lol @ all the deise tards with the handbags :pac::pac::pac:

im agreeing with bops, i feel dirty:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

wow now the desies are at war now wat next :pac::pac::pac::pac: :D:D

im agreeing with bops, i feel dirty:D

hope ye are happy now lads even the wexford tards are laughing at us

corkie123 wrote: »
    waterford to win the all ireland:p:p

krux does not = nicnicnic as has been suggested to me by a couple of people

why would people think that???

corkie123 wrote: »

Perhaps you sort out your smilie addiction and stop acting the langer every time you log on?
    And using seven 3 letter words in one sentence is exceptionally hebetudinous
    :D:D:pac::pac::eek::pac::pac::D:D

Perhaps you sort out your smilie addiction and stop acting the langer every time you log on?
    And using seven 3 letter words in one sentence is exceptionally hebetudinous
    :D:D:pac::pac::eek::pac::pac::D:D

seeing as we know it is a club member from previous posts, that certainly narrows the field to about one of one :D

Ahh now come on.....
    Macau,Cork
    Fitzpatricks,Limerick
    Sporting Emporium,Dublin

If you're going to call a spade a spade why not compare like with like.

All the venues you have mentioned (you've obviously been to them all & not many members of Aces have ;)) are casinos and not solely card Clubs. Now any FOOL (& I'm not calling you one :D ) knows that Poker is only about 12%of any casinos business & is not the money making side of the business. You being a regular in the SE should know that from speaking to their members.

As members of Aces we are all aware of the shortcomings of our club but I think even you have to admit the atmosphere is special & it is drawing the crowds, certainly for tournaments.

This thread was started by a first poster out to stir the ****e & here once again Waterford people are knocking their own.

If you're so unhappy with your local club you know what to do.

Then again I get the feeling you'd rather hide & throw stones from a distance.

And you want to call a spade a spade !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You might throw stones, you'll never throw Balls, you've got none

kakak aka David McCarthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭THEIRISHMOB

Wow what a reaction.

Lets just wait and see what happens.
    Customers will go with what suits them best and time will tell.

From a players (customer of a business paying a fee) point of view which ever club offers me the best service will win my custom so this has to be good for all waterford players.

I agree that there is only room for one professionally run club in waterford.
    The tournament league and the prizes that are offered will be a big part of whether the new club will suceed. The owner of the new club is a gentleman and everyone should decide where they want to go after the club opens, not before hand.

Best of luck to both clubs and may the players win.
    You should be all excited by the competition and what we have to gain from it.

"I think Connie is very out of order accusing the owners of the new club before even knowing whom posted the post. As a businessman and club owner yourself I think maybe you owe someone a apology...!!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

Years ago, a tourist passing through Waterford decided he'd like to try out some of the cities culinary delights so decided to stop into The Jade Palace, right beside Reginalds Tower. On walking through the door he noticed the sight of a big fishtank. In the fishtank were some big beautiful lobsters swimming around.

"Mmmm they look mighty fine" he says, and strolls into the restaraunt to be greeted by Waterfords finest restaraunteur Johnny Fan...
    "I'd like one of those big lobsters you have there Mister...in the tank" says our tourist friend. "No problem, you take a seat, I'll get you the finest one in the tank..." says Johnny as he grabs one and heads off to the kitchen with it.

Out comes this plate with the lobster on it beautifully cooked and our American friend tucks in with gusto.

"Jesus H Tap Dancin' Christ this is about the best God Damn lobster I've ever tasted" he roars, with bits of shell hanging off his fat face.

He finishes off the lobster, calls Johnny Fan over and compliments him on the magnificent grub just served up.

"I need to meet the chef. I need to see your kitchen" says the tourist.

"No problem come with me" says Johnny and they troop off toward the kitchen.

As he walks in he sees a massive giant pot with screaming coming from it and boiling water bubbling away and no lid on top. With a face dropped with shock he asks the chef how many lobsters are in there. "Oh dozens, maybe a hundred...you know they are all Waterford lobsters? The worlds finest. Magnificent. And all from right here in Waterford" says the chef

"Jesus that is amazing. They certainly are the best, I've never had anything better. But man, how come you don't have a lid on that pot?" asks the tourist.

"Ah thats easy....if one tries to get out the others will drag him straight back down".

Wow what a reaction.
    The owner of the new club is a gentleman and everyone should decide where they want to go after the club opens, not before hand.

If you're referring to Seamus, Ceasars Palace, I could'nt agree more.

Just a little tired of the constant ongoing knocking of Aces.

Also you mention you'll go wherever you get the best service.

You won't Ian, you'll go to wherever the best & softest cash games are & the best tournaments. Like customers in all walks of life you'll suit yourself & loyalty doesn't usually come into it and because you're paying you are perfectly entitled to do that.
    Anyway a lot of this thread is **** stirring so I wouldn't be taking it too seriously, it's just if the pot is being stirred it needs to be done in both directions ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭THEIRISHMOB

You won't Ian, you'll go to wherever the best & softest cash games are & the best tournaments. Like customers in all walks of life you'll suit yourself & loyalty doesn't usually come into it and because you're paying you are perfectly entitled to do that.
    Anyway a lot of this thread is **** stirring so I wouldn't be taking it too seriously, it's just if the pot is being stirred it needs to be done in both directions

Ill go where ever the most cash is because with my skills I win anyway.
    Im really hoping all this "Im the best player ever talk over the last few weeks is getting more players to try and bust me" because I need the xtra cash.

I agree...a lot of shiit being talked in here. But whats new.. maybe people should comment on what they would like from cash games and tournaments and leagues then we got a chance to get what we want.

Years ago, a tourist passing through Waterford decided he'd like to try out some of the cities culinary delights so decided to stop into The Jade Palace, right beside Reginalds Tower. On walking through the door he noticed the sight of a big fishtank. In the fishtank were some big beautiful lobsters swimming around.

"Mmmm they look mighty fine" he says, and strolls into the restaraunt to be greeted by Waterfords finest restaraunteur Johnny Fan...
    "I'd like one of those big lobsters you have there Mister...in the tank" says our tourist friend. "No problem, you take a seat, I'll get you the finest one in the tank..." says Johnny as he grabs one and heads off to the kitchen with it.

Out comes this plate with the lobster on it beautifully cooked and our American friend tucks in with gusto.

"Jesus H Tap Dancin' Christ this is about the best God Damn lobster I've ever tasted" he roars, with bits of shell hanging off his fat face.

He finishes off the lobster, calls Johnny Fan over and compliments him on the magnificent grub just served up.

"I need to meet the chef. I need to see your kitchen" says the tourist.

"No problem come with me" says Johnny and they troop off toward the kitchen.

As he walks in he sees a massive giant pot with screaming coming from it and boiling water bubbling away and no lid on top. With a face dropped with shock he asks the chef how many lobsters are in there. "Oh dozens, maybe a hundred...you know they are all Waterford lobsters? The worlds finest. Magnificent. And all from right here in Waterford" says the chef

"Jesus that is amazing. They certainly are the best, I've never had anything better. But man, how come you don't have a lid on that pot?" asks the tourist.

"Ah thats easy....if one tries to get out the others will drag him straight back down".

What a retarded post imo
    kakak1 wrote: »
    If you're referring to Seamus, Ceasars Palace, I could'nt agree more.

Just a little tired of the constant ongoing knocking of Aces.

Also you mention you'll go wherever you get the best service.

Anyway a lot of this thread is **** stirring so I wouldn't be taking it too seriously, it's just if the pot is being stirred it needs to be done in both directions ;);)

wont concern you dave, sure you only get out of the oap home once a week;)

twice in summer until the clock goes back

maybe people should comment on what they would like from cash games and tournaments and leagues then we got a chance to get what we want.

In fairness to the management in Aces & we had a meeting last night they are open to nearly any suggestions that suit the players & progress the club.

However we need feedback from the players & not by way of a passing remark at a table or out the back when having a smoke. There is also a suggestion box which I don't think is being used too often ....... so how do you like them apples

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

priceless :pac::pac::pac:

Im really hoping all this "Im the best player ever talk over the last few weeks is getting more players to try and bust me" because I need the xtra cash.

LOL

Skill

Luck

there you go again mixing things up Ian.

Hope this helps

We don't need ye Wexford lads coming in fighting & arguing with us Waterford folk.

We're well able to fight among ourselves so leave us at it & fcuk off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

What a retarded post imo

Being from Wexfart I wouldn't expect you to get it.

Wow, you certainly put me in my place there:rolleyes: