Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Surprise at a Gig

• 20-05-2008 12:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭

Was at a gig today, Mark Knopfler in the RDS. Lighting was absolutely incredible. Nobody was checked for cameras on the door but there were three seperate announcements asking people not to record anything because it distracts and disrupts other people's enjoyments.

I was kicking myself though because the lighting rig was the most incredible I've ever seen at a show. If I'd had my camera, I probably would have snapped a few shots. When I came home, I checked his website. Low and behold, he has a thing about cine cams and equipment used to record moving images. But he's totally cool with 35mm and DSLRs! He even suggests that fans print off a copy of this press release to avid being sanctioned by event staff.

I suppose what I'm saying is that it doesn't hurt to do a little bit of research before a show. Different performers will have their own take on what is and whats not acceptable. Live and learn I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭YogiBear

TelePaul wrote: »
    Was at a gig today, Mark Knopfler in the RDS. Lighting was absolutely incredible. Nobody was checked for cameras on the door but there were three seperate announcements asking people not to record anything because it distracts and disrupts other people's enjoyments.

I was kicking myself though because the lighting rig was the most incredible I've ever seen at a show. If I'd had my camera, I probably would have snapped a few shots. When I came home, I checked his website. Low and behold, he has a thing about cine cams and equipment used to record moving images. But he's totally cool with 35mm and DSLRs! He even suggests that fans print off a copy of this press release to avid being sanctioned by event staff.

I suppose what I'm saying is that it doesn't hurt to do a little bit of research before a show. Different performers will have their own take on what is and whats not acceptable. Live and learn I guess.

Sounds good, pity you didn't have your camera. I like some of his music. :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

its the promotors call in the end tho is it not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

too many pricks at gigs with cameras these days wrecking the buzz. I cant see why some people take pictures all through a gig when they will all look the same anyway

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

FX Meister wrote: »
    too many pricks at gigs with cameras these days wrecking the buzz. I cant see why some people take pictures all through a gig when they will all look the same anyway

<pulls up seat and popcorn>

you goin down for that comment b1tch :D

it's true though. And whats worse is the idiots who use their cameras to take video footage, cutting off other peoples view. Dont a lot of promoters have a three shot rule?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Agreed.

its not true at all, and i'm assuming your not a photographer if thats what you think... and yes usually there is a 3 shot rule

Er. It's generally three songs, not 3 shots.

It's not other professionals that are annoying - It's the sea of camera phones being held 2 foot over the crowd that annoys me.

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Er. It's generally three songs, not 3 shots.

It's not other professionals that are annoying - It's the sea of camera phones being held 2 foot over the crowd that annoys me.

true but anyone with a half decent camera usual would have a pass IMO

its not true at all, and i'm assuming your not a photographer if thats what you think...
    you saying its not true just makes you sound arrogant, that just because you have a camera you can take as many pictures as you like and wreck peoples buzz. When i take pictures at a gig i usually take a few and then put it away. I often get aaa passes for gigs so can get good vantage points for shots but i know what it's like to have people wrecking the buzz at a gig and at the end of the day i'm there for the music.

Three songs sounds more like it faj.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

there's a massive deference between a camera and a "camera", camera being a DSLR job and not some point and shoot or crappy "camera" phone, I've not seen many people with DSLR's taking the piss...its always camera phone muppets

In fairness a camera phone photo is going to look like ****e no matter what you do to it,

loads of spas use dslr's these days cause they look cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Cabaal wrote: »
    there's a massive deference between a camera and a "camera", camera being a DSLR job and not some point and shoot or crappy "camera" phone, I've not seen many people with DSLR's taking the piss...its always camera phone muppets

In fairness a camera phone photo is going to look like ****e no matter what you do to it,

LoL, from that i would instantly be dismissed as i use a compact.

It's not the camera, it's the photo you take.

At any gig i go to i will take photo's in a way that does not annoy or get in anyone else field of view. I've seen people with dSLR putting out **** that other people i know would easily beat with a compact.

Equipment does not compensate for ability.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Dragan wrote: »
    Equipment does not compensate for ability.

I'd agree, however you look at most concerts and you'll see a sea of small P&s's and camera phones, thats what gets in people way more then anything

And i agree with you. But then again there is a large culture of "inconvenience everyone but myself" coming in to all area's of Ireland.

When i went to Dan Le Sac Vs Scroobius Pip a couple of weeks ago the couple beside me just left their bags on the ground and never moved them despite loads of people falling over them. The same guy had a camera consistantly up over his head.....and no offense to the guy but from what i saw his pics were ****.

It's a pain in the ass but not a lot can be done about it really.

Unless you knock them over and run away? :)

It's a pain in the ass but not a lot can be done about it really.

Unless you knock them over and run away? :)

Controlled Non-nuclear electromagnetic pulse ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

the couple beside me just left their bags on the ground and never moved them

Sounds like an invitation for other people to stand on them so to get an extra bit of height (although being 6'4" myself, I don't really have an excuse). This is one of my pet hates on the Luas, feckers leaving their bags on the floor when it is actually dangerous at rush hour.

hc

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Controlled Non-nuclear electromagnetic pulse ftw.

Not that is just evil....i like it!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Its stupid, the whole ban on SLRs is because they think you'll print your photos and sell them as posters

but whats to stop you from doing a Google Image search with Extra Large photos and doin the same????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭TirEoghain

Anyone know if it would be possible to get a DSLR into a Springsteen gig? I'd love to try and get some shots.

What would happen if they catct you with one anyway?

TirEoghain wrote: »
    Anyone know if it would be possible to get a DSLR into the Springsteen gig on Thursday? I'd love to try and get some shots.

What would happen if they catct you with one anyway?

they stick it where the sun dont shine :D

its all chance, tho the bigger the gig the easier it is to get away with it

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Put it down your pants and tell security you are excited about seeing The Boss. They'll understand.

A buddy of mine..probably the aforementioned guy at the Scroobious Pip gig, has never been refused entry anywhere with his camera and has even sold on some of the shots to the artists.

Boom

don't mention gigs promoted by you know who...it'll get snipped

its all chance, tho the bigger the gig the easier it is to get away with it

I'd have to say, you're way off the mark there - The bigger gigs will have more security, and will be more likely to be searching for recording equipment. Smaller ones have less security, and generally, they're not as bad on bringing camera gear in.

Anyways, if I was going to the gig, and didn't have a pass (I'd send an email or two first seeing if any of my contacts needed/wanted shots), I'd leave the camera at home and go have a pint and enjoy the gig - otherwise, I'd be too worried about the camera being taken off me, stolen, or damaged (Not that the Boss will be warrenting too much of a pit ;) ), nevermind if shots are in focus, blur free, etc.

Pretty much agree with Fajita's. Again.

Even when i fork out the cash for a very nice dSLR the only time i will bring it to gigs is when i know i have damn good access to what is happening, so it will be reserved for either nights where friends are performing or that have been organised/run by mates.

The reason i bring a compact to gigs with me is it fits in my pocket and i am taking photos purely for my own memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭iamnothim

funny story... i scrounged a freebie VIP into that gig and somehow managed to find myself back in the Merrion drinking with the man himself last night. Was chatting to him about the whole no cameras thing. He was surprisingly wound up about it, said it ruined the gig for him. His main objection to it was the fact that the quality is so **** and he knows it'll end up on youtube. He didn't mind photos at all - just the continous red or green light on a video camera.

iamnothim wrote: »
    funny story... i scrounged a freebie VIP into that gig and somehow managed to find myself back in the Merrion drinking with the man himself last night. Was chatting to him about the whole no cameras thing. He was surprisingly wound up about it, said it ruined the gig for him. His main objection to it was the fact that the quality is so **** and he knows it'll end up on youtube. He didn't mind photos at all - just the continous red or green light on a video camera.
    I can understand why. From the sounds of it a lot of time and effort is put in to his visuals so i can understand why he would want them represented in a proper way, not shaky hand camera phone bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Just so we're all clear, Bruce is an Aiken Promotions guy, always has been. So I guess we can chat away about how to smuggle our telephotos in till our hearts content.

Yeah the Knopfler gig was chock full of camera phones, and the quality of the lighting meant that people were getting pretty decent shots. A compact and you would have been sorted, though it meant a ton of flashes firing.

iamnothim wrote: »
    His main objection to it was the fact that the quality is so **** and he knows it'll end up on youtube.
    Whats the big deal with it going on youtube, people expect it to look crap anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

In my experience the larger the gig the harder it is to get stuff in. Smaller gig promoters are usually delighted to see someone with a half decent kit willing to take shots. I tend to leave mine at home if its a bigger gig unless there's a press pass involved. Too much chance of it being taken off me. No feckin way I'm leaving it in the cloakroom...

I hate the sea of phones being held aloft too, not because I'm an equipment snob - they can take as many crap shots/videos as they want! - but because at 5' 6 I can't bloody see past them. And don't even get me started on the P&S's constantly firing a flash into my eye when they're 70 ft away from the stage...

Its not about what equipment you have at all. I've seen some fantastic shots taken with a P&S. All too often though the people using them don't realise that what they're doing is ruining the gig/blinding others around them. That goes for DSLRs too. A bit of consideration all round would be nice..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭YogiBear

it's true though. And whats worse is the idiots who use their cameras to take video footage, cutting off other peoples view. Dont a lot of promoters have a three shot rule?
    And tall people, my god, they really annoy me at gigs! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

YogiBear wrote: »

Damn straight! :p

Sorry 'bout that...

I'm 6 feet so usually don't have too much of a problem at gigs. But that's something you can't do anything about I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

oriel - is that you?????? :D

Poor Steve :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭OctoberFall

Poor Steve nothing... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭RCNPhotos

What's a Steve???

I was at a gig while back, won't say who but it was big. Anyway the security were cool, caught me with my cam and just took the battery, gave me his name and told me he'd ort me out with it after.

So....bring a spare battery!!!!

RCNPhotos wrote: »
    What's a Steve???

I was at a gig while back, won't say who but it was big. Anyway the security were cool, caught me with my cam and just took the battery, gave me his name and told me he'd ort me out with it after.

So....bring a spare battery!!!!

So we've learned you should offer them your battery and maybe have a spare crap memory card to offer them to :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

So we've learned you should offer them your battery and maybe have a spare crap memory card to offer them to :)

Was on the photographyireland forums there and they were saying that if they take a battery off you and catch you with another one taking shots later on you're more than likely to end up checked outside. I've found that smaller gigs are grand for the camera, Button Factory etc., but have got major hassle in place like the Ambassador.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭MartMax

am thinking of going to an open area concert in Hyde Park next July, never been to such thing like in Marlay Park, etc.. i assume there'll be no problem bringing some gears with me into the field or are they restricted too in such area?

update : just read on the official site http://www.royalparks.org.uk/business/filming.cfm - any filming or photography acitivities would require licences or permits! i'm surprised!