Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'The Green Marine' - a heads up lads...

• 23-05-2008 7:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

Just finished this book and thought I'd give you guys a heads up on a little gem of a book.

Hugely enjoyable, very easy to read.

Its about Graham Dale, a Dubliner (northsider too :p) who joined the USMC after the 9/11 attacks on the WTC.

Brilliant book, buy it today!

http://www.dublinpeople.com/content/view/501/56/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I heard him on the radio a while ago, very interesting story alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I read about it in the Sunday World 2 weeks ago.Definitely picking it up after the leaving cert!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Sounds good. I'll try pick it up now for when exams are over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I am about halfway through it and I have to say it is brilliant so far. And I havent even gotten to the Action bit yet!!!!

Interestingly though read the Back of it and it says he went to an Army recruitment center and joined the Marines.

Obviously a mistake but still I found it to be quite funny.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

Interestingly though read the Back of it and it says he went to an Army recruitment center and joined the Marines.

Obviously a mistake but still I found it to be quite funny.

Perhaps it referred to the Armed Forces recruitment center in Times Square, NY?

No its Texas. But what it says is

"He drove to the nearest ARMY recruiting center and enlisted in the US Marines"

I know it is nothing of consequence but I thought I should point it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

No its Texas. But what it says is

"He drove to the nearest ARMY recruiting center and enlisted in the US Marines"

I know it is nothing of consequence but I thought I should point it out.

What is wrong with that quote? There is recruitment centres all over the US for the Armed Forces. They openly recruit. I walked into one in the middle of nowhere in Wisconsin. Nothing Strange about it at all.

Great Book just started to read myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

I dont think you can just 'inlist' into the marines.

I heard about this anyway, sounds really interesting, will buy it after the exams defo.

Do you mean you dont think that you can go and say "I would like to join the USMC"?

If so then you are wrong.
    To join the Marines you go to a Marine recruiter,
    For US Army you go to an Army recruiter,
    For Navy = Navy Recruiter,
    USAF = Airforce Recruiter
    Coast Guards = Coastie Recruiters.

I dont think I left anything out.

Let's not get all technical here,it's a mistake on the back of a book..I wouldn't read into it too deeply..pardun the pun!

Yeah your right

A
    N
    Y
    Wayzzz

I just finished it a few minutes ago and I have to say it is one of the best books I have read this year.

It beats Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!!!!

Next I have Hidden Soldier so we will see how that is!!!!

And I just thought I woud Pimp my Wares while I am here.

If anyone would like to Support a Military Book subforum here then please show your support in this thread.

Thanks,

Great book 5 stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Ronan Raver77

Seems like this is a good book to get.I will ad it to the long list of books i need to get.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

I just finished it a few minutes ago and I have to say it is one of the best books I have read this year.

Picked Green Marine up today. Will start it tomorrow. Have already read Hidden Soldier so will be interesting to compare the two. Have also read My War by Colby Buzzel last year.

Also picked up Sniper One by Dan Mills. About a UK battle group under fire. So thats after Green Marine.

My next read should be by an insurgent to see the conflict from as many sides as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Dirty Dave

Mairt wrote: »
    Just finished this book and thought I'd give you guys a heads up on a little gem of a book.

Hugely enjoyable, very easy to read.

Its about Graham Dale, a Dubliner (northsider too :p) who joined the USMC after the 9/11 attacks on the WTC.

Brilliant book, buy it today!

http://www.dublinpeople.com/content/view/501/56/

Was looking at it in the shop, thinking it was just another typical Irish guy joins foreign military, comes home, writes book type of thing, until I look at the pictures and thought to myself - Jesus that guy looks familiar!

Had a flick through the first few pages and it turns out I knew him in the FCA! He was in C Coy, 20 Bn a few years ago - late 90's ish

So I bought it, am looking forward to reading it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭cp251

Aha, Another one up for the old 20th Battalion. Say what you like about the FCA or the RDF but it has been a nursery for many a military career. The PDF of course, Air Corps, Foreign Legion, US Marines, The Parchute regiment, The Irish Guards etc etc.

The Irishman killed while serving in Iraq with the Irish Guards was from D Company of the 20th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/podcast/podcast_tubridy.xml

the man himself on tubbers a week or two ago

I don't like Ryan Tubridy. He is very condesending towards Graham here.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Its on my big 'to do' list.

Dub13 wrote: »
    Its on my big 'to do' list.

Trust me Move it to the Top. Very good book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Pure Cork

Excellent book, very easy to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭kreuzberger

Bramble wrote: »
    Picked Green Marine up today. Will start it tomorrow. Have already read Hidden Soldier so will be interesting to compare the two. Have also read My War by Colby Buzzel last year.

Also picked up Sniper One by Dan Mills. About a UK battle group under fire. So thats after Green Marine.

My next read should be by an insurgent to see the conflict from as many sides as possible.

Personally id much prefer to read about a military campaign from the point of view of someone who was resisting the occupation of their country than from the point of view of someone who was justifying their unnecessary participation in the occupation of someone elses country .

I read an article about his book in the bloody awful sunday world while waiting for a haircut in the barbers . He seemed to be of the opinion Irish people should be grateful to him or something . Personally my sympathies would be more with the occupied Iraqis than an Irish born mercenary over there shooting at them .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Pure Cork

Personally id much prefer to read about a military campaign from the point of view of someone who was resisting the occupation of their country than from the point of view of someone who was justifying their unnecessary participation in the occupation of someone elses country .

I read an article about his book in the bloody awful sunday world while waiting for a haircut in the barbers . He seemed to be of the opinion Irish people should be grateful to him or something . Personally my sympathies would be more with the occupied Iraqis than an Irish born mercenary over there shooting at them .

In the book, he isn't of the opinion that Irish people should be grateful or sympathetic in my opinion. I won't elaborate in case I spoil the book for someone :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

Yeah your right

First time poster here but Hidden Soldier is a great read.

Tommyboy71 wrote: »
    First time poster here but Hidden Soldier is a great read.

I totally agree here, I read it in one night because I just couldn't stop reading.

I think yer man Looks like Robert De Niro!!!!!

I think I have actually met him before (He is from Cork) and I recognise him but I just cant place him!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Actually in the book he speaks about his feelings re. the invasion and his feelings towards the insurrection both at home and in Iraq.

Your very wide of the mark, maybe you should read the book then make your feelings know here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭kreuzberger

if thats the case then Ill take your advice and read it . The sunday world piece promoted it as something like an Andy McNab /Terry Wogan hybrid and thats all i had to go on . With that in mind there was no way i was going to buy it .
    According to what you tell me ill get a look at it and report back .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

if thats the case then Ill take your advice and read it . The sunday world piece promoted it as something like an Andy McNab /Terry Wogan hybrid and thats all i had to go on . With that in mind there was no way i was going to buy it .
    According to what you tell me ill get a look at it and report back .

Honestly, its a really good, honest and down to earth story.

In fact I'd be worried that unless the reader has served oversea's in a military unit he/she would find it particularly boring as it doesn't glorify anything and infact only details (I think) two contacts in the whole book.

Otherwise its just patrol after patrol, bad equipment gripes, bad officers and their lunacy decisions. He could be writing about an Irish army oversea's tour - boring and full of stupid officers.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Just started it this morning, but it almost seems like a blog he's written. I've just finished another book on Navy Seals (the name escapes me atm) but that was full of non stop fighting... this is a little more relaxed it seems.

With some of the wording its pretty obvious you can take the boy out of Ireland but not take Ireland out of the boy... "ah Bollox I thought" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Chuck U Farley

cp251 wrote: »
    Aha, Another one up for the old 20th Battalion. Say what you like about the FCA or the RDF but it has been a nursery for many a military career. The PDF of course, Air Corps, Foreign Legion, US Marines, The Parchute regiment, The Irish Guards etc etc.

[FONT=&quot]Let’s not forget the US NAVY. [/FONT]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭yaeger

What a small world, just saw this write up on him in one of the sunday paper mags today, Turns out i remember him from 20th battalion also, I was A company, could have swore he was too but i guess he might have been C coy, just cant remember. Done glenn of imaal with him and he pipped me to the covetted pen/bullet price for best soldier on summer camp so real amazing to see how he is doing.
    Will deffiantely go buy it now !

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

It seems like he was very bored over there. apart from
    Where the other Humvee took a suicide bomber car
    He seemed bored ****less.

I think he got lucky from the other books i've read and from what he says happened in Fallujah it seems he got a relatively easy assignment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

He was definitely in C coy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭KINGPIN

brilliant book,

easy to read,

not too long,

brilliant for someone who does`nt normally read books !

Excellent book,just finished it!OK maybe it wasn't action packed,but that's what I loved about it.It showed serving in the military overseas for what it really is!I've heard so many times how the biggest enemy overseas is boredom,this book backs that up..but still manages to be a great read,especially showing the effects serving can have on a soldier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 barred.ie

Hey Lads, I was just wondering what people thought of my Book (Green Marine) and I found this via Google, was glad to read the thread. So thanks a million for the indirect feedback, Pretty honest and frank me thinks. I never claimed to be Yeats etc.. But am glad that you got the point of the story. Yeah, I was in 'C' Coy, 2oth Inf Bat an FCA. Really great experience and one i'd recommend to any of my friends and family.

Cheers

Daler
    PFC Marine
    (Private F*cking civilain)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Excellent book, enjoyed reading it :)
    Very easy to read and interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Ronan Raver77

You just reminded me to purchase the book:) will let you know then.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

You just reminded me to purchase the book:) will let you know then.

Same here,I have a big 'to read list' but I must get this before I forget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 echo hotel

Don't normally read books but was headin to new york on my honeymoon and picked it up to read on the plane.
    I finished it in two days couldn't put it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

sound he didn't have clue what he was doing there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭kieranfitz

Its next on the list after the forgotten solder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

echo hotel wrote: »
    Don't normally read books but was headin to new york on my honeymoon and picked it up to read on the plane.
    I finished it in two days couldn't put it down.

I actually read this after he *points up* had finished it with it, and I have to be honest, I thought it was very poorly written and quite boring.

Ok, I take the point that the boredom of being overseas was central to the storyline, but I still think the book was dragged out and could have been at least 5 or 6 chapters shorter.

I just think that Dale could have portrayed the montony of his time in Iraq without it being monotonous for the reader too...