Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

have a pint with your dad!

• 19-05-2008 1:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭

after reading a few posts on different threads here, it made me realise i probably take it for granted that ill probably meet up with me dad at some stage within the next week or so and have a pint with him, ive been doing it for the last 2 decades and have great memories and learnt a lot about life from him over the auld pint of guinnes. i know hes not gonna be around for ever, after reading a few of the other posts it made me realise i should appreciate it more so.

so lets all have a pint with our dad next chance we get, and savour it, the passing of knowledge from one geberation to the next, (even if you end up just telling jokes or something, its nice to have that bond)!

(edit to add, dont leave out the mammies, thats for a different thread)!
    (hopefully that last bit wont encourage a YOREMA response).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭wandering_star

Awwww, I've gone all misty eyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Good idea, I try and go for a pint with the auld lad at least once a month,although its mad the older he gets the more of a lightweight he becomes. After 3 pints he does be on his ear talking about the time in Clara Lara etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Well I'm flying back to me Dads next week so I'm sure we'll have an odd whiskey or three between us :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

What about havin a glass of wine with YORE MA????!!!!

I'll see my Dad in February next year for the first time in 2 years so we'll definitely be catching up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

My dad doesn't drink and I hate beer. So I guess we can never bond...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

My dad doesn't drink and I hate beer. So I guess we can never bond...

so go into an old mans bar with him and have a mineral each over a game of darts or pool or somethin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Try to when we both have a chance,but no matter what you always get that awkward stage where nobody has anything to say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

And the cats in the cradle and the silver spoon.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

allybhoy wrote: »
    And the cats in the cradle and the silver spoon.....

yeah it probably did come across as a bit soft, but feckit im standing by it!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

flanum wrote: »
    so lets all have a pint with our dad next chance we get,
    Just one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭KBarry

I used to go out drinking with my dad every weekend, all weekend sometimes. It got to the stage where it was getting boring. Same old places, same old faces and, besides, he's a gambling addict and an old lech. I'm sure he thought I was gay at one stage cos I didn't fancy the bag o'spannered-faced, fat munters he would be indicating with a nudge and a wink.

Once in a blue moon is alright but I wouldn't make a regular thing of it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭eldeabroad

......would love to be able to, if it wasnt for the fact that he passed from life to an immortal dream 2 years ago.....

will have to make do with having a pint for him and not with him... :(

do do it lads, while ye can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Tried this once and he made me buy him a pint. Haven't talked to him since :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

My Dad is a right ****ebag. I dont like him very much so I won't be having a drink with him kthx.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Ciaran500 wrote: »
    Tried this once and he made me buy him a pint. Haven't talked to him since :mad:
    Like eldeabroad I will have to have a pint for my father who passed away but Ciaran500 your post made me LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

I go for pints with the old fella at least once a week ..Normally on Saturday afternoon where we can catch a match and a few horses..Then Sunday we catch up for a late pint if I'm able :D

I never used too until he had a problem with his Heart while I was living abroad... I nearly lost him so it made me realize that they are not here for ever and to spent as much time with them as possible...My Dad = Legend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Try whenever i can, he's called the iceman at home but if you can get him sloshed he's funny as hell. I miss drinking with my dad. thats gonna have to happen next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

I go out for pints with the ol man everytime I go home to Donegal for the weekend, which is about once a month. We go to the sunday night trad session in the local, and sometimes play at it. I always look forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

kyub wrote: »
    My Dad is a right ****ebag. I dont like him very much so I won't be having a drink with him kthx.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

had a few Friday evening with the aul lad when i got home. only get home once a month and almost always have a few with him. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

flanum wrote: »
    after reading a few posts on different threads here, it made me realise i probably take it for granted that ill probably meet up with me dad at some stage within the next week or so and have a pint with him, ive been doing it for the last 2 decades and have great memories and learnt a lot about life from him over the auld pint of guinnes. i know hes not gonna be around for ever, after reading a few of the other posts it made me realise i should appreciate it more so.

so lets all have a pint with our dad next chance we get, and savour it, the passing of knowledge from one geberation to the next, (even if you end up just telling jokes or something, its nice to have that bond)!

(edit to add, dont leave out the mammies, thats for a different thread)!
    (hopefully that last bit wont encourage a YOREMA response).

Tried that a few times, would always end up in an arguement.

Ended up kinda falling out with him and not talking, moved out of the house and then 5 months later he died suddenly. Poxy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

My father drinks more than I do, but it´s good craic going out with him coz he pays for everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭sham69

Used to go drinking with the Auld man every Saturday and the odd Sunday before the folks moved out to Ashbourne. I meet up every month at least and have a few beers and a few games of pool. My mates actually go out drinking with my dad aswell and all enjoy his company. Most of the people he drinks with are 20-25 years younger than him. Sometimes I think they have more crack going out with him than me lol...
    I love the fact that I can go out with him for a beer and its like 2 mates on the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

I remember he took me for my first pint when I was 18. We do still go for the odd one and a game of pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

so often we as children neglect our parents as we grow older and it is only when they are gone from your life will you truly realise how little time you shared as adults together, and the join and udnerstanding of them as people that can bring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

My Dad just spies on other people, making comments and then complains about how I don't get up at 7 every morning. He has it in my mind that all my mates are ****ing perfect and I'm a **** up :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Kold wrote: »
    My Dad just spies on other people, making comments and then complains about how I don't get up at 7 every morning. He has it in my mind that all my mates are ****ing perfect and I'm a **** up :S
    yeah but is he right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

i actually love going for a few with my da - he's the best..

Rob_l wrote: »
    yeah but is he right?

No, my mates are all douchebags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Every month me and the old man go on the lash and have a great time, he's sharp and extremely witty and I love him to bits...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Nope, cause he's been dead a good few years. Not sure if we would if he was still alive...he used to go to the local only once every two months or so as I remember. Don't think we'd have talked much as he was a bit quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

My da does be hammered after about three pints these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I keep asking my son out for a pint but he says he doesn't like beer.

But then he is only 5 years old.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Rob_l wrote: »
    so often we as children neglect our parents as we grow older and it is only when they are gone from your life will you truly realise how little time you shared as adults together, and the join and udnerstanding of them as people that can bring.
    Well said.

I keep asking my son out for a pint but he says he doesn't like beer.

But then he is only 5 years old.

You, my friend, have a gay on your hands.

I don't think it is respectable to be drunk over a certain age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

eldeabroad wrote: »
    ......would love to be able to, if it wasnt for the fact that he passed from life to an immortal dream 2 years ago.....

will have to make do with having a pint for him and not with him... :(

do do it lads, while ye can.
    Seconded, from one whose father shuffled off this mortal coil back in October. Actually got a lump in my throat when I saw this thread title as well... Miss the old codger.

To be fair, he was never much of a pints man really anyway. More spirits, like. But I know what the OP means...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

Seconded, from one whose father shuffled off this mortal coil back in October. Actually got a lump in my throat when I saw this thread title as well... Miss the old codger.

To be fair, he was never much of a pints man really anyway. More spirits, like. But I know what the OP means...

My Dad passed away 4 years ago today and I would sell my soul to have a drink with him. Still miss him loads-Like arbeitsscheuer's father, mine was a spirits man. A large glass of brandy together on Sunday morning was the usual routine. Myself and the clan shall raise a glass to the Legend tonight(after my Mam makes us all go to the Anniversary mass).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Sorry to hear that Seb (you'll always be sebthebum as far as I'm concerned)

I see my parents regularly, usually go down for dinner with them every Sunday and will continue to do so as long as I can. I'm considering moving away for a few years though so I don't know what I'll do then, but I email my Dad a few times a week. They've done a lot for me so I intend to do a lot for them and hope that my relationship with them never becomes like their relationship with my grandad (I haven't seen him in close to two years even though he only lives down the road).

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

going back to Ireland for the first time in three years so this will be top of my list!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Moonbaby wrote: »
    I don't think it is respectable to be drunk over a certain age.

who gives a damn if it respectable if you get to have fun with your ole man? For years he was one of the scariest people i knew, it wasn't until we started have the odd pint together that i actually felt i really connected with the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 rosarosa

+100

When my dad passed away I hadn't spoken to him in about 2 years. It was very sudden and I suprised myself at how badly shaken and distraught I became. I had thought I didn't like him very much, but I guess I did, and what I was really feeling must have been some sort of left-over teenage angst or rebellion. When I went to the funeral I felt like collapsing when I saw him at the wake as I realised how much he had aged since I last saw him and even now just thinking about it makes me want to cry. I realise that I should have accepted my father for what he was- a bossy, opinionated guy who usually had too much to drink on weekends, but he was also fierce intelligent, brought us up with real values and educated, fed and took care of a whole bunch of bratty, selfish kids who never had the decency to say thanks while he was alive. I miss my dad, and it's even harder realising that I miss him more when I think that it's probably because he's no longer here.

Sorry for the cliche' but you really don't know what you have till its gone. I don't drink so would'nt have one with my dad, but if you do, I'd say go for it, even if you have nothing to say. You will have a memory that belongs to just the two of you in later life. Or maybe just try and do something else togethor. There's only one dad you'll ever have, it's a good idea to get to konw him as a person as well as a father before its too late.

Sorry for being so emotional, but this thread woke a lot of memories...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

But..I don't drink. In fact sometimes I pretend to judge him whenever I see him drinking. Often I will tell him that he's an alcoholic which is quite funny considering he only has two cans maybe every third night and I've never seen him drunk. :pac: