Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

13 Year Old Twin Phenoms!

• 22-05-2008 8:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭

The 13 year old Maguire twins competed against each other in the final of the Irish Ladies Championship in Westport yesterday. A record was set for the youngest winner of an Irish Championship.

www.ilgu.ie

Incredible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Par72 wrote: »
    The 13 year old Maguire twins competed against each other in the final of the Irish Ladies Championship in Westport yesterday. A record was set for the youngest winner of an Irish Championship.

www.ilgu.ie

Incredible!

I've seen these girls in action. My club pro (Shane O'Grady) is their trainer. Their dedication is incredible. Every Friday evening they come up to The Blackbush and practice every aspect of their game. It's a pleasure to watch their swing and the ease with which they can play the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Woodgate

Amazing achievement ok.

It would be great to see an Irish Lady player make it into the big time in the years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Woodgate wrote: »
    Amazing achievement ok.

It would be great to see an Irish Lady player make it into the big time in the years to come.

They were 1st and 3rd in the world under 12 championship at Pinehurst last year so you would think both of them have to have a great chance of making it to the very top as pros.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

The smart money on these is to be selected for the Espirito Santo Trophy Team (World Cup for Women Amateurs) to be played in Adelaide in October.

They will break all sorts of records there - youngest, twins etc.

Have you noticed though that whenever they are photographed they always appear in matching apparel - wonder if this is supplied by a sponsor.....now that could be dodgy under amateur status rules!

S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

slumped wrote: »
    The smart money on these is to be selected for the Espirito Santo Trophy Team (World Cup for Women Amateurs) to be played in Adelaide in October.

They will break all sorts of records there - youngest, twins etc.

Have you noticed though that whenever they are photographed they always appear in matching apparel - wonder if this is supplied by a sponsor.....now that could be dodgy under amateur status rules!

S

Having seen them in a couple of tournaments they always seem to dress the same. Matching Ping apparel and equipment!

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

... like probably every pre-teen twins I've ever seen (dressed alike, I mean). Great achievement, loads more to come I'm sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Both playing off 0.5 (1)... phenomenal stuff for ones so young. Good luck to them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

Make me sick. With envy.

Fair play and good luck to them. Hope their great rise continues.

Hobart wrote: »
    My club pro (Shane O'Grady) is their trainer.
    Is he they guy who was assistant/apprentice in Dun Laoghaire GC about 20 years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Sandwich wrote: »
    Is he they guy who was assistant/apprentice in Dun Laoghaire GC about 20 years ago?

Don't know for sure tbh (although I could ask him this afternoon). Here is his profile and career highlights => http://www.blackbushgolfclub.ie/proshop/shaneogrady.htm

Yeh, that looks like him. Used to play with him a bit there in the evenings.

The old Dun Laoghaire was very short and he use to really humiliate it - par 5s were easy 2 two shotters for him, and he could drive 4 or 5 of the par 4s. Fine rythmic swing.

I see Lisa Maguire has won the Irish Ladies Close Championship this year, her sister Leona won it last year.
    Lisa was 6-under for the front 9 today and beat Mary Dowling from New Ross in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

small minded imo

there is no problem in a supplier giving them acess to whatever equipment and technology available,surely you would not want their family to suffer for the good of their game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Saw them play an exhibition fourball match with two local young lads. Tbh while their game was incredible their attitude and social skills were rather lacking. Not a word was spoken by either of them and I dont think they cracked a smile once.

Going to become great golfers, but they have a swing and a personality like Iron Byron Im afraid.

GreeBo wrote: »
    Saw them play an exhibition fourball match with two local young lads. Tbh while their game was incredible their attitude and social skills were rather lacking. Not a word was spoken by either of them and I dont think they cracked a smile once..

Yeah that does seem to be the case from what I have seen. I suppose they aren't too concerned about winning people over with their personalities, only concerned about winning tournaments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Saw them play an exhibition fourball match with two local young lads. Tbh while their game was incredible their attitude and social skills were rather lacking. Not a word was spoken by either of them and I dont think they cracked a smile once.

Going to become great golfers, but they have a swing and a personality like Iron Byron Im afraid.

sounds like 2 more tiger's then !!

soundsham wrote: »
    sounds like 2 more tiger's then !!

Well he cracks a smile outside of a round and also when things go well like a good shot etc. These two didnt, not at all. Dead faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭dnjoyce

they're 14 years old lads, first year maybe second year in school - how socially integrated were any of us at this stage? A little perspective is called for I think.

dnjoyce wrote: »
    they're 14 years old lads, first year maybe second year in school - how socially integrated were any of us at this stage? A little perspective is called for I think.

Im not saying they should be giving long, eloquent, flowing speeches during interviews, just that they crack a smile or talk to each other or anyone during/after a round. Like I did when I played golf at 14 and like the two 14 year old lads they played with that day did. I would consider it normal, playing a round with your sister to say "good shot" or have a laugh about something. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

Was there many people watching this match? I'm sure they didnt go the whole match without saying anything.

being a bit harsh on a couple of young kids here if you ask me. When i was 14 i used to have a good natter with whoever i was playing with, but stick me in the situation they were in and i'd likely have been the same. You can't expect them to act normally when they're told their playing an exhibition match with people (i'm assuming) turning up to watch them play.

Not sure why anyone felt the need to stick them out in an exhibition match anyway...

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    being a bit harsh on a couple of young kids here if you ask me. When i was 14 i used to have a good natter with whoever i was playing with, but stick me in the situation they were in and i'd likely have been the same. You can't expect them to act normally when they're told their playing an exhibition match with people (i'm assuming) turning up to watch them play.
    It was a *very* casual 9 hole fourball "match" with two teenagers in the club, hardly a pressure situation compared to what these to are used to. I would say thats very different than you or I playing in front of a crowd. These ladies are playing high profile events.
    Graeme1982 wrote: »
    Not sure why anyone felt the need to stick them out in an exhibition match anyway...
    Thats a different question, to raise their profile I'd guess, personally I thought it was a bit much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

I played behind them in Portmarnock not so long ago and they were very impressive indeed. I think Lisa won a prize that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 PhilMickelson

Alexis Thompsons better:p

Really want to see 'em play. Any chance of them being in the Solheim when it comes to Ireland?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,954 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Most young prodigious athletes are robots.
    Its how they get so good.
    The dedication and pressure to make it in modern day sport is immense often at the expense of a proper childhood.

I dont think their swings are anywhere near as good as Iron Byron,they have alot of head movement.
    Out of interest how far do they hit the ball ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Calling them phenoms makes them sound a bit like aliens anyway. Kinda like a race from star trek. ....14 year old twin phenoms beat veteran klingons in the inter galactic 4-ball finals.. :pac::pac:

..I'll get me anorak :o

I dont think their swings are anywhere near as good as Iron Byron,they have alot of head movement.
    Out of interest how far do they hit the ball ?

They don't hit the ball especially far, maybe 240yds off the tee. Their consistency is what is especially impressive. They also have savage short games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭Patrick_K

At the risk of being an ageist sexist I would say that hitting the ball 240 off the tee for a 13 year old girl is highly impressive, particularly if they can do it with consistency as you say - I wish I could do it !

If only they'd smile more.

Patrick_K wrote: »
    At the risk of being an ageist sexist I would say that hitting the ball 240 off the tee for a 13 year old girl is highly impressive, particularly if they can do it with consistency as you say - I wish I could do it !

If only they'd smile more.

Well yeah, it is pretty impressive but it's not exceptionally long like. They might hit it further as they get older. They're 14 now btw.

They are certainly lacking in the smiling department.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

I saw the 2 of them giggling away on a Setanta inteview a while back, acted like regular kids.

Maybe they just put their game faces on.

LEONALISAMAGUIREIRISHCUP08-794192.jpg

Not only are they smiling, but they're showing their fecking teeth as well! Any wider and they'd be sporting a couple of cheesers.

The runners up don't look too pleased though.. :D

lursa-betor.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭destroyer

Obivously you dont know them very well. Complete rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,954 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Patrick_K wrote: »
    Its highly unbelievable to be honest seeing as the average driving distance on the LPGA is 235 yards.
    They must have superb short games.
    Just goes to show how important it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Amazing really, not only how good they seem to be but the criticism they are getting off a couple of nobodies on here, i seen the interview with them on Setanta and they seemed like very normal kids, fair play to them, they obviously work very very hard at the game and i wish them the best of luck in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Oliverdog

Lighten up lads - they'll have had concentration coached into them, hence the straight faces on the course. They look and sound like two fine youngsters to me. Good luck to them.

destroyer wrote: »
    Obivously you dont know them very well. Complete rubbish.

Erm why exactly do I need to know someone to watch them for a couple of hours and notice they are are not smiling or talking?
    Are you their mommy?
    :cool:

Its highly unbelievable to be honest seeing as the average driving distance on the LPGA is 235 yards.
    They must have superb short games.
    Just goes to show how important it is.

I'm sure their average drive is not 240 yds but they do hit it 240 a lot of the time. I'm sure their average drive would be a lot shorter of course.

I see leona is through to the second round of the british womens amatuer. Lisa out in qualifying.

Erm why exactly do I need to know someone to watch them for a couple of hours and notice they are are not smiling or talking?
    Are you their mommy?
    :cool:

Its not what you noticed over a couple of hours, its what you deduced from that, that is rubbish. They are both very normal well adjusted kids,
    very personable actually.(and no, I'm not their Mommy, not related at all but have met them a few times)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 PhilMickelson

I hear they are playing in Douglas Golf Club Saturday and Sunday week.(20th and 21st)

Really easy course so will be cool to see what they can do!

She made it into the 1/4s but is 4 down with 6 to go at the minute...

destroyer wrote: »
    Its not what you noticed over a couple of hours, its what you deduced from that, that is rubbish. They are both very normal well adjusted kids,
    very personable actually.(and no, I'm not their Mommy, not related at all but have met them a few times)

Whatever.:rolleyes:

I saw them play a friendly match and they were silent and stonefaced the entire time. If you want to run their fan club and ignore all negative comments then go right ahead, Im making a comment based on personal experience, just as you are I might point out.

I also am not the only person who has remarked this about them, both on boards and during the friendly.

Whatever.:rolleyes:

I saw them play a friendly match and they were silent and stonefaced the entire time. If you want to run their fan club and ignore all negative comments then go right ahead, Im making a comment based on personal experience, just as you are I might point out.

I also am not the only person who has remarked this about them, both on boards and during the friendly.

Not running a fan club, dont give a fiddlers really. How these girls are percieved by the public makes no difference to me whatsoever.
    Its not about the Maguire girls, its about presumption and arrogance.

You watched two girls play golf for 2 hours on one day and feel qualified
    to comment on their character and personality on a public forum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,650 ✭✭✭kingshankly

I see lisa won the 3 Irish womens open yesterday on the 7th play off hole after she and englands hannah Burke finished on 5 under after 54 holes

Heard her on the Radio1 yesterday after the win. She came across really well - very articulate and still obviously a chuffed teenager at the same time. Both having great years, she mentioned Leona won and event in Scotland recently too. They're both also playing in the AIB Ladies Irish Open starting this week at Portmarnock Links.

Lisa shot an incredible 7 under par in the first round of the championship. Amazing stuff for a 14 yr old.