Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Badly done makeup

• 21-05-2008 10:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

I have a habit of paying attention to the appearance of people, being a guy, it's woman in particular I notice most. One of the things I have noticed is that there are three types of women when it come to makeup, those that IMO get it right, those that put way too much on, and those who do it badly.

By "badly" I mean I can see patches of white on their face, i.e. they missed a bit, and clumps around their eyebrows, so not very good.

To the ladies - what do you think about this? Would you not be better off without makeup then to make a mess of it?

To the lads - what do ye think about women and badly done makeup? Or is it just me that notices?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 monters

im a girl and i definetly think it is disgusting if a girl wears a too much make up and b too much make up put on badly!!! there is NO excuse for this!
    i also hate fake tan put on badly - especially when you see some girls hands and they look like theyv been dipped in sh it!
    wouldnt it be nicer to be pale than patchy?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Lil' Smiler

I think a problem with some girls and make up and the "caked on" effect is that they try too hard going for the "flawless look" so they kep layering the foundation/concealer on.. looking at their idols or whatever in magazines on the covers and don't realise that they don't actually look that amazing that they've been touched up and airbrushed!

and also, I take time applying my make up but i do have the odd day where i have some streaks and I think that comes from the light used. I put it on in my bedroom in the morning... the sun is at the back of the house so when I walk into the bathroom and look in the mirror i see it in the more natural light/sunshine as opposed to the darker lighting in my room.

some people are just stupid tho- i especialy hate when girls that have fair hair on their face pile on orange foundation - but it makes the hair more visible and u can see it billowing in the wind. surely they can see it themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

lol, I can recall a few times desperately trying to stop myself laughing when talking to girls with far too much makeup on/terribly done makeup.

One girl in particular whom I recall had so much on there were clumps of foundation in her eyelashes. lol

monters wrote: »
    some people are just stupid tho- i especialy hate when girls that have fair hair on their face pile on orange foundation - but it makes the hair more visible and u can see it billowing in the wind. surely they can see it themselves?

Yeah that's something I don't get. I was having a peek at these girls bebo pages tha I used to babysit when they were 12 and had no iea of make up or anything. They were the most innocent kids, had to be in bed by 9 etc!!

They now go to "Wez", drink, smoke etc and they have red hair but dye it that kinda blonde that's just kinda yellow and dirty and wear the orangey make up and the thick black eyeliner... kinda the Christina Aguilera during her "Xtina" phase... not a hot look!!

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    One girl in particular whom I recall had so much on there were clumps of foundation in her eyelashes. lol

ahhh............ YUCK!!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

The caked effect ain't good. Make-up in general on a girl should be avoided where possible. Fair enough (flaps hand) lipstick and (flaps hand) eye shadow/liner...stuff occasionally, but not a film of chemicals over the skin of the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

Or when a girl has fake tan on, up to their neck, and a pale pale pale pale face.

Ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

So why do we notice and these girls don't? Would you ever point it out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

I think the tide marks on the side of a girl's face are pretty difficult to see for the girl herself unless she's looking for them. Not condoning it mind :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Or someone who has done lovely make up but hasnt put on mascara and has foundation covered eyelashes.. EEEWWWWW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

Surley wrote: »
    So why do we notice and these girls don't? Would you ever point it out?

If my make up was all over the place - I would love for someone to point it out!

I've seen pics where my makeup looked awful.
    If I put too much on I look like a ghost. Why did I do it,I don't wear it often, so it takes me longer to figure it out and I was in a rush.
    Although one time I managed to make myself look like a X-woman. That was cool actually.

Anyway I would feel much worse if I was one of thse types who couldn't go out the door without it.

Moonbaby wrote: »
    I've seen pics where my makeup looked awful.
    If I put too much on I look like a ghost. Why did I do it,I don't wear it often, so it takes me longer to figure it out and I was in a rush.
    Although one time I managed to make myself look like a X-woman. That was cool actually.

Anyway I would feel much worse if I was one of thse types who couldn't go out the door without it.[/QUOTE]

Thats me :(

I dont know why I cant leave the house without makeup on

My sister is like that it drives me fricken banana's!
    I have friend and nobody has ever seen her real skin.
    She gets chronic eye infections from the gunk and still sleeps with full make up.

I take it off when Im at home! And if im staying in for the day then I dont wear it (if noone calls over!)

After work as soon as I get it i take my make up off...so dont wear it allll the time.

No excuse tho. I might challenge myself to one day of non make up

/sweats at the thought of it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

She gets chronic eye infections from the gunk and still sleeps with full make up.

I have a friend like that. When I say she cakes on the make-up, I really mean. She looks like she's going on a night out at 9 in the morning - extra long false lashes, orange foundations...the lot. One day, myself and another friend dropped into her house unexpected and she didn't have her make-up on and she didn't even look like the same person. We've known her for years but we barely even recognized her. I doubt I would have even known who she was if I'd seen her walking down the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

She sleeps with full make up on??? Why??? Madness!

Yeah that is crazy!!!

There is a girl who was in my year and she always always wore tan, this is when it wasn't as popular or so to speak. She had her make up done fully (full orange!!) everyday, would go out during class to the bathroom and apply more nd the same at lunch times. She wore thick heavy eyeliner and eyeshadow.

I remember someone saying to her that they'd love to see her without it but she said she never takes it off, only in the mornings to redo it. That her boyfriend (who was father of her child..) had never seen her without it on

..and yet she had immaculate skin!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭gollyitsolly

I have to say an awful lot of Irish girls dont know how to apply or wear make up. It amazes me that they spend a fortune on false nails and designer clothes and then have a clowns face to top it off. Dont they know the "less is more" rule. Make up should be light and natural looking. Some girls look really scary with badly done make up. And orange /green tans are disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Yeah that is crazy!!!

There is a girl who was in my year and she always always wore tan, this is when it wasn't as popular or so to speak. She had her make up done fully (full orange!!) everyday, would go out during class to the bathroom and apply more nd the same at lunch times. She wore thick heavy eyeliner and eyeshadow.

I remember someone saying to her that they'd love to see her without it but she said she never takes it off, only in the mornings to redo it. That her boyfriend (who was father of her child..) had never seen her without it on

..and yet she had immaculate skin!!!

That sounds exactly like the girl I was talking about. Baby and father bit too!!

LadyE wrote: »
    If my make up was all over the place - I would love for someone to point it out!

Would you not be mortified if someone said that to you? That's why I'd never say anything, think it would embarrass the hell out of a girl

Malteaser! wrote: »
    That sounds exactly like the girl I was talking about. Baby and father bit too!!

weird and I read over your post again about the false eyelashes too!! There's more than 1 of these people?? Like she must've gotten up extra early to re-do it (and her hair) for going to school... crazy!! Again it seemed to be that skanky "Xtina" look!

Would you not be mortified if someone said that to you? That's why I'd never say anything, think it would embarrass the hell out of a girl

I'd like if someone told me nicely that I'm a bit orange today or my eyeliner is smudged etc... my mum does it and i've asked my bf to tell me. I'd rather someone say it to me than them to talk about me behind my back about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I had a near impossible time trying to explain to a girl that i followed home one night (don't judge me!) that she looked twice as good the next morning with no make-up on than with the make-up on she'd had the night before.

And i'm getting to make a habit out of it, i genuinely find girls without makeup more attractive. but no girl ever believes me!!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭gollyitsolly

RedXIV wrote: »
    I had a near impossible time trying to explain to a girl that i followed home one night (don't judge me!) that she looked twice as good the next morning with no make-up on than with the make-up on she'd had the night before.

And i'm getting to make a habit out of it, i genuinely find girls without makeup more attractive. but no girl ever believes me!!?
    Good for you. Freshly washed skin smells so much nicer than chemicaly tanned and muck. Go natural girls:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

To the lads - what do ye think about women and badly done makeup? Or is it just me that notices?

Personally i love a girl who is confident enough to wear no make up. Obviously nights out that is unlikely, but some of my friends wear no make up...ever....and are beautiful.

I don't understand why a good looking lass would hide up under a bad paint job that makes her look like every other lass in the room.

Obviously when make up is done well, truly well, it just highlights her own features and makes her look stunning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

I was out in Howth last night for the match. About 10 mins from the end these two came in and sat over at the side drinking cocktails.. They were caked in makeup, typical big messy blonde hair orange face and two big black eyes as if she'd been punched! I just wonder did she not look in the mirror before she left?? :confused:

We've had this discussion in make up threads before. I would LOVE to go without make up but I've had acne problems for years. It's pretty much under control now and I get the odd flair up but I have scars, they may be small but I know where they are and am uneasy about them.

My boyfriend is great, he insists he loves looking at me in the morning and wouldn't care if he saw me go to sleep at night with various creams smeared all over my face. But to me, what he sees as pretty and cute, is just these red blotches and scars that remind me of some very unhappy and painful times suffering with acne.

Make up makes me feel better, I find it gives me confidence when I know I've done a good job and I look well but I just have to cover my skin up! I've been told I'm good looking (well my boyf things i'm "amazing") and I know I'm not the worst looking but certainly not the best looking and I could maybe get by without make up... but just with the scarring it's a no go, it covers scarring up great and not like the Bryan Adams kinda scarring or the putting foundation on over a huge lumpy, scabby spot to cover it up!

But there really is no excuse for terribly done make up! And i do admire the women who go without it, for me it's just not really an option because I wouldn't be able to face people...sounds dramatic and stuff but I'm sure there's other ladies here who feel the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Instant turnoff is 'The Line', that line along the jaw bone where the orange face meets the white neck. puke.

+60

Hot at all...as long as they were polite about it...not “OMG you look like ****” but “E, you’re looking a bit orange” or whatever.

I might be embarrassed about it for a millisecond but I would have the opportunity to fix it then..rather than go on with the day looking like pleb. Id prob laugh it off or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Weidii

The most makeup I wear is to dye my eyelashes (I have fair hair) and that only has to be done once every 3 months or so.

I think that girls should take a step back and look at what they're doing to themselves; spending a lot of cash on a product that's probably been tested on animals just so they can look "better" when they go outside.

I don't have much of a problem with eyeliner/other eye stuff, but smearing crap over their whole faces every day is just wrong. It's kind of like smoking in a way, you're paying for something unneccessary but addictive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

I hate tide marks of orange make up around a girls neck, or mascara so clumpy all her lashes are stuck together. Chipped nail polish on bitten nails!! And makeup sunk into greasy pores Ahhhhh!!!!

Weidii wrote: »
    The most makeup I wear is to dye my eyelashes (I have fair hair) and that only has to be done once every 3 months or so.

I think that girls should take a step back and look at what they're doing to themselves; spending a lot of cash on a product that's probably been tested on animals just so they can look "better" when they go outside.

I don't have much of a problem with eyeliner/other eye stuff, but smearing crap over their whole faces every day is just wrong. It's kind of like smoking in a way, you're paying for something unneccessary but addictive.

In your opinion its wrong.

I use foundation cecause I want to, and because I feel more confident about myself. I also have a few acne scars and blotchy areas on my face – and feel crap when they are all showing.

To compare wearing make up to smoking is fooking the STUPIDEST thing Ive ever heard in my life.

Why exactly do you dye your eyelashes? Confidence boost? Feel better about yourself?

Think its time you got off your high horse, if you don’t want to wear “crap” as your politely call it, then don’t. Don’t judge people that do.

BTW how do you know its all tested on animals? Linky???

Weidii wrote: »

Death by makeup is as common as lung cancer. Fact.;)

LadyE wrote: »
    In your opinion its wrong.

I use foundation cecause I want to, and because I feel more confident about myself. I also have a few acne scars and blotchy areas on my face – and feel crap when they are all showing.

yup!! i agree, as i said in my post, i would love if i could go around wearing no foundation and not have scars showing bu i can't. if i am having a bad skin day it affects my mood so much..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Solarball10

I agree it looks horrible when you see girls looking like they applied their make-up in the dark..I reckon I've had a frew near-misses, luckily the fella always lets me know before we leave the house!!
    I have a friend who wears make-up absolutely EVERYWHERE, if she was popping to the shop next door she'd have to put foundation on, she has really bad skin and I reckon it's cos her skin is never allowed to "breathe" properly...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Weird, when I think "make up" I very seldom think foundations, I usually wear eyeliner/colourful eyeshadows. The only foundation I wear (go without most days) is very light, liquid and about as pale as my skin. I really don't understand people going so much darker than their actual colour, it just makes no sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

The worst look is the 'plaster it onto your face and just have it end in a line on your neck' look. Blend, people, blend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I never used to wear makeup, but I started a new job 2 months ago, and I've been wearing makeup to work since. I only skipped it once, and all day people asked me if I was ok because I looked flushed. Not the biggest confidence boost!

I wear exactly 4 products to work. Moisturiser, one of those mineral foundation things that can be put on in less than 60 seconds, blusher and mascara. Occasionally if I've made a balls of my mascara I'll put on some light eyeshadow. Anything that will bring me over the 2 minute application limit is out. No more eyeliner or shadow unless I have time and it's for an occasion. As far as I know I have never made a huge mess, but I'm pretty careful about getting a natural looking foundation.(That's not as easy as it sounds, seems like the manufacturers think we're all oompa-loompas. Am I the only one who wonders where the people who naturally look the colour so many people wear on their faces are? Even Benefit's light tinted moisturiser is orange-y. Why?)

I can really understand why people might want to wear make-up for confidence in certain situations, but the whole 24/7 thing boggles me. My makeup is off the minute I get in the door and unless I'm getting seriously dressed up, it doesn't go on again until I'm going to work again.

I like my make up but I can't imagine leaving it on at night....the bedsheets alone would be destroyed! I can't believe how some girls can do that. I love the feeling of washing it all off at night. On the very rare occasion that I go to bed with it on if I'm drunk or whatever I feel manky....seriously though are their pillows not destroyed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Marz66

To the ladies - what do you think about this? Would you not be better off without makeup then to make a mess of it?

Not, as has been mentioned, if you have really bad skin. Even if makeup isn't very well applied, in some cases, I think its better than going out with a face full of blotches and spots, to but it bluntly. Its kinda crap to think you go to the effort of improving your appearance by covering acne with makeup and then some guy just thinks, God, look at the tidemarks! We're not all beauticians ya know!

Know you probably mean good looking girls wear too much makeup or apply it badly when they don't need it, thats fair enough but some of us do need it, even if its not perfect!!

I pretty much never wear makeup, maybe on a night out.
    It's hard for me to find a foundation that matches my skin anyway though - I automatically buy the lightest shade of any brand and it's usually still too orange:(

bluewolf wrote: »
    I pretty much never wear makeup, maybe on a night out.
    It's hard for me to find a foundation that matches my skin anyway though - I automatically buy the lightest shade of any brand and it's usually still too orange:(

See Nicola from Girls Aloud has brought out a new range of make up for pale skin? Saw the documentary on it, all the hassle she went to to finally get it made after she couldn't find make up that matched her natural skin tone, was interesting. Don't know if it's available here or not though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

All this stuff about confidence..... Why don't blokes need to wear makeup to feel confident? In fact... what's wrong with you women that you need to put paint on your face to feel....... confident??!!

Doesn't that just sound silly when you say it back to yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

All this stuff about confidence..... Why don't blokes need to wear makeup to feel confident? In fact... what's wrong with you women that you need to put paint on your face to feel....... confident??!!

Doesn't that just sound silly when you say it back to yourself?

I'm sure you don't need it, but if you could use a little something in moderation that would help you feel better about yourself, increase (possibily) your attraction for the opposite sex, and generally make you feel you've cared for yourself, wouldn't you use it?

I don't need makeup to feel 'confident', I need to feel good about myself to feel confident.

Marz66 wrote: »

Know you probably mean good looking girls wear too much makeup or apply it badly when they don't need it, thats fair enough but some of us do need it, even if its not perfect!!

I don't have the best skin in the world either. So even I have thought about using makeup, but have never bothered. You see I had extremely bad acne when I was in younger, 11-16. I even managed to get chicken pox right in the middle of it all, right after my brother had them!! I was left with some pretty bad scaring. I have even had some laser treatment. So I get the need to wear makeup to aide confidence. But is it really that hard to get it right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I didn't say me I said men.

Why do women have to use makeup as a crutch. I know hardly annnnnnnny women who like being seen without it as if everybody else in the world doesn't know what women look like without the clown face.

............I don't need makeup to feel 'confident', I need to feel good about myself to feel confident.

And that, friends, is what it's all about, and if a bit of slap helps, why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

I used to wear extreme eye make up, like flourescent pink or purple all the time,
    I just felt i needed something to make me noticeable (as i had very little confidence- for sevral reasons)

As i have gotten older i wear hardly any. Always fairly natural, lighest foundation you can get (as in a light mousse as opposed to pan stick) and now have more confidence as if i do get a compliment its coz i feel good and it shows through.

Think lots of it is insecurity - have friends who get up befire their spouses to put make up on so he wont ever see the real them...