Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TCD or UCD for engineering

• 20-05-2008 11:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

rite where should i go next year? not sure on what engineering type and both are have fairly general courses. so which college do i want to be in??

TCD or UCD 18 votes

TCD
    0%
    UCD
    100%
    cunnins4qzpreilly79tolosencmathewgnolanJonathanAlsatian_CousinMike FunnellyM450The MachineVWGolf1.8quagmire69uprooted shanePeleuscullend2raah!Epic Tissue 18 votes

Well, why don't you tell us what you think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 eh88

yeh i dono. there both equally as handy for me just wondering if one is any better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Are you doing your LC now? Or next year. If it's the latter then you have plenty of time to visit both schools, open days, read the prospecti and make an informed choice about which gives you better opportunity. If you're an L.C. student, I'd still recommend visiting both places. Look up the student life websites (sports clubs, societies etc.) and see which one you think you'll have more fun at.

From my experience thus far as a qualified engineer (Transportation, for the time being maybe :pac:) I haven't found any major differences between the graduates of any of the colleges. What will matter more at the end of your 4 years of college is how much experience you have. Even your degree result won't be of massive importance as long as it is a second class degree up (which I think around 80% of graduates get).

So really I think it depends what you want to go in to. If you're looking to get into Chemical then obviously UCD would be the place to go. But for courses which are offered in each college I don't think there's much of a difference.

As for me, I enjoyed Engineering in Trinity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Depends on the type of engineering you're interested in doing. Also as of next year trinity will be introducing a quota system into engineering, which will mean you're no longer guaranteed to be able to do the type of engineering you desire.

Boston wrote: »
    Depends on the type of engineering you're interested in doing. Also as of next year trinity will be introducing a quota system into engineering, which will mean you're no longer guaranteed to be able to do the type of engineering you desire.

They already had the line in the calendar that said you were not guaranteed to get in, I'm surprised they lasted this long!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

UCD
    We (1st year eng) signed a petition to stop them implimenting the quota system for us. It has now been pushed back a year apparantly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI

Quota system? That's a bit gay...

So which of the branches is going to suffer because of this? Which are the most popular?

Myth wrote: »
    They already had the line in the calendar that said you were not guaranteed to get in, I'm surprised they lasted this long!

Yes, but now they are going to implement an actual system based on grades.
    jmccrohan wrote: »
    We (1st year eng) signed a petition to stop them implimenting the quota system for us. It has now been pushed back a year apparantly.

Word I heard was that there was little to no opposition to it in first year and it was being pushed through.
    Quota system? That's a bit gay...

So which of the branches is going to suffer because of this? Which are the most popular?

Civil is the most popular and will benefit greatly from a quota system as all the knuckle dragger's used to end up in civil. Mech is usually the choice of the top students in the year (though not in my year) and electronics will get the left overs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭ballybay_eh

Theres always DIT too. My flatmate did engineering in Trinity for two years and didn't like it so went to do it in DIT. He's much happier there.

Then again I'm in Trinity and I think its a class spot. Not a sausage fest. Which is nice.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Not a sausage fest.

And thats the most important thing about getting an education

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 MrRobert87

kearnsr wrote: »
    And thats the most important thing about getting an education

As a sociable 20 year old male, it's extremely important to my education!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭bassman22

Odd place to ask which is better!?

Have a gander around both maybe on open days, and if the choice is between only those two (and you don't want to be a chem, which was mentioned above), I think it is perfectly valid to decide based on the experience you will get outside of lectures, or which is closer or whatever...

I'm all for UCD by the way, but I don't want an argument...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Peleus

UCD
    I've put down Engineering in Trinity as first choice. 450* points, better get it. Is this quota thing definately going ahead? and if so is there still a high chance that i'll still get Civil, if thats the one i'm best at?

oh and how many girls are there in Trinity Engineering? Just out of interest. Because i've heard only like one or two in the whole year, which sucks.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Peleus wrote: »
    Just out of interest. Because i've heard only like one or two in the whole year, which sucks.

Its more than that, but they are in a minority alright.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

UCD
    About 30-35 girls out of a class of 175. And even more in MEMS & MSIS.

I've put down Engineering in Trinity as first choice. 450* points, better get it. Is this quota thing definately going ahead? and if so is there still a high chance that i'll still get Civil, if thats the one i'm best at?

I don't know how intelligent the assignment will be. I envisage a situation where students fail all of the electronics courses and score high grades in the civil and mech and are forced to do elec. As always, if you kick up a stink you'll probably get what you want. This quota system will definitely be in place by the time you get to second year.
    oh and how many girls are there in Trinity Engineering? Just out of interest. Because i've heard only like one or two in the whole year, which sucks.

You've probably come from an all boys school. Relationships in your year are a bad idea. Apart from that there seems to be 30 or so girls in first year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Peleus

UCD
    You've probably come from an all boys school. Relationships in your year are a bad idea. Apart from that there seems to be 30 or so girls in first year.
    Ye i do come from an all boys school. And i'm not looking for a relationship lol, i just don't wan to be surrounded by guys for the next four years. six years is bad enough. 30 seems grand. all i need to now is get the points. thanks guys and see you next year, hopefully.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Relationships in your year are a bad idea. Apart from that there seems to be 30 or so girls in first year.

There is nothing better than scoring a random girl on a night out, sitting beside her the next day and not remembering who she was.
    Ye i do come from an all boys school. And i'm not looking for a relationship lol, i just don't wan to be surrounded by guys for the next four years. six years is bad enough. 30 seems grand. all i need to now is get the points. thanks guys and see you next year, hopefully.

Chances are the majority of the people you meet and hang around with will be lads.