Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

E30 estate

• 26-05-2008 2:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭

Lads,

Bought a golf gti a year ago as a replacement for a 325 & ive no love for her, boring bus in comparsion. Always had a thing for quick estates & really fancy getting another beemer.

Just wonder am I wasting my time searching for a 6 cyclinder e30 estate? As rare as hens teeth now & cant remember the last time I saw one for sale i know but...

Just looking to pick ye're brains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Ferris

Did alpina not do a quick estate with a stroked m20 with 2.7 litres. Would be seriously cool on some deep dish bbs 15".

Nice pic:

BMW-model-65.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

jimboddb wrote: »
    Lads,

Bought a golf gti a year ago as a replacement for a 325 & ive no love for her, boring bus in comparsion. Always had a thing for quick estates & really fancy getting another beemer.

Just wonder am I wasting my time searching for a 6 cyclinder e30 estate? As rare as hens teeth now & cant remember the last time I saw one for sale i know but...

Just looking to pick ye're brains

there all 6 cyclner afaik.... 320 and 325i have no performance differences, but the 325 has bragging rights...

there being used as drift cars which means there wreaks... good luck sourcing one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭green-blood

S.I.R - what on earth are you taking about!!

They built 316 and 318 estates, last e30s built were 316 tourings, into 1994. 325s have 170bhp (well had) 320 was specced at 137, so a slight performance difference there

www.e30owners.com, there's a nice 325 estate on there at the moment for about 3K. The tourings are getting a bitof a following now too, good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Mac 3

S.I.R wrote: »
    there all 6 cyclner afaik.... 320 and 325i have no performance differences, but the 325 has bragging rights...

there being used as drift cars which means there wreaks... good luck sourcing one

^^Strongly disagree^^, There are still good tourings to be had. They were probably the ones that would have had the least abuse. The last of the line in 94 had loads of extras, although I'd say that most E30 tourings in 94 were probably 316 and 318i. Still some well minded examples in the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭jimboddb

www.e30owners.com, there's a nice 325 estate on there at the moment for about 3K. The tourings are getting a bitof a following now too, good luck.[/quote]

Hey cant see that motor, where on the site is it hidden?

S.I.R - what on earth are you taking about!!

They built 316 and 318 estates, last e30s built were 316 tourings, into 1994. 325s have 170bhp (well had) 320 was specced at 137, so a slight performance difference there

www.e30owners.com, there's a nice 325 estate on there at the moment for about 3K. The tourings are getting a bitof a following now too, good luck.

hmmm someonwhen i drove the 320i and the 325i in both tuoring and saloon models i didnt feel a differance and didnt notice a differance in speed or power ?? see you guys are talking about 1994 ( E36 TU terratory ).

please, stay on topic.

as for power and such the 325i e30 was quoted to have 180 or hp but only 160 at the wheels , a boored out exhuast manifold and some new breathing aperatous and she will touch over but the beauty of the e30 ?? it don't need tons of power , its fun the way it is.

S.I.R. , I think you'll find that E30 tourings were produced in 1993 and some still sold in 1994.

( E36 TU terratory ). What is this.

I'm intrigued.

well I'm not going to get into an arguement with you, you far better at it than me, but I drive (well until it was smashed by an uninsured twit) an e30 325 and the power diff to a 320 is considerable, tehy are quorted at 172bhp, bnever 180 and most produce about 160 when rolling roaded yes, pre facelift cars always seemto hit the 170 mark, probably something to do with the higher compression and lack of CAT. Boored out exhaust manifold!!!!! a proper fabricated 6 branch (as I had) helps with top end power, but lowers the low down torque a bit, basically moving the curve, butI've never seen someone "boor" out a cast iron manifold.

316 tourings continued to be sold well into e36 territory, same with the cabrios

never mind the topic perhaps stay on the facts

anyway - that nice white 325 touring is still going a begging on owners

Just to tidy up:

every boy/man in my family above the age of 21 has owned a e30. e36 was the body change....

which although started in 1994 didnt come in till full effect till mid 1992. bmw's where then given a TU stamp and badge on the back ( though most dealerships removed the badge )

as for tourings , the oldest one ive seen myself is 1992.

common sight of the 1991 e36 m3.

the re-styling of bmw was a erm... unique... and rather silly tbh.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/f/fc/BMW_M3_E36_coupe.jpg/300px-BMW_M3_E36_coupe.jpg

now for 320i vs 325i

325i to most joe blogs is the more powerful engine but the displacemnt isnt a big factor, the only Real differance is the badge.... when you get into the high gears you can feel the slightest bit more pull but theres no major differance.

if i was to buy a e30 id go 320i as its middle of the water asuch , owned by people who cant afford the big, penis enlarger that is the 325i b12.

if your going to buy a touring, take sharp turns when driving it... often the rubber bushs are gone as they do get a hard life but generally survive for years before you need to do all the small jobs.... which in most cases lead into being a gaint job, but apart fromt that and the clutchs been eaten by " free wheeling " drivers, then you have a solid motor.

oh my lord..... for the OP, come on over to e30owners.com for some advice

B12 engine??

e30 320 = M20B20
    e30 325 = M20B25

I'd love to see a 91 e36 m3, seeing as it wasn't launched until 1992 on the continent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

I'm with Green-Blood on this one, having sold BMW's in the era we are talking about there is/was/always will be quite a performance advantage with the 325i, once it gets into the revs, out past 4500 it flies in a way that a 320i never will.

The E36 was launched in late 1991 as a MY92 car, I was at the launch, and Coupes followed a time after that. Most of the first batches of the E36's were 6 cylinder cars.

It normal for the cabs & estates to linger about 6 months or so after the saloons have been replaced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 zed_head

Just to tidy up:

every boy/man in my family above the age of 21 has owned a e30. e36 was the body change....

which although started in 1994 didnt come in till full effect till mid 1992. bmw's where then given a TU stamp and badge on the back ( though most dealerships removed the badge )

as for tourings , the oldest one ive seen myself is 1992.

the re-styling of bmw was a erm... unique... and rather silly tbh.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/f/fc/BMW_M3_E36_coupe.jpg/300px-BMW_M3_E36_coupe.jpg

now for 320i vs 325i

325i to most joe blogs is the more powerful engine but the displacemnt isnt a big factor, the only Real differance is the badge.... when you get into the high gears you can feel the slightest bit more pull but theres no major differance.

if i was to buy a e30 id go 320i as its middle of the water asuch , owned by people who cant afford the big, penis enlarger that is the 325i b12.

if your going to buy a touring, take sharp turns when driving it... often the rubber bushs are gone as they do get a hard life but generally survive for years before you need to do all the small jobs.... which in most cases lead into being a gaint job, but apart fromt that and the clutchs been eaten by " free wheeling " drivers, then you have a solid motor.

TU stamp and a badge on the back ?? What's that about ?

There's no comparison between an E30 320i and 325i. The 325i is a far
    superior car than the 320i. In saloon form at least, the 325i came standard
    with ABS and thicker suspension struts. Not to mention the motor : the
    320i puts out 129bhp whereas the 325i puts out 171bhp and way more
    torque than the 2 litre motor.
    And since the 320i is almost as heavy on fuel, a bloke would be mad to opt
    for the 320i over the 325i. The only benefit of 320ii ownership is the
    cheaper road tax.

As the lads said above, cabrios and tourings can been seen with 1994
    plates. And alot of them are indeed 4 cylinder.

If you want to check for worn bushes, put it up on a ramp or climb under
    it. I know I wouldn't like to be taking "sharp turns" in a car with clapped
    out bushes...........

Well, what a mine of information you are.

What i've forgotten about BMWs is more than you will ever know.

Oh and I forgot to mention the 2.5 has discs all around (the 320i has drums
    at the rear) !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 GS.ie

S.I.R. you are a class "A" type clown.. Your ignorance on E30's is stunning. Please stay away from the e30owners site.

GS.ie wrote: »
    . Your ignorance on E30's is stunning.

not only on e30's.

Hope you don't get in trouble GS.ie for saying what everyone else is thinking.

Well said !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,125 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

S.I.R. you are a class "A" type clown.

Play the ball, not the man, GS.ie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

retard-owls.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

unkel wrote: »
    Play the ball, not the man, GS.ie.

The same applies to Gil_Dub

Now ...all calm down again and talk about E numbers :D

Ferris wrote: »
    not only on e30's.

Hope you don't get in trouble GS.ie for saying what everyone else is thinking.

Get into trouble ???? Will the moderators ban me for ....<SNIP>

MODEDIT
    YES, they will ...especially since they (unkel) have already issued a warning.

so ..don't do it again or you will get banned

Ah they were both funny posts though ! Brightened up my morning it
    did !!

Yeah you'll generally get binned for personal abuse, its on the forum charter. Doesn't even matter if you're right.

Ah , its great to see the G.I is high as ever.

zed_head wrote: »
    Ah they were both funny posts though ! Brightened up my morning it
    did !!

:D:D:D My thoughts as well Zed. Only came over here for a giggle. If you cant slag someone then I vote to ban me. Can we have a vote / poll on this or should the mods just ban me ?

Discuss................ Or is it like China here and is discussion banned as well :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 DaveM-sport

Right....

A 325 is in a world of it's own compared to a 325.
    The Tourings were similar suspension wise since all tourings had rear discs.

A 325 touring also had Aluminium control arms as standard like the E30 M3.
    These cam to around a 5kg weight difference at the front end and whatever it could account for in terms of unsprung weight (Forgive me for not working it out as it's only to prove a point to a Numpty that hasn't got a clue)

Other differences in the m20b25 as opposed to the b20 (Is there a 1.2L b12 we don't know about too???) were they had an oil cooler.

When you posted a link to Wikipedia about the E30 and E36, would you have not found somewhere that it shows the difference in performance of a 320 as opposed to a 325:confused:
    A fecking 318i would give a 320 a fair run for its money in everyday driving (The weight and balance advantage helps too:p)
    A 318iS would make bits of a 320 if it had nothing but a £60 chip in it and you come on here and say a 320 is every bit as fast as a 325:eek:

Tourings have occasionally been used as drift cars since they have a better balance compared to the saloons very light tail which can some times be more difficult to hold but there are far more Saloons that have been death on cross-roads over the years.

The Bushings are a common thing that fails after around 100000miles but they don't need to be driven in tight turns to notice.
    Without checking the condition of them visually you'll notice a slight wandering under breaking if the control arm bushes are getting tired and on a long corner with a few bumps on it it, you'll notice the back moving a slight bit as if it had rear wheel steering if the rear subframe bushes are gone.

So, I suggest you to go off and search for your 91 E36 M3 and if you can't find it, I suppose a 320 will be fine, Shur if it's as fast as a 325, it can't be too far behind an M3 anyway:rolleyes:

The lord has spoken. Well done dave. I think its time to ban me & close the thread. :D:D:D

:D:D:D My thoughts as well Zed. Only came over here for a giggle. If you cant slag someone then I vote to ban me. Can we have a vote / poll on this or should the mods just ban me ?

Discuss................ Or is it like China here and is discussion banned as well :p.
    The lord has spoken. Well done dave. I think its time to ban me & close the thread. :D:D:D
    Well ..you don't seem to get a friendly message, nor a less subtle hint ...you just have to keep on digging, don't you?

Regardless how wrong (factually) some posters contribution may be, it is against boards rules to revert to personal insults as an answer.

So yes, I'm going to ban you ...for a week. Pm me when the the week is over so that the ban can be lifted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Hifive

Mac 3 wrote: »
    S.I.R. , I think you'll find that E30 tourings were produced in 1993 and some still sold in 1994.

( E36 TU terratory ). What is this.

I'm intrigued.

S.I.R. will know that, as he was also produced in 1993;)
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055158666

320i-1.jpg

aha

all becomes clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 DaveM-sport

Jaysus, the amount of grammer mistakes in my last post:o
    Anyways...

Sounds like he's only 15 alright....
    Some little Gran turismo mechanic I suppose:rolleyes:
    Pity he isn't on the 4 pot 6 pot debating team....
    Imagine this fella with a 318iS determined to get the point across that a 318iS is as fast as a 325i Sport...
    He'd be mad about the iS being the baby M3 too:D

Thank God, the OP has joined E30owners, Imagine he took this clowns advice and went out and got a 320, Then has a go in a 325 Touring with all the Sport options like the M-tec suspension, 40+ bhp and low down grunt from the 325 (Another bad thing about 320s is they have no power down low unless you rag them) and then the 325 doing the same if not better fuel economy (especially on a long drive since they have a 3.91 as opposed to 4.1 final drive)

Thing is Mr. S.I.R, you've probably never even driven a 320 or 325 properly anyway if your only 15...
    Any car can feel quick in a field you see;)

So condecending, brilliant!

The only e30 320 to have is the 320is from italy/portugal of course. I've seen one driving around Santry.

Bet you S.I.R will be really confused by this new info tho.

Has everybody had their dig at SIR now?

Anybody else want to show off how clever they are and how much they know about old beemers?

Gentlemen ...it's not just one poster who made a show of themselves in this thread, sad really, that all of you felt the need to join in and confirm every prejudice about BMW drivers that was ever held.

and on that note ...

.... thread closed